Perodua Aruz vs Toyota Rush – differences detailed

Is the Perodua Aruz a rebadged Toyota Rush? That’s the common perception – perhaps because the Rush surfaced earlier here and Toyota is the senior brand – but not the most accurate description of the sister cars.

Both the Toyota Rush and Daihatsu Terios debut in Indonesia in late 2017, and as usual for that market, both cars are twins wearing different badges. It’s also convention that the Daihatsu is positioned lower than the Toyota, with slightly altered styling and a lower entry price. The Daihatsu Ayla-Toyota Agya and Daihatsu SigraToyota Calya are the other examples.

What many don’t realise is that Daihatsu – wholly-owned by Toyota, of course – takes the lead in many of these projects and manufactures the cars for both brands in Indonesia. That’s the case with the Rush-Terios there, although only the Toyota-badged car will be exported to other emerging markets.

In Malaysia, both the Toyota Rush and Perodua Aruz are made by Perodua in Rawang, with all engines and transmissions coming from the same factories in Sendayan, Negeri Sembilan.

Also, they’re not 100% similar to the Indonesian duo – the Aruz benefits from suspension tuning that’s more suited to Malaysian preferences, which is a fair bit firmer than what Indonesians like. The Malaysian Rush also gets this P2-developed tuning – both are mechanically similar.

In any case, it’s OK to share with family, and Toyota owns Daihatsu, which is of course Perodua’s long-time technical partner. Family affairs aside, both the Malaysian-spec Rush and Perodua Aruz have design and equipment differences, which we’ll detail here.

Design

We still don’t have full images of the Perodua Aruz, but we’ve seen just about enough to draw conclusions. The main difference between the Rush and Aruz is in front.

Clockwise from top: Perodua Aruz, Indonesian market Daihatsu Terios, Malaysian spec Toyota Rush

The bonnet with two prominent humps are similar, as are the general shape of the LED headlamps and grille. That makes it clear that both cars are related, but the details set both apart.

The Perodua grille has one extra slat (five vs four, including top border) and the third bar acts as the signature “wings” to the Perodua badge. Neatly, the full chrome bar (it’s thicker than the other slats) bridges the LED daytime running lights with the same thickness.

Now that we’re there, upon closer inspection, the DRLs aren’t the same as Toyota’s – here, it’s a double dash versus the single stroke of the Rush, which points upwards into the body.

We see hints that the lower bumper is a unique Perodua item, too. There are faint “whiskers” on the space between the headlamps and lower intakes; this is not present on the Rush, which comes with chunky lower body add-ons in Malaysia. The P2 SUV’s face is also different from that of the Indonesian market Daihatsu Terios, which is closer to the Rush in appearance. The Terios’ grille is very heavy on chrome and has the same slat count as the Rush (four).

The rear end of both cars are similar, featuring wrap-around tail lamp clusters that cut deep into the hatch, and closely spaced double strip LED signatures. The lights are joined by a “double bridge”. The top portion – which holds the emblem – is in gloss black, and it’s “supported” by a chrome lower section.

We can’t see the lower bumper clearly here, but the Aruz won’t feature the Rush’s chunky lower body add-ons, branded “R-Blade Design” by UMW Toyota. Lastly, both Rush and Aruz wear 17-inch two-tone alloys, but in different designs.

Interior

We can’t show it to you yet, but having seen the Aruz in the metal, we can reveal that Perodua’s SUV does not share a dashboard with the Rush – Perodua has designed its own upper dash panel. The reasoning behind this was that the Rush’s interior was deemed too “simple” in design, and Malaysians generally like things to look busier, something mentioned by Perodua chief designer Muhamad Zamuren in a recent interview with paultan.org.

The Aruz’s dashboard design differs from the Rush’s; Toyota has its own AC panel and accent trim

The “more complicated” look is provided by some layering on the IP, which results in a more prominent “V-shape” or waterfall to the fascia. The original look is more of a “T”, as seen in the Malaysian Rush and Indo-market Rush/Terios. To match the dash, the door cards of the Aruz are also of a unique design. We’d say that based on its objectives, P2’s modded dash is a success. On its own, the design is conventional and inoffensive.

The meter panel is shared, but the air con control panel is different – the Rush gets two knobs and an automatic function, while the Aruz’s AC panel is shared with the Myvi, two memory settings included.

