Citroen C3 Aircross Malaysia preview – 1.2 PureTech

If you’re looking for a B-segment SUV but want something French, you’re already spoilt for choice, with the likes of the Peugeot 2008 and Renault Captur already on the market. And now, a third contender is about to enter the segment in the shape of the Citroën C3 Aircross, which is being previewed in showrooms.

This funky tallboy runabout has a quirky style befitting the offbeat Gallic brand, with details such as the trademark split headlights, 3D-effect tail lights, chunky black mouldings and various bits of squircle-shaped decor. It also appears that buyers here will be able to specify two-tone colour schemes for the exterior, with the grey car in these pictures appearing with red highlights that extend even to the rear quarter lights.

Inside, the squircle theme continues, appearing on the air vents, steering wheel and instrument cluster. Smack in the middle of the dashboard is a seven-inch touchscreen, linked to a navigation system that includes Apple CarPlay, Android Auto and MirrorLink functionality.

Power comes from a 1.2 litre PureTech turbocharged three-cylinder engine, the same one you’ll find in the Peugeot 208 and 2008. It makes 110 PS at 5,500 rpm and 205 Nm at 1,500 rpm, sent to the front wheels through a six-speed automatic transmission. It sprints from zero to 100 km/h in 10.4 seconds, has a top speed of 200 km/h and delivers a fuel consumption figure of 5.3 litres per 100 km on the NEDC cycle.

Standard kit includes halogen headlights, LED daytime running lights, 17-inch “4ever” (yes, that’s really what they’re called) two-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, a multifunction steering wheel, fabric seats, automatic air-conditioning, cruise control, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, rear parking sensors and a reverse camera.

Safety-wise, the C3 Aircross comes with six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, rear ISOFIX child seat anchors and electric rear child locks. It also gets two driver assistance systems – lane departure warning and Driver Attention Alert.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• wanxx on Nov 05, 2018 at 11:57 am

P1 kawen pijot, depa ni crossover Iriz 1.2T

• Safety First on Nov 05, 2018 at 12:06 pm

Quirky and qualify for petrol subsidy. Crossover buyers should serious consider this over HRV.

• RV First on Nov 05, 2018 at 2:58 pm

Ruler said expensive cars not qualified for fuel subsidies. Too bad guys.

• Lets See on Nov 06, 2018 at 9:10 pm

In other countries, Citroen is just a normal brand. Certainly not an expensive car. So how will Nobita determine what is expensive or not? Might as well open for all. Shortsighted Nobita.

• Armmzar on Nov 05, 2018 at 7:48 pm

Geely rebadge xc40 my pick.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 05, 2018 at 12:16 pm

i simply just want this car to sell well…

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 05, 2018 at 1:34 pm

Alamak still come with halogen lights. Should match HRV and CX3 with LED headlights la.

• Later gomen said LED lights is for luxury & premium and not eligible for petrol subsidy how? At least with halogen can still be retrofit with LED after approval as poorman’s car based on Nobita’s idea.

• Price?

• Muhamad Nakson on Nov 05, 2018 at 5:43 pm

Awaiting New Model Belingo 2019.

• look cute. but this brand will not attract customers to buy it. if put the p2 logo, will sell like hot cake provided the price tag is right.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 27, 2018 at 8:27 pm

Saw this at KLIMS and it’s really a nice little SUV but its missing out on two standard kit – LED headlights and leather seats. Too bad it’s RV sucks big time here. I sold my Kia for a Nissan recently and boy did the used dealers tried to slaughter me with their price for a Kia. Thank goodness I had a buyer and I managed to sell it off for a good sum. I can only imagine this Citroen doing far worse with the used dealers. Citroen Malaysia should give future guaranteed value like what Kia is doing to attract more sales. I would be willing to own one if that was the case.

• when will this c3 aircross launch in Malaysia ?