Proton X70 – online booking begins from October 17

Proton has announced that its new X70 will be available for booking online beginning from October 17. Bookings for the SUV had begun on September 8 with a deposit of RM1,000, and now buyers have a choice of how they want to make a booking for the car.

Customers will be able to register their interest in purchasing the X70 by filling up the booking form available on the landing page of the microsite, and they will be contacted by Proton sales staff a week after the booking has been made.

Potential buyers will be able to choose the type of registration for the vehicle (company or private) and the model variant. They’ll also be able to compare the general specifications of the four variants of the X70 that will go on sale, as well as the exterior colour and interior scheme options available for the SUV, by variant.

As previously mentioned, the X70 will be available in four variants, and they are the Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Executive AWD and Premium 2WD. All are powered by a 1.8 litre TGDi turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine producing 181 hp and 285 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 4,400 rpm, mated to a six-speed automatic transmission with manual mode.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • fauzy on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:07 pm

1 Volvo XC40 or 3 unit Proton X70

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 11, 2018 at 6:09 pm

Volvo sales will be smashed. Because many Malaysians like john think X70 is 100% Volvo technology.

But wait few months time, then you will see your car is not realy a Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • Jim Timun on Oct 11, 2018 at 9:10 pm

At least it has much better RV and reliability than Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:28 am

The secret to X70 is very simple. Just buy the car 1 year later in the 2nd hand market. This is because, in time immemorial, China cars have had super bad RV

Go and check mudah and look at Haval prices. Today RM100k, next year become RM40k. Research yourself.

The same fate will be the X70. Be a wise buyer. Buy it after one year. You can buy it for 50% less. Also you still have 4 years warranty left.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • Ya, booking already 8000 units. Proton will facing big problems

• Depends on ur budget. Either way u wun lose

• Tukangbesi on Oct 11, 2018 at 9:08 pm

Rasa bangga ku tahan sebak didada, proton dah kembali. Kereta rakyat baru satukan negara x kira kaum, ugama tua muda. Sampai hari ni tgk proton saga thn 1985 masih ada atas jln … Malaysia bolehh!

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 11, 2018 at 6:08 pm

I hope China also take over Petronas. Profits will double in no time with good hardworking ethics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 43
      • Rightwinger on Oct 12, 2018 at 1:46 am

We know where your loyalty lies. We don’t need people like you, you’re not bangsa Malaysia material.

• Hellhole on Oct 12, 2018 at 6:47 am

Bloody communist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Hilm Hassan on Oct 11, 2018 at 7:48 pm

Why buy volvo if it is the same class as boyue?

• Becuz CRV 0-100kmh in 8.8 secs

• Some prefers the brand prestige.
        Some prefers the extra features on Volvo.
        But whether high or low, theres room for everyones interest.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:44 am

Volvo xc60 is at premium class not same as boyue

• Book now and get ur car while P1 still gips SST free promo!
    Or
    wait for CKD with more local design elements and potentially cheaper price.

Either way, u wun lose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Abes la CX5, ASX, Tucson, Sportage, Xtrail, Outlander, CRV, 3008

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • old horse on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:09 pm

from 89K to 129K at max…

then will see like hot cake the next 2 years..

• Roarrr on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Booking open but pricing still hiding? Why so hard to show pricing? Takut no laku ka?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
  • Proton oh Proton on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:21 pm

I’m waiting to test drive n book…

• justsomepissedoffdude on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:23 pm

In the variant comparison image shouldn’t it be PREMIUM AWD and not Premium 2WD after EXECUTIVE AWD? Do they know there’s a difference between 2WD and AWD? proton… proton… proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • Osaka boy on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:40 pm

rather top up abit for CX3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • justsomepissedoffdude on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:42 pm

Seems like I got confused with the lineup. A 2WD variant is the top of the line model when there is a 4WD variant? Interesting….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Pyraxle on Oct 11, 2018 at 6:53 pm

Same goes to Honda CRV bro. Range topping is 2WD.

• Rightwinger on Oct 11, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Just like Honda, top variant is 2wd, keeps cost/price reasonable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Lolz! Take a look at CRV spec range, dude. Anybody complain there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Oct 13, 2018 at 6:32 pm

What’s the fuss is all about? Just buy Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 Enhanced & u get a 7 seater 4WD SUV with 7 airbags, Apple Carplay & Android Auto supported audio display head unit, 360 camera & dashcam. Yes the power output & torque is lower, but FC is better for the 7 seater at 13.7km/l compared with the 5 seater X70 at 12.8km/l. Power is adequate for city driving & going up Genting. I decided to buy it since Proton is too slow in bringing the X70 in, & no 7 seater. Should bring it in during the tax holiday.

• amjad othman on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:52 pm

Are you just trying to find a point to condemn proton? you must be someone who don”t really know the market trend. Look what honda did to new CRV line up. it is all about to make sure of the right pricing for target market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Stranger on Oct 12, 2018 at 8:26 am

Should said the same to Honda. CRV same grade line-up. Must be autonomous safety not working for AWD.

• I got a bad feeling the price going to be RM100K+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • newme on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:49 pm

Last time when you go Proton launches, the salesperson will ask you to buy fast because first batch is from Honda, Suzuki, Mitsu… What will be the excuse this time? China made car? hhahahha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Susukotak on Oct 11, 2018 at 7:51 pm

Gotta ask john. What will be the excuse this time hahahahhah

• Tido oh tido on Oct 11, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Same goes to junk jepunis salesman. After buy regret because most jepunis cars are underpowered, P1 much better

• 1st batch is built to Volvo standards. Got a problem?

• Sohai (not ori) on Oct 11, 2018 at 6:05 pm

Is the pricing udr Official Secrets Act?

• jinggo on Oct 11, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Sure SOCAR add this model to their car sharing line up. why buy when u can rent.. peace of mind.

• choyyebkang on Oct 11, 2018 at 6:26 pm

Say goodbye to CX-5, CR-V, Tiguan, 3008 :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Every1canTalk on Oct 11, 2018 at 7:19 pm

why not consolidate all information and post it under same title? Too many post but actually very less information update only.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:49 am

You don’t run website. You should know traffic is important to run a website. More traffic more revenue. If all in one place how to generate as much as traffic.

• Game changer….i can see this will be PROTON best seller if the price is right.

• Ben Yap on Oct 11, 2018 at 7:38 pm

No promotion? Offer buy X70 free Saga la at rm80k, then I buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Ninja on Oct 11, 2018 at 10:02 pm

Looks outdated already. Hope the top spec is below RM50k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Hahaha, that money can buy CR-V already. You know what i mean, yaa!

• It can be seen clearly from the map that the average actual FC of the model in any area is above 10L/100 km, well above the reported 7.8L/100km. The average actual FC reached is 11.15L/100 km, representing a 143% gap from its official reported FC.

• NOT CHEAP on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:06 am

Definitely it won’t be cheap for even lowest variant because all adapting 1.8 Turbo! Foresee more than 90K at least for lowest spec to >120k!

• faris on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:29 am

Bad FC for 2018 SUV standard. Same old P1 petrol thirst engine image..

• Johan on Oct 17, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Proton need to improve its service and quality control!!!
    The manager of PJS also likes to bs when asked questions then when call, it send to message box or at night, he said he is eating then meeting in morning after buying the car!