Government working on finalising RON 95 fuel subsidy

The government is set to begin its procurement process to acquire the necessary services or systems to implement the targeted RON 95 fuel subsidies, which is slated to begin from Q2 2019 following the tabling of Budget 2019 last week.

In a report by The Star, domestic trade and consumer affairs minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail revealed the finance ministry will be responsible in carrying out the process within a week or two.

He said handing out cash (to those that qualify for the subsidies) is not an option, and other methods such as cards are being looked into. “Whether it is a card in the form of chips or magnetic stripes, it has to be cheap but secure. So those are the options that we are looking into. We are now in the process of finalising and fine tuning the requirements. We are almost there,” said Saifuddin.

“There are proposals from various companies that are prepared to share their expertise. We have no problem identifying potential companies and we are prepared to do an open tender process,” he added. Malaysians reportedly use around 1.2 billion litres of petrol monthly, with RON 95 being the most widely used (90%) compared to RON97 at 10%.

“Can you imagine the money the government needs to spend to subsidise RON95?” Saifuddin asked, adding that if the selected system is good enough, it could be considered for use for the subsidy of other consumer goods.

During last week’s Budget 2019 tabling, finance minister Lim Guan Eng said the fuel subsidy was targeted at the B40 group (salary of below RM3,000 monthly) and that a mechanism of the scheme would be worked out to prevent abuse. It was announced that owners of multiple/luxury cars will not benefit from the fuel subsidy.

The scheme will offer a subsidy of 30 sen per litre up to 100 litres a month, for cars with an engine capacity of 1,500 cc and below. Meanwhile, motorcycles with an engine displacing 125 cc of capacity or less will be allocated the subsidy at the same rate of 30 sen per litre, for up 40 litres a month.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:50 pm

Now we are paying the price. 60 years of heavy duty corruption, now we pay the price. Our ringgit is so weak because corruption for 60 years had made the currency like banana money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 103
    • KPDNKK petrol formula Proven & tested since 2013.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Tommy on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:18 pm

60 years Petronas was piggy bank to the corrupted. Poor Petronas. Could not give rakyat cheap petrol like how Sultan of Brunei give cheap petrol to Bruneians.

Now since May 9th, Petronas now can reinvest their money back into exploration and drilling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 56
        • Sebastian Wong on Nov 10, 2018 at 11:19 am

Totally agreed! Truly grateful for Petronas unwavering contribution to beloved Msia. My family only refuel Petronas and support Petronas lubes. Hope they are oso many like us out there #SayangiMalaysiaku…

• Guess you didnt watch 2019 Budget..Petronas still become piggy bank. Now extra rm bilions more kaching out from them

• Everything you want to be cheap. Petrol, car, house, tax etc. Be grateful mate, other countries are more unfortunate.

• John Bin Dedak on Nov 10, 2018 at 2:30 pm

LHDN alone got shortfall of RM16 billion. RM16 billion hilang from LHDN.

So how Gomen want to gip cheap petrol? Cause gomen now must ganti balik the RM16 bil hilang in LHDN

• Steven Chia on Nov 10, 2018 at 3:02 pm

When corruption goes out of control, ultimately, it is the rakyat that will suffer.

We cannot expect cheap this and cheap that when the existing Government got to fill up lots of lubang.

• Fahmi on Nov 10, 2018 at 3:12 pm

kerajaan dulu tipu rakyat dengan harga minyak RM2.70 satu liter walaupun negara ini pengeluar minyak

Kata nak kurangkan harga kereta 30% pun kena tipu

• kingslayer on Nov 12, 2018 at 10:00 am

guess u missed the boat, brother. under prev gov, this glc has been increasing its reserved. hopefully, new gov will continue to make petronas better. not becoming piggy bank.

• 7yrs old on Nov 12, 2018 at 8:30 pm

way too much squandered away from the nation and future gens. shame shame.

• Hassan on Nov 10, 2018 at 2:46 pm

ECRL harga dulu dua kali ganda. LRT3 dulu dua kali ganda.

Ramai orang masuk duit dalam kocek.

Patut lah sekarang kerajaan susah nak bagi subsidi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • lilytan on Nov 12, 2018 at 9:06 am

Wonder how much money will go to contractors for this paltry subsidy program. With only 100l per month the subsidy will probably be like rm30 monthly max. Not even a full tank. Better give it straight away via brim instead rather thru some fancy and pricey system.

