2018 Toyota Rush launched in Malaysia – new 1.5L engine, Pre-Collision System, est from RM93k

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) today launched the all-new Toyota Rush, which is available in two locally-assembled (CKD) variants – 1.5G and 1.5S – with prices estimated to start from RM93,000 for the former and RM98,000 for the latter.

Visually, the seven-seater has been completely redesigned and now sports an MPV-SUV crossover look that isn’t unlike the Honda BR-V. Styling cues at the front appear to be influenced by the larger Fortuner, and include a tapered, four-slat grille that is flanked by slim LED headlamps with notched indicators and LED daytime running lights.

The lower apron is segmented into the sections, with those in the corners being dedicated to the circular fog lamps (1.5S only) and faux inlets, and the middle one an actual intake. Viewed as a whole, the combination of blacked-out and body-coloured areas create a prominent ‘X design’ on the Rush’s face, which plays well with Toyota’s dynamic design language approach.

On either sides of the Rush, a rising crease from the front wheel arch culminates at the tip of the rear taillight, while body cladding fits the MPV-SUV persona being portrayed. Both variants come with 17-inch alloy wheels wrapped with 215/60 profile tyres by default, along with an ‘R-Blade’ bodykit that adds on silver touches on all sides.

Moving towards the rear, wraparound LED taillights meet with the black window trims that form part of the roof spoiler, while a scalloped section of the large tailgate is dedicated to the accommodate the number plate. More body cladding is present in the lower apron, joined by a skid plate in black (also found at the front).

If the new Rush looks larger than its rounder predecessor, your eyes aren’t fooling you. Dimension-wise, the new model is 4,435 mm long, 1,695 mm wide, 1,705 mm tall and has a 2,685 mm wheelbase, with most of those figures being more than the previous model’s 4,055 mm length, 1,695 mm width, 1,690 mm height and 2,580 mm.

Meanwhile, the BR-V, which is the Rush’s closest rival, measures 4,456 mm long (+21 mm), 1,735 mm wide (+40 mm), 1,666 mm tall (-39 mm) and comes with a 2,662 mm wheelbase (-23 mm). To those who may concern, the BR-V’s ground clearance of 201 mm is also less than the new Rush’s 220 mm.

The interior also receives a overhaul, and now sports a more contemporary and rather symmetrical design compared to before. Highlights include a silver and chrome accents that contrast with the primarily black interior, while leather upholstery is applicable to the 1.5S (fabric for 1.5G).

As before, the Rush offers seating for seven, distributed according to a 2-3-2 layout, with the second row following a 60:40 split; third row is 50:50. With the third row backrest folded down, there’s 217 litres of storage space, which is expanded to 514 litres when tumbled up.

Regardless of variant choice, you’ll get single-zone air-conditioning with rear blower vents, 6.8-inch DVD-AVX head unit with screen mirroring function, multi-info display, Panoramic View Monitor with four cameras, Toyota AutoTag built-in SmartTAG, four electrical outlets, keyless entry and start, digital video recorder (DVR) and no less than 13 cupholders.

In terms of the safety kit, the Rush impresses with its ‘Safe-T Plus’ package that includes six airbags, a blind spot monitor with rear-cross traffic alert, vehicle stability control and Pre-Collision System. The last item is exclusive to the 1.5S and operates like most autonomous emergency braking systems by first alerting the driver at speeds of 4-100 km/h (vehicles)/4-50 km/h (pedestrians) when an imminent collision is ahead.

Should no action be taken, the system will apply the brakes (operational speed between 4-80 km/h) to attempt to prevent or mitigate a crash. Also part of the Pre-Collision System are front departure alert that alerts when you the car moves ahead by three metres, and Pedal Misoperation Control. These safety systems, along with traction control, hill start assist, ABS with EBD and brake assist, and pedal misoperation control contribute to the Rush’s five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating.

Under the bonnet, you’ll find a 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine with start/stop. Unlike the previous 3SZ-VE powerplant, the new mill comes with Dual VVT-i for better efficiency and is the same unit found in the latest Avanza as well as the Perodua Myvi.

Output figures are 105 PS at 6,000 rpm and 136 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, with drive going to the rear wheels via a four-speed torque converter automatic. The company claims a fuel consumption of 15.6 km/l, which qualifies the Rush to be an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV).

