Proton Edar CEO Datuk Abdul Rashid Musa shares his thoughts on the challenges in pricing, selling the X70

The launch of the Proton X70 in mid-December was certainly the talk of the town for Malaysians, and brings an end to a lengthy pre-launch campaign that included multiple previews and teasers spread across several months.

In any case, the national carmaker’s first-ever SUV model is finally here and is being offered with four variants – Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Executive AWD and Premium 2WD – with prices starting from RM99,800 on-the-road without insurance.

As we’ve noticed time and again, a vehicle’s pricing is always a major talking point among the general public, and the X70 is not excluded from this. Based on the almost 300 comments posted in our launch story, some sang praises for what Proton was offering with the X70, while others had their doubts.

So, with the opinions of the public clearly put forward, it’s time to find out what Proton’s take on the X70 after the model’s introduction. For that, we spoke to Datuk Abdul Rashid Musa, chief executive officer at Proton Edar, to gather his thoughts on the issue of pricing and the challenges involved in selling the X70.

Datuk Abdul Rashid Musa, chief executive officer at Proton Edar

Congratulations on the official launching of the Proton X70. Now that it has been officially revealed can you tell us why Proton chose such a long pre-launch campaign for its first SUV?

Datuk Abdul Rashid Musa (DARM): Thank you for complementing our launch and thank you for your attendance. It was a very long journey from when we started testing the X70 to get to where we are now and along the way we embarked on several campaigns including giving sneak previews while we were still testing left-hand-drive (LHD) models.

Proton could have released limited details and waited for the launch before we revealed everything but with the X70, we felt we needed time to win the hearts and minds of customers who may not be comfortable with the idea of buying a premium Proton SUV. Therefore we staggered the release of information and held previews to keep customer interest high. We then opened our order book early and I think the strategy has been proven to be effective based on the number of bookings we received prior to the launch.

The deliberate build up also allowed Proton to show Malaysians we are not treating this as just another new model launch. There were numerous activities in the run-up period, from the opening of new 3S/4S outlets, to the matching of local and overseas vendors to running an extensive training programme to ensure sales and service staff were familiar with the vehicle, we did as much as possible so that customers would get a holistic premium brand experience with the product as well as at our outlets.

The price has attracted a lot of attention and many say the Premium 2WD variant offers excellent value for money. However, some are also saying the Standard 2WD variant is too expensive. What is your comment about this?

DARM: The price of the Proton X70 was set by taking into consideration many different factors. I have read the comments and opinions posted on social media and on the various websites so please allow me some leeway for a thorough explanation.

Firstly, while Proton does not deny the X70 is based on the SUV (Boyue) from our joint venture partner Geely, a lot of development work had to be undertaken to create our first SUV. There are hundreds of different parts our customers do not see as taking a vehicle designed as a LHD model only and adapting it to a right-hand-drive (RHD) version is a huge undertaking.

This isn’t the same as when Proton launched its first car as our partner at the time primarily produced RHD cars. So, with the X70, not only did we have to learn about an all-new vehicle segment but Geely also needed to learn about developing a vehicle for RHD markets.

Secondly, the X70 is currently exclusively produced for the Malaysian market. Going forward, we will be exporting it but for now, Malaysia is the only country where it is sold. So, while we are very bullish about how many we can sell, our annual volume is roughly equivalent to slightly over one month of sales for the equivalent model in China. Therefore, production costs are naturally higher as there is less economies of scale and don’t forget, it also doesn’t share a single component with any other Proton model.

There are other costs involved too aside from the bill of material (BOM) costs. Shipping and handling for instance needs to be added and you also have to consider the investment Proton and its dealers have to make in specialised tools, training and upgrading of the network of outlets. As a whole therefore, developing, manufacturing and launching the Proton X70 has been a costlier undertaking than many realise.

So, now that we have established a cost base we can consider the price of the Standard variant. Critics say we priced it too high but looking at the extensive specification list, we feel the pricing is justified. Despite its positioning, it gets six SRS airbags, Auto Brake Hold, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Traction Control System (TCS), Hill Hold Assist (HHA), Hill Descent Control (HDC) and Emergency Stop Signal (ESS).

It also gets a 1.8 TGDI engine, LCD combination meter, auto dual-zone air conditioning, air purifier, six USB ports and the advanced Global Key User Interface (GKUI) system that features an embedded eSIM card, preloaded apps and voice recognition. This is paired to an 8-inch Android-based touchscreen interface with a 1280×720 full colour display with 32 GB of internal memory space and allows for remote control of certain features on the X70 via the Proton Link app. It is also Wi-Fi enabled to allow for mobile hotspot capability.

Add the extensive equipment list to the costs involved for Proton to bring the X70 to Malaysia and does the price still look too expensive? I’ll accept, many have a different view about value because we are Proton, but if this SUV wore a Japanese or European brand badge on the nose, everybody would rave about the value for money it offered.

Proton will have to accept this limitation for now but don’t forget, this is the starting point to a new model and brand experience offensive that will bring Proton upmarket while maintaining our role as a national car maker that builds cars for Malaysians.

That explanation makes a lot of sense but having explained about the position of the brand, can Proton then expect to sell many units of the X70 for RM123,800?

DARM: That’s a good question and quite honestly there was some doubt internally about how the market would receive a premium priced Proton. However, I can confirm the vast majority of our pre-launch bookings has been for the Premium variant, which shows buyers are attracted to the higher equipment levels of this model and are of the opinion it is worth the extra cost.

If you take a closer look at the specifications, paying an extra RM24,000 over the Standard 2WD variant nets a lot of extra items. Externally, for instance, the wheels grow in size to 19-inch alloys wrapped in Continental tyres while the headlamps are now LED projectors with daytime running lamps (DRL).

Inside, the seats are trimmed in premium Nappa leather with power adjustment for the front seats including a ‘boss’ switch function while the sound system is upgraded to a nine-speaker system with a power amplifier and subwoofer. Of course, the most noticeable feature is the full-length panoramic sun roof that can be operated via voice command.

The majority of the extra equipment though comes in the form of our Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS). The 360-degree camera is also available on the Executive 2WD variant and if you go one level up, the Executive AWD variant adds on a Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) too. The Premium 2WD variant however, also gets Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), Door Opening Warning System (DOW) and Intelligent High Beam Control (IHBC).

Admittedly, there are now quite a number of vehicles in the market offering a similar level of safety equipment but none is able to do so at the price of the X70 Premium 2WD and none can combine it with an infotainment head unit as advanced as our GKUI. Our customers are aware of this and I think that’s why bookings for the Premium 2WD variant are so high.

The Proton X70 was launched with four Xtra packages. Explain to us why Proton added these packages and how they benefit X70 buyers.

DARM: The four Xtra packages are what Proton terms as ownership packages, where being a buyer of Proton cars and the X70 in particular comes with extra benefits. The Xtra Service package for instance, gives free labour for five selected services up to 100,000 km, so during those services, owners need only pay the cost of parts and consumables. This lowers the maintenance cost, which is then boosted by the Xtra Warranty package, offering coverage for five years with unlimited mileage.

The Xtra Low Financing Rate package also helps lower ownership costs by offering rates starting from as low as 2.34% per annum for qualified buyers. Therefore, a Proton X70 Standard 2WD variant buyer pays less than RM1250 per month on a seven-year financing package assuming they pay a 10% deposit.

As for the Xtra Data package, one of the unique selling propositions (USP) of the Proton X70 is termed as ‘Redefined Connectivity’ so it makes sense to offer free internet data, capped at 1 GB per month for five years to our buyers.

