Honda HR-V facelift – over 8.5k bookings, 3k delivered

Honda Malaysia has announced that the refreshed HR-V has garnered over 8,500 bookings to date. First previewed in July 2018, the HR-V facelift was launched in January and that month alone saw close to 4,000 bookings stream in. Since launch, Honda has delivered over 3,000 units and the company claims compact SUV segment leadership with an 87% share (as of January 2019).

Unsurprisingly, Klang Valley contributed the lion’s share of sales with 47%, followed by southern and northern regions with 18% each. The B-segment SUV’s new Passion Red Pearl colour (also new to Honda Malaysia as a whole, more vibrant than the old Dark Ruby Red Pearl) proved to be popular with the early birds, with 28% of buyers opting for it.

The HR-V facelift introduces two new variants – the RS and the Hybrid. Malaysia is the only market outside of Japan to officially introduce the HR-V Hybrid, which comes with Honda’s Sport Hybrid i-DCD (intelligent dual-clutch drive) powertrain as seen on the Jazz Hybrid.

It combines an Atkinson-cycle 1.5 litre DOHC i-VTEC engine (132 PS/156 Nm) and a 30 PS/160 Nm electric motor, with drive going to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission. Total system output is 152 PS and 190 Nm. A lithium-ion traction battery supplies juice to the e-motor. The Hybrid’s boot is slightly smaller, at 404 litres versus 437.

The E, V and RS grades come with an unchanged 1.8 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine with 142 PS and 172 Nm, paired to a CVT automatic. The only mechanical addition of note is a new Variable Gear Ratio (VGR) steering system, which is specific to the RS variant.

Speaking of the sporty-looking RS, it adds on darkened contrast elements such as dark chrome door handles, black chrome license garnish and gloss black side sills and black fog lamp garnish. It’s also a wee bit longer and wider than the standard variants and rides on 18-inch two-tone five-spoke wheels with 225/50 tyres (the E, V and Hybrid ride on 215/55 R17 rubber).

As standard, all variants come equipped with smart entry/push button ignition, automatic air-conditioning, auto headlights, daytime running lights, cruise control, paddle shifters, steering wheel audio controls and four speakers for the audio system, among others goodies.

The E and Hybrid feature halogen headlights and bulbed front fog lamps; inside, you’ll find a part-leather three-spoke steering wheel and black half-leather upholstery, along with a 6.8-inch centre screen.

The V and RS adds on LED headlights, LED front fog lamps and rear LED bar signatures. They also get a full leather steering wheel and full leather upholstery, finished in black in the the V and ivory in the RS. The sportiest car also has dark grey contrast trim. Both come with a 7.0-inch screen and an eight-way power adjustable driver’s seat.

As for safety, the HR-V now comes standard with six airbags, something that was previously only available on the top V spec. Emergency stop signal (ESS), vehicle stability assist (VSA), hill start assist (HSA) and a multi-angle reverse camera are also standard across the board. The V and RS get the passenger side Honda LaneWatch blind spot camera.

The Honda HR-V facelift range starts from RM108,800 for the E and RM118,800 for the V. The Hybrid is yours for RM120,800, while the range topping RS goes for RM124,800. All prices are on-the-road without insurance. As before, there’s an eight-year unlimited mileage warranty for the hybrid battery, on top of the standard five-year unlimited mileage warranty for the car.

For full specs and to compare the latest HR-V with its rivals, check out CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Honda HR-V 1.8L RS

GALLERY: Honda HR-V 1.5L Hybrid

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BringItOn on Mar 01, 2019 at 3:05 pm

Habis la x70!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
    • Sense on Mar 01, 2019 at 5:17 pm

For now X70 habis until they can solve the kencing minyak issue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • Bossku John on Mar 01, 2019 at 6:07 pm

I guess Jepunis overlords cars are more laku than China made cars!!!!

• Petoron Sagu on Mar 01, 2019 at 6:24 pm

My esteemed prediction, HRV will give all new Proton X50 1.5T a run for its money ,

• Aziz Mahmood on Mar 01, 2019 at 6:28 pm

See, this is why people buy Japanese cars. China car all not reliable, now all the owners crying because need to keluar duit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • ZnlAbdn on Mar 02, 2019 at 10:09 am

Locals here bought too many HRV. Malaysians must adopt Koreans plain old patriotism, they only drive Korean cars. Last year, 85% of all cars purchased were domestic. Koreans have a preference to buy their own brands. It would be very hard to change that kind of preference.

When Koreans change cars, they won’t even glance at an import. If drive a foreign car, family and friends would look at them like crazy. They’d think extravagant and living way beyond means. Unlike here when balik kampung, locals proudly in foreign branded cars and ultimately led to many sambung bayar cases.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
          • I would buy local brand if only they hv top quality n value money. Like Korean they hv no prob choosing bcoz theirs r world class. Put tht into consideration bfore u talk about ur rubbish patriotism.

• Right bruh, Local brand hv lack in top quality n value money. Local brand must get world class the likes of Peter Schreyer and Luc Donckerwolke… Doubt Local brand Drb listened consumer

• Mario and Bros on Mar 02, 2019 at 11:01 am

Well as I can see, YB Kunta Kinte always use his over 50 dupes every time in every articles

• Yes he does. Which is many regular commenters ignores him and his bollocks.