Customers will get to choose from five exterior colours – White, Silver Metallic, Dark Grey Metallic, Blue Metallic and Dark Green Metallic. Each purchase also comes with a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty. For more information and detailed specifications of the all-new Toyota Rush, head on over to CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Rush 1.5S

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Rush 1.5G

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bring in the RAV4 pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
    • Nobody want to buy RAV4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 71
      • Anything but P on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:03 pm

all new Toyota Rush. all Msians had waited with bated breath ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • Everything must Porsche on Oct 19, 2018 at 2:46 pm

LOL
          later all branch managers rushing to clear aging stock..
          wait for them to throw price and offer goodies then maybe consider ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Mario and Bros on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Nobody want to buy Honda models. Hahaha People will buy x70 or rush

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 15
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:02 pm

Between this and X70?

I rather buy a car that is sold in 200 countries in the world than a car that is 95% sold in China only and rejected completely by all first world nations.

There must be a reason why first world nations have rejected China made cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
        • Captain Slow on Oct 19, 2018 at 8:57 am

Are u sure this Rush sell in 200 countries???

• rightwinger on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:55 am

how you know rejected? or issit Geely dont export? coz , there are numerous models from various manufacturers that are not (officially) exported from their home countries for reasons known only to them.
          here’s one example Honda’s NSX type R, both pre facelift (’92) and post facelift (’02) models were strictly JDM- by your logic they must horrendous…

• Tun F on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:03 pm

Dude… It’s different segment… Why can’t you understand. X70 is big suv with larger cc… And this one is compact such with 7 seater.. Some more with tiny engine 1.5litre…..r u sure this one can go up to Genting.. Yeah it can.. But…. Very sluggish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 15
        • Smaller engine also I still buy because it comes from a reputable car maker.

Look at Exora, big car and big engine also can terbakar naik Genting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 42
        • Trust me…Chinese car isn’t worth it….I know since I spent 6 years in Egypt..lot of them here
          ..whenever Uber car was geely I feel like riding a toy car….cheap material…smell of regret..looks good from a far …even Chinese won’t recommend it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • aslan on Oct 20, 2018 at 10:27 pm

wht need to go genting?asalkan mosque bole sampai dh cukup elok bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • One thing I learnt from my Avanza. 1.5 litre. Comparing full of passenger and no passenger, power almost same. I think maybe because its using rear wheel drive. Try it to believe!. But yeah, you feel its under-power especially when you try to over take other car.

• Duckling on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:55 pm

Ugly. Full stop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 43
      • The acceleration test process of RAV4 2.0L is more boring. The driving mode is selected as SPORT and VSC (body stability control system) is turned off. For the protection of CVT gearbox, the starting speed is limited to 2000 rpm or less, except for the acceleration G value is small when starting. Jumping beyond 0.6, the entire acceleration process is very dull, and the final 0.00km/h acceleration of 12.49 seconds ranks in the middle of the same displacement SUV model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
      • Unfortunately, Bo Yue, who is clearly ahead of the data, failed to pick up the Tiguan. After many tests, Bo Yue’s scores were around 10 seconds, while Tiguan was stable at 9.6 seconds to 9.7 seconds. Chinese brand models have always had a phenomenon in which the nominal horsepower value does not match the actual acceleration capability. Although the 9.99-second performance of Bo Yue is acceptable, it is still a bit far from the benchmark of the joint venture model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • B Unggul on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:57 pm

Well, you’d have to give that credit due to the DSG too. And while the transmission itself is a marvel of engineering, it comes with some ‘reputation’ too.

Say what you might, but that baoteng’s acceleration figure is pretty standard compared to its peers. See how the bigger displacement Mazda CX fares.

• Peemak on Oct 23, 2018 at 3:38 pm

theres always people like him, keep comparing different segment car..

• Wonder on Dec 16, 2018 at 11:51 pm

Looks like probably an intern Japanese designer just simply design ..and approved by supervisor..thinking.. dun worry we can sell this in the Malaysia market … hehe..die hard Toyota fans will be loyal to us and will be our ambassadors and we save a tons of man hours in designing and costs of making new body panels …like they just launch with a mindset .. take it or leave .. I ‘m selling it for 93k and it’s a TOYOTAA.. I wonder if they will launch in Europe or us… slap in a v6 engine for Europe maybe ? Let’s see .. if this version is solely for Asia only .. wonder if they sell it in their own country ?

