FK8 Honda Civic Type R being evaluated for Malaysian police use – the new ‘Helang Lebuhraya PDRM’?

Photos circulating on social media have revealed that the Royal Malaysian police (PDRM) is set to trial an FK8 Honda Civic Type R, deploying it as a high-speed pursuit vehicle. We’ve learnt from sources that the car, decked out in police livery, has not been purchased by PDRM but is a trial unit being loaned out by Honda Malaysia for the purpose of field tests.

This has since been confirmed by a news report. According to Bukit Aman strategic and technology department (StaRT) director Datuk Seri Tajudin Md Isa, the vehicle has been provided by Honda Malaysia for testing purposes, as Harian Metro reports.

“It is a proposal from the company to PDRM to test the vehicle. The vehicle was provided for technical assessment purposes to see its suitability,” he told the publication, adding that the car will be loaned to the police for a three to six month period. “After that, the vehicle will be returned to the company without any cost,” he said.

If it aces the running trials, there is the possibility that the Type R will become the weapon of choice for the PDRM as the new Helang Lebuhraya Polis. With 310 PS at 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm of torque being offered from its 2.0 litre turbocharged VTEC mill, the car won’t be short on ability to chase baddies down.

It’s not the first time a barnstormer has been assigned pursuit duty. A decade ago, the police commissioned 25 units of the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X for high-speed pursuit duty, particularly in cases of carjacking, kidnapping and hijacking. Back then, police personnel assigned to the vehicles underwent intensive driving classes to ensure they were able to drive the Lancers effectively.

The police has been upgrading its mobile patrol vehicle fleet in recent times. Last year, the PDRM highway patrol gained a fleet of 15 Mitsubishi Outlander 2.4 SUVs, contributed by highway concessionaire PLUS for use as Expressway Mobile Patrol Vehicles (EMPVs).

It also increased its motorcycle patrol unit (URB) capability last year with the acquisition of 871 Kawasaki motorcycles. of which 200 units are Kawasaki KLX250 off-road bikes to be used by police in states sharing a border with Thailand.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gti owner on Feb 20, 2019 at 1:06 pm

I am awaiting the ‘jatuh longkang’ photo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 32
    • KongBoyong on Feb 20, 2019 at 1:31 pm

U mean like x70? Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • taboogen on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:43 pm

Myvi wud highbeam this Helang from behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
        • Syok Laaa on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:33 pm

Is cheap la when PDRM buy without duty & tax

• Carlzen on Feb 20, 2019 at 8:17 pm

CTR price Rm114k tax free. Summore PDRM trade in their Evo X, so cheaper

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:19 pm

Even PDRM now got no confidence in Proton cars and Geely cars.

I see a lot of PDRM going for Mitsubishi Outback now. They know Japanese quality is good for chasing bad guys.

• Shazwan on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:33 pm

Honda is not like Proton, always oil leak and power window problem.

Nak kejar musuh dan tembak, bukak power window pun susah

I think PDRM has lost so many criminals because power window jam while kejar criminals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:56 pm

X70 cannot be used. Cause when chasing bad guys, the car will masuk parit.

Polis office say, “Proton kejar orang jahat”, PRoton will masuk parit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
      • Jasad bin Arwah on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:21 pm

Jangan ketawakan pada orang yang di timpa musibah atau kejatuhan seseorang itu. Hidup ini ibarat putaran roda… siapa tahu esok lusa kita pula di timpa musibah… like X70 case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:20 pm

Everybody also takut see the big rock fall on the Geely Boyue!

• Along on Feb 20, 2019 at 1:33 pm

While chasing the suprima , kui3

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:57 pm

Pity PDRM cannot ask Proton for a supercar. Must ask Jepunis overlords. I wonder why our local car company, after we supported it for 30 years with so much of bailouts, still cannot come out with a high powered car for our PDRM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
        • Veyron Owner on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:56 pm

FK8R is supercar level to you? HAHAHAHA! Peasants like you can only dream of their Ahbeng ricer keeping up with my Veyron. Low income mentality really does show.

