Proton X70 – safety systems detailed, including ADAS

Another topic touched upon during the second preview of the upcoming Proton X70 SUV, due to be launched in November, was safety. The national carmaker has previously been at the forefront in this area here in Malaysia, and it is looking to reassert its lead on the market with this new car.

All models come with six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, traction control, stability control (using Bosch’s generation 9.1 of the system), hill start assist and hill descent control – the latter is fitted on both front- and all-wheel drive variants, and pegs the downhill speed at 4 km/h.

Its Chinese market equivalent, the Geely Boyue, is rated five stars in the China New Car Assessment Programme (C-NCAP) with a score of 58.2 out of 61 points; Proton gave the example of the BMW X1, which scored lower with “just” 56.6 points to its name, as a comparison. The company also said that the car has been tested by ASEAN NCAP, with the results to be announced later.

The top Premium model goes one further with an Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS), incorporating autonomous emergency braking (AEB), front collision warning, adaptive cruise control, lane departure warning, blind spot monitor and Intelligent High Beam Control (IHBC). It should be noted that adaptive cruise control works at speeds between 30 to 150 km/h and does not have a stop-and-go/low-speed follow function.

These features are enabled through the use of five cameras (including one at the top of the windscreen used for lane departure warning), 19 different sensors and one radar sensor under the front number plate, the latter capable of detecting objects up to 160 metres in front of the car. A total of 1.4 km of electrical wiring is used just for the ADAS system alone.

Wrapping up the list of safety features are a 360-degree camera monitor on the mid-range Executive variants and up, along with a tyre pressure monitoring system on the Executive AWD and Premium models. The latter allows the driver to keep track on both tyre pressures and temperatures at each corner.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• CK, Lee on Oct 11, 2018 at 4:03 pm

Just booked the X70 Premium 2WD, estimated 129k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 11, 2018 at 4:05 pm

Finally Malaysians get a safe car. Thank you China and thank you Geely for giving us a safe car. We have been waiting for 30 years for a real safe car like this one. Long live ADAS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
    • Badas on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:31 pm

Wow, impressive DRB !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Rightwinger on Oct 11, 2018 at 8:24 pm

Goes to show you’re is stuck in a time warp when P1 has been making 5 star ASEAN NCAP cars since 2012, and besides that, you mentioned 30 years, well in 1988, there was no NCAP outside of US- Australasia started in ’93, Japan in ’95, Euro NCAP started in ’97 so seriously dude you gotta stop with the bullsh!t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 35
      • Haha! Everyone here knows he is talking bollocks. Just ignore him and let him wallow in his fantasies and fail-ry tales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 37
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:06 am

NCAP is not just about safety la abang. Long before NCAP, it was airbags and EBD. Proton never had airbags in the 90s whilst Toyota and Honda gave Malaysians airbags.

Oooh abang, write so much about NCAP and all the years of NCAP but you cannot undesrtand long before NCAP, there were safety specs too.

Pls learn more before you open your mouth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Mohd Shahab on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:14 am

P1 making 5 star cars since 2012. You mean Preve and Iriz. But both cars sales are so bad. Both cars failed.

If the cars are so safe people will buy it. Sales would be like Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • Rightwinger on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:04 pm

Sales bad or not does not take away the fact P1 made models that met the highest safety rating available at that time.

• Rightwinger on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:30 pm

There numerous models that are safe but not selling, like the Elantra Sport. People are not buying it, does that take anything away from its safety credentials? Of course not.

• S.Ibrahim on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:54 pm

Higher sales don’t say anything about safety. It only means the risk of being involved in an accident by one such unsafe car is much higher!

So you’d rather prefer to be in a safer car, like a Proton, during such encounters with unsafe milotin Peroduas!

• Hussein Abd Majid on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:20 am

cannot stop laughing thinking safety in cars only began in 1988. What about ABS? ABS started long ago. My Wira and Waja never had ABS

• Rightwinger on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:45 pm

And my Waja did have ABS and twin airbags. Did initial models have any of those? Certainly not but in 2001, that’s just a year after launch, P1 did offer a model with ABS and twin airbags.

Did ALL imported cars of the 90’s had airbags and ABS? no. My neighbour’s Daihatsu Charade and my dad’s w124 230E (the airbag was optional in Europe but mandatory for US at that time by the way) had neither.

Again, enough with the BS la.