• Kuinosan on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:22 pm

Go for the Harrier!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Oct 19, 2018 at 1:07 am

Haha.. i think this model for middle income.. harrier too much for me..honestly due to price… at least for new one ( not 2nd)..

• Failure to Launch on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:05 pm

Time and time again Proton lost out on launch. Tidur lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
    • OMG Wow very nice, errr i mean that model in red

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • suomynona on Oct 18, 2018 at 2:08 pm

I second this!

• Toyota Rush is better than RAV4, RAV4 no 2nd value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 18, 2018 at 10:40 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 265
    • Lcians on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:27 pm

Fuyooh!! simply class leading, 5star NCAP.
      VSC, Pre-Collision, built-in SmartTAG reader

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 10
      • B Unggul on Oct 19, 2018 at 10:00 pm

Smart Tag reader? Come RFID, and it’s obsolency time

• petai on Nov 14, 2018 at 4:25 pm

smart tag, RFID, TnG,,,all the same lah..reach at toll still need to slow/stop..still need to pay..unless RFID let you speed through the gate then will be nice

• TreeHugger on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 185
      • Toyota salespipu so bored, nothing to do in their empty showroom. So they come here bash all other brands and disliking critical comments. Such a sad existence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 60
        • Axxx - Bras and Panites on Oct 19, 2018 at 12:25 am

Wrong bro. Honda salespipu so bored, nothing to do in their empty showroom. So these Honda basher always come to bash all brands and disliking critical comments. Some more these username as “john Siau Lang” disparage his Honda. Not only that, Ben Yap also hates all carmakers brand while Axxx and Ah Beng Level 2 and other Honda salesmen also hates Proton and Perodua. Moreover, they always keeping their secret that they don’t want to telling everyone that Honda Service Malaysia Quality is terrible and Honda Assembly Quality Malaysia is so terrible too. Furthermore, Honda salesmen don’t even care about Proton at all. Lastly, Mr john pls don’t ever listen to Arrogant Honda salesmen. These Honda Salesmen have no respect at all, hates all carmaker brands including Honda Salesmen also hates Proton, Honda Salesmen are also very arrogant and snobbish that Honda salesmen never give way to other carmaker brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • Error: Sorry, you are voting too often. on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:18 pm

Yes Toyota Salesman all are bodoh. Just like their greedy top management.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • najib1312 on Oct 18, 2018 at 10:42 am

At that price, I would rather buy the more sophisticated Toyota Sienta which is a proper 7 seater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 35
    • awg1031 on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:59 am

Brand aside, Proton Ertiga is more proper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
      • Amran on Oct 18, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Oh no.. are you kidding?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Korean Fan on Oct 19, 2018 at 1:48 am

Not kidding. But Ertiga is one of the most underrated 7 seater. Engine wise not much different (1.4 vs 1.5). Google to find out. You will save almost 35k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • karam singh on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:09 pm

sienta is MPV built for japanese market.
      rush is compact SUV designed and sold in asia for that rough terrain use.

but year, agree that sienta is a better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • pengomel on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:36 pm

ya, sophisticated ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
    • No rear aircond vent, 3 airbags, less safety feature on Sienta, the sales numbers don’t lie…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 40
      • Ridhuan on Oct 18, 2018 at 5:59 pm

No rear aircond vent on sienta?? less safety feature on sienta?? i think you must study sienta first before comments.. hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Tun F on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:06 pm

Sienta is a failure product… It’s Perodua Alza in disguise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Asmawi on Oct 18, 2018 at 10:49 am

(Like) Proton X70.
    (Unlike) Toyota Rush 7 Seater

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 39
    • Estimate both SUV cost RM98,000
      X70 dimensions: 4.519m x 1.831m x 1.694m; volume size: 14 cubic meter
      Rush dimensions: 4.435m x 1.695m x 1.705m; volume size: 12.8 cubic meter
      X70 sell at prices RM 7000 per cubic meter
      Rush sell at prices RM 7656 per cubic meter

Rush too expensive!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 57
      • Haha, first time car value comparison by volume. Nice try. You can find a lot of value in mini bus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • Kipas on Oct 19, 2018 at 8:00 am

Spot on bro

• Ya, mini bus bigger size but cost how much? Now SUV compare to SUV. R u sleeping?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Malaysian buying car concern about space what? But they only used eyes to measure and never calculate, that’s why I giving a help. Hahaha