Zooming into trim, the Aruz plays it safe with an all-black interior, with piano black trim and silver contrasts for the Advance spec (think Myvi AV). Meanwhile, the Rush’s cabin gets some beige pieces on the lower section for contrast; the Toyota also gets the now-familiar faux stitch pattern on the dash and doors.

Equipment

Both the Aruz and Rush are mechanically identical, and powered by the 2NR engine used the Myvi, Vios and Avanza. The Dual VVT-i four-pot channels power to the rear wheels via a four-speed automatic transmission. Toyota quotes 105 PS at 6,000 rpm and 136 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm for the Rush.

With Eco Idle auto start-stop (as found in the Bezza and Myvi), P2 is claiming fuel economy of 15.6 km/l, identical to Toyota’s claimed FC figure. The Honda BR-V also uses a 1.5 litre engine, but paired with a CVT automatic.

The difference in equipment levels isn’t very big, although the Rush does offer some extra kit in return for the RM20k premium. The exclusive-to-Rush items are automatic air con (Aruz counters with memory), blind spot monitor and the Panoramic View Monitor with four cameras. The latter is a 360-degree bird’s eye view camera that assists parking, integrated into Toyota’s own head unit. By the way, Perodua’s improved Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0 is identical to the Rush’s Pre-Collision System.

Once again, the Perodua Aruz goes for RM72,900 for the X and RM77,900 for the Advance. Launched in October last year, the Toyota Rush is priced from RM93,000 to RM98,000 (est).

For further reading on the Perodua Aruz:

GALLERY: Perodua SUV teaser at KLIMS 2018

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Rush 1.5S

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tricycle on Jan 03, 2019 at 6:58 pm

Both Aruz and Rush 1.5 get Ron95 petrol rebates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Toyota Way on Jan 03, 2019 at 11:25 pm

Same platform as Avanza?

• Taib Andak on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:59 am

Proton X70 laku in Africa according to Proton fanboy.

Now Malaysia should follow African law…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
        • English Teacher on Jan 05, 2019 at 2:20 pm

No. John didn’t say that. Stop blaming others for your failures in English comprehension. Take his advice and go back to school.

• To Er Not Shalt on Jan 05, 2019 at 3:12 pm

What a narrow minded mentality.

• Peter on Jan 04, 2019 at 3:26 pm

BRV sales will drop.
        P2 arrogantly denied they’re rushing into SUV market on every interviews earlier but now slapping their own face with A-Rus(h)

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:24 am

Everybody is excited with the new Aruz. They are all asking….why pay RM50k more for the X70 at RM123k when you can get a good Toyota engined SUV for RM72k?

Somemore it is 7 seater vs 5 seater

Why buy China quality? Do you know the Boyue (x70) was rejected in every FIRST WORLD country? Geely tried their level best to sell the Boyue in all FIRST WORLD countries but they failed.

Ask yourself, why did it fail?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 74
      • U talk so much but u conveniently forget that Rush is a junk car only made and sold 3rd world countries. It’s not sold in ANY FIRST WORLD country, and China car market has now surpassed 3rd world countries. Its the reason why Rush cant be sold in China, its too low keras and unsafe that China rejected this junk to enter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 23
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:27 pm

this is why Perodua sales is 220,000 but Proton sales is 50,000 despite Government orders. Got people like you to syiok sendiri.

Btw, why 30 years Proton cannot even develop their own car that is successful?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
        • Fatimah on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:56 pm

Rush is sold in first world countries like Japan, Taiwan, Singapore, New Zealand and many others. Please get your facts right before posing nonsense in this forum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
          • RUSH like sampan tua… Just like…

• Lolwhut? on Jan 05, 2019 at 2:18 pm

Are you serious or are you just trolling with another name again? Sorry but Rush is definitely not available in any of the countries you mentioned. It’s purely a 3rd world car.

John, you don’t have to reply you can ignore this person.

• CarBuyer on Jan 25, 2019 at 6:40 pm

Everyone is (somewhat) correct. The first two generations of the Daihatsu Terios (and Toyota variant of same vehicle) was sold in Japan. But the current 3rd generation is not (yet?) on sale either as a Daihatsu or Toyota in Japan.

• K-tard Lowyat Poster on Jan 04, 2019 at 3:27 pm

Fatimah is correct. The Rush is sold in the aforementioned countries.

You want to troll and post fake news, go to the lowyat.net forum, in the Kopitiam section. Over there, you can get away with fake news and trolling. But here, people will be furious.

