Standing in parking box illegal, RM2,000 fine – PDRM

Sometimes, finding a parking spot can be a real chore, but nothing beats driving up to a vacant spot, only to find that it’s “taken” by someone else who’s nonchalantly standing there waiting for his/her friend to park. We all know that feeling too well.

Now, the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) has just stated that such a move is not permissible, and doing so would be committing an offence under Section 50 (3) of the Road Transport Act 1987.

The rule states: “If any person, otherwise than with lawful authority, remains on any road or at any parking place for the purpose of importuning any other person in respect of the watching or cleaning of a motor vehicle, or for the purpose of directing any driver of a motor vehicle in respect of parking on such road or at such place, he shall be guilty of an offence.

Anyone who is guilty of said offence will be liable to a maximum fine of RM2,000 or imprisonment up to six months. A second conviction doubles that – RM4,000 fine or 12 months jail term.

PDRM added that the behaviour is irresponsible and inconveniences others, and it could potentially put the violator (for the lack of a better word) in harm’s way. The problem, while not exclusive to Malaysia, has to be nipped in the bud. Let’s all be a little more considerate, alright? What say you?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• passion on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:05 am

finally!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 0
    • KiasuPipo on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:47 am

Finally car also got scratch after!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Otak oku on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:52 am

Oku spot 10x the fine and license suspended 1 year for being a retard

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 0
      • So little? Should do public service too to clean up all the public toilet etc etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • YB Albert on Sep 21, 2018 at 3:09 pm

Easier said than enforced.
      Who is the enforcer?
      The car park attendant,bangla?
      Wait for the police to arrive?
      So far how many cases of people caught smoking in air con restaurants and thrown out?
      You can go to genting casino,people r happily smoking inside.The guards dont bother.They only prevent people who r banned from entering.
      The problem is enforcement.Like Tun said,people can smile when charged with 25 counts of corruption.
      Is there any concrete action from Pakatan Harapan besides all the talk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
      • Glass half full on Sep 24, 2018 at 8:52 am

Problem with Malaysia is enforcing. If this is solved, half of all problem will be solved automatically.

• These days we have dash cam, hp cam and some even have hidden cam.

Can put it to good use. Record the number plate of the person wishing to park and the police will most likely work their way from there

• Ivor Hardon on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:09 am

Who will be there to enforce?
    Why not just allow drivers to run over people who chope parking like that.
    Dashcam recording will be sufficient and admissible proof.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 9
    • Chow Sun on Sep 21, 2018 at 1:50 pm

I agree to allow drivers to just run over these people, with the dashcam and cctv as proof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Install a car video cam to record everything

• Rulered on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:21 am

It’s about time. Hopefully the enforcement is as good as this news sounds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Nothing new, just following the ‘chup’ culture at foodcourts in Singapore. It’s a social problem there as well.

• Throw away the tissue paper and take your seat. They are a nation of wimps.

• JustSaying on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:45 am

Malaysian getting kiasu.
    If these kiasu people got angry when u “tegur” and tell them cant stand there for waiting for his/her friend to park, after u park your car there sure he/she scratch your car. So what happen to peoples now a day? They got angry everytime after “kena tegur”, sick mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:49 am

next catch those irresponsible tenants who chop parkings for their businesses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • W. K. Lo on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:54 am

How about those parking lots(not reserved) being blocked by chairs or stools and signboard?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
  • MeToo on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:54 am

Cant/Wont even enforce double parking… this one? Dont hold your breath…

• rul3s on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:55 am

Do provide source or any link to official statement from PDRM regarding this? It will be more convincing.

• Hmm.. Much Hmm.. on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:56 am

Good Luck trying to enforce it…

• Sounds good on paper, however the chances of it being enforced are about 1 million to 1. Unless there is an officer in very close proximity to the event, it may just lead to a confrontation between the driver and the muppet trying to “reserve” the parking spot

Driving rules have a lot more to do with being courteous to other drivers, something that is totally lacking in this country.

I’m always shouting for a change to driving habits but usually feel like a lone voice in my attempts.

I’ll keep trying though :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • komarad on Sep 21, 2018 at 12:06 pm

just take the picture, print it and report to PDRM, and make yourself available as prosecution witness…

• How about those shop owner put barrier infront of thier shop at those public parking..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Crazydrivers on Sep 21, 2018 at 12:12 pm

What about shops putting dustbins, chairs, etc to occupy the parking lots in front of their shops?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Tham kin wing on Sep 21, 2018 at 3:26 pm

Enforcement must take actions against shop owner.This is a publics parking lot. If they wants to block/reserved the parking, should apply for reserved parking from MPKJ/DBKL by putting chairs/dustbin to prevent publics from parking is unacceptable and causing such a inconvenient to the publics. Hope the authorities can look into the matters.

• the driver on Sep 21, 2018 at 12:12 pm

Watch the Singaporeans squirm in JB

• the dinner on Sep 21, 2018 at 1:24 pm

The funniest will always be the act of table reservation by placing a tissue pack on the table LOL

• Tell that to some restaurant owner also

• FrankC on Sep 21, 2018 at 12:24 pm

Who can enforce this law?
    Can building or car park service provider appointed person issue this compound or is there prescribed method for these service provider to bring the culprit to the law?

