Driven Web Series 2019: affordable seven-seaters – new Perodua Aruz vs Honda BR-V vs Toyota Sienta

The latest episode of Driven Web Series 2019 is out, powered by the all-new Petronas Primax 95 with Pro-Drive. As you would’ve known, we’ve lined up three family cars for this in-depth comparison to see if Perodua’s new seven-seat SUV, the Aruz, has what it takes on take on the big boys.

The Aruz, which is priced at RM77,900 for the top 1.5 AV, goes head to head against the Honda BR-V 1.5V and Toyota Sienta 1.5V here. All three cars are range-toppers, with the Honda priced at RM87,701 and Toyota at RM101,900. So if you’re planning to buy an affordable seven-seater car, this is the definitive review for you.

Engine-wise, the trio are all powered by a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine. The Aruz’s 2NR-VE engine is shared with the Perodua Myvi, featuring Dual VVT-i and Eco Idle function. It makes 103 hp at 6,000 rpm and 133 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, and a four-speed automatic transmission is tasked to send drive to the rear wheels.

Driven Web Series 2019: affordable seven-seaters – new Perodua Aruz vs Honda BR-V vs Toyota Sienta

Unlike the BR-V and Sienta, the Aruz is built atop a less sophisticated ladder frame platform, but the plus side is it rides taller, looks better and would perform better in off-road situations.

It’s decently equipped as well, featuring keyless entry and start, integrated SmartTAG, six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, VSC, hill start assist, hill descent control and Isofix child seat anchors on outer second-row seats. There’s also Perodua’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0 suite, which includes Pre-collision Warning, Pre-collision Braking, Front Departure Alert and Pedal Misoperation Control.

As for the BR-V, its 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine is by far the most powerful here, producing 119 hp and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm. This SOHC engine is the same unit found in the Jazz and City, and it’s mated to an Earth Dreams CVT automatic, which drives the front wheels.

Lastly, and clearly the more funky-looking one of the lot, is the Sienta. We know it looks misplaced in this comparison, but as a product itself the Sienta impresses on many levels.

To start, its engine makes 107 hp at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,200 rpm, with drive channeled to the front wheels through a CVT with seven virtual ratios. Noteworthy features include automatic sliding rear doors, low entry point (easy for children and elderly people to enter and exit), as well as bi-LED headlights, acoustic windscreen, keyless entry with push-start button and Optitron instrument cluster.

Now, how do you think the Aruz will fare in this bout? Find out in the video above. As usual, let us know your thoughts below. Happy watching, folks!

GALLERY: Perodua Aruz 1.5 AV

GALLERY: Honda BR-V 1.5 V

GALLERY: Toyota Sienta 1.5 V

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• TreeHugger on Mar 02, 2019 at 5:39 am

Those 7seaters Proton Ertiga, Nissan Livina and Perodua Alza too

• Rakesh on Mar 02, 2019 at 10:58 am

Every year since the past 20 years Proton talk big about overtaking Perodua sales.

But every year, MAA figures show Perodua has sold 4X more cars than Proton despite not getting Government orders

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 61
      • Mario and Bros on Mar 02, 2019 at 12:14 pm

No worries you won’t see Perodua Sales to be top no.1 in the future because Perodua is still using 4 speed auto for all Perodua models. Sure when consumers and their kids sat on any Perodua Models, the inside cabin will be very noisy as compare to Proton models, BMW Models, Toyota models, Mercedes Models, Mazda Models, Kimchi Cars including others.

For right now, Proton are slowly to make the way back to improve their Proton Sales as they want to return back to the top no.1 in the future to make sure Proton will having better features, having advanced safety features, better equipments, better technological equipments, powerful engines for upcoming Proton models. Just like Mazda, Mercedes, BMW, Toyota, Volvo, Kimchi Cars and including others, they also wants to make sure that Mazda, Toyota, Kimchi Cars, BMW, Mercedes, Volvo and including others to have more features, more equipment features, more safety features for the next facelift models/next gen models in order to improve their sales again.