• Lol, toyota pricing real failed…. proton x70 looks better choices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 78
    • loltolol on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:30 am

wait until you see x70 price…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • 1.5L NA (120HP) vs 1.8L tebo (181HP). No one RUSHing to get this. All waiting for X70 with bated breath and even demanding to know the prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Tun F on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:07 pm

Bro John… Correction… Rush is only 105HP.. . FAR LOWER THAN 180HP X70

• If both SUV cost RM 98,000
      X70 got 285 Nm torque
      Rush got 136 Nm torque

X70 sell at prices RM 343.80 per output torque
      Rush sell at prices RM 720.50 per output torque

Rush too expensive!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 59
    • zamer on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:34 pm

Better top up abit, up nissan Serena kan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • halloha560-john SDN BHD on Oct 18, 2018 at 10:58 am

(Like) Toyota Rush
    (Dislike) Honda BRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 47
  • omg boring la tokshit on Oct 18, 2018 at 10:58 am

indo car. low class. same like honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 34
  • Time to buy New Toyota Rush or Proton X70 on Oct 18, 2018 at 10:59 am

Goodbye Honda models

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 30
  • heyheyman123 on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:01 am

Pipu will sure buy New Toyota Rush because lots of safety features including Emergency Stop Signal, 6 airbags as well compare to Honda BRV give only 2 airbags and no Emergency Stop Signal

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 20
  • This is impressive. I mean the safety kit for the S version really sets a bar higher for with blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert and Pre-Collision System which works between 4km/h to 80km/h. This is the first time I would ever place a thumbs up for UWM Toyota for including these options as part of the safety pack on their new vehicle. This should give other car manufacturing to gear up their safety kits on their new vehicles.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 5
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:41 pm

If this is a preview of what is to come for other Toyota vehicles then I think UMW is off to a good start.

• sohhai on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:07 am

Now this car looks similar to the Avanza. What the hell is Toyota smoking? The Rush should be marketed as an SUV with design similar to the HR-V….but wait, they already have the C-HR for this. So the Rush is a redundant model that is neither this nor that and has no clear identity now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 61
    • Pyraxle on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:30 am

The new Rush will compete with BR-V, mate. Not HR-V.

• chowhai on Oct 18, 2018 at 10:58 pm

You already have Avanza competing with BR-V. So what’s the Rush for?

• Audi Faliq Ibrahim on Oct 23, 2018 at 9:51 pm

If I not mistaken Rush is essentially the SUV version of Avanza. Both use the same platform. It is like Fortuner and Innova.

• rightwinger on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:05 pm

its going up against the BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Ugly. And .lame, with stickers and that usual bumper skirting..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 65
  • Excellent Toyota quality and RV. This is much better than the lousy Geely Boyue with its heavy and dated 1.8L Turbo and high FC and noisy interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 74
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:50 am

U should know that Toyota NR engine is old. It come out first in 2008 n since then upgraded little by little.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • comparo on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:00 pm

Why compare puny 136nm engine with much more powerful 285nm engine?

• RUGAL on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:03 pm

The X70 hasn’t launched yet. How would you know the interior is noisy? You came from future?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • This car is made by a joint venture between a car-maker in Indonesia with Toyota, same with Toyota Inova where the quality is really sucks and well known for its absurd fuel consumption. i have known people who bought Inova and sold it only after one year buying it because he cannot tahan paying for the fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
    • Ruslan Bahari on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:30 pm

Toyota salesman bored to death detected…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
  • Ben Yap on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:19 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 174
    • john is otak batu on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:00 pm

But… but… but… A lot of Ah beng & Apek says this is the only reliable engine in market!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • meladam on Oct 18, 2018 at 2:27 pm

for me, with the safety kits and the price offered, it is a good bargain compared to small honda city or brv with the same price tag. If you want high power engine and tiptop safety kits, I suggest you to take the RangeRover or the forturner that can satisfies your high expectation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Oct 19, 2018 at 1:17 am

Are u crazy.. comparing this suv-mpv with civic.. this is more to family sport car.. people usually dont mind about speed.. the most important is safety and comfort.. also the NVH noisy level..

