Super GT set to return to Sepang in 2020 as night race

Fans of the Japanese Super GT championship, your ears will be pricked at the sound of this – the popular touring car race series is set to return to the Sepang International Circuit for the first time since 2013, as sports event organiser Haro Sports and Entertainment has reached an agreement with series organiser GTA to work together on hosting the Malaysian round in 2020.

That would make it seven years since a Super GT round was last held here, but it will return with a twist – it will be the first race in the series’ history to be held at night, making use of the track’s new floodlights. “Japan is synonymous with innovation, and at Haro, we are all about reinventing the wheel,” said Haro’s managing partner Fahrizal bin Hasan. “The return of Super GT to Malaysia will be history in the making.”

Masaaki Bandoh, GTA chairman, said: “We hope that not only the drivers, teams and car manufacturers but also everyone involved in Super GT will work together with Haro and the local staff involved in operations at Sepang to help the people of Malaysia share in the enjoyment of motor sports and create a race event based on a shared understanding of automobile culture. At the same time, I hope that through Super GT we can contribute to promoting exchange that builds friendship between Malaysia and Japan.”

Sepang was Super GT’s first international venue, with an exhibition race held there in 2000 and 2001; it became a regular points-paying championship round in 2002. The series pulled out the year before it began adopting Class 1 regulations together with the German Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters (DTM) in 2014, so the 2020 race will be the first time the latest GT500 machines race in anger over here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• JAVfan on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:17 pm

Night+ GT Race queen@@ that is the legendary Lexus PETRONAS TOM’S SC430 SUPER GT

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:37 pm

This sounds good. After we gave up F1, hopefully this brings money for Sepang.

All over the world everybody wants to host F1, but we Malaysians kick it out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Rightwinger on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:58 pm

so did the India and Korea…jeeeez man do some reading, you’re looking like an idiot.

• Becoz F1 used up USD 50M of taxpayers money every time. Wake up man.

• Freddy on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:41 pm

Korea said no thanks, India said no thanks, even USA said no thanks for a very long time. SuperGT YES!, F1 NO!

• Hairulnizam on Nov 10, 2018 at 4:11 pm

F1 not viable… good for entertainment but not for technical building of nation… local people involvement is critical

• Rightwinger on Nov 11, 2018 at 7:38 am

So did India and Korea. So if use your logic these two countries also stupid la?

• Definitely on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:12 pm

Night race? awesome..

• They are back! I’m really excited!

• modelpiclives on Nov 10, 2018 at 7:57 am

waittt.. only 1 model pic… usually therrs more…. :(

• Hairulnizam on Nov 10, 2018 at 4:12 pm

F1 not viable… good for entertainment but not for technical building of nation… local people involvement is critical

• Kopi 'O Sate on Nov 10, 2018 at 11:13 pm

SuperGT night race in Sepang?….Good Luck.

Local crowds are better daytime..

• sam123 on Nov 12, 2018 at 8:47 am

i think they back because we just loan and Tun get the highest badge with japan

• Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) on Nov 16, 2018 at 1:07 am

Hopefully i got to ike ike with one of the queens when they’re here. Finger crossed!