E-hailing drivers will be subjected to same laws and regulations as taxi drivers – deputy transport minister

Instead of imposing an outright ban on e-hailing services, the government will create a level playing field for e-hailing drivers and taxi drivers by subjecting both parties to the same laws and regulations, says deputy transport minister Datuk Kamarudin Jaffar.

According to The Star, Kamarudin said that the government has no intention to abolish e-hailing services, as it has complemented the public transport system and is already a worldwide phenomenon.

“In principle, the ministry has agreed that we want to impose the same law and regulations on both e-hailing and taxi drivers, so no one will have any advantages when carrying out their services,” he said.

He explained that the process of creating a level playing field will be implemented in stages to ensure smooth operation for all parties, adding that the process will begin on January 1 next year and expected to be completed within a period of six months.

“We are currently trying to implement it, but it will take some time. We were informed that there are about 600,000 people who are involved in providing e-hailing services in the country. (We need time) Or else it would be impossible for Puspakom and other relevant agencies to cope with the inspections, but we are confident of implementing it,” he said.

As for the incident involving a group of angry taxi drivers in Langkawi during a dialogue between cabbies and the prime minister, Kamarudin said Tun Dr Mahathir, who is also the Langkawi MP, actually truly cares about the welfare of taxi drivers and the people. “Whatever was raised by the group will be addressed and brought to the cabinet so it can be settled. For me, such rude action should not have happened towards a leader of the country,” he noted.

More recently, a group of disgruntled taxi drivers held a protest in front of the finance ministry over claims that Grab was putting a dent into their business. What’s your take on this, folks?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 23, 2018 at 11:19 am

All these problems is because the lazy teksi drivers are making so much of noise, threats and walkouts. Jealousy is the No 1 cause here.

Hello teksi drivers, you guys are so lazy. All the time want to be pampered and want bantuan all the time. Typical Putrajaya mentality.

Try to work hard and if can, go join Grab. Nobody is stopping you from joining Grab. Why must you be jealous? Go join Grab and make money like the Grab drivers.

Don’t just lepak bawah pokok and sembang with other teksi drivers for hours. All the time smoking under the tree, chit chatting and looking at girls.

Be like the NTUC drivers in Singapore. They work non stop. 12 hours non stop they are driving looking for passengers.

You are lazy, how you expect money to come to you? If you spend like 6 hours in the day sleeping under the tree, smoking non stop inside a parked teksi……of course money won’t come to you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
    • pengomel on Oct 24, 2018 at 4:26 pm

i guess their old taxi not qualified for Grab. nak join grab tapi kena reject. itu yang mengamok. ada ke mana-mana e-hailing terima kereta dah lama? busuk, bau rokok pula tu?

• kl fella on Oct 23, 2018 at 11:20 am

all i can see are gangsters.. e-hailing is the way forward and such disruptive technology is actually good for the industry.. a good wake up call for them to be more humble and not to simply rip passengers (especially foreign tourists) off..

still remembered many years back trying hail a taxi from midvalley to pj section 14 (just a short distance) and the taxi driver say no meter, ask for RM40 because he’s going different direction and traffic jam. another taxi refused to pick me up, in the end i haggled with a third taxi for RM20.. damn blood-sucking gangster taxi drivers..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • pity them taxi drivers & proton cars.. they deserve 2nd chance, Not prejudice & stereotype.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
      • Over the years they had thousands of chances and yet they fumbled and now just screwed it all up… Enforce the law, cut the licenses and offer good behavior points. They have been bullying everyone irrespective of age color or creed for so long. They decided the rates how many people can go in the cab to which drop off place first. Create all the inconveniences and then torture you with the price… Terrible people… no pity whatsoever to this lot. Sadly the very small group of good guys gets swallowed by these morons !!

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 23, 2018 at 11:23 am

Pity Grab drivers now subject to all sorts of regulations and fees just because teksi guys are jealous.

Grab and Uber gave the rakyat clean, not smelly and honest system

We the rakyat got fed up with cheating teksi drivers. Even I myself have been asked to pay RM300 for a ride from KL Sentral to KLCC which took a mere 10 minutes.

Malaysians were fed up with the cheating teksi drivers. All the time refuse to pick up passengers because of suka hati. Jam means or rain, tell the passenger don’t want to bring them. If bring them, even 1KM, they charge RM50

Rakyat got fed up with all these cheating. Then refuse to use meter. Those who use meter also, 9 out of 10 meters got gadget inside that can make the meter move faster. When JPJ want to inspect, then they remove the gadget, thus no detection.

We have had enough of cheating by the teksi abang abang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Carlover on Oct 23, 2018 at 11:28 am

Well done government, please make sure the taxis too, will have a rating system, those grab drivers are so familiar with this rating, whis is a part of quality system to gauge the drivers, if u violates certain things, u can be suspended or terminated instantly etc, just to be fair to grab drivers. Can taxis drivers follow this rules as well? Level playing field?, so please walk the talk la minister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • alldisc on Oct 23, 2018 at 11:33 am

Ppl will still choose on grab over taxis because
    1. Newer cars, nicer. There is no perodua myv I or Honda City among taxis.
    2. Cheaper rate.
    3. Hassle free. Taxis u need to find of call operator. Grab u can actually see one near u and comes to your doorstep.
    4. Safety is better. Every trip is recorded

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Someone needs to get this message to all taxi drivers. If you as a person cannot adapt to what the market ones, don’t expect your clients to adapt to what you want. Nothing the government can or will do is going to stop the decrease in people’s interest in trusting or using taxi services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • you know the ‘level playing field’ can be apply both ways…like how the taxi must be up to the same standard/comfort as Grab

• Ur rate too expensive compare to grab

• Danny Ong on Oct 23, 2018 at 11:59 am

All cari makan, why can’t accept other parties to joint for healthy competition?

