Perodua Myvi – over 100,000 units of third-generation model delivered since launch; 1,560 units a week

Perodua introduced the third-generation Myvi in November 2017, and today, the company has announced that it has delivered over 100,000 units of the model. The milestone further adds to the Myvi’s total sales volume, which now stands at around the 1.1 million mark.

“We are glad to announce that since the third-generation Perodua Myvi’s launch in November 2017, we have delivered over 100,000 of them to happy customers – that’s an average of over 1,560 units a week,” said Datuk Dr Zahari Husin, managing director at Perodua Sales.

“The Perodua Myvi is by far the most successful model in our history. The original Myvi launched in 2005 into a market then dominated by sedans. By 2013 it had overtaken the Kancil’s all-time sales (708,000 units from 1994 to 2009) and to date, we have sold nearly 1.1 million Myvis altogether,” he added.

As it stands, orders for the latest Myvi have reached a cumulative 150,000, and the national carmaker promises to fulfill them promptly. “We thank all Malaysians for welcoming the Myvi into your homes with open arms – it really encourages and motivates us to keep improving so we can serve you better. At Perodua, we never forget that we are a ‘People First’ company,” said Zahari Husin.

Last year, Perodua delivered a record 227,243 cars to retain its position at the top of the local automotive sales chart for the 13th consecutive year. Since 1994, the company has sold nearly 3.5 million cars, with the Kancil being its first model. For 2019, it is targeting a slightly higher sales figure of 231,000 units.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Abdul Rahman Bin Kassim on Feb 12, 2019 at 11:46 am

When the workers of a car company work hard and produce a great vehicle, it will sell like hotcakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Fazenne on Feb 13, 2019 at 1:14 pm

I beg to differ. Its not like I love Proton so much. I’d rather have a Myvi. But it has nothing to do with the employees. Its more to the employers. If the heads of the company have good vision, understand whats needed by the low income mass, their product can sell well. But if you ignore the people and keep syok sendiri designing cars which have no identity, you will lose. Have you been to any of these automotive factories before making those accusations? Go visit them.

• DennisRazeeq on Feb 14, 2019 at 10:19 pm

The workers are dedicated people, proud perodua staff who put effort to inform management of the people needs and preferences. Management alone can’t come up with ideas, it is not a one man two man show.

• Dylan Chng on Feb 12, 2019 at 12:38 pm

This is crazy. This is outrageous. This is obscene.

• benzs on Feb 12, 2019 at 12:48 pm

As always, this topic will have many basher. Lets see how they comment later. Paul Tan, pls update our comment faster yeah.

• Tak payah pening, tak payah fikir. Beli aje wei

• How do they get 1560 units a week, from 100,000? Doesn’t add up

• anon2 on Feb 13, 2019 at 10:05 pm

What is so hard? 100K/1560= 64 weeks= 1 year 3 mths. The car was launched in Nov’17..you do the math..haishh

• Ben Yap on Feb 12, 2019 at 1:35 pm

try pricing the honda jazz at RM50K, then you’ll see if the myvi still sell like hot cakes. all this protection is not a fair play. to make things worst, P2 already being protected and win they sell more, they come showing off their sales. within their own capabilities, i doubt they can sell this much without the protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • newme on Feb 13, 2019 at 8:15 am

It make sense to sell more when protected. What puzzling us is sales dropping year after year despite being protected. Now even lose to unprotected brands.

• azrai on Feb 12, 2019 at 1:39 pm

Why on earth P2 keep telling their sales figure since P1 did with the X70? Hello. Just focus on your target and improve after sales service is better than this useless comparison.

• Fazenne on Feb 13, 2019 at 1:10 pm

Reaching 100k is a major milestone, if you understand anything about marketing. Got nothing to do with P1

• normal_user on Feb 12, 2019 at 2:18 pm

for upcoming facelift, I hope Perodua can address the following issues with Myvi:

1. bumpy/stiff ride- use more sophisticated absorber
    2. nvh- sound insulation from engine & road noise
    3. seat too small- lengthen the seat base
    4. aircon control button have no tactile feedback & feels cheap
    5. the start stop-system is tooo sensitive on your foot. even if u dont lift your feet off the brake pedal, engine will turn back on.

• Start stop thing on Feb 13, 2019 at 2:45 am

Engine will turn back on when aircond temperature gets too low. The compressor needs to work. Otherwise you will complaint of dying because of heat.

• Fazenne on Feb 13, 2019 at 1:17 pm

Its a cheap car. What do you expect? They have gotta cut cost here and there or else people cant afford it. Want something that doesnt feel cheap? Get a 200k above car…

• Byk Myvi masuk longkang dan bawa laju di jalan raya.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 12, 2019 at 2:48 pm

Build a car that is affordable, well specéd, reliable and economical to run. Its no surprise then when they sold well.

The 1.5AV model shows that Malaysians are willing to pay more for a car with comprehensive safety features.

yes, I am looking at you, Honda BRV.

A honda salesman once cynically commented to me what safety equipment was I expecting on a 80K car…after I commented Honda should not have skimped on only offering 2 airbags in this day and age. Well, dear honda salesman, You have your answer.

• Norlia on Feb 12, 2019 at 3:01 pm

this Vios hot hatch sell like pisang goreng panas.

• panjang on Feb 12, 2019 at 4:19 pm

This latest generation seems to be owned by civilised people. Majority i saw on the road are not driven like a typical previous gen Myvi driver.

• Nhoj. on Feb 12, 2019 at 7:46 pm

Alo.. Cuz the old 1st gen myvi has more torque, so stok if the overdrive button still working

• Ketam batu on Feb 12, 2019 at 6:22 pm

Over priced car

• really delivered 100k?
    still dont feel like alot on the road…yet

• I hv get my latest myvi on Sept 18. After more than half year i drive the car, everything is ok. But last few days, my car suddenly unable to start after stop from long driving. Send back to P2 workshop for inspection. After the technician reset the ECU, the car can start again. When i drive the car back to home, same problem recurring. Send back to P2, they suspect is fuel pump faulty and claim for warranty. Totally dono how to say, a new car with less than one year, already masuk kilang 2 times….speechless..