I must stress that Proton is the first automotive brand to do this in Malaysia, which is a reflection of how our GKUI is truly revolutionary and offers features that even vehicles costing two or three times more do not yet have. The X70 is therefore a truly connected vehicle.

Add it all up and we believe we have an excellent combination of price and ownership packages to attract premium SUV buyers. This is reflected in the traffic we are currently seeing at Proton outlets nationwide, which has surprised us not just in the number of people coming to view the vehicle but also in the quality of potential customers. Hopefully the X70 will be the catalyst to reintroduce the brand back in to the lives of many Malaysians.

Thank you for your time and detailed answers. Most of our readers don’t know this but you were recently awarded the title of Datuk. Congratulations. Do you have any comment on that?

DARM: Thank you for your kind wishes. For me, receiving this honour is recognition for the work I have done together with the team at Proton. The success earned was due to teamwork so despite the title being specific to me, it is a reflection of how working together can and will bring Proton to ever greater heights. Thank you.

GALLERY: Proton X70 Premium 2WD

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• guan yin ma on Dec 24, 2018 at 1:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 242
    • Googalalala on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Sell below rm110k then maybe sales up boom boom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • Omruntuh on Dec 25, 2018 at 4:34 pm

proton x70 1.8T Rm100-120k.
        proton x50 1.5T Rm80-100k.
        proton x30 1.2T Rm60-80k

• Tukar nama kau! on Dec 26, 2018 at 2:38 pm

Change your username la, do you feel proud using that Bodhisattva name to talk nonsense?

• Honda Anscrak on Dec 26, 2018 at 2:45 pm

Honda HRV E spec RM101K , Proton X70 standard RM99K.
          Honda HRV V spec RM110K , Proton X70 Executive RM109K.
          Die la i cannot sell any HRV anymore, as Proton X70 is cheaper, higher spec, more powerful engine. I better ask my Honda Malaysia boss to stop producing Honda HRVs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 0
          • Honda Salesmen Cry on Dec 26, 2018 at 4:26 pm

So true la, for the past few days since X70 Launch. So many of my customers and other sales rep’s customers, come to our Honda showroom to cancel their HRVs and CRVs order. They say our cars are over priced and underpowered, especially HRVs.
            Now we Honda salesmen start to eat WestNorth wind already.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 3
          • Hongda salesmen on Dec 26, 2018 at 5:07 pm

True, please come back to our Honda Showroom please. Because of the fierce competition from Proton X70, we have thousands of unsold CRV and HRV stocks, 2018 models. So we will be giving out Tens of thousands worth of DISCOUNTS and free accesories. In order for us to get rid of the thousands of Unsold Stocks of CRVs and HRVs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 2
      • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 26, 2018 at 8:47 am

This car will be like another Haval. Have you seen 1 year old Haval price? the price jatuh like 80% in Malaysia

That is China car for you. Berani beli X70? Sure to cry the next year when you see the RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
        • Honda Anscrak on Dec 26, 2018 at 4:27 pm

Honda HRV E spec RM101K , Proton X70 standard RM99K.
          Honda HRV V spec RM110K , Proton X70 Executive RM109K.
          Die la i cannot sell any HRV anymore, as Proton X70 is cheaper, higher spec, more powerful engine. I better ask my Honda Malaysia boss to stop producing Honda HRVs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
          • Hongda salesmen on Dec 26, 2018 at 5:37 pm

True, please come back to our Honda Showroom please. Because of the fierce competition from Proton X70, we have thousands of unsold CRV and HRV stocks, 2018 models. So we will be giving out Tens of thousands worth of DISCOUNTS and free accesories. In order for us to get rid of the thousands of Unsold Stocks of CRVs and HRVs.

• Rahman Putra on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:07 am

Malaysians were expecting it to be RM80k. then suddenly see, RM100k.

So many Malaysians already canceled their bookings. Better buy P2 SUV at RM70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
      • 2018 Honda CRV RM128k on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:21 am

Honda offered me brand new 2018 Honda CRV 2.0 for RM128k. Brand new RM138k. Now got discount RM10k.

So, do I buy a RM123k Proton X70 (NO AWARDS)

OR

Do I buy a Honda CRV 2.0 for RM128k(award Winning)??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
      • Harga P1 X70 RM123k = Harga Forester RM123k on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:30 am

Macam mana barang buatan tempatan boleh jadi sama harga dengan Proton?

Lagi pun, Forester SA bagi I diskaun sampai RM116k

• Honda Salesmen Cry on Dec 26, 2018 at 4:55 pm

So true la, for the past few days since X70 Launch. So many of my customers and other sales rep’s customers, come to our Honda showroom to cancel their HRVs and CRVs order. They say our cars are over priced and underpowered, especially HRVs.
          Now we Honda salesmen start to eat WestNorth wind already.

• Hongda salesmen on Dec 26, 2018 at 5:43 pm

• Malu Malu Perodua on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Proton vs Perodua

Even though Proton X70 is very expensive because of Proton X70 is actually imported unit ever since launching just only 12 days ago. Despite that, at least Proton X70 is having better resale value as well as Proton Company is not giving cheated price to the consumers at all for the Proton X70 including other proton models.

Vs

For Perodua SUV D38L, Perodua Company is giving cheaper price for Perodua Terios which the price for Perodua Terios is cheated. Therefore, Perodua Terios is having terrible resale value all the time. In addition to that, Perodua Terios will look stale after just launching new Toyota Rush for several months once launching Perodua Terios next year in 2019. Moreover, Perodua Terios is actually design by Toyota Engineers. This Perodua Terios is originally from Toyota Rush because Perodua always rebadge other models since from the past many years until now. Therefore, Perodua Designers are absolutely very lazy to design as Perodua Designers are always rebadging. In addition to that, don’t forget Perodua is also not design their engines as get it from other engine models. As overall, people will buy Toyota Rush than Perodua Terios as people knows that Perodua Terios is actually also assembled in UMW Toyota Plant Malaysia.

As overall, many thousands people have cancelled booking for Perodua Terios and go for either Toyota Rush or Proton X70. Especially, those who book for Proton X70 earlier before launching as well as those who book Toyota Rush, they will surely not going to book for Perodua Terios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 29
      • deyyyy thambi on Dec 25, 2018 at 1:46 pm

deyyy thambi…keje proton ke?proton xde resell value…terima lah…bila plak booking perodua dah bukak…typical keyboard warrior…staff proton xde kerja sbb CBU car..sbb tu jadi keyboard warrior…haha.shame on you…pity.spent a lot of government soft loan..no return.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
        • Perodua is a cheaper JAMBAN brand in the making for its SUV. Lol

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 26, 2018 at 8:49 am

How many Malaysians can afford RM120k? As I know, most people earning so little.

And those who can afford RM120k just buy other Mat Salleh or Jepunis brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
      • Rahman Putra on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:10 am

Actually Proton make better cars than Perodua. But Proton owners NEVER buy the 2nd time a Proton. Why?

Because they are fed up.

Everytime go to Proton SC to ask them to repair anything, they still say, “Biasalah bang, ini Proton, what do you expect,”

Proton SC technician himself got no confidence in Proton, apa lagi rakyat??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
        • Kelvin on Dec 26, 2018 at 8:32 pm

True , for Proton service centres even a minor take a whole day or two waiting time.
          I was previous owner of proton car before.

• Proton X70 VS CRV VS X-Trail VS Forester on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:23 am

Nissan X Trail, CRV 2.0, Subaru Forrester all about RM120k plus.

All nearly same price as China made Boyue aka X70

• Observer on Dec 26, 2018 at 7:58 pm

But all are having kosong Japanese cars specs not as advance compare to x70 especially the ugly X trail and old fashion forester for the asking price higher than x70 too.

