Volkswagen Malaysia extends tax holiday until Nov 15 – prices to remain based on 0% GST, while stocks last

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) is extending the tax holiday – which is supposed to come to an end on August 31 – for its range of models with the announcement of a price protection scheme. This will apply to all Volkswagen models registered from now until November 15, while stocks last.

The company said that all its vehicle prices will remain based on that listed currently with 0% GST, and any price difference following the implementation of the sales and service tax (SST) on September 1 will be absorbed by VPCM.

The scheme is applicable to all Volkswagen models sold in Malaysia, both locally-assembled and imported. The company however said that there was a determined allocation of stock for each model, and due to the limited availability customers should place their booking for a new Volkswagen as early as possible.

“The response in the past three months since the announcement of 0% GST has been overwhelming and we have been trying to keep up with the demand for stock. The introduction of this price protection scheme is a way for VPCM to assure our customers that we have their best interest at heart, so we urge customers to place their bookings now and enjoy the extended tax holidays,” said VPCM MD Erik Winter.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• HanSo on Aug 30, 2018 at 11:20 am

This is positive development from VW Malaysia . Keep up the good work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Very Worried on Aug 30, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Discount only 10% or 10-20K? VW consistently lose 30% every year. In 5 years, your PASSAT worth nothing more than a new SAGA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • Still people prefer to be seen in a 5 year old passat than a new saga.

• VW Good Fortune on Sep 03, 2018 at 12:58 pm

no wonder used car dealers love VW so much. Buy at garbage price and add 15K margin

• Carlzen on Aug 30, 2018 at 11:46 am

Well done! VW Msia strong sapot govt tax holiday

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • passion on Aug 30, 2018 at 11:48 am

good prices and good luck with maintenance too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • Good work! Salute to you guys!

• Ben Yap on Aug 30, 2018 at 12:05 pm

the other day i test my civic turbo with golf gti… gti had a hard time overtaking around the corners. only good at straight line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 48
    • Danny Ong on Aug 30, 2018 at 4:16 pm

Time to take medicine, lost your mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • suprimau on Aug 30, 2018 at 5:33 pm

LOL civic turbo even lost to Suprima at corners. Straight line only can win.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Abang on Aug 30, 2018 at 12:52 pm

VW best forever

• Pakulupapito on Aug 30, 2018 at 1:18 pm

Tak laku ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • hahah… because no one want to buy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • how come i read all the report their sales are so damn good? i think u r right la.. the report all wrong..

The new cars on the road i c all also tipu cars. in my dreams only..hahahaha

• IGP mom on Sep 01, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Hahahaha, sales is so very damn good that it made up of 1.2% of the total vehicle sales in Malaysia as of Aug 2018. Take a guess who tipu and dreaming??

• stock will last until the end of the year, any potential would be buyer will wait

• Anyway all these years VW already giving tax holiday plus additional rebates with their crazy drop of prices. No surprises

• macampondan on Aug 30, 2018 at 5:25 pm

SST is tax based on production output and not by sales.

Since the existing stocks are already produced and purchased by the dealers , this batch of cars do not have SST incurred.

So, the sales of this cars should not have SST charges.

VW is not extending tax holiday but more like clearing off those stocks that are tax free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Service charges and spare parts expensive. Limited service center. Quality of service low.. but customer service is ok. I own a polo.

• Pusparajah batumalai on Sep 01, 2018 at 8:54 pm

Google for selayang vw branch..

• johnny johnny yes papa on Sep 17, 2018 at 2:43 pm

just give us new polo already.