• Nadzim on Mar 02, 2019 at 12:20 pm

Honda HRV is a great car. I tested both HRV and X70. I have to admit, X70 feels better but I tak sanggup beli kereta Buatan China la.

This is RM120k you are talking about!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • X70 Buyer on Mar 02, 2019 at 4:34 pm

Thank you! Thank you very much! There is less one person in front of me waiting! Insignificant as it may since I’m only scheduled to get my X70 in Sept, at least there’s one less person I have to wait my turn. So thank you very much for not being in line!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Mar 01, 2019 at 7:10 pm

The real game changer returned with new face, habisla X70!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • Nutty Car on Mar 02, 2019 at 11:06 am

LoL…. Buying a Honda “SMALL size” car for Rm120k ? PLUS ….. Looks like it will “Crash” into bits if in accident. So small and light.

• Honda HRV when compared to X70, both hv pro n con but I guess x70 does hv solid n better body materials… N inside both r toys.. Too many unnecessary buttons. When to use???? Price wise – u hv to spend basically more thn x70 to get top spec….if u r looking for classier drive according to ur dictionary.

• Haha, self comment and self reply. The HRV selling good but you still so desperate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Mar 02, 2019 at 12:42 am

HRV is now the best seller all over the world. Even in USA and Australia, HRV is so highly acclaimed.

But China X70 got no awards. Only can sell in China mainly and it has been officially rejected by all first world countries.

China and Malaysia only can sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
        • Harun on Mar 02, 2019 at 5:26 pm

At least Honda got their own car HRV to be proud of? What do we have? Proton X70 is a China made car. 100% invented by China.

What do we have to be proud of?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 01, 2019 at 5:44 pm

In 2 months got 8500 bookings. This proves one thing, everybody trust Japanese quality.

I heard so many people cancelled their X70 bookings to get this car. Yes, it is a smaller SUV but people still rela sacrifice space just for status and quality.

And don’t forget, buy this car RM100k, 3 years sell also can get RM80k. Buy X70 today at RM123k, next year sell, get RM60k also lucky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Din Din on Mar 01, 2019 at 9:24 pm

How can they target to take on CRV, but can’t even do jack against HRV? This has always been Proton’s problem, reaching beyond capabilities. “As good as BMW…”, “…ready to compete against the likes of Honda and VW…”. Dey, focus on beating home competition, Perodua. THEN talk about international.

• John Bin Palat on Mar 01, 2019 at 9:29 pm

DRB has two brands. One is making so much of money and one is losing so much of money.

No wonder, DRB got no time to improve the brand that is losing money cause they are compensated by Honda which mints money

• I’m guessing Red is getting more popular as a vehicle colour choice as the number of teksi keeps dropping (which is a good thing).

But Honda Malaysia’s car quality and reliability sucks and I will not be buying their cars in future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • John Bin Palat on Mar 01, 2019 at 9:31 pm

DRB got Proton and Honda. Honda makes loads of money. Proton does not make money.

Why?

One is Japanese hardworking company. The other company just goyang kaki.

• Happy X70 Owner on Mar 01, 2019 at 3:18 pm

foolish to pay RM123k for this inferior ride

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 01, 2019 at 5:47 pm

I really don’t know how true is Proton X70 bookings. Proton say 15,000 but only delivered 2700. But according to Reuters and Bloomberg, in China got tens of thousands of Boyue rotting in the stock yard and cannot sell.

So, if supply is so much, how come only can deliver 2700 cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Copy Paste on Mar 02, 2019 at 1:18 am

Copy paste edited for context: “I really don’t know how true is Perodua Aruz bookings. Perodua say 8,000 but only delivered 1000. If their sales figures are true how come only can deliver 1000 cars?”

• Peta Tegap on Mar 01, 2019 at 3:32 pm

2017 HRV got super stronk RV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
  • intermilan on Mar 01, 2019 at 3:40 pm

HRV the better buy to the new XC40 and Audi Q2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • Sam Loo on Mar 01, 2019 at 3:43 pm

Habislah X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Mar 01, 2019 at 6:29 pm

Dun curi my name please.

anyway, buy my Toyota CHR better. Got higher RV and more reliable one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Mario and Bros on Mar 04, 2019 at 7:42 am

Sam Loo. YB Kunta Kinte always stealing your name including my name and other usernames too

• Abesla on Mar 01, 2019 at 3:43 pm

Abesla CHR! Abesla Toyota! HRV deliveries alone nearly wiped out the whole month of Toyota sales. Toyota can tutup kedai dan balik Jepun!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
  • Too bad it changed to the cheapo City & Jazz FL HU thats only useful as a screen for the reverse camera and nothing else. As a media player, it lacks most functions u get in a cheap China HU. Plus the screen response and sound quality is pisspoor. Its really veli cheap and it feels cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • newme on Mar 01, 2019 at 5:20 pm

The HU still better than having an e-sim on it while sending your information back to China server, your routine whereabout, your conversation in the car. There’s a reason US banned Huawei.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • No different that your cheap Vivo phone you’re using to type that BS.