• Malu Malu Harga RM110k on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:25 am

Tulis panjang panjang tapi mana ada orang di Malaysia ada duit sebanyak itu bang?

Ini kereta nasional tapi harga kereta continental.

• Cool Story Teller on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:57 am

cool story bro. Perodua Terios was never opened for booking.

this itself proves that all you said is lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
      • johnwhat on Dec 26, 2018 at 11:02 am

your statement is an oxymoron.

you say design will be stale after launch of toyota rush but then say perodua terios is designed by toyota designers.

so how can it look stale when it is designed by the same designers in toyota for both rush and terios?

please, if you are paid to write comments, at least use critical thinking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Is this car really for Malaysians? Proton was born in 1985 to give Malaysians cheap affordable cars. We are now shocked that

1) Price of the car over RM100k
      2) Maintain the car cost more than Japs (as proven by PT)

According to Proton’s own statistics, 78% of their total sales come from Saga and Persona. The remaining bulk mostly comes from Government ordered Perdanas.

So, Proton buyers mainly are looking for RM50k and below. So, why create a car that majority of Malaysians cannot afford?

At Rm100k, it is still beyond reach of most Proton buyers and fanboys. And the basic model is kosong. Minimum must get the RM110k model. Plus insurance etc, this is RM120k

Also bear in mind also that according to EPF’s own statistics, 76.3% of ALL its contributors earn RM1500 and below. Mostly RM1000 and below.

With this in mind, how can majority of Malaysians get loan to buy RM120k car?

Proton should charge cheaper for this X70 as Proton was born to give Malaysians affordable cars. How many Malaysians can really afford RM100k?

Proton should have fought for Malaysians to get us the X70 for RM80k and below. After all we supported Proton the last 30 years kaw kaw

Now Proton should repay every Malaysian with affordable cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 113
      • Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Dec 25, 2018 at 7:31 am

Now i know why perodua wins.. bcoz based on ur opinion.. most malaysian buying car below 50k.. no wonder axia and myvi becomes no1 sales in local market. As for alza.. it is still available because people are expected to spend a bit more for 7 seater and for me it is value buy even though the safety aspect not really strengthen there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
      • Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Dec 25, 2018 at 7:31 am

Now i know why perodua wins.. bcoz based on ur opinion.. most malaysian buying car below 50k.. no wonder axia and myvi becomes no1 sales in local market. As for alza.. it is still available because people are expected to spend a bit more for 7 seater and for me it is value buy even though the safety aspect not really strengthen there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
      • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 26, 2018 at 8:51 am

Most of my friends who are Proton owners all have 2 jobs to make ends meet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Rahman Putra on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:14 am

Be careful not to complain to much or claim warranty to much. See what happened to the Exora owner whose car caught fire naik Genting.

SC never layan the owner and blamed the owner for making his engine bakar.

Owner frustrated, posted this on FB

Then Proton sued the owner. Proton is the only car company in the world that can sue car owners when they complain about their engine bakar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • Harga P1 X70 RM123k = Harga Forester RM123k on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:31 am

Rakyat Malaysia tak boleh faham kenapa harga kereta nasional mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Malaysia impose high import tax on cars from Europe and elsewhere.

Then most European countries retaliate by not buying palm oil from Malaysia.

Tell the minister of trade remove the high tariff/duty for European cars and parts first then perhaps Europe will buy palm oil from Malaysia again .

No need to bising bising

Look at China USA tariff war ongoing now.
          You remove the tariff and the other side will also remove. Hence therefore there will be business for both sides to flourish.

That why now Malaysia palm oil encounter problem selling to europe because of our Malaysia imported car high duties. Suckers is the Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • X70Ghey on Dec 27, 2018 at 1:31 pm

111 lazy proton workers down voted this. Hello you talk about Perodua rebagde, the X70 is a rebadge also. Genius.

• kaizen on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:07 pm

relax lah bro. it is not 100% imported. Please understand what production cost is. It is not only the cost of part! A lot more other cost. Please read carefully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
      • Rahman Putra on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:11 am

I better buy P2. It is a cash rich company. They always honour warranty. They never ask any questions. Immediately change the part without questions.

Proton is cash poor. They always argue with you when you claim warranty. Cause they got no money to give you the part free. They put the burden on you to prove to them that the part was faulty and it was not manufacturer defect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Harga P1 X70 RM123k = Harga Forester RM123k on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:32 am

Saya harap kereta buatan tempatan akan jadi lagi rendah harganya

• Proton X70 Rm123k- Forester RM123k on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:35 pm

Both cars now SAME price. But one car is sold in 200 over countries. The other car is 90% only sold in China. It was rejected in all FIRST WORLD countries.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 23
      • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 26, 2018 at 8:53 am

Average earning in Putrajaya is RM1200 per month.

Most Proton buyers are Putrajaya Government servants.

So, how is this group of 1.6 million people going to afford this X70?

RM1200 cannot get loan for RM100k

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:45 am

You have smashed the glass made heart of Proton hardcore supporter man, but I agree you words. Lolz.

• The Rush/Terios are only sold in 3rd world countries. BTW, the total countries on this planet are less than 200, so stop being stupid!

• azlano on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:53 pm

quite obvious that Proton X70 design language had inspired newer SUVs like the award winning Volvo Xc40, Tiguan, Evoque, X2 and 3008

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
      • Not Toyota Fan on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:38 pm

Wah, terrer lah you. X70 just launch tak sampai 1 month but already inspired other SUV that were launched (internationally) BEFORE the X70.

This is like Back To The Future & the X70 is Marty McFly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
        • binyue on Dec 25, 2018 at 8:55 am

Prolly the boyue

• Mgrand on Dec 25, 2018 at 10:35 am

Ori Boyue 1st launched way back in 2016.

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 26, 2018 at 8:56 am

This is the typical lies spread by Proton. They say the X70 has inspired cars like Maserati Levante, Bentley Bentayga and Lamborghini Urus.

So funny la, how can a car before launch inspire previous SUVs?? Back to the Future McFly

• Harga P1 X70 RM123k = Harga Forester RM123k on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:33 am

Rakyat Malaysia rasa agak pelik bila harga buatan tempatan adalah lagi mahal dari harga kereta impot

• Old horse on Dec 24, 2018 at 7:13 pm

Since he thought the people listen is stupid..

• Gretard Lie on Dec 24, 2018 at 7:32 pm

Honda CRV in Japan RHD RM62k. Honda CRV in China LHD RM88k.
      Here CKD CRV RM163K RHD. So Honda Malaysia been cheating us Malaysians kuat kuat. Same RHD CRV with lower spec than Japan sells 2.5 times the price in Japan.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:33 pm

U think it easy?..some European car maker still fail to convert LHD to RHD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 26, 2018 at 8:58 am

this is fake news. All car manufacturers can convert easily. Infact, even local workshops in Malaysia have converted many classic cars from LHD to RHD just in the bengkel itself.

• johnwhat on Dec 26, 2018 at 11:07 am

example?

• Typical answer from Proton. In Malaysia everybody want fast, delicious and cheap. That’s the Malaysia mentality. If you can’t understand that, you are not in business.

• Wrong only the pariah Malaysian want cheap, fast , no need to maintain, use just kuat kuat , then breakdown then blame the vehicle brand is lousy but not themselves.

This is third world mentality Malaysian we live together make us feel really embarrassing and shy. Better we stay away from Malaysian having third world mentalities and childish thinking before this disease becomes wide spread to other developed Malaysian mentalities.

