New Ford Everest facelift now available in Malaysia – 2.0L turbodiesel engines, 10-speed auto, from RM229k

Sime Darby Auto Connexion has introduced the facelifted Ford Everest in Malaysia, with two variants being available to the public. The first is the 2.0L Trend AWD 10AT, which is priced from RM228,888 on-the-road without insurance, while the range-topper is the 2.0L Bi-turbo Titanium AWD 10AT that goes for RM258,888.

One of the big changes here is the adoption of the newer Panther family of turbodiesel engines in place of the previous Puma line-up that consists of 2.2 and 3.2 litre five-cylinder Duratorq mills. On both variants, they are 2.0 litre powerplants but with differing outputs.

For the Trend variant, the engine comes with a single turbocharger for 180 PS and 420 Nm of torque, which is a step up from the 2.2 litre Duratorq’s 160 PS and 385 Nm. Meanwhile, the bi-turbo setup in the Titanium means it has 213 PS and 500 Nm at its disposal, an improvement from the 3.2 litre Duratorq that only has 200 PS and 470 Nm.

Regardless of engine choice, a Getrag 10R80 10-speed automatic is the only transmission choice and it replaces the 6R80 six-speed unit found on the outgoing model. Ford’s Terrain Management System (TMS) and electronic locking rear differential are also now present on both variants, with the former providing drivers with four different modes (Road, Sand, Snow and Rock) to select from via a dial located next to the gear lever.

As the variant names suggest, four-wheel drive comes as standard, along with other off-road related items like hill descent control and hill launch assist. Other features include a water wading depth of up to 800 mm, ground clearance of 225 mm, 30-degree approach angle, 25-degree departure angle and ramp breakover angle of 21.5 degrees.

In terms of equipment, the Trend comes with 18-inch alloy wheels (with 265/60 profile tyres), automatic xenon headlamps with LED DRLs, LED taillights, front and rear fog lamps, automatic wipers, rain-sensing wipers and a hands-free powered tailgate. Visual updates that are part of the facelift include a larger, three-slat grille in place of the previous two-slat design.

On the inside, you’ll find a dual-zone climate control system, rear air-con vents with blower speed control, dual four-inch TFT instrument cluster displays, keyless entry and start, leather upholstery, leather-trimmed steering wheel, gear knob and door trim, 10-speaker audio system, SYNC 3 with support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, plus an eight-inch touchscreen.

The Titanium naturally has a higher specification sheet, starting with 20-inch alloys (with 265/50 tyres), chrome door handles and side mirrors (with puddle lamps), as well as a panoramic sunroof. It also comes with a 230 V/150 W AC power outlet, ambient lighting and one-touch up/down for all power windows.

Additionally, you’ll get eight-way powered front seats and a power-folding third row bench, which are an upgrade from the Trend’s four-way manually adjusted front seats and third row. However, the safety kit on both variants are almost identical, with seven airbags (dual front, side, curtain and driver’s knee), ESC with traction control, roll stability control and ABS with EBD.

The only difference between the two is the Titanium comes with front and rear parking sensors (rear only for the Trend) along with Ford’s Blind Spot Information System (BLIS) with cross-traffic alert. Unlike the Everest sold in Thailand, we do miss out autonomous emergency braking (AEB) with pedestrian and vehicle detection, adaptive cruise control (ACC) and lane keeping system (LKS). All variants of the new Everest are given a five-star safety rating by ASEAN NCAP.

Once again, the 2.0L Trend AWD 10AT goes for RM228,888 and the 2.0L Bi-turbo Titanium AWD 10AT retails at RM258,888. Two colours – Meteor Grey and Shadow Black – are offered for the base variant, while the Titanium has Diffused Silver and Sunset on its palette. Each purchase includes a three-year/100,000 km manufacturer’s warranty.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bluffy on Oct 08, 2018 at 3:25 pm

Fuhh yoo the price. Good luck ford mesia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • supercharged on Oct 08, 2018 at 5:04 pm

Sime Darby jual kreta Ford & Hyundai kat mesia laku keras.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 09, 2018 at 11:31 am

There is a secret to buying Ford. Very simple secret. If you find RM230k very pricey, just wait 1 year. Buy this car 2nd hand.

You can buy it for RM100k. Yes. Hard to believe. From RM230k to RM100k. A savings of RM130k. And yet, you have 4 yrs warranty remaining.

Ford is the King of RV Depreciation and King of No RV in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • Fordist on Oct 09, 2018 at 11:46 am

Why complain about Ford RV? We didn’t buy it because of the RV, otherwise we would buy a house instead. When it’s cheaper you complain, when it’s more expensive you complain. Your life won’t improve if all you do is complain and don’t work for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
          • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 09, 2018 at 12:28 pm

Ford parts cost more than a BMW. I owned both brands and my Ford parts cost more than my F10. Don’t forget also, every small part, AutoKONEKsion will hold my car for 3 months until the parts come it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • Fordist on Oct 09, 2018 at 2:06 pm

Bloody lie. That’s what it is. Which part is it that’s more expensive than a Beemer, do share. I have seen you here, and always with unsubstantiated accusations. Yet another lying troll.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 09, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Ford is dead in Malaysia. No point buying Ford. Sales are virtually ZERO except for the Ranger that keeps the company alive.

