Hyundai i30 gets mild facelift, new Smartstream diesel

It’s been exactly two years since the current third-generation Hyundai i30 hatchback was introduced, and while the gradual introduction of the subsequent Tourer wagon, Fastback sedan and high-performance N variants means that the C-segment model is still fresh in people’s minds, the South Korean carmaker has still seen fit to give the car a couple of choice updates.

Eagle-eyed viewers will spot the new front bumper on the hatch and Tourer models, which has been taken from the Fastback. The revised fascia, which gets a broad U-shaped air intake design going around the trademark Cascading Grille, is meant to harmonise the look of the i30 range, says Hyundai. The colour palette has also been expanded to include Stellar Blue and Olivine Grey from the facelifted Tucson.

Inside, buyers can now opt for a new range-topping Display Audio infotainment system, which gets an eight-inch touchscreen and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto functionality. But the biggest difference is to be found under the bonnet, where you’ll find a new, cleaner and more frugal 1.6 litre Smartstream turbodiesel, also from the facelifted Tucson and available in 96 PS, 116 PS and 136 PS versions.

The base version is only offered with a six-speed manual gearbox and has combined fuel consumption of 3.8 to 3.9 litres per 100 km on the NEDC cycle. The 116 PS and 136 PS variants get 3.8 to 4.3 litres per 100 km and 4.1 to 4.4 litres per 100 km respectively, and also receive a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission option that takes those figures to 4.0 to 4.1 litres per 100 km and 4.1 to 4.3 litres per 100 km respectively.

All diesel models also get exhaust after-treatment systems that use a urea-based fluid to reduce nitrogen oxide emissions, while petrol-engined variants get a gasoline particulate filter. All engines in the lineup are now compliant with the latest Euro 6d Temp emission standards.

GALLERY: Hyundai i30 hatch facelift

GALLERY: Hyundai i30 Tourer facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rayme on Sep 06, 2018 at 7:02 pm

Hyundai ckd cheaper now with sst.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:25 pm

But Hyundai CBU is more expensive, and CBUs are preferable becoz of better quality.

• MB Fever on Sep 07, 2018 at 9:37 am

why we never bring this in to M’sia? Drove this car in Australia through a car rental and it is an excellent car! If price right this can sell well here