But not for Perodua, Perodua Sales are still selling unsafe models for New Facelift Alza which launched last year September, Low and Mid Spec of Bezza, Axia and Low and Mid Spec of Myvi. But Perodua sales are still maintaining at top 1. This is impossible. Because most of the consumers are simply don’t even bother to read the brochures of what Perodua equipments and safety features have. Sure when most people buy Alza for their families to drive during the weekends / holidays, it will be riskier for their lives due to lacking HSC, VSC and no advanced safety features but having 2 airbags and ABS And EBD. In the first place, they should have bought Exora than Alza. Why? Current Exora have VSC, 4 airbags even though Current Exora doesn’t even have HSC and not having advanced safety features yet like Toyota Avanza that have 2 airbags and ABS. But sooner, they are going to launch New Facelift Toyota Avanza and Upcoming Proton Exora in the future which both of New Facelift Toyota Avanza and Upcoming Proton Exora have better safety features for the consumers and never will have their risk to the consumers in the future when driving new facelift Avanza and Upcoming Proton Exora. As well as New Facelift Avanza and Upcoming Exora will have more features and more equipments than Current Avanza and Current Exora which is currently selling in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 64
        • Fawzi on Mar 02, 2019 at 7:17 pm

4speed auto perfect for 140kmh on NSE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • Nasser on Mar 03, 2019 at 12:36 am

No 1 car maker in the world has chosen 4 speed because it has reliability. this is why they sell 9 million cars per annum

All those going from 7 speed to 10 speed always got breakdowns.

I like the Conservative Nature of Toyota and Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
          • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 03, 2019 at 8:28 am

I am all excited waiting for my new Aruz to come. I will give you guys an honest review yea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Sathia on Mar 03, 2019 at 11:32 am

P2 always wins the hearts of Malaysians. Without doubt, it is P2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • YB Albert on Mar 04, 2019 at 1:52 pm

I saw a 13 yr old accord with gear box change{normal}..but behold…a 5 yr old preve also has gear box damage.MECHANIC said,he is replacing it with another recon unit.Not only kaput,,but the electronics also kaput.
          Just go to any car website.The price of a 5 yr old preve is around 20k plus.Why?
          Reliability,..perodua has a 4 speed auto transmission made by Aisin( Toyota specialist in gearbox]..has u seen any Myvi or Alza just 5 yrs old with gearbox damage?
          Dr .Li is bringing complete range of China geely cars to compete,anyway.The current proton range will be obsolete in 2 yrs time.It is Geely Malaysia bhd with tiger logo,dude.

• Horen on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:37 pm

The Preve is already discontinued. Why compare with an old model? Now, Proton’s in house models such as the Persona and Iriz are just as good in quality in terms of performance and reliability. No bro, Proton is still Proton but coming back stronger and better with Geely. Beside

• Horen on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:42 pm

Bro, Persona and Iriz are still relevant and in good quality. Proton will always be Proton, Malaysian brand but stronger with Geely. stfu retard

• Provide proof Proton talk about overtaking Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Jason on Mar 02, 2019 at 12:40 pm

Proton Ertiga got all the best qualities of Perodua Aruz and Toyota Sienna, Honda BRV .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Mar 02, 2019 at 12:49 pm

The 3 game changers. Habisla X70, Exora and Ertiga!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 28
      • Together on Mar 02, 2019 at 1:39 pm

P2 engine is lower power and torque than Toyota, even all we’re 1.5 CC..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 03, 2019 at 8:32 am

Every yea many people will come and this and that car is under powered. You ask the E250 MErcedes owner, he will say E200 underpowered.

You ask the BMW 528i owner, he will say the 520i is underpowered.

The word underpowered has no relevance today.

In 2019, no car is underpowered la brader

Go see auto mags, got people even say V12 with 5.0 engine also under powered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
          • Aziz Mahmood on Mar 03, 2019 at 4:21 pm

Even Kancil 600cc also can go up genting, Aruz sure can one.

