Jaguar Land Rover extends production pause over Brexit, urges ruling out of no-deal outcome – report

Jaguar Land Rover has confirmed that there will be an additional week of production pause from April 8-12 at its car and engine plants in Liverpool, Birmingham and Wolverhampton, in anticipation of Brexit disruption. This is in addition to the scheduled closure from April 15-23 as part of the company’s regular programme, said the BBC.

The group of companies had announced cuts of up to 5,000 jobs last December, and according to the broadcaster has been considering the move for some time, although it was waiting for clarity of terms over Britain’s withdrawal from the European Union, due on March 29.

The 18-month cost-cutting plan was announced in October, and had already dismissed 1,000 temporary contract workers at its Solihull plant earlier in 2018. The automaker’s recovery plans include a reduction in annual investment and a reduction of completed cars in stock, while recruitment and non-essential travel has been frozen.

“We are disappointed with the vote on the Brexit deal and are considering its implications. We would now urge ruling out a no-deal immediately as the only option with majority support in parliament,” the automaker was quoted by the BBC as saying.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2019 at 1:00 pm

JLR is a clever company. They know when to stop production and they know when to lay off workers for the company’s benefit.

This British company is not stupid. Some companies lose money also yet they refuse to downsize their over bloated staff.

• Ryanair?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2019 at 6:22 pm

Jaguh kampung is always in denial. Till today think their car is at par with BMW or better than BMW. Even previous Ministers have stated jaguh kampung is BETTER and higher quality than BMW.

This is why jaguh kampung never improves

• JOACHIM on Feb 09, 2019 at 10:45 am

Don’t know which car are you referring to but john’s Ryanair example is the perfect one based on your logic. A Brit company that is losing money and embroiled in fighting their own staffs yet afraid to fire them.

• Indian owner for British car maker

We may soon get made in India land or range rover soon

• redpilled on Feb 06, 2019 at 12:24 pm

you should be calling this company an Indian company, by virtue Tata being major share holder.

but i get it, you have selective amnesia, coz you species very selective while blaming others as selective.

• SK, Lim on Feb 04, 2019 at 1:33 pm

Doesn’t matter to the 5,000 workers they’d just laid off anyways. Just a pure greedy company worrying on Brexit affecting their profit margins.

• PT Singam on Feb 05, 2019 at 12:14 pm

Kunte Kinte is wrong.Its the ultimate very business savvy leadership at TATA who call the shots at JLR.If things were solely in the hands of the British you wouldn’t be calling them clever.