• Norlia on Nov 12, 2018 at 6:32 pm

True that. Fisherman got alot more petrol subsidi & farmer from baja selling

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:52 pm

Malaysians can have cheap petrol or subsidised petrol for life if all the corruption money is returned.

In total, can get few hundred thousand billion ringgit or even trillions back if our AG prosecute all the corruption that happened the past 60 years.

Then, we can enjoy cheap petrol, after all, we are an oil producing country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 82
    • John minum todi on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:22 pm

Agreed. That includes all the money lost from bnm forex, perwaja, bmf, mas scandals, etc..

• Azman Hashim on Nov 10, 2018 at 2:34 pm

60 years of stealing and corruption cannot be repaired in 5 months. You need another 10 yrs to pay back all money stolen

• Rightwinger on Nov 11, 2018 at 7:41 am

Again with the “we are an oil producing country” conundrum. You think we pump out same volume like Saudi? You think our country tiny like Brunei?

• Proton fans on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:54 pm

Cukurrr.. harga minyak makin stabil.. ikut manifesto PH..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • Rahim on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:14 pm

Mesti ada orang datang sini dan tipu dan kata PH janji minyak RM1.50 seliter.

Jangan tipu ya bang, PH tak ada cakap macam itu dalam manifesto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 80
      • Darus on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:19 pm

satu orang sahaja. Namanya john. Dia ada banyak dupes. Hari ini dia cuti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
        • Azrul on Nov 10, 2018 at 3:14 pm

lolz….kena kantoi. Tolong ada maruah sikit, jangan tipu orang lagi

• https://paultan.org/2018/09/12/rm1-50-petrol-not-in-ph-manifesto-targeted-fuel-subsidy-for-kapcai-cars-below-1-3l-next-year/

• Mr. Neo on Nov 10, 2018 at 10:12 am

OMG…. Mahacai detected

• hahaha… don’t worry. we know current gov are u turn gov. PH leaders talk about reducing petrol for a long time. they don’t have to put it in the manifesto. I remember they told us how they want to use petronas income to subsidised petrol.

• Red jacket on Nov 12, 2018 at 2:14 pm

Yes. But toll free road, free education and many more, PH ada janji.

• Abu Bakar on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:57 pm

No need subsidi. Just make the lazy 1.6 million Government Servants work harder. Too much of money is being spent to have the largest bloated Civil Service in the world.

Ask them to work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 72
    • Najib on Nov 09, 2018 at 7:30 pm

Politicians are not public servants

• defacto on Nov 09, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Still repeating same rubbish? It is large because including other types of group that is not counted in other countries

• Abu sayyaf on Nov 09, 2018 at 10:25 pm

Exactly. No wonder your English is lousy. Your teacher must be lazy.

• Cool story brah..shivering ady

• Lame. The stereotype is old story. Not anymore.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 12, 2018 at 11:31 am

Teacher already overwork, same with doctor.. police seem not enough? Army?

• Why give Rm30 a month? Sell the Proton cars cheaper and the Geely cars cheaper.

In Saudi, all our Proton cars are sold 50% less than the price sold in Malaysia. We give rich Arabs our local car for 50% less in price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
    • undergrad94 on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:34 pm

sell cheap then people say no RV. smh

• kaizen on Nov 10, 2018 at 9:23 am

who said RM30 a month????? read properly. learn to read properly. learn to appreciate!!!. it is 30 sen per liter for up to 100 liters per month.

so i know already your saudi’s claim is full of crap.

• 7yrsold on Nov 10, 2018 at 4:44 pm

Since when we control arab tax?

• John Bin Dedak on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:09 pm

So long also still need tongkat. How long do they want tongkat? Rakyat suffer whilst Mentri lama pandu Bentley, Ferrari and Porsche….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 15
    • Azrul on Nov 10, 2018 at 3:15 pm

Menteri lama banyak kaya. Untung jadi Menteri. Beratus juta biasa sahaja

• viosfan on Nov 10, 2018 at 4:45 pm

Work harder or stick with your 15 years old used Vios

• Rightwinger on Nov 11, 2018 at 7:46 am

If ministers take home income is 85k/month, not surprised can drive Bentley. Besides that, I thot PM salary as preached by you people last time is 20k only, how come current old geezer take home 75k? Sure got songlap here and there one… Should potong gaji to save money…

• stastasta on Nov 13, 2018 at 12:19 pm

because they have multiple income streams. become MP got one income, become minister got another income.

