All-new Volvo XC40 SUV launched in Malaysia – single T5 AWD R-Design spec, CKD for RM255,888

The Volvo XC40 was officially launched in Malaysia this morning, at an event in Genting Highlands. The much anticipated smaller sibling to the XC60 and XC90 SUVs was spotted undisguised in August, and was launched in Thailand last week.

As speculated, we’re getting the XC40 in T5 AWD R-Design spec, priced at RM255,888 on the road excluding insurance. The 2018 European Car of the Year debuts here in locally-assembled CKD form – production has started in Shah Alam and deliveries will start from January 2019. No first batch CBUs for sale this time around.

Previewed accurately by the 40.1 concept from 2016, the Volvo XC40 sits on the company’s Compact Modular Architecture (CMA) platform. It measures 4,425 mm long, 1,863 mm wide and 1,655 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,702 mm. The rear track (1,626 mm) is 25 mm wider than the front.

To compare, the F48 BMW X1 is 14 mm longer, but 42 mm narrower than the Volvo, which also sits 57 mm taller than Munich’s junior SAV. The other cars in the premium compact SUV segment are the Mercedes-Benz GLA, Audi Q3 and Lexus UX.

The refreshing thing about the XC40’s design is that it isn’t a scale copy of the larger XCs. Highlights include the now familiar modern Volvo face with signature “Thor’s hammer” LED daytime running lights; scalloped sections near the hood, rearmost pillar and lower doors; a shoulder line that rises sharply where the rear door handles are; and a “floating” black roof. Unlike the XC60 and XC90, the rear number plate is not situated on the hatch, which is left sparse here.

Besides the trademark LED DRLs, the headlamps are full LED units with active high beam function and active bending lights. The XC40 also comes with high-pressure headlight cleaners and LED fog lights with cornering function.

The R-Design trim brings with it a unique gloss black grille, bumpers (rear piece has integrated dual exhaust outlets) and R-Design lettering where the rear pillar meets the roof. Gloss black is repeated on the roof rails, skid plates and door mirror caps.

We get 19-inch five-double spoke two-tone alloys with 235/50 tyres as standard, but there are four other rim designs on the options list, including 20- and 21-inch items. There are four colour options to go with the black roof: Bursting Blue, Fusion Red, Crystal White and Osmium Grey.

The XC40’s cabin will be one of its strongest points, just like with recent Volvos. Here, the Swedish carmaker has paid particular attention to how urbanites store items in the car, and has catered accordingly. For instance, by moving speakers away from the door and developing a world-first, air-ventilated dashboard-mounted subwoofer, the door bins can take in a laptop and a tablet, or a couple of water bottles.

There are also slots for cards, and under the centre armrest is a large cubby with room for a tissue box. There’s also a removable bin for trash and fold-away hook in the glove compartment. Under the driver’s seat is a storage space good enough for a tablet. “Designed to make every day easier,” they claim.

As we’re getting the R-Design, the cabin has a dark theme and headliner. Unique R-Design items include the three-spoke steering wheel with perforated leather, gear lever, sport pedals, inlays, front tread plates, textile carpets and R-Design seats in leather and Nubuck upholstery. The key fob is also unique to the R-Design. It’s very modern and digital in here, thanks to the 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster, 9.0-inch Sensus Connect portrait touchscreen and wireless charging pad.

More comfort and convenience features come in the form of a dual-zone auto air-con with cooled glove box, Clean Zone interior air quality system, rear air con vents, a 250W eight-speaker sound system, navigation, Apple Carplay and Android Auto and a hands-free powered tailgate.

The 1,704 kg XC40 T5 AWD is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder Drive-E engine with 252 hp and 350 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 4,800 rpm. Paired with an eight-speed automatic transmission (with shift paddles), that’s good for 0-100 km/h in 6.4 seconds and a top speed of 230 km/h. Claimed combined fuel consumption is 7.7 litres per 100 km (13 km/l) in the European cycle.

Of course, there’s no shortage of driver assist and safety features, active and passive. The XC40 T5 comes with Adaptive Cruise Control; Pilot Assist semi-autonomous drive (these two are in the IntelliSafe Assist package); City Safety (collision avoidance and mitigation with intersection support); pedestrian, cyclist and large animal detection; front and rear collision warning; Driver Alert Control; Lane Keeping Aid; Run-Off Road Mitigation with Road Edge Detection; Oncoming Lane Mitigation; BLIS and cross traffic alert with auto brake.

As for airbags, the whole cabin is covered – dual front, side, curtain, driver’s knee – and there are Isofix child seat attachment points on the outer rear seats.

