Aftermarket HID headlamp conversion illegal – Loke

Transport minister Anthony Loke has issued a reminder on illegal high intensity discharge (HID) headlamp conversions. He was explaining the related regulations in reply to a question in parliament, and posted up a video of that on his Facebook page.

“Any fitment of HID headlamps that do not follow specifications is not allowed, except for whole-assembly system change with accreditation from authorities such as SIRIM,” he said.

“HID headlamp installation that is allowed adhere to UN regulations – UNECE R48: Installation Of Light, UNECE R98: Gas-Discharge Headlamp and UNECE R99: Gas-Discharge Headlamp Source – and includes original HID headlamps fitted by car manufacturers according to the above standards.

Aftermarket HID headlamp conversion illegal – Loke

“For instance, UNECE R48 states that a vehicle’s headlamps can only have maximum brightness intensity of 4,300K, but HID headlamps rated up to 16,000K are available on the market. Those found guilty can be charged and fined a maximum of RM2,000 or jail of not more than six months,” he added.

What the minister essentially means is that any non-standard and aftermarket HID headlamp conversion is illegal, unless it’s a whole-system factory retrofit job approved by the authorities. If the HID, Xenon or LED headlamps came with your car from the factory, then it has been type-approved and is legal. Nothing new here, just a reminder of existing laws.

HID lights produce a whitish light that’s brighter – by up to two or three times – than that produced by halogen lamps (LEDs are behind HIDs in this respect). It requires less power than halogens (around 35 watts) and is claimed to have a lifespan of approximately 2,000 hours. HIDs usually come with an auto-leveling function and have wider light dispersion. Wider and brighter means improved visibility and safety at night, not just for the driver, but for other vehicles as well.

The problem is with aftermarket fitments that are too bright or aren’t properly calibrated. Last year, we got clarification from Datuk Mohamad Dalib, director of the automotive engineering department at the Road Transport Department (JPJ), and this is what he had to say.

“The rules on vehicle headlights are very clear. Any lights that are fitted on later (retrofitted), lights that differ from the original ones that came with the vehicle, they’re illegal. If it follows the specifications of the manufacturer, no problem.

“But some HID bulbs on the market have colour temperatures of up to 16,000K. That’s the problem, when we come across cars that blind opposing traffic. This endangers other road users, and we want to avoid this,” he said, adding that changing headlamps is also against the Vehicle Type Approval (VTA) that has been given to the vehicle.

LED DRLs? They’re OK, Mohd Dalib confirmed.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ongtk on Nov 21, 2018 at 12:13 pm

The enforcement when it comes to illegal fittings whether it’s HID, dark tint, etc on vehicles is pathetic. Our enforcement primarily only focused on speeding. You can see the number of vehicles that are heavily tinted yet no action taken. You come across drivers who hogged the overtaking lane, no action taken. I have witnessed patrol cars and policeman on motorcycle giving way to them and overtake these hoggers on the left.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • tricycle on Nov 21, 2018 at 4:23 pm

And many luxury imported cars register in Langkawi & Sarawak roadtax, roaming KL streets

• James on Nov 22, 2018 at 2:14 am

Actually tinted I think they enforce, I kena twice once while parked at Sunway area once at hartamas. Donno just bad luck or what. Came back to my car got JPJ letter ask go inspection on windscreen. First time I took my car for inspection, 2nd time I buat bodo till sell my car

• banned to the core! on Nov 21, 2018 at 12:14 pm

Agreed with the enforcement. But do take note, the G should prevent this issue from the core. Blocked all the illegal HID to be imported & sell everywhere. Or else, it will remain the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • George on Nov 21, 2018 at 6:19 pm

The road transport minister and JPJ said it is illegal to install HID but most of the accessories shop are selling them.What are the authorities doing?