Ingat ini John, the Aruz will sell more than the X70. I will laugh at you soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • SK, Lim on Jan 06, 2019 at 7:50 pm

Sorry to disappoint you, ktard trooper, but an instant Google can show you that Rush is never sold in any of the aforementioned countries. John was correct once again.

• https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daihatsu_Terios

• Can move this car mehhh 1.5L engine with full load of 7 seater. X70 still 2.6 billion times far better choice (CBU), wonder which donkey gonna buy this junk unless the engine can produces 170hp & 200nm torque :-)

• Malaysiaboyz on Jul 03, 2019 at 8:39 am

Wow do your research man… Peridua car model is the model that are not approve and haram in europe, australia and american… Dont tell me that you thinking every toyota model like avanza, rush and vios are sold in first world country??… Geely and haval is targeted for europe market and america… Haval already entered south africa and australia… And by the looks of china fast pace technology and quality… They will hit europe and other first world country before you finish your toilet poop

• ARUZ or arus…means hanyut..drifted away.. haha..mmg hanyutt

• Either ARUZ nor AVANZA…mmg member aku merungut lepas beli..Rasa mcm naik sampan..bila lalu Timur Barat… Rasa nak masuk gaung jekk.. DO better laa Perut2

• Duo Jepunis wiped out Projohn on Jan 03, 2019 at 6:58 pm

Perodua Aruz X Toyota Rush VS Proton X70
    Habisla X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 92
    • (Like) X70
      (Dislike) HRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 23
    • I really do kesian Perodua. Their CEO original intention was to dust out the Rush soon after it goes into Toyota museum but the unexpectedly super hot X70 took the car market like a storm in African heat. Now they r desperately working day and night 24hrs round the clock, “Rush”ing to rebadge the Rush into this SUV. I really feel for them, their desperately hopeless situation.

Their marketing team r not even given time to come out with a proper name, in the end deciding to just lazily rebadge even the “RUSH” name.

Their sales team, well displayed in the recent articles comments, clearly shows their cluelessness to the car and its features. Instead, their resident troll salesman prefer to fall back to his regular negative bashing lies & fake news, because he has no idea at all about this car. He dunno how to sell it cuz nobody believes in his fake stories, purported hi RV, or that fake celup Jepunis smell.

And someone did mention on the limited mileage warranty which is totally out of place with the unlimited mileage offers by all others including P1 X70. That clearly shows their lack of faith in the car quality past 150k km. If P2 has little faith in their car, what more of their potential buyers?

So I really feel for them. Everything has turned 180degrees around and now they r desperado in riding on anything, even X70 publicity, just to promote their car. Is a sad day for being associated with P2, but thats whats coming to them for the many years of serving unsafe junks to their customers. Many lives din return to complain about it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 27
      • OMG…Ppl will Rushing to buy…..X70, sorry P2….lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
        • Very Stupid Malaysian will buy Perodua on Jan 04, 2019 at 4:26 pm

Yup true. Toyota Rush have Blind Spot Monitor, Land Departure Warning and Rear Cross Traffic Alert, Panoramic View Monitor with four cameras, parking assistant and integrated into Toyota’s own head. Whereas Perodua Aruz doesn’t even have Blind Spot Monitor, Land Departure Warning and Rear Cross Traffic Alert, Panoramic View Monitor with four cameras, parking assistant and integrated into Toyota’s own head. That’s why I told you that it is more safer to buy Proton or Toyota

• Very Stupid Malaysian will buy Perodua on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:49 am

It is most likely that after thousands people saw all the negative votes about Perodua Aruz. Most people will not kesian Perodua anymore because most people knows that Perodua Aruz are actually rebadge from Toyota Rush Design. Moreover, I have evidence that the user known as typical malaysian kesian only for Perodua but typical malaysian hates Proton, Toyota and other carmakers. This shows that typical malaysian is treating Toyota and Proton and other carmakers so badly done.

