No toll abolishment, but govt looking at lower rates, off-peak discounts, no increases – Works Minister

If you’re still holding on to the unrealistic dream of toll-free highways, here’s another reminder. Works minister Baru Bian has reiterated that there will be no abolishment of tolled roads until the country’s finances have recovered. However, the government is looking at certain measures to ease the burden on motorists’ wallets, Malay Mail reports.

“The government will not abolish tolls but we are discussing on finding alternatives. This includes lowering the toll rates, granting percentage discounts during off peak hours and maybe not raising the toll rates in the next two to three years.

“We will not abolish tolled highways until we reach a stage where our nation’s fiscal position is stable and has recovered to a healthy position,” he said in reply to a question by Sungai Besar MP Muslimin Yahaya in parliament.

When Pasir Mas MP Ahmad Fadhli Shaari asked if Malaysians should abandon their dream for toll-free highways, the minister replied: “Whether or not the public is dreaming (for a toll-free highway), it is up to them. The policy is clear. There is no abolishment of tolled roads until the nation’s finances have recovered.”

Previously, Bian was quoted as saying the government would have to pay toll concessionaires an estimated RM400 billion in compensation if tolls were abolished. However, that big sum was disputed by Damansara MP Tony Pua, who is also special officer to finance minister Lim Guan Eng.

Prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad had also come out to say that toll-free roads are not possible without a fuel price hike. “We made the manifesto thinking we would not be the government. Now we are the government, and this manifesto is a big burden. But, at that time, I was against it. I know to have a freeway… you cannot. The only way to have freeways and no toll is to raise the price of petrol,” the PM said.

The price of RON 95 petrol has remained at RM2.20 per litre since May 30. Abolishing tolls was part of the Pakatan Harapan manifesto.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:57 pm

Janji tak pernah ditepati…only good at giving all kinds of excuses…this is the kind pf government that we voted for…so disgusting…have you no shame pakatan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 39
    • Janji ditepati… Korupsi dimahkamahi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 30
      • rightwinger on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:28 am

patut mula dgn bapa klepto- Madey sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
        • nasikukus on Oct 19, 2018 at 4:47 pm

nie semua salah dasar- DEB

• Give-and-Take on Oct 21, 2018 at 2:34 pm

ni Malaysia bukan heaven, semua rakyat kena rajin bersama dan bersokong satu sama lain. Jangan harap ape2 percuma jar, BR1M, subsidi sampai xperlu kerja…. tp chance rakyat bagi ni jgn Malaysia Baru ni curi

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:00 pm

What happened to the 30% car price reduction promised to us? Malaysia has still the highest car prices in the world and one of the lowest GDP Per Capita amongst all countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 16
      • Reduce car prices only the rich benefits, but abolishing tolls, even the poor will benefits. Is ur Gov only interested to save money for the rich but make the poor pay? No suprises there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 34
        • mukhlis on Oct 19, 2018 at 12:19 am

Poor pay for the rich birkins. so no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • Razak on Oct 19, 2018 at 8:27 am

Only rich people own cars? Do dream on. Many of us own 2nd hand cars that cost only RM5k. My car that I own cost only RM5k. Am I rich?

Are all the Saga and Axia owners rich as you claim? There are about 5 million Axia, Myvi, Saga and Iswara owners in Malaysia…..are they rich?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • Abdul Wahab Khalid on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:00 am

I pay RM800 for my car every month. I pay only RM100 in tolls

I think you cannot understand that RM800 is bigger than RM100

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Thats you only. What about those paying Rm350 for car and RM200 for toll?

• john nangis umno president ditahan on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:14 am

Then dun reduce car prices, increase car prices of foreign rebadged car like Proton X70. Why should Proton receive the benefits while the poor suffers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 19, 2018 at 11:40 am

They can’t fulfill their promises made so they have to make another big huuhaa show with their opponents now. Some people are very gullible indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
          • True Rakyat on Oct 19, 2018 at 10:01 pm

Huu Haa? Which party is the one that ask people to huuhaa in front of mahkamah when its president is charged? People are not as gullible as you think.

• Ghani on Oct 22, 2018 at 9:42 pm

Which party you say? The one that starts with P and ends with R.

• Darren Surin on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:34 am

Motorbike prices and car prices cost more in monthly repayments than toll.