• JeevS on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:04 pm

So this our local bred Proton X70 which beaten World Car of the Year finalist, the VW Tiguan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • The Truth About Proton, Geely, Volvo and London Cabs on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 139
      • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 26, 2018 at 8:59 am

Surprising many Malaysians order a car that they don’t even know how much the spare parts costs yet.

• kemon on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:05 pm

salam Datuk Abd Rashid, CKD X70 coming when?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:00 am

salam Datuk Abd Rashid, bila nak rendahkan harga kereta lagi? Mana rakyat Malaysia mampu beli RM110k?

• xi xi on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 145
    • Mahmood Razak on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Yes, and Malaysia should remain an agricultural economy. None of our businesses, our education systems, our policies, should ever change. Because we don’t need to evolve.

So PROTON too should not have both ends of the scale; cheap Saga and high-end value X70. Because it makes sense to stay and never ever change. Never ever try to get out of a rut. Never ever try to be better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • John bin Dedak on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 149
    • Matchy on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:05 pm

technology transfer to local ppl since 1st year they launch proton saga… steadyy p1 campro.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:35 pm

U don’t buy them..that is why they fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • basher utd on Dec 25, 2018 at 9:04 am

Pipu makan racun bashers, even tin milo P2 much better than reliable HPF P1 car

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:02 am

Chicken and egg story. Proton give low quality cars to rakyat, that is why we stop buying it. But the truth is, every household have supported Proton initially from 1985.

Every Malaysians had owned a Proton because we wanted to support our local car company.

Just that our local car company gave us low safety spec cars and low quality cars.

• “if this SUV wore a Japanese or European brand badge on the nose, everybody would rave about the value for money it offered.”
    Most vocal among them is Toyota salesman basher and the Jepunis fanbois. They cant accept how come P1 have better features than their dinosar junks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1010 Thumb down 308
    • DRB Hcom on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:50 pm

They are not Toyota salemen la, Toyota doesn’t have any model which compete with the Proton X70. All of them are Honda Malaysia salemen, because the Proton X70 threatens the sales of CRVs and HRVs directly in terms of pricing and value for money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 1
      • They have Fortuner & Rush to compete. But both alredi epic fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
        • Honda Anlcrack on Dec 27, 2018 at 1:03 pm

What Bull Dump you are talking about.
          The Fortuner competes with the likes of Ford Everest and Isuzu MU-X.
          Rush is B segment SUV.
          Both models have totally different segment with the X70.
          Only the Honda CRV is the same segment and RM40k more expensive than the X70, and the Honda HRV is be segment CUV but pricing is more expensive than the X70.
          HRVs are really overpriced Junk from Honda.

• Hunda Anuscrack on Dec 25, 2018 at 2:33 pm

Honda Malaysia management and salesmen are so unprofessional that they pretend to be other car makers to bash Proton X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • p2macai on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Not Toyota Salesman or not Jepunis fanboys, it is Perodua Salesmen who always very clever bashing Proton when Perodua is not even improving at all for the past many years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 20
      • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:04 am

Perodua sales is 5X more than Proton sales every year the past 10 years.

So that itself is proff how good Perodua is

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 315
    • Gerrard Lie on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:46 pm

Honda Malaysia management and salesmen are definitely intimidated by this Proton X70. This X70 threatens Honda Malaysia’s CRV and HRV sales so directly.
      The market will have more choice now, instead of the over priced and kosong spec CRV and HRV.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 6
      • GHard Lies on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:51 pm

Those Honda salesmen bashing this Proton X70 here, and pretend to be Perodua, Toyota salesmen. Toyota and Perodua don’t even have any models that competes with Proton X70.
        But…..the X70 directly competes and threaten the CRV and HRV sales. Honda CRV and HRV are overpriced junk with a badge.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 154 Thumb down 253
      • Pak cik on Dec 24, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Consumer who bought HRV won’t switch to Proton for sure

• Interior x70 much better than any japs

• Hunda Anuscrack on Dec 26, 2018 at 4:47 pm

Yes, that is true. Because people who already bought HRVs, baru saja realize that they bought an overpriced, underpowered piece of junk. But they can’t do anything because when they buy the Milo Tin HRVs, most of them already took 7 years or 9 years loan. With the bad resale value because coming to old HRVs.

• Hunda Anuscrack on Dec 25, 2018 at 1:40 pm

True, and it is so convenient that someone created a platform like this 3X in order for those Honda Malaysia salesmen to bash Proton X70.

• Sense on Dec 26, 2018 at 10:55 am

Remove protection tax and we’ll see who is overpriced… CR-V costs about 75k-95k without protection tax…HR-V even cheaper!

Last time the JPJ bought Honda CR-V 2.4 for 89k
        while the normal price is 160k

• Gerrard Lie on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:44 pm

They are all Honda Malaysia salesmen la. Toyota don’t even have any product that competes with Proton.
      Honda Malaysia’s over priced CRVs and HRVs are threatened by this Proton X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • p2macai on Dec 25, 2018 at 7:48 am

P2 Salesmen also bashing Proton X70 including other Proton articles too.

• Gerrard Lie on Dec 24, 2018 at 7:05 pm

Current Proton X70 is CBU pricing already RM40k cheaper than CRV, and same price as HRV E and V spec. Imagine when the X70 have CKD pricing.
      Honda Malaysia can close shop la, CRV is RM82k in China, here selling RM163K.

• john super salah on Dec 24, 2018 at 8:57 pm

if this SUV wore a Chinese or Msian brand badge on the nose, everybody would rave about the value for money it offered.”
      Most vocal among them is Proton salesman basher and the john fanbois. They cant accept how come other brands have better features than this dinosar junks.

• Rahim Chik on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:15 am

Yes john, we always believe you. Aren’t you the one who told us Malaysia has the cheapest petrol in the world? And cheapest car prices in the world?

• anuar m. desa on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:29 pm

proton perlu focus kepada kereta mampu milik. X70 hanya kereta mampu tengok untuk majority rakyat malaysia. hanya yg bergaji >10k mampu. patut belajar dari perodua..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 55
    • Harambeh on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:27 pm

Hotak hang hanye >10k mampu. kecik2 x skolah belajar matematik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • kongkang on Dec 25, 2018 at 3:24 pm

biar papa asal bergaya. nak selesa hidup, ukur baju dibadan sendiri.salah stu tujuan belajar metematik utk mencerdikkan kita utk berbelanja bila dah ada gaji nanti…

• Tiga rasa on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:14 pm

Sabar bang. Mpv proton baru,ckd mampu milik RM60-80k saje… enjin turbo + 8org + sunroof..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Got auto sliding doors?

• Tiga rasa batu on Dec 24, 2018 at 10:18 pm

No need to sabar bang. Mpv proton baru,ckd mampu milik RM 100-120 saje… enjin turbo + 8org + sunroof + terbakar naik genting..

• kzm (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:39 pm

P2 sudah ade buat ape P1 nak focus kereta mampu milik pulak? P1 da pernah buat tp org xnak beli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • fadzili Rahman on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:40 pm

All this for a Chinese car that is assembled and re-badged by Proton. whats the big achievement that Paul Tan put one page article for it? this car is not even sold in Western and proper countries as it has no standard. the voice command they have is from a US company which they already using it under license so even that is not their own. Chinese car for 100K !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 68
    • Expensive cars on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:55 pm

Honda CRV is RM65k in Japan, after dicount RM62k can get.
      Here local CKD CRV is RM163K, so a Japanese car with a premium of RM100K compare to it’s price is worth it? Honda cars are so over priced in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
      • ProtonKillingUs on Dec 27, 2018 at 2:32 pm

You blame Honda or Proton for the overpriced car price in Malaysia? Use your brain abit?

