Replace Takata airbag or risk being blacklisted – Loke

The government has given its final warning to nearly 80,000 Honda, Subaru and Mazda owners who have yet to get their Takata airbag modules replaced. According to the Malay Mail, transport minister Anthony Loke said all three automakers currently have enough airbag supplies to accommodate the recall exercise.

He also said owners involved in the recall have less than two months to change their airbags before getting blacklisted by the Road Transport Department (JPJ). “I have asked the companies to send final reminder within two weeks. After that JPJ will issue Notice 114 to summon these car owners to update their status.”

“If they still ignore the notice after a month, we will begin the blacklisting process, which means they will not be able to renew their road taxes,” Loke said at a press conference recently, adding that a grace period of two to three months will be given to owners of BMW, Mitsubishi, Nissan and Toyota as their service centres currently lack supplies.

Loke explained that the government has no intention to burden the people, but this was the last resort to ensure the safety of motorists whose vehicles are still equipped with the potentially faulty Takata airbag modules.

“It’s not even that hard to pop by the workshop and change the airbags. For free, too. It will probably take only two hours. If we don’t threaten them with the word ‘blacklist’, they will never do it. They should realise what matters most is their lives, not the road tax renewal,” he added.

Loke revealed that, since June 26, the government has spent RM1 million to send out letters to 408,551 motorists but only 70,853 have actually taken action.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• frankC on Sep 20, 2018 at 2:50 pm

Now that’s what I call a “working” transport minister.
    It has been going on for so long this takata airbag replacement issue. I have seen Honda Malaysia leading the pack with several initiatives to get his customer to replace it. Merits to Honda Malaysia too. (btw, I am not a current nor previous owner of honda vehicles).
    However I see almost nothing from other maker car dealers. I hope they are aware that most of these vehicles may have changed ownership and attempt to contact them using information during purchase will definitely failed.
    Hence I supposed JPJ should have the data / info who is current owners. Our JPJ should have ability to extract this info from their database of vehicle ownership and link to at least the owner IC number and then link IC number to drivers licence and contact address.
    JPJ should have taken the lead by now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 20, 2018 at 9:34 pm

This is what you call a great Minister. A world of difference from the previous lazy and corrupted Government who did not care about the safety of the rakyat.

Thank you Loke for the great job done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Muhd Latiff Ibrahim on Sep 21, 2018 at 8:11 am

Finally a clean Government who can give orders to prevent accidents.

Pity sour grapes who say bad things about Loke. We all know Loke don’t support dedak and he is doing a good job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Consumer Lives Vs Manufacturer Lies on Sep 21, 2018 at 12:53 pm

Can the Ministry come out with ONE definitive list of ALL CARS that are affected. PENALISE manufacturer heavily if they are found hiding information. We obviously cannot rely on certain importers and manufacturers as they are not being upfront on which models affected. This bad practice is very clear from the way Manufacturers release statements on piecemeal basis .. only after a fatal accident. Today you car is ok, tomorrow is on the list . The onus should not be put on the consumer but the manufacturer.

• musangKing-originalz on Sep 21, 2018 at 10:58 am

Shouldn’t the govt also blacklist the TAKATA airbag? force manufacturer to use other brand of airbag?

• Bruno on Sep 20, 2018 at 11:12 pm

lagi suka minister Liow, takde kecoh liddis Loki.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Ronny on Sep 20, 2018 at 2:53 pm

How about car’s recond cars?

• Truckers on Sep 20, 2018 at 7:20 pm

Ownself ‘pickup shirt’

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Sep 20, 2018 at 9:53 pm

This is how you do things. Last time people were asleep too much. Sleep even in workplace. Never work.

Now see the proper way things are done

• Lolwhut? on Sep 20, 2018 at 3:23 pm

Lolwhut?! What happened to threatening owners with hefty samans? Nobody cared what you said kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Okina on Sep 20, 2018 at 5:28 pm

Ppl tend to ignore fines if there is no enforcement of payment (this fine is under JPJ if not mistaken?) but having no road tax is 100% gonna get you stopped at every single road block by the police. The ever-present fear of encountering a road block is a much better motivator than a fine that one is most likely to ignore.

• Not really lor. Loki oso got threaten to bar pipu from renew roadtax yet until now no action but more talking saja. Loki seems oblivious his empty threats means nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 20, 2018 at 9:36 pm

How do you know? You work in the Ministry? Otherwise don’t kelentong here about Loke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
          • Sick & Tired on Sep 21, 2018 at 12:45 am

So? Are you implying that you’re working for the current Government then? Is that the reason why you’re desperately defending their useless and stupid acts here?

• JOACHIM on Sep 21, 2018 at 12:54 am

Logic dictates that if his previous warnings were effective, he would not need to waste his time and breath issuing yet another warning. Ergo, he is proving to be yet another ineffective minister.