To all Jealous Perodua Salesmen, look at Toyota and Proton, why most people will trusted Proton X70 is because Proton X70 has high tech, high safety and better performance. And why most people trusted Toyota because Toyota Rush were actually designed from Toyota Engineers. So now today, most people will going to trusted back to Toyota Rush and Proton X70 over this Perodua Aruz. For info, most people will also not going to be trusted to Perodua. The reason is because until today, Perodua doesn’t even give any VSC, HSC and other safety features for Alza, Bezza and Axia. In addition to that, Perodua also remove for Engine temperature gauge for Perodua Myvi. Some more, low spec of Myvi and mid spec of Myvi gives only 4 airbags without HSC. This Myvi is not very safe to everyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 17
        • typical malaysian on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:25 am

Thanks for the shout out bro! well, as the typical malaysian, I am brainwashed into hating Proton and other brands and to favor Perodua alone. I also as the typical malaysian, will demand progress but will reject it after it is implemented as I can’t make up my bloody mind!. Any effort to cater to the latest tech will be first observed; if it is from China, then I will reject it! if it is from Japan, I will worship it! because as the typical malaysian, RESALE VALUE, SALES FIGURE & WORLDWIDE SALES is important! Most importantly, if there is a car that I support, it must have Tesla’s high tech paired with P2’s pricing! until then I will only support P2!
          Be familiar with these criteria when facing the typical malaysian! #SUBPARLIFE #OBSESSEDWITHPLASTICSINTERIORS #WORLDWIDESALES #RESALEVALUE #JAPAN #CHEAPOME

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
        • Googalalala on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:40 am

I can quarantee you x70 RV will be bad to worse. Still low tech p2 cars have higher RV than ur super high tech p1 x70. Whats the point super high tech x70 if RV bad, u cant even sell off ur x70 nextime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 47
          • typical malaysian on Jan 04, 2019 at 11:36 am

“Still low tech p2 cars have higher RV than ur super high tech p1 x70. Whats the point super high tech x70 if RV bad, u cant even sell off ur x70 nextime.” that statement alone proves what i said is true. thanks fellow typical malaysian!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
          • This Aruz will be another failure just like the Nautica just wait n see..

• Muhammad arshad on Jul 04, 2019 at 11:33 pm

Oh my god.. dont buy car based on resale value.. are you too poverty or stingy.. buy what you like.. you want.. your money.. based on your affordability.. you’re going to use it.. after 7 years.. all cars will have lower value lorr..

• john syok sendiri on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:46 pm

syok sendiri with your personal opinion???pity you..malaysian have spoken…they chose perodua over proton..this is the reality…keep dreaming dude…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • johnwhat on Jan 14, 2019 at 2:20 pm

your english a, lintang pukang it type like ah pek slang also easier to understand.

sound suspiciously alike to how my China friends would type in english.

Are you even a real user from Malaysia?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:27 am

so many fake long stories by the same dupe king. At the end of the day, year after year for the past 10 years, Perodua sales is 4X that of Proton.

Proton only sells 50,000 cars

PErodua sells 220,000 cars

I think the rakyat has spoken which car they TRUST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 54
      • Mahmood on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:46 am

we are not interested in fake news john

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
        • Abdul Rahman Bin Kassim on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:57 pm

Agreed, this is not some forum where cybertroopers can get away with posting fake news.

Here, fake news is not tolerated. The rakyat will obviously get angry when they read unreliable information from other users.

Anyway, even if the X70 is like a Volvo, people will still think it is a China-made car. And I’m sure we all know how rakyat Malaysia is allergic to any China-made car.

Mark my words john, the Aruz will sell more than the X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
          • Kesian. So many lies, fake stories, and fake dupes. Dun even know how to sell ur crap becoz its really crap. So sad. Scream all u want, its music to my ears. HAHAHAHAHA!

• Chandra on Jan 05, 2019 at 2:22 pm

We mark your words that you’re just a lying troll. Sorry but none of us can trust what you said anymore.

• EDITOR on Jan 05, 2019 at 9:12 am

Sorry but we’re not interested in your fake news about John. If you have nothing better to say, then get out of here.

• Taib Andak on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:58 am

It is a joke to compare African standards with European standards.

Africa got no laws but Toyota pass all laws in every country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Taib Andak on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:57 am

Nobody wants a China car. No RV also. Look at Haval. Buy RM100k, next year sell only can get RM30k

You dare buy X70?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
    • Bras and Panties Promoter on Jan 04, 2019 at 12:35 pm

So many Perodua Salesmen now coming to join their mentors, John Minum Teh 8X, John Bin Dedak and Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk to sell bras and panties at Marks & Spencer.

I was so impressed to see this when John Minum Teh 8X are top Triumph Ambassador as chosen by Triumph HQ which Marks & Spencer were extremely proud of John Minum Teh 8X

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Bras and Panties Salesman on Jan 04, 2019 at 2:52 pm

So many Proton Salesmen now coming to join their mentors, john, John Minum Teh 8X Lingerie and Bras and Panties Promoter to sell bras and panties at Marks & Spencer.