• Gudbye Rush, hello X70!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 38
    • Mario and Bros on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:11 pm

No. It should be Gudbye Honda BRV, hello X70 and Rush. Then it is correct

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
      • john Siau Lang on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:51 pm

No. It should be Gudbye Toyota Rush and Proton X70, hello Honda BR-V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
    • Tease here Tease there on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:58 am

Proton dun even have the balls to reveal the price. Hello what? Still like to tease here and there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Mario and Bros on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:36 pm

Honda dun even have the balls to reveal the price. Still like to tease here and there?

• The pricing for the two variants very much dearer to the (almost) corresponding variants in Indonesia.

In the republic, Rush 1.5G automatic was retailed at RM68,314.42 and
    TRD Sportivo priced at RM71,437.91.

The Philippines priced two variants 1.5E and 1.5G at 948,000PHP=RM72,989.76 to
    1,070,000PHP RM82,399.71, respectively despite having Left Hand Drive unit. As a benchmark, RAV4 2.5l 4×2
    pricing stated from
    RM111,654.24. Only RM13,000 dearer than Rush 1.5S! Rush is ASEAN/Asian/least developed countries car just like Vios or BRV.

In Malaysia, the SUV like MPV increase RM25,000 to RM28,000 for the both variants. I assumed S equal to TRD Sportivo.

The increase is too much. Simply a UMW-Toyota way pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Wiring caused fire and screw defects caused loose of wheel tires settle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 36
    • Axxx - Bras and Panties on Oct 18, 2018 at 5:13 pm

Aiyoo. Axxx don’t be jealous. I know you are from Honda Salesman. Me Axxx don’t pretend to be Proton Supporter. You always doesn’t want to give way to Proton to be top no.2 and Toyota to be top no.3. You always keeping your secret that you don’t want to tell Honda Service Malaysia quality is terrible including Honda assembly Malaysia Quality is terrible too. Not only that, no matter you bash Toyota, people are smart to buy Toyota or Proton and any other carmakers but not Honda. The reason because people ignores that you are talking fake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • I’m not talking fake, C-HR and Prius got recalled because of wiring issue and screw defects. Already announced in news. Those P&T fans live in cave, sure only listen to good news and ignore bad news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
  • underpower on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:47 am

With only 105ps, weighing 1.3tons, 7 seaters + 215/60/17 big tires = sure underpower!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 49
  • Not Toyota Fan on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:02 pm

13 cup holder wor. Buy this, your Mother in Law will approve. Your father in law will approve. Sure up RV.

What? 1.5L NA mated to 4 gear AT? Not important at all. Jimat minyak mah. Sure lagi up RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Should be 1.5 E and 1.5 G opposed to 1.5 G to and 1.5 S.

As evidence by Sienta, who is going to buy g spec?

• sam123 on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:38 pm

toyota malaysia as usual always surprise with “latest” technology

– 3 row seat without aircon
    – 4 speed auto on 1200 kg vehicle

and by the way malaysia only get 5-seater variant only, the last 2 seat are hack job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Guan yin ma on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:39 pm

Thank you UMW for bringing us 3rd world country vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Stranger on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:46 pm

Yeah then Honda introduce overlord BRV with much “better” specs and safety to good Msian drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
  • thepolygon on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:46 pm

Not once the guy in the video ad smiles…. it’s like he is trying to tell something but couldn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • like it or not, toyota hv a winner on their hands
    Let the booking numbers do d talking

• sarcasm on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:15 pm

I thought it was a cayenne

• Daniel on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:24 pm

Toyota pls stop produce ugly car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
  • Iqbal on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:38 pm

hmm, dashboard look outdated. If design like new myvi’s dashboard is much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • Sam M on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:40 pm

I can’t believe how ridiculous most of the comments here are. They are only about the external side of the car! Shows you the poor Malaysian mentality when it comes to automobiles. This car is equipped with the safety features of cars twice the price, and instead the concern is with the facade? Unbelievable. Do you know how important autonomous emergency braking is, and pedal misoperation control, given the fact that most Malaysian drivers are idiotic enough to WhatsApp while driving and like to slow down to look at accidents on the OPPOSITE side of the highway? And still they whine about how “ugly” a car looks. SMH. When will we grow up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 15
    • Darwin Award on Oct 18, 2018 at 5:28 pm