• No magis, no idea, just blaming previous gov… Sembang Kasi bimbang… Hahahahab

• Better use IC, reduce kos

• Malayalamese on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:57 pm

Applicant can apply via selected bank, post office, jpj branch.
    1. Mycard with Touch ‘n Go.
    2. Vehicle/motorcycle registration card.

Owner of vehicle gets RM30 auto debit into Mycard Touch ‘N Go monthly.
    Owner of motorcycle gets RM12 auto debit into Mycard Touch ‘N Go monthly.

• Rakyat on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:57 pm

Potong sket gaji 70k, bagi rakyat.

• Lets See on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:34 pm

Working still working still ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:37 pm

We don’t want limited edition subsidy. We want petrol to be priced at RM1.50/L like you have promised. Why are you so incapable to fulfill even one of your promises? Stop dilly-dallying and just lower it right now!

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Nov 12, 2018 at 3:57 pm

no such promise. Don’t lie. If got, post the link here. Never ending lies by a frustrated opposition that lost badly

• Happy on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:56 am

Google can save you from your ignorance. Use it well or forever be a caveman.

• markgoh on Nov 10, 2018 at 12:14 am

reduce the car tax is better then fuel price..
    price less = load less = interest less = save money

• vincent on Nov 10, 2018 at 1:03 am

If government can remove the car tax, the money we saved, less loan that need to be paid, we can use the savings to pay for non-subsidized fuel.

• lut you on Nov 10, 2018 at 10:18 am

We don’t need petrol subsidy, we want EV Protiga

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 10, 2018 at 12:55 pm

eh bila turun harga kereta?

• no more politics, as is oil prices been falling for over a week, if we are paying market price for ron 97 why hasnt the price drop? ..i must say fellas are so ignorant, they swallow what politicians say word for word..

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Nov 10, 2018 at 4:08 pm

If subsidised 30sen for 100L, that’s only Rm30 savings.
    If PH honoured their promise and give Rm1.50/L, that would be a savings of Rm70.
    That means each rakyat was actually subsidising the Gomen Rm40 per 100L. So what is this crap about Gomen looking after the rakyat? The rakyat is subsidising the Gomen!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 12, 2018 at 3:25 pm

Agreed! We are subsidising this crappy lying Government!

• Jacky Yong on Nov 10, 2018 at 5:35 pm

I don’t know man, 30 sen subsidy for a maximum of 100 liters per month? Which works out to be only RM30 per month maximum! Maybe I’m not in the B40 group, but I feel RM30 cannot buy anything much in a month nowadays. One time shopping in Tesco buying only essential stuffs already use up more than RM100!

• semivalue on Nov 10, 2018 at 11:33 pm

When subsidy is removed, please also removed the heavy taxes on cars.

• Ben Yap on Nov 11, 2018 at 11:53 am

Only the handicapped people or people with special needs should fall into the B40 due to physical limitation.

those that are perfectly normal but with household income should look for different avenues to bring in more income. Malaysia is the land of opportunity. If they work in a factory with a salary of RM1200, they can do business in pasar malam part time. in the morning before they go to work, they can sell nasi lemak or kuih to their colleagues.

i believe with hardwork, putting in 15 to 16 hours a day, they will fall into M40 level. it’s all about the initiative and the will to fight to change the fate.

• Oh Wai Oh Wai on Nov 12, 2018 at 3:20 pm

Some are just lazy. For over 60 yrs given bantuan and special privileges. They still demand for subsidy

• Damon Lee on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:58 am

And PH are continuing to plotek them, so?
        https://paultan.org/2018/11/08/ap-system-to-remain-but-policy-to-be-reviewed-miti/

• Why can’t they just utilise the mykad?? everybody carries it with them… any subsidy go thru mykad..

• tan32 on Nov 12, 2018 at 10:07 am

no fuel subsidy but no to all car import and excise duty, only maximum 10% SST and reduce/terminate tolls

• oil oil on Nov 12, 2018 at 10:29 am

with the abolish of subsidy, can gov reduce the car roadtax especially for diesel car (pickup etc)

• kzm (Member) on Nov 12, 2018 at 11:25 am

Nobody ask them to subsidized RON95. We already without fuel subsidy for a year before new govt intro back fuel subsidy.