Thank you proton for making all the car price so expensive in Malaysia.

• Even the kosong spec underpowered HRV 1.8 E spec and V spec is more expensive than the X70 Standard spec and Executive Spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • Proton past 31year, Msia past 61year. Go figure.

• Gohard Lie on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:46 pm

Yeah Honda CRV is only RM62k in Japan and RM82k in China.
      Honda Malaysia sells their CRV here RM163k, talk about overpriced kosong spec Junk with a badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Gerrard Lie on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:56 pm

Because Honda Malaysia management and saelsmen are all intimidated by this Proton X70. The X70 threatens the CRV and HRV directly in terms of pricing and spec.
      Honda CRV and HRV in Malaysia are all over priced and kosong spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:40 pm

Not sold in western country? Why don’t you Google it first before saying that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Dylan Chng on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:41 pm

My question is why does Penang island not have a single 4S centre?

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:57 pm

Penang dealers typical Penang kiam siap (kedekut). Mau untung wang tapi tak mau invest.

• Because proton don give a f…uk for service…support….etc etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • G2 lie on Dec 24, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Honda Malaysia also don’t have any 4S center in Penang Island and Butterworth.
      Honda Malaysia also the same, they don’t give a F..x about their customers and service. Even though they sell to their customer over priced kosong spec milo tin.

• Gerrard Lye on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 161
    • Honda CRV in Japan is RM62K, in China is RM85K.
      But here, CRV is RM163k, which one is the overpriced car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Gerrard Lie on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:43 pm

Everyone now knows for sure that, Honda Malaysia management and their salesmen are so intimidated by this Proton X70, that they have to create so many negative comments in here about this Proton X70.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
      • Author Gerard Lye on Dec 24, 2018 at 10:16 pm

I’m sorry john but this guy is right, this car is nothing but an overpriced car. Please don’t cry and just goto kedai minum teh to cheer you up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Kekacauan macam apa on Dec 26, 2018 at 2:35 pm

Habisla this website! Even Author also being trolled by fake dupes

• Jinbaitai on Dec 25, 2018 at 1:57 pm

Only stupid blind people would have say the X70 has lousy quality , if you say so even after you have touch the car, you are a downright lying.

• Mat.abdullah38 on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:51 pm

What is this guy talking. It is china car lah. Rebadge. If china can sell RMbi equivalent RM70k. Y is so pricing is above RM100k. Nothing to do BOM material. This guy go n learn ur costing well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 50
    • Expensive cars on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:19 pm

Honda CRV is RM62k in Japan, RM88k in China.
      Here local CKD CRV is RM163k.
      You tell me how come there is 2.5 times price difference compare to Japan? and 2 time price difference compare to China?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Gerrard Lie on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:48 pm

Yeah right, Honda CRV in China is RM80k.
      Honda Malaysia is selling at RM165k, which is an over priced car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 7:38 pm

honda gets taxed like crazy…does proton suffer the same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Yes, initial X70s r CBU so kena AP and excise duties unlike CKD CRVs. Wait for CKD X70 come to compare their real prices.

• Ethan on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:51 pm

Dearest DARM,

Shall we consider PROTON as National Car or International CAR manufacturer?

My question comes when the parts and materials all came from China to build this SUV, even the (X70) model modifications and R&D are from China knowledges.

To me the call for car prices are moderate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • P1 is now INTERNATIONAL car maker unlike that local jaguh kampung one.

• Proton turned into electron on Dec 25, 2018 at 11:17 am

P1 is no longer an INTERNATIONAL car maker as Plontong cannot survive for 1 year in INTERNATIONAL market then all close kedai.

• Datuk john Abdul Rashid Musa on Dec 24, 2018 at 10:26 pm

Rakyat should consider PROTON as Premium Geely Reseller as the parts and materials all came from China to build this SUV and the X70 model modifications and R&D are from China knowledges

• kzm (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:44 pm

Why don’t u just Google n find his social media account n ask him? It is much easier than waiting him reply to u in paultan.

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Dec 25, 2018 at 7:41 am

Proton geely now manage to sell cars in malaysia and disguise as local cars to avoid being taxed like other japan and conti cars.. BRILLIANT strategy china.. bcoz if u look the review and comment.. all parts (spare) comes from china laaa.. must be expensive due to cost of transportation being included..

• Tangisan CEO and john on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:52 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 150
    • Not Toyota Fan on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:03 pm

As of 01 January 2019, Rashid will be with UMW (leaving Proton). Expect him to later be head hunter to head the new 3rd National Car company.

• john applied for Metrojaya on Dec 24, 2018 at 2:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 140
  • Ben Yap on Dec 24, 2018 at 3:04 pm

Proton will still be a Proton. No amount of equipments will make any difference. Top up a little bit can get Honda CRV turbo, more powerful, lesser road tax, better quality and better brand image.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 49
    • fair comments on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Yeah right, Spec to Spec, Proton X70 is RM40k cheaper than CRV across the range, and X70 is so much higher spec than under specced CRV, as CRV don’t even have auto windows for all 4 windows and CRV’s sound prootfing is a joke (Milo Tin).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Hunda Anuscrack on Dec 25, 2018 at 2:20 pm

Honda HRV E spec RM101K , Proton X70 Standard RM99k.
        Honda HRV V spec RM110K , Proton X70 Executive Rm109K.
        Yes you are right bro, Honda HRVs and all Honda cars are Underspeced, Overpriced, Underpowered piece of Milo Tin Junk. Honda Malaysia Cheated Malaysian consumers badly.

• Jinbaitai on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Sorry Ben Yap, you must be joking, the pathetic fit and finish of the Honda CRV (gear knob button eject by itself seriously?) is no where near the X70. The X70 fit and finish is in every way on par with the conti and close to the luxury brands. It’s like Honda is becoming more like Proton of the past (with more and more quality issues surfaced and complaints by Honda users) and not the other way round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
      • tokmoh. on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:47 pm

CRV starter pack :
        1. Gear knob rosak
        2. CVT rosak
        3. Steering rack rosak
        4. Wheel bearing rosak

Only Honda SA Ben Yap will think CR-V got quality.

He’s peeing in his pants having nightmare, habislah must bash, create fake news. Dread it. Run from it. Destiny still arrives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • MyviKiller on Dec 26, 2018 at 3:21 am

Pssssttt.. you forgot Honda punya chassis noise, crappy material + manufacturing.

• Ben Yap Honda sales nangis kuat on Dec 24, 2018 at 10:21 pm

Honda will still be a Honda. No amount of equipments will make any difference. Cheaper a little bit can get Proton X70 turbo, more powerful, lesser road tax, better quality and better brand image.

• JimmyC on Dec 24, 2018 at 10:39 pm

Agreed. Test driven X70 specs, fit and finish.

Proton X70 Standard = Harrier Turbo.
        Proton X70 Exec AWD = GLC250 4matic.
        Proton X70 Premium = XC60 Inscription Plus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:45 pm

Topup a bit..just RM40k

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 25, 2018 at 6:29 am

Brand image IS important if you’re shallow minded, inferiority complex & wanting face.

If it rocks your boat, then so be it.

• azrai on Dec 24, 2018 at 3:09 pm

The price is high because it is CBUed from China. Different structure of taxes. Wait for CKD then. For that price, Proton actually targeted Civic, HRV potential demographic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
    • Kokfc on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:31 pm

True, not a Malaysian make

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 36
    • Even now with CBU pricing, the X70 standard spec and Executive spec are already cheaper than overpriced kosong spec HRV E and V spec. Wait till CKD pricing comes, Honda CRV and HRV and send their unsold stock to the dumpsters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • GHard Lies on Dec 24, 2018 at 7:09 pm

The X70 with CBU pricing already RM40k cheaper than CRV across the range, same price with HRV E and V spec.
      When Proton gets the X70 with CKD pricing, Honda Malaysia can stop selling their overpriced CRV and HRV la.

