Proton Prevé-based Invictus by Asia Pacific Uni wins Proton & DRB-Hicom Creative Car Challenge 2018

The Proton & DRB-Hicom U Creative Car Challenge (PD3C) 2018 has concluded at the DRB-Hicom U campus in Pekan, Pahang, with Asia Pacific University (APU) taking home the top prize with its Preve-based entry, Invictus for the title competition, the Creative Car Challenge.

In addition to the gold medal, the winners also took home RM7,000 in prize money. They were followed by the team from Universiti Malaya with the ‘Scrumptious Food Car’ for second place, taking home the silver medal and RM5,000 in prize money. Built from base cars offered from Proton’s current model range, the ‘Scrumptious Food Car’ was fashioned from a Proton Saga.

Taking the bronze medal in third place was Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA) with their entry, ‘Deutro’, a two-tone concept crafted from a Proton Suprima S. Rounding up the main awards segment for the Creative Car Challenge was Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM), with its Preve-based ‘Envysage’.

Special prizes for the Creative Car Challenge category were also awarded; the Best Engineered Car accolade went to the ‘Iriz Infinity’ by UniKL, Best Video for the ‘Interesa’ by Adtec Melaka, Best Teamwork for the ‘Deutro’ by UniSZA, and Best Presentation went to Team Mara B of IKM Jasin/KKTM Rembau/KKTM Masjid Tanah. The awards for Most Viral Social Media Post for exterior and interior pictures of an entry went to Unimap, for the ‘Edge’.

For the Proton & DRB-Hicom University Car Modelling Challenge (PDCMC), where contestants built 1:4 scale models, Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA) won the top prize in this category, taking home a gold medal and RM2,500 in cash. Second place was claimed by Politeknik Ibrahim Sultan, winning a silver medal and RM2,000 in cash, while Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) won the bronze medal and RM1,500 for third place. UniSZA also won the special award for best presentation in this category.

The third contest, the Proton & DRB-Hicom U Design Battle (PDDB) where contestants were given four hours to sketch designs of their choosing, following the disclosure of the theme just prior to the start of the contest.

This was won by Mohamed Saiful bin Abdul Halim of Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA), who took home the gold medal and RM1,200 in cash. In second place was Ahmad Zul Khairi bin Mohd Othman also of UniSZA, scoring the silver medal and RM1,000 in cash. Rounding out the trio of winners for this category was Khoo Wern Sheung from Asia Pacific University, taking home the bronze medal and RM800 in cash.

The Proton & DRB-Hicom U Creative Car Challenge was organised with Proton as the main sponsor and contributor of the base cars used for the competition, with the Malaysia Design Council (MRM) as its technical partner. PD3C aims to be the key platform for budding talent in the automotive industry, as well as to spur innovation from automotive designers and engineers in local institutes of higher learning, said DRB-Hicom.

GALLERY: Invictus – Asia Pacific University

GALLERY: Scrumptious Food Car – Universiti Malaya

GALLERY: Deutro – Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin

GALLERY: Envysage – Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia

GALLERY: Interesa – Adtec Melaka

GALLERY: Iriz Infinity – UniKL

GALLERY: Tigres scale model – Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 12, 2018 at 3:02 pm

Proton and DRB should focus on importnst things like improving their sales instead of doing contests and competitions.

Until today, Proton and DRB have taken RM20 billion in bailouts from our tax payers money and is still losing RM4 million per day.

I think better for DRB to focus on trying to increase their sales and reduce their losses. More important. Pls get your priorities right.

Other areas of the economy suffers like hospitals and schools not getting enough of funding because Proton eats all the fundings up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • Habisla judges eyes! on Dec 12, 2018 at 3:08 pm

Someone should go find an eye Doctor for the judges to have a check up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Ben Yap on Dec 12, 2018 at 3:21 pm

usually their cars don’t come into reality. LOL….

• OMG why soo bootiful!!!

• BalHariz on Dec 12, 2018 at 3:42 pm

We can see that some innovative idea is going on here, but I personally think it looks kinda “cheap”…

• Congrats to the winners and participators. Gud job! Some really gud lookers there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • john makan laksa on Dec 12, 2018 at 6:00 pm

What to congrats?! Look at the winner’s car, so disfigure, infectious and fugly. Garbage job! Some really garbage lookers there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Ame Ame Ame Ame on Dec 12, 2018 at 7:40 pm

Mate, calm down, it’s just a bunch of students in a designing contest, not Adrian Newey or Pininfarina.

• Dembro on Dec 13, 2018 at 5:00 am

Bruh, instead of condemning them, why can’t you at least give them suggestions? You know is infectious, fugly and disfigured, then tell them to improve their design.

• sompua on Dec 12, 2018 at 3:51 pm

design ni layak dipanggil Proton Infectious

• dong gor on Dec 12, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Why is the X70 launch goes so silent on Dec 12th? Date deviated again due to Malaysia policy to approve to cheap of a selling price? Come on Malaysia, please reassess your policy and your efficiency which is making the country look like Donkey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Design wise the EnviSage would win because of its sporty look and great aero. But the overall winner is Invictus because they actually have a high-tech interior aka futuristic. Even tho the exterior design is not so sporty-looking, the interior really do look high-tech. And relax guys, its a CONCEPT CAR COMPETITION. Need to highlight that cuz the winner is not based on exterior looks but also the inside. Could you do a research about the competition, have a look at the cars that are competing in the competition online and rationally think what’s right and wrong instead of swears and truly ignorant comments?

• Bro, most of the bashing comments are from P2 salesman who jeles why his cars never look this gud. Can just ignore his comments.

• Dia org tak tahu baca, nampak Proton je terus laknat.

• Awak tak tahu baca ke?

• Godcars on Dec 13, 2018 at 8:52 am

Pahlawan papan kekunci lah. Read for what? Bash only lah with keyboard.

• ahbeng rejoice

• morel on Dec 12, 2018 at 7:19 pm

just like those typical cheapo bodykit modifications from roadside accesories shop.

• Theam on Dec 13, 2018 at 6:32 am

Sorry to deviate from here. Could you share the feature “forward collision warning”. Could this system be installed in old car? Thanks.

• KL Boy on Dec 13, 2018 at 10:16 am

What creativity???!! This is just putting a kembung/dugong style bodykit

• Ben Fauzy on Dec 16, 2018 at 11:25 am

I personally like invictus.. Depan looks cun.. Belakang look like range rover punya design.. definitely my type. I also like the fact that ada display side mirror dekat dalam..

In this time and age, you don’t need a goverment to run a project like this. Go global pitch an investor.. Then baru approach goverment. They will definetly help you if u ada sound plan and backup already.

Look at tesla.. and Faraday future (Missmanagement tho) . Go anak tempatan!