• whateverlah on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:03 pm

so later all the e-hailing driver also can get 50% toll fee same as taxi driver?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Ninja on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:17 pm

Ban all taxis. The rakyat wants them to be banned. We dont need or want them. We have suffered for 61 years. Enough is enough!!

We want GRAB, Uber etc.

PH must not succumb to the taxi drivers….ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • If level playing field means those subsidies for taxi drivers should be removed or should be given to e-hailing drivers as well. That’s level playing field.

• Fais jimi on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:34 pm

Majoriti pemandu teksi, mereka bekas tentera, polis dan pesara kerajaan …sokong dan bantulah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
  • This is the death of E-hailing in MY. Instead of bringing them up, PH Gov is bringing the competition down.

• Bruno on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:56 pm

https://paultan.org/2016/09/23/uber-receives-rm123m-investment-from-kwap/

• https://paultan.org/2018/05/22/big-blue-taxi-wants-the-govt-to-stop-supporting-grab/

• casual rider on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:50 pm

i think it’s fair if Grab drivers follow the same rule as taxi’s. Because both are in the same industry. At least after that taxi drivers cannot make anymore excuses to blame gov. From there the gov can say there is nothing much they can do since public prefer Grab.

• Ksatria on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:54 pm

..Level playing field..abg taxi will never agree to this, they will still complain cannot get loan to change new car & so forth..
    Gomen should study how to convert this abg taxis to ehailing service providers
    Let Msia be the first country to abolish taxis & implement e hailing services. Tq,Nandri,Trimas,kamsiah

• Same rules or different rules don’t matter, I will still continue to take Grab.

• Previous BN gov couldn’t solve this problem. Looks like it’s going to be the same thing with PR.

• BigRon on Oct 23, 2018 at 3:50 pm

Convert those taxi drivers to trishaw riders. Revive living heritage of KL, Penang, JB & Melaka …paid exercise too.

• Malaysian taxis are sucks.

• Ahmadjr on Oct 23, 2018 at 1:15 pm

Baguslah tu. Driver grab ni kalau berborak kata dapat 3k-4k sebulan bawa income dari grab je. Takkan bayar tax sikit tak boleh

• Kepala Otak Kau on Oct 23, 2018 at 4:24 pm

sbb bukan u yg wat grab. Betapa susah nk capai 4k-6k tau tak?

• Ahmadjr on Oct 23, 2018 at 4:42 pm

Habis tu yang kerja lain dapat 4k-6k tu senang? Meniaga tepi jalan pun kena sewa tapak dengan majlis. Nak sama hak macam teksi kenalah ikut peraturan yang sama

• What is the point of putting both on the same set of regulation? If the regulation works and well enforced, Grab or Uber would not even be a threat. The condition of the taxi, the attitude of the driver, the professionalism of the driver, the exorbitant charges and also the availabioity of the services making Malaysian sick of the taxi services. Grab, Uber , despite not subject to so called stringent regulation , their car is generally much better (cleaner), services offered are of higher quality, higher driving ethic and most importantly much higher availability and nlgenerally not rejecting service request.

• Danny on Oct 23, 2018 at 3:01 pm

Rakyat had too many unpleasant experience with greedy, rude and taxi drivers coupled with stuffy, smelly cabin. Grab offers customer-oriented value-adding service which by far a better alternative.

• KL Boy on Oct 23, 2018 at 3:46 pm

Ministry should go undercover and conduct study on our Malaysian taxis. Most of them are choosy,reject customers, dont use meter or use tampered meter. I once remembered me and my mom being rejected by taxi drivers from Kmpg Pandan to HKL and we needed to stop a few taxis until one agreed. My mom was feeling ill and I remember that experience for life, so I really don’t feel much for taxi drivers.

• Sama sama cari makan, pandai pandailah cari makan..jgn merungut

• Sohai (not ori) on Oct 23, 2018 at 4:49 pm

The majority elected PH so why r they listening to the minority, same wit gatet and guarded scheme, even.if one idiot objected , thw majority cannot implement..losers dunt have rights

• Never again on Oct 23, 2018 at 5:46 pm

The last time I took a taxi the guy smelled like piss and the cat literally had a hole in the floor.

• Chee Chiaw on Oct 23, 2018 at 7:55 pm

It’s actually becoming unfair to e-hailing drivers unless they will also be allowed to pick up passengers from taxi stands and pay taxi rate at tolls

• Seri Murni on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:34 am

Change yourselves before others change you, that is all you need to understand, don’t always say not fair , bangkit sampai akhir, lawn tetapi lawan all these nonsense, you need to analyse what is wrong within.
    Don’t be like Barisan and Umno, don’t repeat same mistake , think outside the box, the world is changing, if you can’t follow , learn , if you can’t learn , change

• atscmsf on Oct 24, 2018 at 12:37 am

harga tambang e-hailing ialah harga tambang teksi 10 tahun lepas, itu masa tayar 1 biji baru rm80-100, sekarang 1 biji tayar sudah rm160-180 dan komisen kena 20%. kesian.. pemandu e-hailing.

• MoiMoi on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:04 am

So, does that mean Grab driver can buy Proton at 50% discounted rate?
    Grab drivers bought their cars at FULL RATE, but they have to pay for the same Public Service Vehicle license as the taxi drivers?
    Some taxis are at least 10-15 years old, at yet Grabcar’s requirement is less than 10 years. How is it fair to Grab drivers if they have to follow these regulations?
    Looks like a headache for Transport Ministry.