I think you need to grow up. If you think this one appeal to you then you buy it. Don’t force ppl to like something they think is ugly eventhough safety is top of the line. If you thought a car is all about safety then i think carmakers should stop R&D on the looks and design of a car. Just sell a moving steel box with top class safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
    • Agree with Darwin.. it’s like couldn’t care less design.. autonomous braking is just part of autonomous system.. Sam m… in future .. u just in the the car , say your destination to Siri? and and u can look up into the sky and take picture of stars..:) no more accidents :) as all are autonomous … Until then just practice defensive driving lor…

• pengomel on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:51 pm

wah, toyota designers very brilliant this time. simple design with some twist. jimat masa dan kos. headlight just copy accord, obviously with that L shape drl. done. then rear light the designer just flip or rotate 360 degree the city 2017 rear light, done. that’s why it looks familiar. if no toyota emblem, maybe people thought it’s a new honda suv. so basically, driving this rush just like driving mpv-suv with sedan’s cosmetics. the seat also same like honda city. kudos toyota~ bai bai BRV. till now honda don’t dare to copy toyota..or maybe don’t even care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Jascha on Oct 18, 2018 at 2:08 pm

Only 4-speeder AT? I thought SUV in this class should fit with a 6-speeder if not CVT. Even Geely Binyue got a 7-speed DCT.

• The previous Rush(the one that Perodua sold) looked soo much better. Really disappointed to see her transformed into an Avanza mutation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • Ahmadjr on Oct 18, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Kalau x70 lagi mahal beli sajalah toyota. Interest rate pun rendah

• Below 100k price can give this list of equipment. What happen to your 500k MPV equipment? All gone.

• mejoh on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:02 pm

this suv are made in malaysia,assemble by perodua,not by toyota indonesia.if u want to save more,wait for perodua new suv,price will be less about 20k from rush. same engine,but minimum different exterior and interior.
    heard will be launch nov or dec this year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 34
    • Mojokojo on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Well no such thing will arrive soon…at least not this year…from produa executive….

• Tun F on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:14 pm

Perodua salesman detected… Dude… U can be terminated for revealing Perodua’s top secret… Amina… Take note

• kevin on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:37 pm

Dead on arrival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • Celup Teh 900x John on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:39 pm

Honda BR-V better and BRaVer! Smart people buy Honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 38
  • panjang on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:52 pm

Its 2018, 4 speed auto,dual vvti with 15km/l under controlled test….worth the 90k?

I wont deny it has the safety part covered very well.

• street on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:35 pm

Congratulations!!!! It just got uglier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • azrai on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:38 pm

Specially design for 3rd world ASEAN region. Cannot find in Japan. Same goes for Expander, BRV.

• Dug Ong on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:41 pm

The variants look so ah beng.. wtf with all the over the top bumper design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • The Voice on Oct 18, 2018 at 4:43 pm

What a shitty looking vehicle.

Why cant they design cars properly these days?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • normal_user on Oct 18, 2018 at 5:06 pm

Last 5 years, when most Toyota models have no VSC, limited airbags, everyone Kutuk UMW Toyota like crazy. Now, even with some good specs (VSC, 6 airbags, soft touch trims, 360 camera, TouchnGo) across all variants, still Kutuk UMW. I do agree that the price is quite steep for a vehicle made by Perodua factory and has ladder-frame chassis set up. But then, the specs are far better than the older generation & even the BRV. RM85K should be fair for T badge, and 75K for Perodua D38 suv.

Hopefully this one rides better than the ones sampled across Indonesia & South Africa, and has better sound insulation since the 1.5 NR-VE engine is not refined enough as compared to Vios’ BR-FE engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Tun F on Oct 18, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Hahahahahaha…. Wait when Perodua launch their Suv then this rush will bye bye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Therealmaserati on Oct 18, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Only an idiot would buy the proton china x70 junk which is gonna suck fuel and break down like no tomorrow .

This Rush is gonna sell like hot cakes for sure. Very good pricing. Reliable and frugal engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
    • Mario and Bros on Oct 18, 2018 at 6:12 pm

Wrong lah. Only an idiot would buy Junk Honda with lousy quality, lousy Honda Malaysia Assembly quality and lousy Honda Service Malaysia Quality.

The Rush and X70 is gonna well like hot cakes for sure. Reliable and frugal engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Buy Honda get satisfication on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:06 am

Salah lah. Only an idiot would buy this underpowered moving steel box and untrustable chinese quality which can breakdown anytime.