• Pakatan Kuat Tidur on Dec 24, 2018 at 3:36 pm

This car will sell like hotcakes! P2 salesmen are crying.

Ha ha ha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 25
    • Kokfc on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:29 pm

Will not happen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 67
      • john kuat tidur on Dec 25, 2018 at 11:21 am

This car will sell like rotten cakes! P1 salesman are all drinking teh and goyang kaki as in the showroom only have debu, nyamuk, lalat and semut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • DRB Hcom on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:16 pm

P2 have nothing similar to compete la.
      Honda Malaysia salesmen are the ones who will be crying, as X70 compete directly with CRV and HRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 28
    • John bin Dedak on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:33 pm

How many abang abang can afford RM100k? Those who can afford just buy Japanese car

• Pakatan Kuat Tidur on Dec 25, 2018 at 5:49 pm

15,000 people seem to have no problem with the price.

Kah kah kah

• Proton oh Proton on Dec 24, 2018 at 7:07 pm

let see after P2 car launching SUV. Proton X70 still will be HOT CAKE????

• Perodua - Building Rebadging Dangerous Cars Makes People Rusker on Dec 25, 2018 at 12:25 am

Aiyoo yoo, Habislah Perodua for now and Perodua Salesmen attitude that gives lousy design for Perodua Models as well as unsafe Perodua models which they are snobbish. No one buys Perodua. Salesmen all menangis. This Perodua Slogan is known as Building Rebadging Dangerous Cars Makes People Ruskier. Wishes all the worst luck to drive Perodua Cars. Before I talk about Rebadging Perodua Models and Lazy Perodua Designers, let’s talk about Perodua Services, including other Perodua Models.

First of all, The reason is because everyone knows that Perodua Service is very terrible in which many Perodua owners have feedback many times about service but still never improve at all. As comparing to Proton, When many Proton owners service their car, it takes few hours to complete their vehicles service whereas when Perodua owners service their car, it takes longer time from 9 am to 5 pm to complete their service. I am very sure knows that everyone feels very upset and fed up all the Perodua Company.

Next up, talk about the quality of Perodua Plant in Malaysia, why no one ever buys Perodua because everyone also knows that after Perodua Assembly Team in Malaysia finish assembling the Perodua parts for Perodua models, they always didn’t even bother to check whether it has been secured or not which makes most of Malaysians who drives Perodua feels very riskier. Or either, Perodua Assembly Team in Malaysia always use the fake parts to install for Perodua models as many people complain that got many problems for Perodua models after they bought for several months just like there are incidents happens for Proton since the year in 2014. But now, why Proton Company is improving because Proton Company are always training to their Proton Assembly Team to make sure that they are using the right parts to install for Proton models. As well as, Proton Assembly Team also needs to makes sure that they usually always check whether the parts has been secured or not after finishing manufacturing, assembling Proton parts for Proton models. This is to show that what Proton Company has improving so far and better than Perodua.

Besides that, Just launching new Perodua Alza Facelift several months ago, there are no differences at all between new Perodua Alza Second Facelift and Perodua Alza First Facelift that launched in 2013 but only replacing the front bumper which looks like it copied from Sienta bumper with giving ABS without VSC, HSC, EBD as well as no 6 airbags but giving 2 airbag. Anyway, Malaysians knows that Perodua Alza is the biggest failure in Malaysia. Malaysians only hardly see few units of New Second Facelift Alza on the road. Not only that, if you drive on the road, very sure that there are also not many Axia or Bezza on the road because both Axia or Bezza have two airbags without VSC. No wonder everywhere in Malaysia, there are many Vios, City, Proton Persona or Saga on the road. Just look at Toyota and Proton, why UMW Toyota and Proton Malaysia, are already improving as comparing to the last four or five years because Toyota Malaysia now having advanced safety features for all Toyota models to make sure that UMW Toyota won’t make sacrifice for people lives again but except for Avanza as UMW Toyota still giving 2 airbags without VSC for Avanza. However, there will be also either upcoming Avanza which will be launching next year. New Avanza also comes with VSC, HSC and other safety features that new Avanza but still giving two airbags for new Avanza. Also, UMW Toyota has been upgrading up to 7 speed automatic for Vios, upcoming Yaris, Altis, Innova, and etc.

Finally, our topic is about of what Perodua has produced Perodua Vehicles for the past many years?

Everyone boycott Perodua, why? Because Perodua Company didn’t even bother to design their engines and transmission by themselves. As well as Perodua Company are always very lazy to design their Perodua models which already happens for the past 20 years until now. They just rebadge logo, that’s all. Just look at Perodua Terios, everyone knows that Perodua just rebadge logo on Toyota Rush because interior looks the same as Rush as well as exterior looks the same as Rush. Moreover, Perodua Terios will not be fresh looking when start selling next year on 2019 after launching new Toyota Rush in Malaysia. If Perodua can design a new Perodua model by themselves instead of rebadging on other brand models, including making their own Perodua Engines and Transmission, everyone will surely buy Perodua Models design by Malaysia. So why don’t Perodua just follow what Proton has done for the past many years.

Until Today, Perodua Company still giving dinosaur engines with outdated transmission in which they never even bother to improve their Perodua models as all Perodua Models still using 4 speed auto and surely no one ever buys Perodua Models because everyone feels that it is underpowered, even aunties and uncles will also know as well.

In conclusion, Malaysians rather buy Proton, Toyota or Honda. The reason is that because Proton, Toyota and Honda is actually improving their company itself as Proton, Toyota and Honda are giving more tech and advanced safety features for Proton X70, as well as upcoming Proton models. In addition to that, Proton Exora have ESC, ABS and 4 airbags vs Perodua Alza have 2 airbags and ABS without ESC. Moreover, Proton Service Company gives better service while Perodua Service Company gives terrible service. Anyway, no need to write good comments about Perodua for the upcoming Perodua articles in paultan as everyone knows about bad service for Perodua, copycat Perodua Models and Perodua will never improve at all. This is to show what Perodua has done for the past many years with garbage achievement. Besides that, Malaysians already know that Perodua regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Perodua – Building Cars People First should be named as Perodua – Building Rebadging Dangerous Cars Makes People Ruskier because a car of this price like Alza and Axia, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family with rebadging Dahaitsu Models as well as giving lousy design of Perodua Myvi and boring design of Bezza.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know Perodua are huge cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.
      How Perodua? Still no VSC? Giving Bad Service? All over the world for example like Fiat comes with VSC as standard! As well as Proton, including other carmakers in Malaysia and other world giving better services than Perodua.

Now, John Minum Teh 8X, Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk and John May 9 Nangis are also hiding like tikus. They will always come here and say Perodua are always trusted as having better safety for Perodua Models and Perodua have better RV than Proton. But All Malaysians are very sure that no one ever buys Unsafe Lousy Perodua Models as their RV jatuh like hell and Perodua Safety is lacking. 11 months time, 2017 Myvi, you can buy RM41k, drop from RM55k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM28k. Now people say can even get the 2017 Myvi model for even RM19k. Wah! drop RM6k in 11 months!!!