Can’t go wrong with japanese quality

• Optimus on Mar 04, 2019 at 9:26 am

Lel. Even bicycle can go up Genting. The point is, how long it will take and how much fuel it has to use carrying up a load of passengers. If the car is underpowered like Aruz, it will makan minyak and fast condemn.

• newme on Mar 04, 2019 at 8:18 pm

Aruz is underpoer new name

• Majesty Liza 2 on Mar 04, 2019 at 3:19 pm

LOL
          Now I know my ancient Honda C50 cub motorcycle 50cc engine is larger and more powerful than P2 Toyota 1.5cc

• Lamniy on Apr 07, 2019 at 11:04 pm

A car need a good petrol for show out the function of CC well like 95 Pro Drive can improve my car performance with more smooth and powerful. That my friend all give a good review on that plus their station pump facilities.

• Rolsan on Apr 07, 2019 at 11:07 pm

Agree with that their pump function really better and fast. I m also one of the 95 Pro user with i saw that this petrol is using the F1 car testing with result is good and i feel on the quality now.

• Raymond on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:53 pm

At least all the 3 cars here got RV. Hard choice to make.

But at least not a China car like Haval or Proton. China cars got no RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • Aziz Mahmood on Mar 03, 2019 at 6:49 pm

The jepun cars above also dont have engine fire or oil leaking issue

• Rasih on Apr 07, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Ya, really quite stable for japan cars and need using a better petrol like 95 Pro Drive that quality is improve than the previous version and clean engine function. Now pump the oil use their mesra card can earn extra point too.

• Winsom on Apr 07, 2019 at 11:18 pm

Driving car need the knowledge of take care the car engine with using those petrol that have the function like 95 Pro Drive to make sure the car engine can last longer time. New car need it as well.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 03, 2019 at 12:26 am

I just placed a booking for the new Aruz. I test drove the car…..on my! what a wonderful drive and the handling just amazes me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
      • Nasser on Mar 03, 2019 at 12:38 am

Toyota cars and Perodua cars have least problems. Outdated tech yes but they never breakdown.

I got no time to wait for tow truck every other day nor do I have the time to hang around SC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Graduan Uitm on Mar 02, 2019 at 11:59 am

Anak saya ramai. Saya suka kereta 7 seater. Senang nak bawak anak dan bayi saya yang ramai

• Makhani on Mar 02, 2019 at 5:46 pm

My frens in Putrajaya all got 5 to 7 kids. All looking for 7 seater car. They don’t even think of X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
        • Kacang Kunta Kinte Sdn Bhd on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:33 pm

Go get the Toyota Hiace or a 65 seater bus then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
        • Crony on Mar 02, 2019 at 10:02 pm

If you’re poor then don’t try to strain your finances just to get X70 yeah. Poor people should stick to buying poor cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 03, 2019 at 12:29 am

Tell that to all the abang abangs who buy Alza and Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
        • Nasser on Mar 03, 2019 at 12:40 am

I am still using my first generation Myvi. Now nearly 12 yrs old, no problems at all.

My BMW with 7 speed gearbox everytime jam and I got to call tow truck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
          • My brother’s Myvi got gearbox problem, now sell it. Less headache.

• Mario and Bros on Mar 03, 2019 at 12:00 pm

Don’t ever lie again, I know you always spreading fake news everytime. I don’t even see any problems about 8 speed auto for BMW. Even when many people driving Toyota Vios with 7 speed auto, many people also said that they don’t even see any problems about 7 speed auto for Toyota Vios. I suspect you are coming from P2 Salesman, Honda Salesman and Nissan Salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • Mustafa Kamal on Mar 02, 2019 at 9:13 pm

Perodua is good Japanese Toyota quality made for Malaysians. Thank you P2 for always giving us good cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • Darren on Mar 02, 2019 at 11:28 pm

Does it mean Perodua only tumpang glamour Toyota? MaluapaBO55kurrr….

