A90 Toyota GR Supra to be launched in M’sia this year

Good news! UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has officially revealed that the new A90 Toyota GR Supra will be making its way to Malaysia this year, so for those who have been waiting for the reborn sports car, get those cheque books ready.

For now, there’s no word on official pricing or the variants that we will be getting here. Two engine choices are available for the Supra, starting with a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder that makes 197 PS from 4,500 to 6,000 rpm and 320 Nm of torque from 1,450 to 4,200 rpm.

The same engine is also available in a higher state of tune, producing 258 PS from 5,000 to 6,000 rpm and 400 Nm from 1,550 to 4,400 rpm. No surprise that the more powerful four-pot completes the zero to 100 km/h sprint quicker at 5.2 seconds compared to the less powerful unit’s 6.5 seconds.

The second engine option is a 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six that offers 340 PS from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 500 Nm from 1,600 to 4,500 rpm. It is the quickest of the lot, taking just 4.3 seconds to complete the century sprint. All engines are mated to a standard eight-speed ZF automatic transmission, with drive going to the rear wheels as it should.

As mentioned earlier, UMWT has yet to tell us what variants will be destined for our shores, or how much they might cost. Nonetheless, it’s an exciting time for fans of the JDM legend. Three words: Supra is back!

GALLERY: A90 Toyota GR Supra

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• John New Edition on Feb 19, 2019 at 7:44 pm

Wow nice…hopefully UMW don’t screw us with higher prices…i expect it to be at least 350k

• Buyers are spoilt for choice. You want coupe, go for the Supra. Want a roadster, go for the Z4. But the coupe will be much more expensive than the roadster, though…

• Yabislarr on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:01 pm

2jz legend will roar again!!

• Loppy on Feb 20, 2019 at 12:20 pm

Not even 2jz-gte engine in thr anymore bro. Its bmw powered supra now.

• Digidigi on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:07 pm

same face , one drive supra, one drive z4, girl which u choose?

• Cooldown on Feb 19, 2019 at 8:49 pm

I dont know why…but this new supra is super ugly.

• Fanboy on Feb 19, 2019 at 9:03 pm

Be prepared for an exorbitant price…Exibit A : toyota 86

• Dexter on Feb 19, 2019 at 9:04 pm

Bmw z4 is back!

• Abg gagah on Feb 19, 2019 at 9:31 pm

Price agak agak how much ya

• Shame lo on Feb 19, 2019 at 10:27 pm

The aircon panel, the gear knob, the iDrive looks like copy direct from BMW too. Interior design of this car is very disappointing.

• Yawnfest. Will it come with both GR & TRD stickers in one?

• Sammy Loo on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:13 pm

High performance sports car with good RV!

• JOACHIM on Feb 20, 2019 at 12:32 pm

So are you saying BMWs have good RV? Quite a big contradiction to your statements in the past.

• Sammy Loo on Feb 20, 2019 at 11:42 pm

No, the BMWs are not having good RV. We will see more and more Z4 owners converting their cars to Supra. Just like those BRZ converting to 86.

• “It will be frigging expensive”
    – umw toyota –

since its already using BMW components….cant they just CKD the supra here…

• Any Manual gearbox option available for UMWT Supra in Malaysia this time?

• Michael S. on Feb 20, 2019 at 10:20 am

Sell for more than 500k no one will buy

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 20, 2019 at 10:56 am

It’s going to be £££ alrite so much so I think one might just top up to get the Z4 instead.

• syer1n on Feb 20, 2019 at 11:10 am

i don’t have money but i’m hyped.

• gonggok on Feb 20, 2019 at 1:16 pm

Its a BMW. BMW engine and its made is Austria. So don’t expect Toyota reliability and Toyota parts price. How is bmw reliability and price of spare parts?

• Chong on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:04 pm

I don’t have enough money for it. Guess i’ll just wait for 2nd hand after 7-8 years.

• Reacon GT-R already RM600k. For sure this Supra above RM500k because of weak RM, import tax, higher excise duty because large 3000cc engine.

• If I get this in Malaysia, can I service in Auto Bavaria?

• Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:03 pm

Some has said about Toyota tumpang glamour BMW. I agree.

• levin on Feb 20, 2019 at 5:56 pm

I bet the top spec straight 6 will go for close to RM500k which is similar to Mustang GT V8 pricing. 2.0L will be around RM3xxk.

God bless UMW…

• U mean bmw?

• choha on Feb 20, 2019 at 11:12 pm

fake BM….no way

• Haidi on Feb 27, 2019 at 9:44 am

Gerard Lye, any news or any idea about the source of the in-line 4 turbocharged engine? BMW? Subaru?