Go back and play with the rest of your Ahbeng ricers, us supercar owners aren’t interested in your dangerous and reckless ricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 70
          • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:23 pm

poor veyron owner, still syiok with your name. It is just that. A name.

Do you even own a Veyron? or even a car?

• Oh Wai Oh Wai Oh Wai on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:48 pm

spell racing also don’t know but want to own continental supercar

• Divo Owner on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:51 pm

Veyron? Hahahaha that ancient ugly crap should sit in a museum.

• Zarkiss on Feb 20, 2019 at 8:35 pm

Racer not Ricer. Racing not Ricing. Eating rice a lot?

• ORIGIN8 on Feb 21, 2019 at 12:02 am

wow so many dislikes. the moral is don’y show-off, you prick.

• Even Veyrons cannot go past hogging lorries using ALL lanes on the highway, thanks to idiotic lorry drivers.

• Civic type R fan on Jun 18, 2023 at 12:57 pm

F**k
            you show off!! Veyron owner!!

• benzs on Feb 20, 2019 at 1:16 pm

Damn! That’s lit. Previously Evo 10. Now type R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Syok Laaa on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:35 pm

Police kena tau pakai MANUAL la

• benzs on Feb 20, 2019 at 5:03 pm

Kalau tak tau, belajar lesen lagi. Confom Polis akan cuba pandu laju dengan Type R ni. Sure best.

• Shazwan on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:35 pm

PDRM nak tukar sekarang sebab power window Proton selalu jam.

• Hafiz Hisham on Feb 21, 2019 at 5:13 pm

Evo X pun ada power window problem kah? Ini bashing sesat kes lagi. haiz

• So many R35 GT-Rs on Mudah, hope PDRM buys some of those instead.

• Footie on Feb 20, 2019 at 2:16 pm

Honda Malaysia mz be smiling wide..

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:59 pm

This shows Government and PDRM got faith is Jepunis overlords cars. Where is the guy here who always condemns Japanese cars???

All I can say is Oh Wai!

• panjang on Feb 20, 2019 at 2:22 pm

IMHO the gomen should used those worthy vehicle which they confiscate and deploy them as pursuit vehicle. Almost zero cost of acquisition. Why need to spend?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Susukotak on Feb 20, 2019 at 2:41 pm

like custom. using oddysey or estima as their enforcement vehicle

• suomynona on Feb 20, 2019 at 2:44 pm

Funny lah you

• Lolwhut? on Feb 20, 2019 at 2:48 pm

Well they can seize the vehicles but they still belong to the owners, this is not like Fast & Furious where the US authorities have laws to empower them to keep and use the cars.

But WTF?! Of all high powered cars, why Type R?!

• Ariana John Grande on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:11 pm

Unfortunately ever since Mitsubishi pulled out the Evo from the market, there’s not many high performance sedans/hatchbacks of its class left.

The closest thing to the Evo would obviously be its arch nemesis, the Subaru STi. But I’m not sure if MotorImage Malaysia still offers the STi after the car was given a facelift in 2018. There’s also the Ford Focus RS which I don’t think will ever come to Malaysia at all.

We do get the VW Golf R and Merc A45 AMG. But they’re most probably not gonna be as reliable or cost effective to maintain in the long term.

The FK8R is pretty much track focused, so chasing CBkia’s on the highway shouldn’t be a problem for the car. Remember that the previous FK2 Type R did manage to beat a few higher powered RWD cars on the Nurburgring.

• JOACHIM on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:27 pm

Too track focused and the car becomes unmanageable to drive on normal roads at high speeds. The felon will be long gone by then. German branded cars are still best option for this tasks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • The old FD2R was like rock hard suspension as if it has no shock absorbers. FK8 has electronic adjustable dampers. There are few modes to set so that is not 100% track mode all the time. Its not unusable in the streets anymore. I still think this is not a good high speed pursuit car because no matter how much power it has , this is still a front wheel drive car. Once it rains, the car loses traction and not effective. Subaru WRX is absolutely a better choice. To be fair existing EvoX fleet is a decade old. It is time to replace them since maintenance cost is going to worth more than the car itself.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:03 pm

Why Prootn never use Petronas engines made for PRoton? Cost billions but masuk longkang. What a waste of money.