• rightwinger on Nov 22, 2018 at 1:13 am

ya, its like its illegal to smoke weed, but no action taken against those who sell. funny ah…

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 21, 2018 at 12:38 pm

It’s been decades since this kind of law to announce. But noting has been done

Only waste of funding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Tomohito on Nov 21, 2018 at 12:44 pm

What about motorists with non functioning headlights/tailights or users who level the headlights wrongly? I always see users using halogen reflectors leveling their headlights wrongly and using only highbeams for the whole journey to compensate for the one burnt bulb which they couldnt be bothered to change or some users not even bothering to turn on the headlights during night drives. Even worse are the bikers who have no working headlights/taillights and still dare to ride in the night. I’m just trying to say, don’t only just target the HID users, target those who fail to maintain their lights also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Good Move by Loke. Now we all don’t have to suffer sudden blur vision during HID headlamp vehicle pass by or follow behind. It’s Really in pain whenever we as driver encounter such car. Very irritating. Gambateh Transport Minister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Enforcement is the key. The law has been around for ages already, so whatever this Loki announce is nothing new.

• Izham on Nov 21, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Obviously you are very young, and/or misinformed. This directive (ban on aftermarket HIDs) had been ongoing for at least 5-7 years now. By the previous Transport Ministers. But no enforcement, so issue continues. Why don’t you hold your plaudits until something concrete shows up, right? Wouldn’t want you to make a fool of yourself.

• JasJos on Nov 21, 2018 at 12:46 pm

A bit outdated enforcement no? I really doubt aftermarket hid are even selling well. Enforce on aftermarket LED conversion instead please

• lithium on Nov 21, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Pls also look at black out tints and after market led tail lights that is too dim. Notice BMW led headlights to be very glaring and distracting although original factory fitted.

Pls also catch those IDIOTS that drive with their rear fog lights switched on at all times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Keith Chiang on Nov 21, 2018 at 1:22 pm

I disagree. HIDs in properly adjusted projector headlamp are safe. I drive and travel at night a lot and halogens are pretty much useless.

I hope minister can reconsider the scope of offence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
  • Ben Yap on Nov 21, 2018 at 1:24 pm

my civic turbo comes with LED… no need to go for outdated HID.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • Stupid u r obviously out of this context la stupid no need to brag about ur stupid ketam turbo . Stupid.

• Actually 4300K is not a measure of brightness intensity but the colour temperature. In fact any higher than 4300k the light is actually dimmer. The dazzling of HID lights is when the beam is uncontrolled in a reflector housing or a poorly adjusted headlight beam levels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Yup. That’s right…. Now days minister…. So funny…. Like kindergarten kid run the whole country.

• SALang on Nov 21, 2018 at 1:35 pm

How about those LED which is a direct replacement to normal halogen? there is no additional wiring require and the light output is similar to halogen. Is that consider legal or illegal?

• Pakulupapito on Nov 21, 2018 at 1:39 pm

I dont think hid really useful in Malaysia. During rainy night, it sucks.

• I knew it's a BMW again on Nov 21, 2018 at 1:41 pm

How about those BMW, Honda, new Myvi headlights? It is okay to be bright but they are just not properly calibrated, the angle is just like they are switching on high beam all the time, no matter they are following behind you or against the traffic…

BTW, can auto light-on drivers switch off your lights while you are waiting someone on the roadside? or residential area? or entering up the carparks ramp while waiting for your turn to get parking ticket?

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 21, 2018 at 1:50 pm

Never seem them enforcing this law at all.

• Rulered on Nov 21, 2018 at 2:08 pm

BMW punya Hid pun banyak kuat. Blinding and irritating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Jeremy Chin K S on Nov 21, 2018 at 2:10 pm

I think someone is misinformed.

Brightness and output is measured in lumens.

What is stated is colour temperature (ie 4000K, 9000k). 16000k is almost completely blue. Doubt one would have blue lights unless you are a police car or snow plow.

I for one don’t agree on HID bulb retrofits to a normal reflector headlight unit as the reflectors are not suitable for the HID bulb, throwing out the beam pattern.

However I would make a case of HID retrofits if the owner replaces the entire headlamp assembly from a car of the same model with factory HIDs complete with any factory autoleveling or headlight washerjets.