I was so impressed to see this when john are top Triumph Ambassador as chosen by Triumph HQ which Marks & Spencer were extremely proud of john

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • Thanks Danny for the inside scoop. Many Malaysians are eager to see the SUV made and priced for the rakyat with unique Perodua designs. This will be a winner, lots of families now have an affordable and stylish national car to look forward to. Syabas P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 39
    • DK Super Salah on Jan 04, 2019 at 11:39 pm

No thanks Danny for the inside scoop. Many Malaysians are not eager to see the lousy SUV made and priced for the rakyat with copycat Perodua designs. This will be a loser, lots of families now have booked the X70 the stylish national car to look forward to. Habisla P2.

• Mr Regaman on Jan 03, 2019 at 7:10 pm

With the 20K price difference, who is gonna get Rush? It is the same 99% in and out, produced in the same assembly line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Nobody want 136 Nm 7 seaters SUV, people smarter than John Minum Teh 8X will book X70 285 Nm SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • Tony Kua on Jan 03, 2019 at 7:12 pm

It’s different car segment altogether. The Perodua Aruz and Toyota Rush go against B segment Honda BRV and Nissan Livina.

The Proton X70 is a C segment SUV, broadly compete Honda HRV, CX5, CRV and Harrier turbo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • abahaku on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:52 am

and yet Paultan compare x70 with Aruz

• pakat on Jan 04, 2019 at 12:09 pm

Who cares about segmentation? How many ppl know the concept of segmentation? Uncle, Aunty, Pakcik, Makcik?

What people really care is
      1) How much is the price
      2) Can carry how many people
      3) How is the fuel consumption
      4) How is the maintenance costs
      5) How is the car’s reliability

Full STOP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • To Er Not Shalt on Jan 05, 2019 at 4:32 pm

I do. So that we know specifically what it really is. Segment is important because it adds a short to answer to all of your questions you pointed out.

• Teriozzz on Jan 03, 2019 at 7:26 pm

Aruz, Rush or Terios, the design is not exactly SUV. It is more look like MPV but SUV wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Ya. 136 Nm SUV? If the person know the car spec for SUV won’t choose lower torque SUV.
      B segment SUV 1.2L Renault Captur got 190 Nm
      B segment SUV 1.2L Peugeot 2008 got 205 Nm

• The rated fuel consumption is a fluke. If they bundle it with a cvt then probably at best can match the claimed fuel consumption.

• abahaku on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:55 am

OEM usually optimize kaw2 the test car and take the best figure to be declared in sales brochure an to public ( somehow we don’t call it cheat). Actual FC figure will higher, depending also on many common factors

• Avatar on Jan 03, 2019 at 7:34 pm

Same engine family, but lower HP and torque. Toyota would NOT give SAME engine to P2 and jeopardise own T sales figure.. BUT P2 Sales Person smart and have good commissions with own story using SAME engine in T Rush in their own version marketing and promotional..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
  • AVANZA THE NEW KING on Jan 03, 2019 at 7:50 pm

My 10 year old Avanza just increased in value…sharing same enginevetc with this shiit…hahahaha tq v v much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • RAJA KAMARUL on Jan 03, 2019 at 7:51 pm

It will ride quite the same, despite the differing settings between Jakarta and Kuala Lumpur’s specs. Remember too that this is a ladder frame set up, and that’s as ancient as Rome in my books. Yes, some will accept it but I feel like a third world country in those quarters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • I’d like to know how many Rush has found new homes in Malaysia. Really don’t see them on the road at all. Probably like me, while price is not an issue, the look is far too busy.

• Pakulupapito on Jan 03, 2019 at 7:57 pm

All these new toyotas are ugly as hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 37
  • Not Toyota Fan on Jan 03, 2019 at 8:04 pm

Lucky P2 didn’t just direct translate Rush to Tergesa-Gesa. But this “SUV” wannabe will terhegeh-hegeh with that 1.5L 4 speeder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • Bryan on Jan 03, 2019 at 8:10 pm

Err…. the design, no comment

• Rahim on Jan 03, 2019 at 8:19 pm

They are both lousy but better than the X70.

Only in Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
  • John Minum Teh 8X Lingerie on Jan 03, 2019 at 8:32 pm

(Like) Toyota Rush and Proton X70
    (Dislike) Perodua Aruz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
  • looks so similar the front grille….no follow p2 corporate grille design^^

• John Cinta MO1 on Jan 03, 2019 at 9:22 pm

I will choose to believe 30 million rakyat who love the rebadged award-winning Japanese cars that P2 sells instead of one frustrated cybertrooper.