VCM is also offering a range of accessories for the XC40, from a dog harness in four sizes to mudflaps and bicycle racks. The red car in the gallery below sports the exterior styling kit (silver bits around the lower front/rear/sides, rear spoiler extension, exhaust finishers, RM13,888), 20-inch five-double spoke matte black wheels (RM15,388), load carrier (RM1,688) and bike holder (RM999).

To recap, the Volvo XC40 T5 AWD R-Design is priced at RM255,888 OTR without insurance. VCM says that the T5 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid variant is in its plans, subject to hybrid CKD incentives. For a detailed list of specs, equipment and optional kit – and to compare the Volvo side-by-side with its German rivals – check out CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Volvo XC40 T5 AWD R-Design

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• EU 2018 COTY is here!
    VolvoCar, P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:26 pm

Please don’t syiok sendiri thinking P1 will use Volvo or Mercedes technology and go around telling people why buy Volvo when you can buy the X70.

If that is the case, nobody will buy Mercedes and Volvo and people will listen to your advice and buy X70

A Geely is a Geely. Fullstop. It is not a Mercedes or a Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Colco QC on Oct 05, 2018 at 10:26 pm

Can’t help but notice .. so new test unit the seat thigh support already collapsed .. must be a very fat journalist or very poor support

• Bernard on Oct 19, 2018 at 3:09 am

From where you get this news ??

Are you implying for VW and Nissan car actually?

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:55 pm

Buyer bewarned. So many people, especially those who like to action will get loan to buy luxury cars. But then, to maintain, they cry.

Bumper on this car is RM20k. Windscreen on this car is RM18k (based on XC90 windscreen and bumper prices)

Then the buyer starts to cry. Yes, easy to get loan, but make sure you are rich enough to maintain the car.

Volvo is the most expensive luxury car to maintain in Malaysia besides Rolls Royce and Bentley and Jaguar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 23
      • Sorry, but we don’t trust someone whose most expensive possession is a 2nd hand kapcai. Luxury marques are expensive for a reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Sharock Khan on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:54 pm

with RM255,888 better buy BMW 330i G20.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
      • Poorfag complains: yadda yadda yadda…

• There is something we call additional coverage in MV insurance, talk to your local agent for more information

• Abdullah Wahid on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:16 pm

It is Europe COTY because it is super cheap in Europe and in the US.

Normal housewives can buy it cause it is a family car. Most people don’t even bother to take loan to buy this car.

In Malaysia, this car is only for the rich and famous because Malaysia has the most expensive car prices in the world. Bad habits and practices brought forward from 60 years of corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
      • Foolish. The committee dun judge the car based on number of sales. Read more instead of copy paste bollocks (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ European_Car_of_the_Year)

• Chesney Hawkes on Oct 06, 2018 at 11:56 pm

Malaysia says to Singapore “we have the highest car prices in the world”

Singapore says “hold my drink”

I don’t live in either country, but I do know you’re cheaper than Thailand for premium cars and Singapore is more than double our prices.

• Crazy price on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:02 am

Good luck with this type of pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • Interior design looks so boring…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 46
      • Cannot afford on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:58 am

Made in China and expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 39
        • Nikolai on Oct 05, 2018 at 12:42 pm

What part of CKD did you not get?

CKD itself already means that it’s assembled locally.

• vedder on Oct 05, 2018 at 2:34 pm

But the parts are not manufactured here.

• Made in Bakuteh Land on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Not all Volvo’s are XC90… One hit wonder then fade awaaaaay… Even the XC90 rear looks so dated now… owners better sell it quick before facelift comes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • lao yee on Oct 05, 2018 at 12:51 pm

yup. Better buy Proton X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
        • Nenek Kau on Oct 05, 2018 at 1:24 pm

You want cheap n appalling quality, go buy german one lorrrr

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 05, 2018 at 3:30 pm

To be honest, for a China made car, this is really expensive. Those who got this kind of money will just buy a Mercedes GLC200. After discounts, the price becomes much cheaper than this car.

Volvo does not give corporate discounts. Mercedes has 6% corporate discount. Then further bargaining, you can get your Merc GLE200 for around the same price.

A Merc is a Merc la. No Volvo can come close to a Merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 27
          • Mec New A class or B class looks better choices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Ruslan Bahari on Oct 09, 2018 at 12:15 pm

When did this become China made?? Kata bodoh kang, marah.

• Martin Loo on Oct 19, 2018 at 2:50 am

Mercedes A Class is an elevated hatchback ( NOT SUV AT ALL) , Mercedes B Class ( is not real Merc Quality and problematic )

When it comes to safety , People consider Volvo more than Mercedes

Safety is Volvo and Mercedes does not appeal to safety conscious customers.

Mercedes safety badge image is still not there yet and lag behind compare to Volvo.

