Volkswagen deals for CNY – rebates of up to RM20k, tyres from RM184, batteries from RM365

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) is kicking off the Chinese New Year celebrations – its ongoing promotion offers rebates on selected models, as well as deals on certain consumables.

For the Passat, that means rebates of up to RM20,000 for the Comfortline, translating to a monthly instalment of RM1,635 for the D-segment sedan. The Passat Highline gets a saving of RM6,000 and can be had from RM1,976 per month. The calculations for the monthly outlay is based on a nine-year loan tenure with a 10% downpayment, at an interest rate of 2.8% for models eligible for the offer here.

Also offered with a five-figure discount is the Vento Comfortline, which gets up to RM12,000 in savings and as such is available from RM760 per month. Meanwhile, the Vento Highline is available with up to RM8,000 in savings, resulting in a monthly instalment of RM870.

The Polo hatchback comes with savings of up to RM6,000 or RM720 per month. The firm’s bestselling Golf range is included in the CNY offer as well – here, the 1.4 TSI R-Line can be had with savings of up to RM4,000 or RM1,767 per month, the GTI with up to RM2,000 in savings or RM2,550 per month, and the range-topping R with up to RM2,000 in savings or RM3,155 per month.

Aftersales deals include tyres priced from RM184 per piece including installation, alignment and balancing, depending on the quantity of tyres purchased. There’s also a free battery check for all owners, and if it needs to be replaced, a 20% discount on new batteries is on offer, and prices start from RM365, depending vehicle model. The battery campaign will take place from January 15 until February 28.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Dilbert on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:08 pm

RM20,000 is about the same value lost in depreciation for continental cars. This promotion is clearly to clear 2018 stocks. Not really a good deal, since what you saved is what you would lose in RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Kereta Murah on Jan 09, 2019 at 6:48 pm

Mot to forget, batteries circa 2017 and tyres circa 2016. Kereta murah tapi spareparts mahal!

• RV murderer on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:35 pm

Better don’t buy car and take public transport if you care so much about the RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • sammy loo on Jan 11, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Buying car without considering RV is simply an act of ignorance.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Wait till their big time firesales happen. Then you will see, Tiguan prices coming even lower than the famous Proton X70

then you will ask yourself. Should I buy a China car that has been rejected by ALL First World countries and 95% of its sales are only in China

OR

Do I buy a world renowed VW Tiguan that is 100% DNA as the Porsche Macan. Even parts also SAMA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
    • vw=very worry on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Should i buy a VW then show off when waiting for tow truck that i can afford one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Why would any customers would want to buy Tiguan since you keep harping on the lousy RV and the DSG gearbox easily breakdown?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 09, 2019 at 6:56 pm

Who will buy X70? Even Forester now RM123k. Brand New Honda CRV 2.0 also now RM125k after discounts.

All near same price as our PRoton X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • Any sane-minded person will obviously go for the Tiguan.

Every Malaysian has a busuk mentality about China-made cars. The fact that it is REJECTED by 97% of the world doesn’t help to improve its image either.

I feel sorry for the poor cybertroopers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
      • I feel sorry for nobody here believing you anymore.

• I feel sorry for this poor troll basher. He cant sell his junk cars so he turn to selling bollocks and lies for his PH masters, but nobody buys his fail-ry tales. So in the end, he cant sell anything, neither cars nor bollocks. He better go find work taking care of Metrojaya toilet.

• Hike the interest n discount.. a deal.??

• sohai on Jan 09, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Batteries from RM365 onwards? No thank you, I can get 1 outside from RM200 onwards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Eternalgl0ry on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:24 pm

Lol at least their entry cars in the same segment are cheaper than potong

• sleeper on Jan 10, 2019 at 12:15 am

Asked my parents a 2016 jetta highline for uni at 100k 2 years ago because it has a high top speed for its price 220kmh. 330e 230kmh. 0 to 100 just like merc c180 gle250. Faster than bmw 118 318 316. Audi a3 1.4 a4 1.4. I even smoke a lot of 3 series c class e class even x5. They usually hog right lane because they think premium conti but chicken out at under 200. No problem highspeed long distance journey. Best car for its bucks 1.4 & cheaper economy than saga. 8 speakers leather seats push start electric seats dual zone. I think it’s faster than on paper because it’s clearly faster than civic & c200 320i is no problem even 1sec+ diff on paper. Maybe uncle drive. But if u don’t mind maintenance. Get 328i 100k la now. Gonna chip when warranty ends saw one as fast as gti mk7

• Crasher7 on Jan 10, 2019 at 12:16 am

Meanwhile, they are still selling the severely out of date Mk 5 Polo when other countries already move on to Mk 6 a year ago.

• Abang on Jan 10, 2019 at 9:47 am

This is the time i’ll change my Iriz 1.3 standard manual to Polo..

• Low Profile on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:17 pm

any idea why the picture is upside down?