Yes, the X70 is a good car. But when the vast majority of the rakyat has a busuk mentality about Proton and China-made cars, ia tak akan laku lah. No one will dare to buy.

Plus, the Aruz is sold at half the price of the X70. The rakyat of Malaysia would definitely prefer to pay less and buy a rebadged Japanese car rather than buying an expensive rebadged China-made car at 2 times the price. Yes, 2 TIMES the price!!

The rakyat will make their choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 52
    • John Cinta M01 Lingerie on Jan 03, 2019 at 10:00 pm

Well after majority people saw negative comments about Perodua Aruz articles as compare to Toyota Rush articles and Proton X70 articles. No one even cares about you anymore because Perodua Aruz is actually getting from T Rush Design. This shows that Perodua is actullay rebadging for Aruz as Perodua Enginners are obviously never improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • john Lingerie on Jan 03, 2019 at 11:16 pm

Well after majority people saw negative comments about Proton X70 articles as compare to Geely Boyue articles and Perodua Aruz articles. No one even cares about you anymore because Proton X70 is actually getting from G Boyue Design. This shows that Proton is actullay rebadging for X70 as Proton Enginners are obviously never improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • eddie on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:00 am

the same goes to the Daihatsu Engineers. you know the Daihatsu Terios is a rebadge of Rush right ? no comment on that ?

nothing wrong with rebadge. i think it’s more of a collaboration between toyota , daihatsu and perodua to come out with the design

• marcos on Jan 04, 2019 at 12:11 am

T rush dashboard too simple and look ugly..others all ok..

• kobealex on Jan 03, 2019 at 9:33 pm

Really the Aruz shouldnt be called an SUV but more of a MPV with jacked up ride?

The base of the Aruz as all of us know it, should be compared to the BRV, Livina, Rush no? Just because Perodua calls it an SUV doesnt really make it an SUV.

• Sohai (not ori) on Jan 03, 2019 at 9:39 pm

If im the new Rush owner will be really really really pissed off…imagine paying ao much money than learning the model rebadged at much lower price, really sohai move my T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
  • transformer on Jan 03, 2019 at 9:51 pm

its just A-RUSH….. misspelled into ARUZ…. still read A-RUSH….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Mike Khoh on Jan 03, 2019 at 10:36 pm

Same wine different label.we have been fool

• Hero the lee on Jan 03, 2019 at 11:20 pm

1.5 is gonna be underpowered for a large suv

• No, is torque power main priority if wanna buy SUV

• Iqbal on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:40 pm

The torque figure also is not that good but probably they’ll cope up with shorter gear ratio to improve acceleration just like ertiga

• sasahihi on Jan 03, 2019 at 11:41 pm

This is not a SUV, it doesn’t look sporty at all, more like a MPV type like avanza or innova.

• Cheung on Jan 04, 2019 at 1:46 am

Pricing is not right !
    This suppose to sell in between 60k-70k range

• Alcatrez on Jan 04, 2019 at 4:45 am

Overall debt to income ratio is at 84%.

Of course the rakyat will find a cheaper alternative in today’s modern world choices in everything.

And this is the best choice as a necessity and not luxury. With excellent safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Choose more safety SUV
      1. Bigger and heavier
      2. More passive safety features
      3. Superior rating for front and side crash prevention

• Toyota Rush 93k, national car should 30k lower, Aruz too expensive.

• Leonardo on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:52 am

To put it bluntly, it’s a BRV wannabe, so it will sell. Most people aspire for the BRV but could not afford it,
    therefore this is the best option and 20k cheaper than the the Rush.

• As expected, this Aruz will be the best selling SUV and MPV in msia in the many years to come. The Aruz will outsell the X70 by ten fold and send the X70 to its graveyard. Perodua always does things right by giving what Msians want. Truly a msian car built for msians. Proud of you Perodua!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • John Minum Teh 8× on Jan 04, 2019 at 1:29 pm

As expected, the X70 will be the best selling SUV and MPV in msia in the many years to come. The X70 will outsell the Aruz by ten fold and send the Aruz to its graveyard. Proton always does things right by giving what Msians want. Truly a msian car built for msians. Proud of you Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • jackess on Jan 04, 2019 at 10:35 am

with that price i think we can see the aruz at all malaysian road…i think la my opinion hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • jackass on Jan 05, 2019 at 9:25 pm

with that price i think we can see the aruz at all car junkyard…your opinion salah total hahahaha

• power car on Jan 04, 2019 at 10:49 am

this model is “lowyaa” compare Exora turbo. This new model is MPV not SUV, but no power. P2 please learn from ur Alza.