In term of new engines from Volvo offering , Mercedes new engines look so Obsolete and like yesterday technology offering

• Victoria on Oct 19, 2018 at 2:13 am

Which part of of XC40 is made from China other than from Ghent

Like people says

Honda made is Malaysia, we do not want, it is low quality
          Toyota made in Thailand , we do not want buy , ALSO LOW QUALITY

Perodua and Toyota Made in malaysia , we do not want to BUY , Also low quality

Mercedes and BMW Made in Malaysia , China and South Africa also we do not want to buy, ALSO LOW QUALITY

So all car brands made from different countries other than the country of origin, we better NOT BUY ( forever low standard and low quality )

Same thing people asking
          Working people from Malaysia we cannot be employed in other countries , Reason they are all generally Third world low mentality and not so professional and not so ethical .

illogical THINKING and stupid

• Timesarechanging on May 14, 2019 at 6:47 pm

Nowadays, there are hardly anything that doesn’t have some parts that are made in china. Even a bmw genuine spare parts bought from the dealership is made in china (f10 bushing for rear diff)

• Superpissmom on Oct 06, 2018 at 12:47 pm

Deal breaker here is rear seat is too upright. Rear passenger don’t even get a door top grab handle. These are major design flaws so it’s a no-go for me!

• Pengadil on Oct 19, 2018 at 3:06 am

Better than and more lively compare to the boring interior and dashboard of BMW X1 currently

Take this anytime than X1.

• Yeah, it's fantastic! on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:15 pm

I’ve already booked one. At that price and all the specs you get, it’s a done deal for my purchase. No challenge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • xde duit la tu

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:06 am

Just wow, Volvo gave us an early Xmas present. The kit list is staggering and the price is very competitive. This will kill off the X1, X2 and GLA sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 14
    • Autofrenz on Oct 05, 2018 at 1:52 pm

Toyota Harrier 2.0T better specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
      • Bryan on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:54 pm

Are u seriously comparing a Toyota with a Volvo?

• Myvvv on Oct 05, 2018 at 10:47 pm

Lolz .. Volvo can comparing proton lah..

• Jimny jimka on Oct 06, 2018 at 10:27 pm

Volvo is same level as Mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • Price Waterhouse on Oct 19, 2018 at 3:16 am

MAZDA is a non premium automaker .
            and cannot be compare to Volvo

Currently ,Mazda did not win any world acclaimed first awards except runner up awards always. Forget about Malaysia awards

Poor Mazda !! better compare to Ford or Proton ..then Mazda may be top of them definitely not with Volvo

• Audi No RV on Oct 19, 2018 at 2:34 am

It is like comparing a Bicycle to a Motorcycle

Harriet Bicycle vs Motorcycle xc40

• Not the real autofrenz. Another user nick got hijek by Toyota SA.

• This one will beat Q3, GLA and X1 badly for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • me Johorean suffering on Oct 05, 2018 at 12:28 pm

naah….I am still buying my Tiguan with 100k to spare

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
      • Optimus on Oct 05, 2018 at 2:26 pm

That 100k will come in handy when time to replace DSG gearbox multiple times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • stastasta on Oct 11, 2018 at 1:21 pm

tiguan is only 1.4 , cannot compare with this 2.0 volvo with 100bhp more. tiguan also using 6 speed wet clutch which is more reliable.

• Yet to proven yet for tiguan using 6 speed wet clutch gearbox

XC40 is 8 speed from Aisin which is ten times more reliable compare to the unproven 6 speed wet clutch gearbox.

Better save 100K and get 2 gear less and also replace the unproven wet clutch gearbox when it becomes problematic later on

• Nonsense

How could VW gearbox be more reliable even it is uses either wet or dry clutch compare to AISIN GEARBOX…

Syiok cakap sendiri sahaja

• Peter on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:26 am

I find the lack of orange carpeting and harman kardon speakers quite sad.
    But hey, the price will go up and knowing narrow minded Malaysians, they will not pay more for a Volvo because of brand image.

Props to them for including autonomous driving and full spec safety.
    Safety>aesthetics

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • DPCraft on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:39 pm

At least give some choice of colours and Harman Kardon as an option…Volvo’s base sound system is good(better then most Jepunis base system) but not quite Luxury Car level a Harman Kardon upgrade would be appreciated. 255k is already not cheap…don’t mind paying a few more thousands for a way better interior and sound quality.

• Embee on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:36 am

When Im just about to book this….they omit the 360 cam…which is a huge thing for me….sad sad

• apamau on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:57 am

R U sure, the specs did not say it remove 360 camera. with the kind of price, not possible not to have 360camera. proton x70 exclusive already provided that.