Motobike price for toll is very cheap. But to pay pack RM7000 bike with hefty interest rate by banks is difficult

• Khalid on Oct 19, 2018 at 3:13 pm

The rich are the proportion that contribute to Taxes rather than B40 groups that contribute zero income tax but enjoy the most benefit.. where is the fairness for people who pay and people who do not pay get to enjoy 100%> No difference with communist countries.

• Is Okay on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:54 pm

Im happy just with lower rates :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Momochacha 9000 on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:05 pm

we are not pushing you too far, as long as we see you
    are “doing somthing” at the right path.. not “anything else” in the different way..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 23
    • Political parties may have changed but the same 1.6 million Government servants remain the same.

They are still lazy and expect bantuan all the time. Toll money is needed to feed and bantu these category of people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 46
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:05 pm

You are right, we need toll money to support the tongkat system in Malaysia

Abolish tongkat system, you don’t need toll money at all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 13
      • Mokmok on Oct 18, 2018 at 9:11 pm

Get your facts right bro, don’t show your ‘unwilling to learn’ attitude to others. Spread love, not hatred.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
      • Razak on Oct 19, 2018 at 8:24 am

Kerajaan needs a lot of money to subsidize the lazy people in society. If everybody works hard, you don’t need to subsidize the lazy people, hence, you don’t need tolls and SST

• Richard on Oct 19, 2018 at 8:47 am

Spot on.
        Malaysia got 30 million population
        Malaysia got 1.6 million civil servants

Australia got 30 million population
        Australia got 250,000 Civil Servants.

Cut the workforce, can save about 10 bil per year. Can give free tolls for life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • rightwinger on Oct 19, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Here’s one reason for difference in public servant to population ratio between My and Aus:-

“The civil service in Malaysia is pivotal around Article 132 of the Constitution of Malaysiawhich stipulates that the public services shall consist of the Federal and State General Public Service, the Joint Public Services, the Education Service, the Judiciary and the Legal Service and the Armed Forces.

For all intents and purpose, Statutory Bodies and the Local Authorities are also considered as parts of the Public Services. This is because both these autonomous bodies resemble the Public Services in many respects since they adopt the procedures of the Public Services pertaining to appointments, terms and conditions of service and the remuneration system. Besides that, their officers and staff also receive pension and other retirement benefits similar to the employees in the Public Services.”

Compare that with…

“The Australian Public Service as an entity does not include the broader Commonwealth public sector including the Australian Defence Force, Commonwealth companies such as NBN Co Limited or the Australian Rail Track Corporation, or Commonwealth corporate entities such as the Australian National University or the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.[8] The Australian Public Service does not include the civil services of the State and Territory governments.

Enough with the BS, you’re just an NPC…

• rightwinger on Oct 19, 2018 at 9:27 am

what is your definition of government servant and which country specifically (and dont cop out by saying like ‘any advanced/ western/ 1st world country’ because each country has their own definition) are comparing it with when you allude to the numbers being high?

if you cant or wont, its ok because we know the BS is strong with you and your other pseudonyms.

• Abraham Lincoln on Oct 18, 2018 at 1:35 pm

You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 12
    • Bapak counters: But I only need to fool a majority of pipu at the right time, like during GE. Hehehehe

Bapak > Lincoln

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
  • Rahimm on Oct 18, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Bashings start in… 3..2, 1!

• Well it’s about time!

• So many u turn….how to reach destination?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
  • Kenneth fook on Oct 18, 2018 at 2:37 pm

Jeng jeng jeng!!! New car project ok. Toll abolishment no budget. Kudos to PH. Such an accountable new govt. Realizing all the promises made to the rakyat

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 8
    • Car project come first. Rakyat come last.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • abcde on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:32 pm

New car project but they mentioned it’s not using rakyat money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Yeah.. Atuk said that Khazanah’s money is not rakyat’s money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • He is right. Khazanah’s money is only a certain tribe’s money, not every rakyat’s money.

• Khazanahs money came mainly from smart investments, namely Alibaba and they made gud profits back to the Gov. Too bad all of them were forced and replaced with kelepet-dunggus.

• In the end , Malaysian are forced to buy this third national junk cars when the Harapan government PM Tun M will push for higher car prices for other makes.

In the end ,Rakyat still suffer even not using Rakyat money… Period.

• carazy on Oct 18, 2018 at 2:37 pm

“maybe not raising the toll rates in the next two to three years” – or U can just say, we will rise the toll somehow, it is normal practice for all the gov, to collect more money and more importantly to pay the dept of previous gov.. and we understand lots of “OLD” projects needs to revive again..