• So u knows betterkah? Is it u mean that u works in the Ministry? No wonder u r Defending of the Ancients (Cronies)!

• SK, Lim on Sep 21, 2018 at 5:50 pm

The fake dude with the many fake names have exposed himself as an agent of the current Gomen. Walao! How insidious this PH! Internet also want to control!

• Kantoied but Still Wanna Defend on Sep 21, 2018 at 10:28 pm

Basher got kantoied for his kelentong. Oops!

• Aero (Member) on Sep 20, 2018 at 4:10 pm

We need more ministers like Anthony Loke. Men and women who are firm, dedicated, and won’t take ‘no’ for an answer. No more ‘kasi chance lah’ and no more ‘tidak apa lah’ attitude. You give chance also, some people will never appreciate it. They will just crawl on your head, and take advantage of your kindness. Enough is enough.

Dua tangan thumbs up to Anthony Loke for this latest move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Blowhard minister. Empty threats and talk. Nothing more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Wahahaha on Sep 20, 2018 at 9:00 pm

G_G Plate number under yayasan solo and not directly from jpj.

And I’m still seeing many abuse the emergency lane. He is sleeping and yet you praise him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Avenger on Sep 21, 2018 at 12:56 am

I still see Ministers using police escorts to force other road users make way for them. Ubah? Mana ada lah!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 21, 2018 at 9:34 am

But ubah they did. Those who are now Ministers have been Ubah’ed! Wakakaka!

• The car makers should work with JPJ to find out the current owners of these cars as many have been resold.

• Recently i got a shock when receiving a reminder letter from JPJ and i called the car company immediately as i was not aware of any recall for my car. The car company confirmed that my car is the list and couldn’t answer when i asked why there was no recall notice issued to me all this while. So Mr. Transport Minister please also check that all car companies had indeed done their part when it comes to Takata recall. Excuses like shortage of replacement is not acceptable please as all car companies have all the sales data…

• Andrekua on Sep 20, 2018 at 5:11 pm

I signed the transfer documents for a total loss in 2009 and they still sent me those letters. Are you really going to blacklist me? Sad…

• Alamak on Sep 21, 2018 at 1:06 pm

Same with me. I notified Honda so many times, they still send me the threatening letter. This bloody minister is supporting the company’s incompetence instead of working for the people. Really sad.

• stastasta on Sep 24, 2018 at 10:57 am

they are going to blacklist the car number plate. not your IC as the former owner. a lot of stupid people here dont know how to read.

• Iut you on Sep 20, 2018 at 5:14 pm

How about those don’t want repair turn signal light, car reversing light?

• Ben Yap on Sep 20, 2018 at 5:19 pm

the 80,000 owners want to die, let them la… why is he barking away?

not your family members also…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Taek kucen on Sep 20, 2018 at 6:02 pm

Deswai kampong pipu no wear helmet. why we border Ishhh…

• rightwinger on Sep 20, 2018 at 6:45 pm

i agree with you. its call natural selection. same goes with adik n abang who don wear helmet. let them win the Darwin awards- its good these people volunteered to be struck out of the gene pool, this will advance human evolution better.

• frankC on Sep 20, 2018 at 8:28 pm

the car maker is responsible to replace it without any cost to the current owner.
      if the current owner choose not to replace then the car is no longer fit for use on the road.
      the issue here is not only the live of the owner because the owner may sell the car later to another person. this next person may not be able to know if it has been replaced.
      Why the “tidak apa” attitude here ?

• poodah on Sep 21, 2018 at 12:15 pm

He is barking because he is a MINISTER, you are barking here because you are only mindless keyboard warrior

• Blacklisted the Japanese car

• takata airbag on Sep 21, 2018 at 10:05 am

Transport Minister should PRESSURE car manufacturer to 1
    – SPEED up process of replacing airbag, or risk penalty
    – More efficient process or system of RECALLING owners to ensure accountability.
    Go do some work and give education and awareness to customers as well so that nobody is left out.

Don’t just threaten unfortunate customers who bought the wrong car. In the first place, Malaysia JPJ is the ONE WHO APPROVE the vehicle for sale, and the process of airbag replacement is so slow and inconvenient.

DO SOME WORK TO PRESSURE CAR MANUFACTURERS, not just on consumers!!!

• notakata on Sep 22, 2018 at 5:10 am

Dun support junky jepunis cars, their ebgineers lepak 8x a day drinking sake and get drunk

• Kannan krishnasamy on Sep 22, 2018 at 9:48 am

I call klang service center regarding the Air bag they said will call me before renewal road tax.(20/4/2019) what I should do now? They are statement is give first perioty for those going to renewal within this 2 or 3 month since my renewal next year they said will be next year.

• max mie on Sep 24, 2018 at 1:54 pm

that only u can do, blacklist……see some others thing loooo……before “we will remove all AES camera” after :we only one off wave a summons.” like a song empty..empty. emptyyyy……..