• Embee on Oct 05, 2018 at 4:49 pm

Deswhy…I’m shocked to see no 360 cam fitted. Hows my mom gonna drive this?

Take note of the Volvo logo…the tiny camera eye isnt there…also confirmed by the sales person …I asked if I can install it as an option cus it’s really a deal breaker. Dont mind not having Harmon kardon…although it would have been amazing.

Cant imagine how they gonna spec the t4.

• Chesney Hawkes on Oct 05, 2018 at 10:47 pm

You’re not getting HK sound system? Thai model will have it, only Momentum trim will use normal sound system. No pano roof or 360 for us too, just a rear camera.

Would prefer that we get 360 camera and delete parking assist. It’s pretty useless in Thailand.

• TreeHugger on Oct 07, 2018 at 10:12 am

In 2015 tan chong nissan x-trail already had the 360 camera even in the 2.0 low spec model. This is already 2018 and why volvo luxury brand so kedekut and omit the 360 camera?

• taweel on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:49 am

Just watched this car through Kelley Blue Book.

• tokmoh. on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:58 am

Volvo, Geely > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • panoramic roof is missing

but an otherwise an almost complete package
    A very2 tempting proposition

• Henry on Oct 05, 2018 at 12:40 pm

Wow! Very good specs and pricing. Price is slightly lower than what I have anticipated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • thepolygon on Oct 05, 2018 at 2:25 pm

Looks good. I must test drive it first before I decide.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 05, 2018 at 2:37 pm

pricing on the high side

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 05, 2018 at 5:18 pm

Very nice and loaded SUV with a very nice price. Who will buy an X1 or GLA after this? Unless one wants to wait for the PHEV version, which may actually be cheaper.

• stastasta on Oct 11, 2018 at 1:31 pm

xc40 twin engine has a 1.5, 3 cylinder plug in hybrid. a compelling proposition because it can get excise duty incentives from the government, being locally assembled.

• Ben Yap on Oct 05, 2018 at 5:32 pm

looks at the S-Works SL6 on the volvo.

that’s a nice bike.

• T5 Twin Engine on Oct 05, 2018 at 5:38 pm

“…the T5 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid variant is in its plans…” – this motherhood statement could spell that people might just wait for it.

• applegreen on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:26 pm

If u want 5 years service package u have to pay rm9k, and thats for v40. This is xc40 i dont know how much they will charge

• drillero on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:42 pm

Buy VOLVO at your own risk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Darren on Oct 05, 2018 at 10:28 pm

Being inside a Volvo, taking risk is minimize to the least possible compared to other brands which are less safer.

• Fareed on Oct 19, 2018 at 2:28 am

Buy HONDA is more at RISK

New or Replacement Takata air bags may also kill you since the new research report is still not completed and revealed to public yet for their confidence .

• Old dog on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:49 pm

The previously two cars only smart people buy
    1) Toyota CHR – how ugly it’s on the road with that super high price
    2) Toyota Harrier – how inflated price of a low spec car
    Now comes…
    3) XC40 – what is in their mind when setting the price higher than BMW and Merc same range ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • Stupid Malaysia Cars on Oct 05, 2018 at 10:47 pm

I have mentioned it many times and I will continue to say it…IT’S BLOODY OVER PRICED!

Cars in Malaysia are seriously over priced be it a Proton, Toyota or a Merc.

I drive great cars at superb price range in NZ. But back here in Malaysia I had to convince myself to pay RM50K for a Perodua.

All my mat salleh friends says that Malaysians are very rich because they can afford to pay so much for so little. Must be lot’s of millionaires here….
    Frankly I do not know how to react to that statement…to laugh or to cry.
    But it’s true.

• Superpissmom on Oct 06, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Deal breaker here is rear seat is too upright. Rear passenger don’t even get a door top grab handle. These are major design flaws so it’s a no-go for me!

• all2insane on Oct 06, 2018 at 5:09 pm

The T5 has more hp than GLC200, GLC250 and X1. Better safety feature. The only thing it lose out id the badge which unsurprisingly Malaysian still mind very much.

• Gordan on Oct 19, 2018 at 3:20 am

Malaysia minds are mostly third world mentality and not rational in evaluating things .

In Germany , Mercedes are use as Taxi
      When you are there , The first image of a Mercedes is a Taxi rather than anything..high class..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 07, 2018 at 1:50 pm

honestly….dilemma….30k extra gets me a larger xc60….but i lose on some perks

• James on Nov 18, 2018 at 10:13 am

Volvo gave me the worst after sales experience.

• johnnyk on Dec 08, 2018 at 2:44 pm

iPhone made in China & expensive.
    apples fans dont mind to pay for it.