• CommonSense on Oct 18, 2018 at 2:53 pm

At least better they get that done late, rather than not fulfilling that promise at all. But the rakyat needs to keep the pressure on them to let them know we still want it to happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Ahmadjr on Oct 18, 2018 at 2:59 pm

Setuju. Aku rela bayar tol murah jalan lawa dari percuma tapi jalan berlubang lubang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 23
  • kzm (Member) on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:08 pm

Easy answer to all question.. until govt financial stable. lol. Other country oso have debt some even larger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
  • Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:17 pm

Than stop the monopoly by TnGo pls and station personel to help direct traffik, dunt always Collect and Go

• Sohai (not ori) on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:18 pm

If they can cancel the GAMUDA contract me dunt see how they cannot do the same..and the shareholder themselves are gomen or semi privacy like EPF, KAZANAH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • For any distance below 50km make the toll flat rate rm1. Enough la for maintenance.

And if there is a traffic jam, no charge at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • lilytan on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:23 pm

If so then why make such promise? No different with the previous capati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
  • rider on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:53 pm

atleast gov should abolish toll at LDP highway. LDP tolls are daylight robbery.

• Najib era: petrol rm2.10- kerajaan zalim

Mahathir era: petrol rm2.20- kerjaan peduli rakyat.

Clap clap clap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Amran on Oct 18, 2018 at 3:57 pm

Jambatan bengkok is more important than abbolish toll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Thank you, Sir, Much appreciated than increase. If BN rules, Toll and petrol price will be doubled or triple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 42
  • Aiyah…dulu kita dapat gomen mcm ubi kentang…tukar2 dapat lak ubi keledek. No difference, Janji kosong mcm tin Milo. Bila nak dapat undi apa pun leh janji, nak sungai pun dorg leh bagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • Gojeng on Oct 18, 2018 at 5:06 pm

Every single time I need to endure crazy traffic and queue jumpers at Exit 1123 Serdang, I will curse PH and MP Gobind for failing to fulfill their boasts before GE.

We will abolish toll once we become Federal Govt la, we will ease people’s burden la, save Malaysia la all that cock and bull manure stories.

And that curse will double when I need to pay LDP tolls, twice..for nothing, just to avoid the pain of the need to wait for two hours at that less than 2 km stretch of road just to get home.

PH, you and BN are the same crooks with different colors.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
    • No. PH is worse.
      BN is true to their colours, but PH is a crook disguising as polis. That makes them the worst crooks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
      • crook on Oct 19, 2018 at 1:08 pm

True to their colours? When are they true when their leader can’t even admit they stole the rakyat’s money? Only after PH took over that we know that he and his wife stored hundreds of handbags and goldbars in their house?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
        • Yet another gullible guppy. How much is handbags cost compared to daily feeding & upkeeping a farm full of thoroughbred horses?

• Netmask on Oct 18, 2018 at 6:44 pm

Abang downgraded, Adik upgraded.. SAME.. ABANG ADIK CONCEPT..

• hondaman on Oct 18, 2018 at 5:36 pm

haaaa….. tepukkkkkk….

• If this is the case, give me back previous gov. At least they know how to run the country lah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
  • Toll to toll within 100km paid only 50 cent.
    101 – 200km : RM 1
    201 – 300km : RM 2
    301 – 400km : RM 3
    401 – 500km : RM 4

Can consider?

• cheap toll road on Oct 19, 2018 at 6:26 pm

this formula will not work as road user can simply just get out from toll road prior to reach 100km then re-enter the toll road to start fresh mileages..

• Tol penang free pun tak buat2 lg.. hampeh..

• bieight on Oct 18, 2018 at 7:26 pm

better work out a system so that Malaysia cars are only getting rebate, Singapore and Thailand must pay full price toll!

• Johny on Oct 18, 2018 at 11:50 pm

Our car price still the highest in the world. we vote to change gov also we the rakyat still got screwed.

• MechanicGuna on Oct 19, 2018 at 10:42 am

Easy to solve lah. Just build alternative bypass roads around the toll plazas. People who wish to donate to politicians can drive through the toll plazas.

• they said toll free and petrol price reduce can be achieved by using money saved from leakage spending by previous government. rafizi can explain better. pkr member can vote for rafizi then.