• Nosushi on Oct 13, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Jepunis cars so slowpoke to intro safety gadgets while P1 is catching up fast. Vios got VSC in recent years, myvi too. Jepunis only think about money not pipu lives

• Ainul on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:55 am

Merepek pasal NCAP kenapa? ABS, EBD, SRS Airbag semua sebelum NCAP dicipta

• Meanwhile Perodua still repackages and selling Alzas without ABS. Talking about safety, Perodua is way far behind in this aspect. Kudos to Proton for constantly being in the forefront!

• P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 11, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Habis lah CX5, CRV and X-Trail. All 3 cars can close shop

My advice to all these 3 big bullies…..pls lower your prices by 30%. Otherwise you can tutup kedai. Literally and seriously!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • Tun F on Oct 11, 2018 at 7:13 pm

Dude….. 1.8 turbo… But 0-100km/h in 10.5seconds………. For real????? Surely people go for Crv… Can’t help it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
      • Tun M on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Dude.. you only compare the speed at 0-100kph. But please also compare the torque between X70 and CRV which one is superior.

Engine not only see at power but please also see at the torque. Some engine superior at speed but low at torque and vice verca.

• Your wishful thinking

• With over 2 million km of actual road test done, u can be assured this is a very safe car, worth of being related to safety advocates like Volvo & P1. Gr8 job P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • thepolygon on Oct 11, 2018 at 9:36 pm

Gr8 for flooded roads & rainy season soon!

• Its a car for all seasons.
        If u need to carry big loads, the larger boot space is there for them.
        If mom with kids need to carry them with their bikes, its there for them.
        If need to go into orchard to carry back loads of durian, its doable for them.
        If need to balik kampung in comfort for all while lugging gifts, its there for them.
        If need to go on holidays on a comfy drive while carrying luggages, its there for them.

• luv suv on Oct 11, 2018 at 4:18 pm

They should have ADAS at least as optional to Executive variant. Not all people want to pay extra for sunroof.

• Floating roof design like evoque, even tucson facelift dun have

• Will kill Volvo, Honda, Toyota, Kimchi on Oct 11, 2018 at 4:31 pm

Price at RM100-120k to kill all those SUV brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • ADAS not HADAS on Oct 11, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Luckily its not HADAS

• Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 11, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Got use hot press forming?

• It has higher perf than HPF: “Boyue received the highest vehicle collision safety score in China thanks to generous use of high-tensile thermoforming steel (1,650 Mpa, higher than Proton Hot Press Forming’s 1,470 Mpa) and dual-phase high-strength steel (590 to 780 Mpa)”

• Amran on Oct 12, 2018 at 7:56 am

So Proton HPF is not good? Easily send us to grave..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Nope. P1 HPF is still better than tissue paper Mivi that uses steelgate substandard materials. Easily send users to early afterlife.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 11, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Awesome ! The X70 will be the first domestic badged car with adaptive cruise control. Proton is slowly but surely moving towards fully autonomous cars.

The question is, are Malaysians ready for autonomous cars ? If you ask me, I would say YES ; because most Malaysians are too lazy to drive manuals, don’t use their signals and have no concept of lane discipline. The number of reckless driving cases keep increasing every year.

Autonomous cars are the solution. And hopefully, Proton, with the backing of Geely Group, will help make autonomous cars accessible to the rakyat in the near future. After all, Proton helped popularise electronic stability control in recent years.

• Lanekeep Assist will prevent them from changing lanes w/o signalling.

• This is no crv.only chinese cheapskate.think of its reliability of its chinese engine before opting for one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • The real game changer! This x70 easily can kill Myvi!

• Adaptive Cruise Control no Stop-and-Go on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:01 am

“It should be noted that adaptive cruise control works at speeds between 30 to 150 km/h and does not have a stop-and-go/low-speed follow function.”

Adaptive Cruise Control without Stop-and-Go function? Seriously?

• Hafiz Hisham on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:35 am

How often do u need it? To lazy to press the acceleration pedal ke? The AEB will able to stop u if misjudge the brake distance so dont worry about not having stop-and-go function. Even for luxury makes, not many has this feature for cars priced many times more than this SUV.

• adass on Oct 13, 2018 at 1:38 pm

Low speed adaptive you cannot use in bolehland traffic jam, other cars may goes in front of you before your car starts to move.

• “adaptive cruise control works at speeds between 30 to 150 km/h and does not have a stop-and-go/low-speed follow function.”

But in the preview event I heard that this ACC come with low speed follow function and return to original speed after the slow car remove.
    So which is true ya? Thanks

• AlmightySnackBar on Oct 16, 2018 at 12:55 pm

Wow.. Proton.. Impressive. Please maintain the quality and service and I can guarantee Proton will be back as No 1 not only in Malaysia but will get a big breakthrough world wide. XC 70, Proton, the up and coming Volvolike car.