Everybodys hard work masuk longkang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 20, 2019 at 2:36 pm

Those Evo X must be rotting somewhere by now.

• redpilled on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:14 pm

theyll auction them off before that happens to free up storage space.

• Lolwhut? on Feb 20, 2019 at 2:55 pm

Wait a minute. Aren’t we supposed to be tight on money? So why is the Gomen spending money on things like this? Is this the reason why PDRM is adamant about the reduction in summon collections? We seemed to have money, plenty of money, despite what the Gomen say but it isn’t used in the right way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
    • pomen on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:12 pm

‘loaned out by Honda’…dont you read the statement??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Pyraxle on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:13 pm

Have you read the article until finish bro? “We’ve learnt from sources that the car, decked out in police livery, has not been purchased by PDRM but is a trial unit being loaned out by Honda Malaysia for the purpose of field tests.” – Paultan.org

Or you didn’t understand English?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • Lolwhut? on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:59 pm

Loaned out for trial. What then after trial? If PDRM decided to induct the Type Rs into their fleet as highway patrol, who will foot the car purchase? Or are you telling me Honda Malaysia will be generous enough to sponsor a fleet of Type Rs for PDRM use? Enough nonsense!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • 4G63T DSM on Feb 20, 2019 at 8:42 pm

You do realise cars are cheap without tax right?

But that’s beside the point. One FK8R costs much more than Motorola’s…doubt the FK8R can outrun them.

But then again, going top speed in one of these things isn’t the most confident inspiring given the short wheelbase and tight suspension. For that, the larger Germans still do better.

• Relax la bro, y u jumping? Getting all riled up. Hahahahah.

• If previous government bring this, rakyat will blame the govermant and most funny is Najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Daddykasi on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Habislah Preve Turbo!

• the driver on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:45 pm

But, but, they’re manual cars. How are M’sian police going to drive when they are juggling their donuts and handphones calling their girl friends/wives?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • if they decided to buy it, what for??

it’s not like they’re gonna chase those driving fast2 on the road esp. on the highway..100% of the time, i only saw they tahan commercial vehicles ONLY

syiok sendiri maybe? those cost could go to employ more officer to do enforcement job on the road..buy more camera sudah laa..

• The more things change, the more they stay the same or became worse.

• FudgeMeSideways on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:20 pm

Do u all know how many Evo 10s are totalled in the span of the 10 yrs of service? if not mistaken, its 12.

• koochai on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:57 pm

time to stage 3 my old trusted wira

• Ollie on Feb 20, 2019 at 5:38 pm

Police KPIs are to buy more and more performance cars and issue thousands of summons each CNY and Raya. Leading to zero impact, higher crime rate, and more and more crazy murderers on motorcycles. Bodoh benar

• Joe88 on Feb 20, 2019 at 6:02 pm

Better use awd car like audi, vw, subaru, gtr…

• paparadzi on Feb 20, 2019 at 6:26 pm

What happened to those Mitsu Evos? Are they still in use?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:24 pm

Government paid so much for it. And maintenance bill also gila. I heard each Evo got maintenance bill of RM100k per year.

You know and I know lah where the money went

• What a waste?

• If Ford could bring in their police interceptor series into Malaysia, that would be awesome!

• Apekjelous on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:26 pm

Haiyaa in macam manyak syok. Study sampai sijil spm bole jadi polis ..kereta type R tak payah beli government kasi

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:27 pm

Those cars are for official duty, ok. Cannot drive around to pasar malam.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:36 pm

IMHO, the Honda Civic Type R is NOT suitable for PDRM’s Helang division. Why ?

1. It’s a manual. Officers are already burdened with a million problems. The last thing they want to worry about is shifting gears. Don’t get me wrong, I support manuals 101 percent. I drive a manual myself. But manuals are not for everyone.

