Proton X70 SUV – launch date set for December 12

By now, you’ve known almost everything you need to know about the new Proton X70 SUV, including the powertrain, infotainment system, safety and preliminary specifications – we’ve even provided you with a full gallery of the national carmaker’s new pride and joy. We’re now just waiting for the car to finally be launched, and Proton has given us a date – December 12, 2018. That’s three weeks from now.

As you’d have all known by now, the X70 is based on the facelifted Geely Boyue, and will be offered in Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Executive AWD and Premium 2WD variants. All are powered by a 1.8 litre turbocharged and direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine, producing 181 hp at 5,500 rpm and 285 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 4,400 rpm. It’s paired to a six-speed automatic transmission.

We know that the X70 will come with the latest Geely Smart Ecosystem (GKUI) infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen and voice control with artificial intelligence. We also know that the Premium model will get an Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS), consisting of autonomous emergency braking, lane departure warning, adaptive cruise control, blind spot monitoring and auto high beam.

All that’s left is the price, which will be revealed at the launch – so stay tuned.

GALLERY: Proton X70 Executive 2WD

GALLERY: Proton X70 Executive AWD
GALLERY: Proton X70 Premium 2WD

Learn more: ,

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• The moment the rakyat have been waiting for. All waiting with bated breath!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Lucky gong on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:27 pm

12.12.2018 lucky date !

• Price Tax on Nov 22, 2018 at 5:49 pm

Did Miti approved Geely Made in China as national car already ? Ripping off Malaysia Govt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
        • andrw on Nov 22, 2018 at 6:39 pm

Proton X70 enjoy skim Afta. SEA neighbors, Singapore indon thai india australia brunai. All waiting with bated breath! Gudluck P1 !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • No sales habisla Projohn on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:46 pm

The moment only john has been waiting for. John waiting with bated breath! Habis X70 only sold 1 unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
      • Abesla on Nov 22, 2018 at 5:25 pm

12,000 units have been booked. Abesla basher!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Abesla john on Nov 22, 2018 at 5:43 pm

No price how to book? Abesla Proton giving X70 away for free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
          • https://paultan.org/2018/10/17/proton-x70-online-booking-now-open-pay-just-rm99/

Dun be ignorant

• ayoyo on Nov 28, 2018 at 12:03 pm

later price out basic unit Rm 90k++, i think have 50% cancellation order lor.. unless proton fake the sold number.

• John Minun Teh 8X Penipu on Nov 22, 2018 at 6:28 pm

Habisla Toyota models. Sold none

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
        • Damon Lee on Nov 22, 2018 at 7:40 pm

Yup. Toyota salespeople now crying and scrambling their supporters to talk bad about X70.

• John Minum Teh 8X Penipu on Nov 22, 2018 at 9:21 pm

Yes. If Toyota Salespeople and even Perodua Salespeople, especially John Minum Teh 8X and Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk talk bad things about other carmakers. It is suitable for them to join Parkson, Metrojaya, Marks and Spencer and aeon and Isetan to sell bras and panties

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • Engineer on Nov 23, 2018 at 9:36 am

But I wonder if womenfolk would accept them talking bad and talking nonsense about their competitor lingerie? They most certainly will be chased out of the dept stores!!

• Jimmy on Nov 22, 2018 at 5:00 pm

I hope this is not how they are going to manage your warranty claims.

• YB Albert on Nov 23, 2018 at 9:48 am

What?U have been waiting ?Make no mistake any more.Those who get the loan approved n start driving by Christmas…gonna cry…everytime visiting petrol pump to pump….this vehicle drinks petrol like rocket fuel…When price of petrol reached RM 3.50 litre,with no subsidy…a tankful gonna set u back Rm170….Bolehland…people buy cars without knowing the actual price n test driving.

• BTW can add pics of the glove box? Does it look proper or got a fusebox eating into the space?

• Nicholas Ong on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:37 pm

Made the RM99 booking, here wondering too. Cant wait to get the free ice cooler box worth RM200 lols.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Nov 22, 2018 at 7:14 pm

We’ve added a photo of the glove box (no fuse box here!), and you can check it out here:

https://paultan.org/2018/11/22/klims18-proton-x70-suv-full-preview-inside-and-out/klims18_proton_x70_glovebox-1/

• Nicholas Ong on Nov 22, 2018 at 7:39 pm

Thanks Jon♡♡

• Thanks Jonathan bro. Looks like P1 engineers did a thorough proper whizz bang job in the RHD conversion. Not like those lazy Frenchies conversions. Kudos to P1!

• Author Mario on Nov 22, 2018 at 9:31 pm

Xie Xie Jonathan Lee

• Looks outdated already. Looks like the first version of the Suzuki Vitara but bigger.

Better buy reputable brands than this.

Also until today, no price!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 56
    • What?? on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:39 pm

Doesn’t matter if it looks outdated.

More important are the features it gives you in proportion to price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Dilbert on Nov 22, 2018 at 5:04 pm

Better get ur eyes checked bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Proton and john finished on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:26 pm

No need to release it la. If release only can sold 1 unit for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
    • Wow, the troll is working overtime to spew BS.