• Public road only or applicable to private parking space as well?

• This article is misleading…expected better in depth investigative journalism from you guys. If its a parking spot in a shopping mall, it is considered private property then it is up to the relevant mall owners to enforce proper parking etiquette since ufortunately, Pdrm enforcement is limited in private premises

• Would like to know for fender benders in malls is not covered by the law like this case?

• Edward Lye on Sep 23, 2018 at 1:45 pm

According to Act 333, even if the premises is private, anything involving motor vehicles in places where the public is permitted access falls under the ambit of the Act.

• Derek on Jan 14, 2019 at 7:47 pm

Oh didn’t know that. So I can roll them over with my car instead since it’s “private property”. Can I? Answer is still no, if everyone has access = public.

• How about putting stools at parking lot?

• Nine Dragons Slayer on Sep 21, 2018 at 1:21 pm

LOL How about police also fine those who “chup” the eateries place table by placing tissue pack on it?

• Vigilante on Sep 21, 2018 at 1:32 pm

Yes. There are also crooks who paint unauthorised red boxes for parking. These crooks should be jailed and fined RM100,000

• C.P. MOHAN on Sep 21, 2018 at 1:57 pm

The purpose is not only for enforcement, but also for public knowledge/awareness.

• Finally the authority do something..othereise these uneducated people think is very funny to do that

• Eddie on Sep 21, 2018 at 2:40 pm

All these incidents happened in private properties, does this section of law applies? Just asking.

• Edward Lye on Sep 23, 2018 at 1:48 pm

I think as long as the public is allowed to drive in, even on private property, the law applies.

• How about those use chair blocking the parking ?

• OKUsRULEokay on Sep 21, 2018 at 2:50 pm

What if you are standing in a parking space in order to keep it for some who is handicapped and there are no handicapped spots available nearby?

• Tony Loh on Sep 21, 2018 at 2:51 pm

PDRM only lips servive!
    Say only “in the press” but do they take action ?
    I have not seen any policemen on petrol since ages !
    Where are the so called ” TRAFFIC POLICE ” ???
    Are they still around or died a natural death ?

• Yes, it is indeed a long time since anyone has seen a policeman consuming petrol. I hear it isn’t very good for your health.

• Can start enforcing in front of Digital Mall PJ. Many ‘booked’ parking there…

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Sep 21, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Those belong to triads linked with those in Government now. You wanna mess with them?

• pengomel on Sep 21, 2018 at 5:52 pm

enforcer please go site visit at kota damansara uptown. ada kedai tu jual baju2 & kasut2, cop parking berderet pakai kerusi macam parking tu bapak dorang punya. dari hujung ke hujung dia cop. kedainya tak ada orang datang pun. lokasi : sebelah kedai ustaz gadget.

• It’s like i have to say something positive abt the new govt, if not, their troopers will give me a thousand downvotes.

God forbid i say something good abt the previous govt!

Anyway, fair is fair. So here it is:

Good. Good job. This is something that should have been highlighted. The previous govt never did.

• Benjamin on Sep 22, 2018 at 10:19 am

What if someone put a chair , table or anything to block the parking place ?

• David on Sep 22, 2018 at 10:01 pm

Talk no use laa, let that perempuan gila be the first one to kena change laa.

• HP Low on Sep 23, 2018 at 7:51 am

Shopping malls are non government entities, so dont think it applies to them

• Jiabin on Sep 23, 2018 at 1:04 pm

Similar action should be applied to people placing chairs, cones or obstacles on parking lots and deprive others from using it.

• Edward Lye on Sep 23, 2018 at 1:42 pm

I think 50(3) {after reading and rereading it several times} refers to jaga kereta menaces that gen X,/Y onwards have never encountered – – – person/(s) hanging around parking spots after chargeable hours and who expect some tip/remuneration for guiding you in parking or offering to look after your car or offering to wash your car.

Reserving a spot for a friend or family is something else not mentioned in Act 333 and so not an offence. I think Judge Judy would throw out the case. The person standing there is clearly not importuning the driver of a car that comes along. How does the prosecution establish that?

Let’s see what the first trial dredges up.

• cer teka race mana yg sokmo wat gini …

• Agreed with YB Albert..
    I have the many insident like this. With this law nothing to be proud off..it’s just another law with no enfortment. Sorry to say this but this is true.
    Last week i had parked my car with DBKL parking coupen. Some guy double parked in front of my car..no contact number an what so ever. Horn..waited very long and call DBKL, they said, they have not enaff staff to handle. They ask me to wait until the car owner come back.
    This is Malaysian LAW.

• sweetspirit on Jan 12, 2019 at 1:26 pm

I don’t agree with all the conditions only some.Example: if we have waited for someone to come out first n people behind want to curi our parking n zoom in..that’s not fair. I think someone coming out n tell the person behind we came first is alright. Some cheaters do cut our line n just took the parking spot if we dont stand there.

• Richard Yeoh on Jan 12, 2019 at 5:13 pm

Has anyone ever been charged?