• Ksatria on Dec 24, 2018 at 3:46 pm

Dear Proton,
    Wish you a new dawn of success with hope of seeing better build, equipped, reliable, affordable products in the near future.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
  • Smokey on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:08 pm

Ppl have been engraved that proton should produce affordable car for malaysians

• 85k is OK, not 100, I’m not keen .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
  • Kokfc on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:28 pm

85k is OK, not 100, I’m not keen .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
  • Kokfc on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:33 pm

True, not a Malaysian make

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
  • Bapa Baha on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:43 pm

China made Proton selling at RM123,800 mana ada mahal.
    It got ADAS you know, Advanced Driver Assistance System. Not only that, it also got.. (ready for this !!) TPMS, AEB, FCW, ACC, LDW, BLIS, DOW, IHBC.. and it also got GKUI. This coming from Proton CEO DARM himself.
    That’s what all Malaysian want, right?
    so RM123,800 where got expensive..!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 6
  • ujhjuj on Dec 24, 2018 at 4:46 pm

Proton, you have made a BIG mistake on the pricing! People are skeptic of your quality and you should introduce gradual price increment strategies, until you have been proven that your reliability is on par with Japanese cars. Those who has suggest this RM100k pricing should be under great pressure now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 42
  • SyukriDesa on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:33 pm

could you please lets all of us know..which company you are being ceo’s? so then proton ceo can learn something great from you

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:40 pm

Proton started out as a national car for the masses. It meant that everyone could afford one regardless of status. Now they are marketing themselves as a premium brand and to me that’s the wrong way of doing business. If you want to sell as a premium brand you go launch another brand and market it as a premium brand like Lexus is to Toyota. You don’t see brands like Zara suddenly taking aim at DKNY do you? Many in this country will not be able to swallow a 100k Proton. Heck even Perodua said they will stick to what they do best – small and affordable vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 34
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:51 pm

Just let p2 do that lor.. why bother it is not like pipu buy a lot if p1 sell cheap car.

• Rakyat Biasa on Dec 24, 2018 at 5:54 pm

Being Proton, the company already enjoyed a better tax regime as compared to imported cars. I still think the price should be 10% cheaper for all specs. Yeah, they gave good specs, safety features and many goodies, but it’s still a Geely rebadge. Not a Volvo rebadge, Haval can price competitively, why not Proton. I guess they become greedy from the pre-launch feedback and up the price a bit to cover for so called 3s/4s service centre upgrade, smaller economic of scales, non shareable parts and many media advertisement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:54 pm

Imported car? Most car sold in bolehland is made in bolehland.. x70 is actually imported car as CKD will only come out next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Ahmad Urai on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:07 pm

Dear Proton,
    Nothing to shout about. There are many choices in the market. Unfortunately many of us found your price just too too high, considering all aspects, including styling, etc.
    We hope Proton will take this critique positively and do something about your price and also (products)!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
  • ex proton user on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 134
  • Convert from LHD to RHD quite costly, thats why expensive. Typical proton answer. Disgrace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
    • Truckers on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:57 pm

Here is one such cost for LHD to RHD conversion: (https://paultan.org/2017/10/16/ford-f-150-previewed-in-malaysia-ckd-right-hand-drive-four-engine-variants-available-from-rm389k/)

Do it yourself for less if you do not know the meaning of the word, disgrace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Basically X70 is a bagain Volvo?

• topkek on Dec 25, 2018 at 8:53 am

Typical basher pulak why conversion needs 2 years, supposed only 2 hours!

• This car should have been priced lower. The base already 100k. wont selling much. sorry to say but thats the bitter truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Kassim on Dec 24, 2018 at 6:50 pm

i still remember VW launch people’s car, base spec at almost rm 100k….& they failed miserably. If this X70 in future becomes problematic, none will buy & product will crash becoz of the premium price. Who in sane mind wud buy a chinese made car for rm100k & above. If i can afford a more than 100k car, i wont buy proton. of course you buy a japanese with proven reliability & holding stronger re-sale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 43
    • Exactly what I am thinking. These Proton people are dreaming

• Sushi Sucks on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:12 pm

Disagree,

Japanese cars of today are no longer as reliable as before counter with dinasour technologies in the making. Furthermore resale value for most Toyota and Honda brand also drop like Yo Yo. And not holding well either in the used.

Better invest in properties, FD and take GRAB.

Overall better value and no complain of loss in RV at all.

• Fireant on Dec 24, 2018 at 10:20 pm

[The Boyue was launched as an independent product under the Geely brand in 26 March 2016, it is currently priced around RM68,500 (110,000 yuan) in China, while competitors such as the Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5 are sold at over RM100,000.]

The above extracted from internet search..just for reference purposes..this model is already launched over 2 years ago in China..and it’s selling cheaper there as well.

So it is for the benefits of us Malaysian that we are now to buy a “Old” 2 year old model re-badge China SUV for a a much higher price even though Proton have special tax break?
    The Hisap darah mentality of the DUMNO regime still around…BOM my foot.

• yongwun on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:32 pm

The biggest issue with X70 is the engine and the gearbox combination. Not only the fuel consumption is high but also the pick up is slow.

It does not matter 6 airbag, ADAS … it still did not change the fact the core/basis is bad.

Geely high end model/brand is lynk&co .. that is the car fully pack with Volvo technology, including the DriveE engine.

We are just getting the outdated product from China …

Come to think about it, Proton just go back to the starting point. Saga was a rebadge of a old version of Lancer ..

I can understand how TunM feel, after 30 years, going back to staring point.

BTW, Geely is rolling out new 1.5T engine based on DriveE to their BoXXX line .. Cross our finger we get it when X70 CKD

Good luck to all that buying the X70 … prepare to pay a big big fuel bill…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 40
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:38 pm

Every showroom have ready stock of the X70. I wonder why?

• Potential buyer on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:44 pm

I dont know if any proton staff are reading this. Your nappa leather is sagging at front seat side and rear seat cushion on most of the showrooms I visit. I believe it is due to the properties of nappa leather that usually have higher stretchability than standard leather. Your executive AWD/4WD dont seem to have this issue. Kindly modify/fix the nappa leather template. I wanted to buy the Premium variant, but the sagging leather is giving me an eyesore.

• Newme on Dec 25, 2018 at 12:14 am

Isnt this the one that looked down on rebadged and non-continental cars? Now have to settle with China made car. What a hypocrite.

• No longer in my wish list....Proton on Dec 25, 2018 at 1:12 am

Proton CEO do you really know what customer need? RM 20K + to change to proton design language and right hand drive? Now I truly understand why proton car so expensive….

• Separuh Nilai on Dec 25, 2018 at 2:48 am

Well well well, back to basics, who cares if your initial investment and production costs is high? Put your return of investment, ROI longer, say 20 years, sell 5 units a month, sure can break even one. Who told u to be this short sighted and greedy? Tomorrow launch, today want break even, lOl.

• fauzi on Dec 25, 2018 at 8:46 am

Had Proton agree to sell to VW a few years ago, we could all have been driving a german made cars……sigh..

• Dr N. R. on Dec 25, 2018 at 11:02 am

To Dear Datuk Abdul Rashid & Proton Management,

Why I cancelled my premium booking after viewing?

-way over my planned budget (expensive)
    -It is still a Proton (or Perodua) status, not worth the RM 124k price.
    -Back row can only sit 2 adults (+ 1kid the max) a small car feeling/less spacious.Boot acceptable.
    -Not a globally sold car, spare parts not easily available and not cheap like others (manufacture in multiple countries, with diff price/grade).
    -Concerns of resale value (based on Proton rebadge/new models track records).
    -Voice command features – good to have only (as I’m not going to use it too)
    -Sun-roof – which I do not need at all (hope they can remove it in CKD premium to lower the price).
    -Too many electronics to survive M’sian hot/wet weather

-Heard of (no proof) the high maintenance costs and spare parts cost (for a local Proton)
    Also worried about(no proof) the suspected high fuel consumption (& a heavy car too?)