Not sure why LED bulb retrofits are allowed. The same principle should apply, as the LED emmiters are usually not placed correctly and the resulting beam pattern may end up all over the place causing glare.

Badly adjusted LED can just be as glaring as badly installed HIDs. Some first gen LEDs from Honda CRVs are also notorious for blinding other motorists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Yahya on Nov 21, 2018 at 2:16 pm

All this is good but what is more dangerous are the thousands of Mat Rempits on the road who flout the law and endanger other road users.

What is being done about these recalcitrant good for nothing parasites?

• Blinding BMW laser headlights on Nov 21, 2018 at 2:28 pm

headlights low beam focus alignment way too high is also hazardous to on comming car.

Cars with one sided headlight (burned bulb) will shine brighter that also hazardous to our eyes.

Always on headlights high beam is hazardous too.

Always on fog lights front and rear is a nuisance and pain in the eyes.

• anthonyloke7 on Nov 21, 2018 at 3:10 pm

Not just car … Even motorbikes kapcai has aftermarket HIDs

• Please educate public not to switch on their fog lights both front and back (especially Nissan almera). This action endangers other road users.

• mindyourownbis on Nov 21, 2018 at 4:06 pm

how about old cars ? how about old cars where they have old lights but not enough bright ? do what about thier safety ? do all your places has enough road lights ? buat regulation buat complete la detail lagi jangan buat high level. when you make an amendment on the law make sure it answers all question with fair and square.

• Alina on Nov 21, 2018 at 4:30 pm

My Myvi bulb kaput already. I replaced it with LED instead of HID.
    is that okay? LED + Projector Headlamp?

• Innocent Pedestrian on Nov 21, 2018 at 6:10 pm

Good, I’m relieved to know that only illegally installed aftermarket lights that don’t follow proper spec will be affected.

My new MyVi also has white light original straight from manufacturer, not sure whether it’s HID, Xenon or LED.

Tested the light myself, it’s bright but not to the point where it will blind others.

Was worried that JPJ will anyhow hentam catch all cars with white light lol.

• Think on Nov 21, 2018 at 6:53 pm

It’s to be noted to say that automotive industry is a everevolving industry with constant technological updates..As a automotive engineering by studies, I would say that using Hid lamps creates better luminosity than haloges. Thus the problem only arrises when people fit their vehicles with Hids with projector type lenses and with a higher intensity such as 5300k. It will be a discrimination to say that after market fitment of Hids is illegal with proper modification.

• All the Ah Beng Kings and Abangs at Sunway area are going to lose business for sure. Sad days for underground racers in Malaysia.

• It’s a joke Mr. Loke……. Brightness is NOT measure by kelvin……. K is a temperature hue…. Go gets your facts right. Now days minister…. So weirdo. Thanks.

• They should also examine the existing production car headlamps that are equally endangering other road users, especially BMW…

• If we want to avoid glaring, the headlight must meet UNECE R112 United Nation Requirement for light pattern.

Some of bulb/LED replacement such as Philips meet UN ECE R112 requirement. This is much better than even on some of the original fitting light. I already use this for sometimes without glaring others. And better lighting for the driver.

I totally agree some headlight glaring other but not all. I don’t one to be the person causing accident and I also don’t want to hit others especially at night.

Pls allow some of the replacement that meet UN ECE R112 standard.

• When you’re driving… try these:

1. Count number of cars with 1 of the 2 headlamps is running on high-beam (1 sided highbeam – this is mostly due to burned-out lowbeam bulb, hence automatically become highbeam on that particular bulb)
    2. Count number of cars with no/malfunction of 3rd brake light that you came across

You’ll be surprised that you ll find many of these in just a few minutes drive.

In my opinion, these are other issues that Gov need to tackle too, similar problem to this HID.

Perhaps Paultan can create awareness by posting about Regular check on our headlamp and 3rd brake light.

• hyin21 on Nov 27, 2018 at 9:33 am

it says aftermarket, so the owners have to prove that theirs are originally fitted?