• Toyota launching new Rush, with new Camry and Vios upcoming still empty showroom ah? You are the proof Toyota’s time has passed, troll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • If it is expensive, which is above of what we expect it to be, I think it’ll kill malaysian interest in this car…maybe this is the reason proton kept it secret till now…or, orrr proton wanted to give a nice surprise to us where they manage to slap in a price that is below 100k, 80k – 90k maybe?.. I’m more towards it being an expensive one, haha..better negative thinking now rather than hoping for something good but turns out to be a heartbreaker..

• The real Scientist on Nov 22, 2018 at 4:44 pm

Earth is definetly flat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Gila scientist hilang on Nov 23, 2018 at 11:13 pm

This is a car site! If you want to talk about your BS flat earth theory then talk about it in your dumb conference

• IGP mom on Nov 24, 2018 at 7:53 pm

Actually what’s flat is your brain … go have it check please.

• Disgusting junk! Pui!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
  • Sohai (not ori) on Nov 22, 2018 at 5:36 pm

After Toyotaish price revealed, 90% booking cancellation

• ProjohN hilang roti on Nov 22, 2018 at 7:32 pm

After 2x of Toyotaish price revealed, 99% booking cancellation. Only 1% booked by john.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • After seeing all the comments about the X70, the car itself is great but over hyped by the brand and the fans themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • A gud car deserves to be hyped. A lousy car that plays hide and seek, teasing here and there and everywhere deserves nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • john celuped on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:58 pm

A gud car deserves to be hyped. A lousy car (X70) that plays hide and seek, teasing here and there and everywhere deserves nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • Hide and seek? Cant u see the pictures above? So many somemore. If not enuff here is more:
          https://paultan.org/2018/11/22/klims18-proton-x70-suv-full-preview-inside-and-out/
          https://paultan.org/2018/11/16/proton-x70-gets-5-star-asean-ncap-crash-safety-rating-new-suv-to-make-public-debut-at-klims-2018/

Deswai a lousy car (P2 SUV) only knows how to play hide and seek, teasing here and there.

• john syok sendiri on Nov 22, 2018 at 8:57 pm

China car + proton brand..can’t imagine how bad will be the RV?buy at 90k after 1 year become RM50k?fuh..better buy sushi car..they keep delaying the launching date because government did not approve yet the OTR.what to launch some more?everything reveal olredi?pity u rebadge company.over 30 years develop engineers finally REBADGE.(sigh) develop engineers should be from REBADGE until can develop own product.but what happen to proton,reverse engineering???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • What a nonsense comment haha. You need to learn more and read about automotive industry worldwide. Do you know that Mercedes Benz just rebadged the Nissan pickup truck and made theirs?

• john syok sendiri on Nov 23, 2018 at 2:37 pm

that one truck brader…?not the core product for benz..concurrently they still producing their own product..what will happen to proton?next product should be based on geely line up…do u think they will agree proton to come out a model same like persona,saga and exora?bubye…you will be a rebadge company forever…”spit to the sky, end up hit your face”ahakz…

• Amran on Nov 22, 2018 at 9:02 pm

PDRM will buy it 5000 units to replace their old xtrail..

• If the price is above Rm100k, then I will cancel the booking snd ask for refund. There are other reputable suv like subaru, mazda CX5 new engine turbo etc.in 2019.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Dude, you think the CX-5 turbo would be 100k? More like 160k to replace the current 2.5L model.

• Ahmad on Nov 23, 2018 at 9:57 am

Better replace the diesel. I am now worried about the B10, as thinking of taking the 2.2GLS next year.

• If the price is above Rm100k, then I will cancel the booking snd ask for refund. There are other reputable suv like subaru, mazda CX5 new engine turbo etc.in 2019. Many new models of other makes.

• zymba on Nov 23, 2018 at 11:34 am

Dude, you think the CX-5 turbo would be 100k? More like 160k to replace the current 2.5L model.

• newme on Nov 23, 2018 at 4:17 pm

Dude, that’s a Mazda. Not some china brand with proton badge.

• Brian on Nov 23, 2018 at 11:40 am

Seriously paultan.org, can you guys please update your gallery system after so many years, it is the WORST and HARDEST to use gallery system on any website I have encountered, very very user unfriendly and does not do justice to all the hard work you guys put in to put together all the photos. I have endured this for far too many years of reading your website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • applegreen on Nov 23, 2018 at 10:49 pm

180hp goes 0-100 10.5sec only. No wonder later they will put 1.5 volvo t3 engine inside. Vet get gov fuel incentive too

• autodriver (Member) on Nov 24, 2018 at 10:30 am

Saw the new X70 and the car was great except it is not friendly to tall guy to drive it. The steering position was TOO LOW even though I set it to highest and the seat I set to lowest. The center console panel was too wide affect my left leg position and my left thigh is only about 1 inch lower from the steering wheel. Mean while turning the steering wheel my left hand will likely hit my left thigh. Yes I can put the seat backward so my legs will get more room but the legroom st back seat become smaller. It will then only able to set a person who height maybe 170cm or shorter. With my height of 183cm I got no problem to drive Wira comfortably but not this X70. Hope in future Geely will consider to design their car to suit not only to moderate height but also to tall person.

• Ashish Sharma on Mar 07, 2019 at 2:32 pm

when will x70 launch in India….??