• Missleelee on Jan 04, 2019 at 11:18 am

I think x70 cabin and dashboard have the feel good driving experience.. i hope paultan can answer my question = are the x70 using the new volvo engine.

• Khairun Nasri on Jan 04, 2019 at 12:11 pm

too much price difference!!!

• John Slade on Jan 04, 2019 at 1:18 pm

Perodua Aruz has 6-7 seater…
    Okay, i gonna pre-order it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 52
  • LGE Tongsun on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:21 pm

Geely = Rubbish Toyota = Excellent !

• My first impression of the Rush is this car looks a bit weird in terms of outlook , design , interior, engine transmission.. in the past we know the Rush is a 1.5 SUV 5 seater , fully imported from Indonesia , selling quite high price that’s why it failed . Now this new generation of Rush is a 7 seater mpv or SUV I don’t know how to say it the classification. Selling estimated price 93k n 98k is a overpricing although we have to take into account it is cbu. But when u see the car , the design , materials, dashboard, size , it is no class not a high end product . I could say it’s a hybrid of Innova n Avanza . Especially it comes with 1.5 liter engine 4 speed old type transmission . 7 seater ? Under power ? U guess ….
    Now here we go another p2 SUV launch Aruz the name , same engine same chassis 90% same like a twins . The price is 20k lesser than Rush . Why p2 can sell cheaper , local assembled. 70++ is it ok for u ? Sounds like a better deal right . Here comes a question why Toyota n Perodua want to launch this model almost same time with different pricing ? I’m sure customer who books the Rush would hold back their money n do some study first . Why the parent company umw n the subsidiary p2 make this chaos ? No communication between them ? No strategic alliance? We don’t know what’s the decision making ppl doing , thinking but for me this is just stupid .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
    • ÃÃÃII on Jan 05, 2019 at 10:42 am

No actually your fact is wrong bro. The price of Toyota Rush starts from RM93k to RM98k which Toyota Rush is assembled in Malaysia known as CKD. Whereas The price of Perodua Aruz starts from RM72k to RM 76k which is also assemble in Malaysia.

So even though Perodua Aruz is cheaper than Toyota Rush but Toyota Rush is more worth, more safer to buy than Perodua Aruz. Why? The reason is because Toyota Rush have advanced safety features such as Rear Cross Traffic Alert, Blind Spot Monitor, Panaromic View Monitor, Digital Video Recorder, HSC, VSC, 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, Emergency Stop Signal, Pre Collison System and ISOFIX. Whereas Perodua Aruz have some safety features like HSC, VSC, 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, Pre-Collison System, ISOFIX and Emergency Stop Signal. However, Perodua Aruz doesn’t even have Rear Cross Traffic Alert, Blind Spot Monitor, Panaromic View Monitor and Digital Video Recorder. But only Perodua Aruz AV will have Digital Video Recorder and Panaromic View Monitor.

Now you know, why majority people will not go for Perodua Aruz and why some first hundreds people will cancelled booking for Perodua Aruz after just launching few days ago because Perodua Aruz is actually lacking some of the safety features and Perodua Aruz is not even good buy and majority people will also know that Perodua Aruz is actually from Toyota Rush design as compare to Toyota Rush. Despite Toyota Rush that cost from RM93k to RM98k, majority people will still prefer to buy Toyota Rush because Toyota Rush is more worth, there are advanced safety features like Proton X70 which is more safer to drive than Perodua Aruz.

• Jacktheking on Jan 05, 2019 at 2:43 am

Malaysia Boleh!

• Binx8 on Jan 05, 2019 at 6:10 am

The X70 really is a game changer to all Malaysians as being the first “local’ SUV car ever manufactured and made available to us. People are fixiated by the modern features offered, but at a choking price. Knowing how Malaysians are, most would forego the perks and settle for a cheaper option.

Contesting in a different car segment, Perodua has a lot to prove to the consumers. Looking at the price point alone, Perodua might win (as usual) this round. We’ll see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • phatcat on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:34 am

I just surfed Toyota Rush Indonesia website. Guess what, their version don’t have Eco Idle function. Which is fantastic. If Perodua only able to do rebadge it is still fine to me but why you must add the abomination that is the Eco Idle here. Who ask for this much hated function? If you can’t improve at least please don’t make it worse.