• Alan Totally Salah! on Mar 02, 2019 at 6:48 pm

How you know he use Vivo? Never ASSUME

• With such lowly educated level of BS, it’s quite obvious your lowly trooper salary only affords you a lowly Vivo phone to type all that BS. And yes, we know it’s you newme or whoever you are.

• Alan Totally Salah again! on Mar 03, 2019 at 7:03 pm

Don’t assume its me. and I use iphone. Maybe you are the one using Vivo!

• Lolwhut? on Mar 04, 2019 at 9:33 am

Your iphone is also made in China. lol. Maybe you should throw it away since it can track your whereabouts, movement, and online activities.

• Aziz Mahmood on Mar 01, 2019 at 6:31 pm

More importantly, some X70 owner got leaking issue. See, this is why malaysians never buy China car.

Better just buy jepun car. At least they all reliable one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Engineer on Mar 01, 2019 at 6:32 pm

Then stop using computers and smartphones, and don’t post any comments on this site because Google can track you constantly which they are banned to do in Europe and China. I believe we will greatly appreciate your non-participation here.

• Idiot comment of the day! The reason US bans Huawei is because of the trade war. Do you think the Chinese intelligence have too much resources to spy on a normal guy like you? If really want to spy, they uses targeted intelligence gathering, like CIA. Speaking of that, Apple also gathers information on its users’ whereabouts. Oops.

• Newme on Mar 02, 2019 at 2:34 pm

Theres no great firewall and censorship in the US but China has it.

• JOACHIM on Mar 02, 2019 at 4:37 pm

They don’t need to because CIA & Homeland Security is tracking their online activities.

• habesla proton on Mar 01, 2019 at 4:46 pm

wow… baru launch already more than half of what proton sold their x70. 15k vs 8k.

• Proton oh Proton on Mar 01, 2019 at 4:57 pm

It’s wondering me… why HRV sales quantity is more than X70?

• One thing for sure is the Big Capital H logo itself bro. Anything with the H brand will outsell any automobile instantly in Malaysia.
      All kena blinded by brand and powderful advertisements on social media.

• Saladin on Mar 01, 2019 at 5:04 pm

HRV = high resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Barang Naik Kolos on Mar 01, 2019 at 7:30 pm

HRV = holland resale value

• Salahdin on Mar 01, 2019 at 7:47 pm

HRV = horible resale value

• True but built quality is rubbish. The worst of them all is the outdated engine from the old civic FB 1.8 for the RS and other petrol models.
      Only the hybrid gets the new DOHC engine. Lousy packaging but hey chossing H brand is top priority in Malaysia right?

• Saladin on Mar 01, 2019 at 5:17 pm

CRV = Champion Resale Value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • why malaysian Honda never introduce the hybrid as the full spec one ah?

• Saladin on Mar 01, 2019 at 5:23 pm

BRV = Best Resale Value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 01, 2019 at 5:30 pm

still a good car actually…no everyone needs the bigger x70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Habislah, C-HR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • CR-V sales loss to X70

• Why HR-V sales more than Aruz? Habislah Aruz

• Why HR-V sales more than Rush? Habislah Rush

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Max291 on Mar 01, 2019 at 6:29 pm

Damn. Hybrid variant is so low spec.

• CRV-cheap resale value

• Ben Yap on Mar 01, 2019 at 7:14 pm

This HRV sales will beat subaru XV, proton X70 and the Aruz! The hybrid will be selling like hot cakes with such a economical yet powerful car to run.

• A lot of people say Honda Malaysia quality sucks and not reliable but Honda still can sell more and capture higher market share in Malaysia. Is this because the people dont care the quality or just because of no choice to buy other brand. Will Honda drop sales in future or keep maintain as no 1 non national car

• Honda:The power of successful marketing and branding.
    Outdated underpowered engine found on the Civic FB placed inside the HRV RS but New DOHC engine inside the hybrid variant instead.
    Horrible built quality and design but top notch resale value in Malaysia. Sad lah.

• Faris on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:05 am

The facelifted HRV looks absolutely gorgeous! Would pick this over the X70 any day.

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:32 am

LOL on the comments above.

Salesman & fanbois so free ah?

• Honda is already an international brand n accepted all over the world for high tech n reliability. So it worth to buy Japanese car like honda because it very reliability, exceptionally good car. In the long run, it will be cheaper to own n run. So for sure HRV will sale like hotcakes. Dont need genius to analyse on sale figure.

• Buy Japanese and stay away from China cars…

• Do you know that only rich people can afford CHR? I’ve seen many elite class people driving it and not the ordinary joes. Why? Because it’s exclusive! Most will settle for HRV due to budget constraint.

• Human on Mar 07, 2019 at 11:29 pm

Nothing new here , no new technologies , but still can sell in thousands , buyers all buy seeing only brand , they dont care whats inside of it !

• Hazri on Mar 08, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Majority user don’t care about new technology (X70), they choose reliability (H-RV) for long term sustainability.

• HRV still use cheap torsion beam rear suspensions while Mitsu ASX and S70 use independent suspensions for better rides