The Honda BR-V is made by Honda with its guaranteed quality, comfortable, powerful engine and rugged design that suits everyone taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
        • buy honda get headache on Oct 25, 2018 at 2:30 pm

how dare you wrote on quality.. even when you join br-v user group in facebook also the users complain on its quality.

• Wan Syaifulaizan on Oct 18, 2018 at 5:19 pm

Interior design is ok but exterior is like a crap. For a global company like toyota, they can do better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • kanazai2001 on Oct 18, 2018 at 6:17 pm

where is the manual transmission variant?! @#$%#%^$^&***

• Aero (Member) on Oct 18, 2018 at 6:36 pm

Congrats to UMW Toyota on the launch of their latest baby. I think the new Rush is a huge leap forward from the previous generation Rush, especially in the safety department.

It’s reassuring to note that UMWT is taking safety very seriously now. Hard to believe that just 5 years back, UMWT had one of the worst safety records in the market. But much has changed since then.

If I’ve not mistaken, the camera module which enables the PCW/PCB, FDA and PMC functions in the Rush could be indirectly related to the ASA system in the new Myvi. However, it seems that the PCW/PCB system in the new Rush is more advanced, since it can function up to 100 kmh (highway AEB), versus 30 kmh in the Myvi (city stop).

Nonetheless, the blind spot monitor and ‘360 view’ are unique to the Rush, no Myvi has it. The 360 view looks very advanced, but is actually quite simple in execution. There are three extra cameras on the Rush; one under each wing mirror and one under the rear hatch handle. The on-board computers ‘stitch’ the three video feeds together, and display it on the dashboard touchscreen.

Also, one more important fact to note here is that unlike the (overpriced) Thai CBU CH-R, the new Rush is a CKD model. Unlike all the other CKD Toyotas, the new Rush is assembled at Perodua’s plant in Rawang. There’s two reasons for this; the first is because UMW Toyota is building their all-new second plant at Bukit Raja, due for a 2019 opening. All passenger car production (Vios, Camry, Innova etc.) will gradually shift to the new second plant from 2019. The old ASSB Shah Alam plant will become a commercial vehicle (HiLux, HiAce etc.) plant moving forward. This is why (I speculate) the CH-R is a CBU model and not a CKD one. The CH-R might be locally assembled at the second plant in 2019/2020 (again, just my speculation).

The second reason, which is much more relevant, is the implied relationship the new Rush may have with Perodua’s upcoming SUV. In other words, the Perodua SUV may share a lot of parts and components with the new Rush. It may be a complete rebadge of the Rush, or more likely, a partially reworked design like the Axia or Myvi. Bear in mind, the (largely forgotten) Perodua Nautica was a rebadged a Toyota Rush (CBU Japan). But this is all just speculation, Perodua has not confirmed any real details (and likely never will, based on their past policies). On another note, the DPEM plant in Sendayan now builds the same 1.5L engine for three different models (Myvi, Vios and Rush).

Anyway, just wanted to highlight some behind-the-scenes details for those who might be interested. Good luck to UMWT. I’m still looking forward to the launch of the new Camry. Honda Malaysia’s quality control is getting worse every year. It’s surprisingly common to see brand new, 1 year old Honda Accords with faulty DRLs. And that’s just scratching the surface. Fact is, when it to comes to QC and reliability, Toyota is still no.1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Engineer on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:57 pm

Toyota Rush vs Honda BRV vs Proton X70

Showdown.

• Engineer on Oct 19, 2018 at 12:11 am

No fight. X70 wins hands down. It’s spec are awesome, it’s safety equipment are up there with luxury marques, it’s record proven with 300,000 on the road.

• Tun F on Oct 19, 2018 at 10:33 am

U must be Toyota salesman or Perodua salesman….. The way type it here… Mmmm… Dude…

• I totally agreed! Toyota made The paradigm shift! I hope all other cars will follow!
      Cars must have minimum six airbags

• brian on Oct 18, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Can’t wait to find out the pricing of Perodua SUV which will be the Daihatsu version of Rush. It should be a close competitor of BRV.