And just don’t feel right, our government bailed out them twice using our Rakyat money and then sold to other for a some money and the new Owner come in with Proton to “screw” Rakyat again, Loser is still us, the Rakyat.

Hope Proton will take this critics positively &do something about your pricing strategy, not end up like Perdana/Accord and the many others models (lesson still not learned till today?)

VSO 131252

• Indeed. My last proton was WIRA SE. No more proton for me for the time being

• They are looking at it.

• Walter Wu on Dec 25, 2018 at 2:43 pm

Hope That Proton X70 Still Need To Improvement
    – No Power Tailgate System
    – Back Row Seat Can Not Recliner For Long Journey
    – Driver Power Seat Adjusted But No Memory Setting
    – No Head Up Display
    – Car Body 1700kg Kerb Weight Is Too Heavy For Mid Size SUV , Can Be Caused Fuel Cansumption .

– Other Than That Is Very Good !!!

• Derek law on Dec 25, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Proton should have just sticked to max 18 inch rims and remove the sunroof.

This would have kept price below rm120k and generate more sales

• Pricetag too high for Malaysian on Dec 25, 2018 at 7:25 pm

Mr CEO no wonder proton car so expensove with just a little touch up you add price 20+k?With this pricetag i sure have other better option to choose.Btw what type of R&D you need proton since the car is clone from Geely…

• Everyone is exciting about the X70. I feel shame in stead of proud. After more that 30years in car industry, Proton and Perodua are still copy cat. We have none our own technology. Initially, many people objected Proton sold their share to Geely. Now? People can not hold their saliva to have the China car, X70!

• Malaysian on Dec 26, 2018 at 9:11 am

No doubt the quality is far better than many european cars based on many reviews.

For many out there, its definately targeting malaysians don’t worry, simply say, it is not B40 income group. Maybe next proton model perhaps.

• Compare to Haval….Haval is a more successful brand for SUV in China but it can price cheap in Malaysia with all the right thing and well spec-ed

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 26, 2018 at 10:45 am

Absolutely right to say due to unable to achieve high economies of scale but again why should consumers bare your cost.

For a company to penetrate into new market or regain of their lost market share, they need to “invest” money where they are making loss to gain market share. After reach certain level of market shares and achieve greater economies of scale and also their reputation only then the company will increase their product price gradually.

• Second hand on Dec 26, 2018 at 10:53 am

This car is best buy with 2nd hand, there are always many ah beng who cant really afford the cars but hard die fan go to buy. Later they will bankrupt and the cars are pulled back by banks for fire sale. Tunggu lar few months mostly premium version 80k pun dah dapat. Then yiur dream is fulfilled with the affordable car prices

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 26, 2018 at 10:59 am

For example, look at Huawei when their launched Ascend Mate in Malaysia back to 2013 it was cost RM1599 and it was the most expensive model among Huawei at that point of time. But look at now Huawei phone the most expensive one is cost RM3599, increased by 125%.

Do you think if Huawei straight launched their RM3599 in 2013 will gain success, of course no. In 2013 Ascend Mate RM1599, 2014 Ascend Mate 7 RM1799, 2015 Mate 8 RM2099, 2016 Mate 9 Pro RM3399 (not selling well), 2017 Mate 10Pro RM3099 and 2018 Mate 20 Pro RM3599. Over the year their gain more and more market share only then they confident to increase price.

Proton had lost huge number of market shares, to regain back they should lower down the selling price and gain consumers to buy their product. When more and more consumers trust on Proton then the future models can increase price gradually. But X70 price is less attractive thought it full load of gadgets, if they can reduced by 10% it will be more competitive and created wow factor.

• typical malaysian on Dec 26, 2018 at 11:21 am

ahhh…the smell of typical malaysians is always strong in P1/P2 section. as always, those typical will use pricing, origin of maker, and countries sold. might as well question the power window, since it is a P1, LOL. i have to partially agree on one thing though, this will not sell well. not because of those typical issues brought up by comments in here, but the fact that malaysian is mostly poor, which is also one of the main reason P2 is selling well, let’s be honest. when P1 makes its own product, we rejected it aggresively, now P1 rebadges a product that is proven well (although only in its origin of maker), we still reject it. we will always create reasons after reasons when it comes to P1, same goes to P2, we will continue to create reasons to accept it, just to neglect the fact we can’t afford anything above 100k and P2 is only what we can go for, most of us that is. let us laugh together as we will forever be the typical, shallow-minded, “it is my money, i can critise on what i might spend on” type of person.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • snowflake on Dec 26, 2018 at 12:39 pm

Sudah up honda, vw and mazda cars, how to take proton agains. Depan koliks, malu weii^^

• He is leaving, why interview him? He is technical guy but they put in sales dept. He will go to UMW as a technical team.

I will expect more interesting question, you could do better job PT. Such question is:
    – Why X70 don’t have handling characteristic as the rest of Proton car? Will Proton tune it for CKD version later?
    – How is the delivery plan. How long buyers have to wait. When will it expect to deliver to first buyer?
    – When we can expect CKD version?

• YouSoImmature on Dec 26, 2018 at 3:29 pm

Apa mau bising2 kawan. you tak suka you jangan beli lah.. senang. orang lain mau beli biarlah dengan dia orang. apa yang you tak puas hati? ada proton curi beras di rumah you all?

• Imelda on Dec 26, 2018 at 8:17 pm

So much said about x70.

Question: we all know Proton does not stock spare parts for its cars after 15 years .

Example : Tiara , jaguh , first gen perdana . Now saga and wira( have to use Mitsubishi equivalent parts , more expensive).
    If proton only stock parts for x70 for only 15 years only , it is better we buy Korean and Japanese and even European premium brands still an get parts after 20 years)

Why need to buy proton when proton only keeps parts for its cars for only 15 years. After 15 years cannot get spare parts either we buy from.kereta posting or throw away the car in the road sides( since cannot get parts either online or from proton or we buy from outside spare parts shops if available.

This is proton even their air conditioning got four different suppliers. No consistentcy at all as it all boil down to cost and wants huge profits only

This is proton as a whole previously

• newme on Dec 27, 2018 at 8:32 am

15 years talk only. Most of the time no parts with them and you will have to wait.

• Lao Ding on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:03 am

Still Boyue SUV is using Volvo technology as Volvo is owned by Geely. Volvo Car Corporation or Volvo Cars – a manufacturer of automobiles owned by Zhejiang Geely Holding Group and formerly owned by Ford Motor Company.

• Who makan the import tax on Dec 27, 2018 at 8:36 am

Is this car except from all the import duties since its Proton? If so who makan the 30% import tax? The price is so similar to Honda and Mazda. This is crazy.

• Lang Suir on Dec 28, 2018 at 11:38 am

As long as it named PROTON, Malaysia will not appreciate.

• Molly Nandy on Jun 19, 2019 at 4:18 pm

Pls improve your service from the technical dept. It take ages for them to check my car which is at Regal Body shop now. It has been 2 months there and nobody bother to check what is wrong with the car! regret buying a proton car which is inefficient with their service!!! my car number is VCR 8500…

• You may have the best cars in the world but the Proton local mentality & support will damage Geely’s image & reputation! Just a matter of time…before the JV partnership will collapse and drag down Geely as well..if nothing is done to change PROTON’s mindset.

I had this recent horrible experience BUYING a new PROTON vehicle at their so called PLATINUM 4S Center PUNCAK Merak Semenyih. Judging by their standards.. Geely had better give this matter a serious thought!