• eddie on Jan 06, 2019 at 5:03 pm

isn’t the eco idle suppose to save petrol? anyway if it’s already included , you can turn this function off isn’t it? not a big issue

• Kengkang on Jan 05, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Japan technology is better than China in terms of engine efficiency, fuel saving, better interior looking and better safety rating

• Abgcivic1.5tcp on Jan 06, 2019 at 7:34 am

Perodua jenama paling sampah. Tgk myvi boleh tau kualiti dia macam mana. Bila dah dekat 80-140 k km, bumpers dpn belakang dah nk tercabut. Nama, advertising je lbih. Kereta mcm taik. Sorry to say la kpd perodua fans, baik u all amik honda. Toyota pun plastik je lebih. Boleh tgk review di youtube Civic vs madza 3 vs Camry .

Kalau nk berbanding antara kedua kereta malaysia ni, antara Proton dan Perodua. Korang boleh fikir sendiri. Proton mahal, kualiti terbaik beb. Perodua claim they’re the best, kualiti mcm taik. Boleh tgk contoh kereta wira tahun 1994- 2000. Sampai sekarang kualiti still terbaik. Ada bumper tercabut? Hahaha.

• Persona on Jan 07, 2019 at 4:42 am

Proton persona saya,mass saya beli baru 2 bulan
      Lower arm patah sebelah passenger depan patah dan bush longgar
      Sampai saya tahan malu kna hon2 driver lain sbab kereta tak bergerakk
      Alasan dorang saya guna lasak sangat, padahal guna bandar jerr .
      Kualiti dgn lasak jauh beza bro.
      Hmmm speechless

• RAJA KAMARUL on Jan 07, 2019 at 8:30 pm

From strength to strength.

Geely Auto Group (Geely Auto) has reported annual sales of 1,500,838 units in 2018, an increase of 20.3% from the previous year. This year marks the first time that Geely Auto has breached sales of 1.5 million units, maintaining its position as the best-selling Chinese auto brand for passenger cars.

SUV SEDAN BALANCE

In 2018, Geely sold over 857,922 SUVs accounting for 57% of Geely’s total sales showcasing the success of Geely Auto’s entry into the SUV segment and subsequently becoming a leader in the segment. Geely’s best-selling ‘connected and intelligent’ SUV, the Bo Yue reached sales of 255,695 units in 2018 with average monthly sales of over 20,000 units. The popular model has sold over 650,000 units since its launch in March 2016. The Emgrand GS, the first Chinese crossover model reached sales of 157,638 units in 2018, whilst the value focused Vision SUV and Vision X3 SUV reached sales of 113,309 and 116,944 units respectively over the course of 2018. Geely’s first crossover on the all new BMA architecture, the Bin Yue, was launched in October 2018 and sold a combined 23,361 units in its short time on the market.

• Toyota 30-years on on Jan 10, 2019 at 11:57 am

For first timers wanting a good reliable and comfy family car better choose perodua Aruz, over Rush or X70. X70 is quite expensive with simple new technology that will soon be outdated, Rush is also quite expensive and better choice would be Avanza instead if still looking for toyota. So, best economical and reliable choice would be Aruz!

• Better wait for X50.

The interiors are good, the exteriors are good . Only thing to worry is the engine and the price, and yes the performance for top speed is good either.

• Gregersenartpoint on Apr 02, 2020 at 6:24 pm

So, with three different price ranges, what are the differences between the Perodua Aruz and Toyota Rush which are made in the same plant?

• AdvanceZha on Jul 23, 2020 at 11:43 pm

Aruz only same level as Terioz even the steel body and engine that lower level specs compare to Rush

• Cheong on Feb 22, 2022 at 1:58 pm

Please do support on Chinese car X70. Make a good comment and encourage people buy x50 and x70.

• Proton should stop support china, and copy their car to here, you never know when they going to hide tracking system like tiktok to spy our country activities. During covid this car break down and the part from China can’t ship to here lot of x70 owner suffer. You never know what happen those Communism going to do to you behind your back. Stop depend technology from china. I strongly support perodua copy / even clone Japanese car to national car cause it’s wasting time to invent our own what you so call national car, with our environment it is impossible to invent a car to beat those Japanese car, don’t even talk about tesla. Their country education are much higher than us so don’t dream, we can still learn their technology by move their technology/ design to our country for more job opportunies and also increase our technology. It’s still a learning process.