You buy any other model other than Ranger, be prepared to wait 3 to 6 months for your parts cause they are knows as low volume lines and they never stock the parts.

6 months you got to take Grab to work

• Syed Putra on Oct 13, 2018 at 7:58 pm

This ford everest uses same parts as ranger and assembled in thailand. So parts wont be expensi e nor difficult to get unlike say, mondeo.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 08, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Fortuner is only 170k…same crass maaa

• Fortura on Oct 09, 2018 at 10:52 am

Fully agree.UMW Toyota price vely reasonable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • 170k is for kosong spec Fortuner. To get diesel engine and the same equipment as the Everest Trend, need to go for the Fortuner 2.4 VRZ at 190k. 228k vs 190k, the Everest seems overpriced but it claw back some points by being more powerful, bigger in size and more refined.

• kesian ford on Oct 09, 2018 at 10:42 am

kesian ford, tak import semua so envy thailand, dah import kena bash pulak?

• johnnas on Oct 08, 2018 at 3:28 pm

Upgrade ur service centres first as well as the quality of your services and manpower first.
    RM229k for an SUV is rather bold. Maintenances of a Ford in Malaysia is hefty.

Fix
    Or
    Repair
    Daily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • It will be like the old everest. Won’t sell much with such a pricing

• Please don’t buy a vehicle if you want to use it for 2 years or less.. better use Grab.. got driver some more..

• Only from RM229k, a great bargain to the Volvo XC40.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 26
    • Starting from RM229K it is a better bargain than any BMW X1 and Mercedes GLA

• simon on Oct 08, 2018 at 3:33 pm

yah, no thank you.

258k for a Ford?

i rather take the XC40.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 20
    • Ahmad on Oct 09, 2018 at 8:50 am

Clearly you do not understand the concept of car size/segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • monday on Oct 08, 2018 at 3:42 pm

Yay! 0 sales on the way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • Wow! Any genius would choose this over an XC40????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • stastasta on Oct 18, 2018 at 6:38 pm

everest is 7 seat. xc40 is smaller than cx5. you must be retarded to compare them.

• J EXPERT on Oct 08, 2018 at 4:22 pm

Still 3 years warranty with this new 10 speed… Sad news.

• If one does not mind the extra 2 seats and wanted active safety features, better skip to XC40 straight

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 08, 2018 at 4:29 pm

nobody will buy…considering the price of the fortuner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • fortunar on Oct 08, 2018 at 6:21 pm

poor people cant choose. just go buy low class fortunar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
  • Qhally on Oct 08, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Hefty price with lack of features…bye2 i rather go with gla, glc or Volvo….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • eVaz88 on Oct 08, 2018 at 5:17 pm

yay~ Time to place order for Fortuner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
  • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 08, 2018 at 5:25 pm

Nice car. Not so nice price. That’s premium car price, for an SUV which is not premium. Though it does do offroad very well. Needs to be cheaper.

• Autobahn on Oct 09, 2018 at 8:40 am

Msian looks at premium as leather claded dahsboard ..but not the powerful engine and that 10 speed tranny..that is why low powered japanese cars is such a hot cakes here…all 150hp cars on the road hogging the fast lane

• Deal breaker without the autonomous safety features

• SUV Buyer on Oct 09, 2018 at 7:58 am

All is well for Ford except to when gauge across the competitions some has better features overall. For consumers wise vehicle of this size needs to have 360 panoramic cam in order to park at tight spot properly. Know the gamrplay well wins the game.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 09, 2018 at 10:41 am

Ford Malaysia should just sell one model which is the Ranger and nothing else.

• Matthew on Oct 10, 2018 at 7:18 am

Let’s me fair comment

• Matthew on Oct 10, 2018 at 7:23 am

Let’s me give a fair comments, this car is 7 seater SUV with Panaromic roof & 10 speed transmission which no SUV can give at this moment, except Santa Fe, Range Rover & XC90. The only Rival now is Hyundai Santa Fe. I will go for Santa Fe due to the Front Look at all the way better look compare Old skull look of new everest, no doubts, the 10 speed is attractive but I don’t need 10 speed(new transmission might have issue later & not mature). I think Ford everest is second choice for me. Price little high but still ok.

• Poor service from Ford malaysia, 4 months already, the parts still not arrive, ask them where is the party now, the answer is don’t know, everyday have to take grab to work, no compensation from Ford malaysia……

• renong on Oct 19, 2018 at 6:27 am

ford after sales service in malacca very very very poor

• Car lover on Sep 27, 2019 at 8:25 pm

Bapak mahal…. dgn harga 250k, byk lagi pilihan yg lebih berkualiti & tampak menarik serta mewah…. kalau harganya dlm range 180k – 200k , rasanya baru lah berebut org beli…