2. It’s British built. Unlike the regular FC Civic which is locally assembled, the FC Type R is a CBU import from the United Kingdom. If something breaks, then the car will be out of commission for weeks, maybe months until parts arrive.

3. There are better cars for less. The Kia Stinger 2.0 and Subaru WRX 2.0 both cost around RM270k and have comparable performance. Both are also auto. The WRX has AWD.

• alot of unsold type r stocks ^^

• Free publicity for Honda….it worked

• john doe on Feb 20, 2019 at 10:49 pm

you think they wont buy after loan? be real people..the spending never change…

• This Helang is powerfull, most Mesidis
    & BMW in Malaysia cant compete, myself drive a mesidis kasi jalan sama ini type R lor…

• What to.chase down in Msia? More for official work needs or toys? Spend wisely pls

• Aniki Tan on Feb 21, 2019 at 9:46 am

I don’t why nowadays still need car to chase thieves or criminals… why not just use helicopter or satellite to see where they are heading and stop and inform the nearby police to standby and block them?

• i think subaru forester 2.0xt turbo and WRX would be the ideal choice….

similar powertrain, fast , practical with all wheel drive….

of coz honda has bigger presence in malaysia with (presumably) better after sales network and service

• Ben Yap on Feb 21, 2019 at 9:59 am

the honda civic is so good that even the police wants to use it for hot pursuit. the power of the honda civic is amazing. you don’t see any elantra turbo or even mazda 3 being use as police car as it cannot rival honda civic’s mighty turbo engine. i’m a proud owner of honda civic 1.5T and i’m ready to drag with any myvis 1.5 that think they are fast enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • benzs on Feb 21, 2019 at 11:14 am

Grown up and move on. All your comment i’ve seen is about your Honda Civic. There is no such thing as proud of owning a car, its about your capability of owning. Some people own economy car, some own middle range price car and some goes for high end car. That’s our choice based on capability of earning. Don’t look down for those who drive Myvi, some Millionaire which we don’t know he/she is rich also drive Myvi to stay humble. You own a Civic, yeah its a good looking car and Turbo engine which mean power delivery is good. R u going to stick with your civic and past down your current car for another few generations? Im here to comment you because I’ve bored with your comment everywhere and always mention your civic. >>>No hard feeling towards Civic owner, only this particular guy here<<<

• Sparcov on Feb 21, 2019 at 10:57 am

When it involve in the chasing, sometimes you can’t think too much of the car and have to ram it.

It seems like Type R is the cheapest you can buy with that kind of performance. Japanese is using GTR for their highway patrol and Australian using Holden.

Previously we using Satria GTI.

• johnnas on Feb 21, 2019 at 11:12 am

Ah….Ben Yap… I was wondering if I will ever see ur name pop up again. I would like to race my FD2R with ur almighty Civic Turbo. Its pretty bone stock with EBC pads, Michelin PS4 and a catback Fuji RM01 exhaust system replacement done. Hardly considered as mod, so..come…
    Or u wanna race with ur Cervelo road bike (is it)? Come come…let’s ride. Would like to see how it par with my Specialized.

• benzs on Feb 21, 2019 at 4:20 pm

That’s good! Race with him. Ben Yap, let us know your plate number. Don’t worry, we only want to race. I drive Civic EF B16 engine, stock. Come come.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Feb 21, 2019 at 2:36 pm

Maybe the Govt can get the Type Rs for a bargain price, since Honda’s Swindon plant in the UK is going to close soon. Stock clearance.

• vVivi Zurianti on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:09 pm

After using Type R, PDRM will kena ricer syndrome…..

• kancil660 on Feb 23, 2019 at 4:44 am

all in all, lets just hope they put this fk8 to good use & not just use it to escort spoilt vip’s who need to go shopping asap during a saturday jam in kl

• Azizul Lau on Jul 07, 2019 at 7:56 pm

Waste of money… better spend those money for our country development.