• Same L0rr on Oct 18, 2018 at 8:10 pm

The real game changer! Good rv!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • i like the metallic green colour , its nice to see a new colour in the malaysian scene instead of the usual white/black/silver

also…, rush looks way better imo without the extrovert plastic cladding…

https://paultan.org/2017/11/17/2018-toyota-rush-pix-leaked-indonesian-debut-soon/toyota-rush-2018-leaked-3/

i mean, even indonesia’s sportivo model’s plastic cladding looks subtle

https://s3.paultan.org/image/2017/11/2018-Toyota-Rush-Indonesia-31-e1514973743152.png

I don’t understand why ours looks way way overly done…. looks abit nasty to be honest….

• Carlos on Oct 19, 2018 at 12:51 am

The plastic cladding merely justify the RM27K different between Indonesian vs Malaysian Rush

• James on Oct 18, 2018 at 10:22 pm

No cvt , seriously ??

• wow, you have good safety features, here in Indonesia we don’t get a blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alerts and also pre-collision systems. And get also the R-Blade design that I think is too busy. But the top spec Rush in Indonesia is RM 23000 cheaper.

• Joreb on Oct 19, 2018 at 8:10 am

I have a new Myvi 1.5. They must be joking to think that the same engine with 105hp can efficiently drive the Rush around with 7 occupants. Crazy! Can’t they move up the value chain and either plunk in a higher capacity engine or go turbo?

• Another proven fail product in the making.

1.5cc ladder frame chassic selling above RM 93K? What a joke.

look at the previous rush and new toyota Sienta that cost above RM 90K. All fail miserably with this pricing except the T. Avanza where affordable pricing around RM 75K.

No one will get a 1.5cc above RM 90K. Bayue 1.8cc will be a better buy.

If they price it like the avanza (RM 70-80K) then will be a success. Otherwise, just another failure.

With RM 95K range, there are many choice like new HRV/civic, 2 years old x-trail/tucsan/kia sportage to choose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Subsidi petrol xde on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:52 am

<1300cc baru ada subsidi

• angeleyes on Oct 19, 2018 at 10:58 am

If only they could apply the front fascia and styling of the Daihatsu Terios to this Rush… However, the safety kits list is quite good though.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 20, 2018 at 4:16 am

Looks like new Avanza…with higher price tag.

• ThAboIT on Oct 20, 2018 at 12:55 pm

I was hoping for a mini Fortuner but I get a hulk Avanza instead. Sigh..

• rm90k perodua on Oct 21, 2018 at 2:09 pm

dear paul tan.. i believe u did mistake by upload perodua axia interior image rather than toyota rush interior image..

• rm90k perodua on Oct 21, 2018 at 2:13 pm

this is the only 2018 produce vehicle at rm90k price range that still use dinosaur age 4 auto speeder.. better put 3 auto speed, more rare

• I wish this Rush will come in red colour as red as Vios version soon.

• Growing famiy on Oct 22, 2018 at 12:34 am

I find BR-V seats are rather short and dont find it comfortable for me at least. Is it the same for Rush?

• rjmsfire on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:04 pm

The steering wheel, the front seats, TnG reader, rear seat hooks, anti-snatch hook, seat-side USB charging port, all these direct copy and paste from Myvi. Plus same engine and gearbox as Myvi. Perhaps Perodua will have plans to rebadge this Rush as the next Alza?

• Finally , umw Toyota or toyota Japan decided to put safety over prices.

Toyota rush can win over brv by just having six airbags with anti collision system!

The other cheapest cars with anti collions system is top end of Honda CRV which cost extra 60 k!!!!

Btw, People just loves or hates Toyota cars.
    There are so many comments!

• Anonymous_C on Oct 24, 2018 at 1:30 pm

thought PT gang once claims there will be actively promoting new product, oh well… probably awaiting Perodua comparison

• uncle on Oct 30, 2018 at 11:56 pm

this single produk can easily tapau all sedan,mpv and suv from other segmen..u can drive this car peacefully on the crazy road with many potholes and bump..it can handle them very well

• 4 speed auto on Nov 01, 2018 at 12:12 am

Look like bigger avanza

• 3punch knockout on Dec 26, 2018 at 1:00 pm

No 3D all weather, day and night radar systems installed like X70

• Better and cheaper with auto gearbox rather than cvt, i choose the high spec for leather seat but not the stupid eco start stop system.

• Koay Cheng Hoe on May 24, 2019 at 9:27 pm

If Toyota Rush is fitted with 1.8 cc engine I will buy immediately.