• Nasser on Mar 03, 2019 at 12:43 am

Better to buy Aruz cause parts come from Toyota Rush. Easy to get from UMW. Better to sapot local car company and local UMW

• AirAirAir on Mar 03, 2019 at 5:52 pm

People will support UMW Toyota but not UMW Perodua. Cause many people said that Perodua still using 4 speed auto as well as Perodua still giving unsafe Perodua vehicles to the customers as what Mario and Bros had said. This means many people will go for Toyota instead of buying Perodua and the quote is known as “If u wanna buy a gud Perodua go buy a Toyota”

• Lamniy on Apr 07, 2019 at 11:01 pm

Kereta besar memang sesuai untuk keluarga tapi juga perlu jaga dengan gunakan minyak kereta yang berfungsi baik dapat meningkatkan kelancaran enjin kereta seperti 95 Pro Drive tu. Mohon kad mesra dapat mengutipkan point dengan aktiviti Mesra.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:03 am

The winner here is definitely the Aruz. For Rm72k, you get a Toyota engined 7 seater.

Perodua has made it affordable for us. You are actually buying the Toyota Rush in disguise.

So now, Malaysians can enjoy a fully Toyota car at a much much much cheaper price.

This is why also the 2018 Myvi, within 3 months have sold over 110,000 cars joining the 1.1 million Myvis already happily on the road.

Because Malaysians know, for RM55k, you are getting a Toyota engined car that is so high spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 47
    • Graduan Uitm on Mar 02, 2019 at 12:00 pm

Aruz is the coolest car here! We all know Perodua quality is TOP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Bagan Paloh on Mar 02, 2019 at 1:29 pm

last weekend me drove Citroen Berlingo together with 3 farm workers and few kilos of fertiliser up to Brinchang from Simpang Pulai. Neighbour follow behind drove Aruz with wife, 3 kids, and parents in-law.
      Neighbour friend Aruz struggling going up the mountain, his car dragged in second gear all the way up.
      By the time they reached Brinchang they complaint nausea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • Dongfeng Yueda Kia on Mar 02, 2019 at 3:00 pm

What to expect with ladder frame and 1300kg of body weight…

• Raymond on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:56 pm

Such fake news. I drove the Aruz up Cameron Highlands. No problems at all. Smooth sailing. I had 5 passengers including myself and my brother, the owner of the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 03, 2019 at 12:31 am

I tested an Aruz before booking one today, it is amazing. Feels so continental.

Well done P2! Without bailout money or bantuan also you can do so well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
        • Aziz Mahmood on Mar 03, 2019 at 10:32 am

Maybe the P1 fanboys like john maybe also rely on bantuan and tongkat

• somer on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:36 am

(Like) Perodua Aruz and Toyota Sienna
    (Dislike) Honda BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 28
    • Raymond on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:57 pm

Sales of Aruz melambung now because it caters what X70 and CRV failed to….7 seats.

I just love the quality of Aruz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Vader on Mar 02, 2019 at 11:32 pm

How does seating 7 relates to quality of a car? You are saying a bus that seats 40 person is many, many times better quality than an S Class? You are not making any sense, but what to expect from a dupe anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • Kacang Kunta Kinte Sdn Bhd on Mar 03, 2019 at 11:21 am

That is why we should start buying a 65 seater bus and fill the roads according to basher logic.

• There is a clear difference with the editing this time, I prefer it over the previous video comparison. Especially with the slower, dolly shots and transitioning between scenes. Someone has been taking notes on ‘continuity’.

• Khalid Ahmad on Mar 02, 2019 at 9:23 am

This is why Aruz is doing so well. Most of the buyers of Aruz, as well as Proton X70 are usually big families. They have minimum 6 children.

With Abah and Ibu, that becomes 8 people already. These people need a 7 seater. These are the Alza and Exora sambung bayar geng who want to upgrade to bigger car now

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Mar 02, 2019 at 2:44 pm

But sadly the X70 is only a 5 seater SUV. The X70 should complete in 7 seater SUV market which is currently dominated by Mitsubishi Outlander, Nisan X-Trail & Korean SUVs (sorry CRV & CX5, I think buying a 5 seater with that price is ridiculous). Of course, the Perodua Aruz & Honda BRV is another option even it is a segment lower, but affordable to many Malaysian families.

• Then again how many familis that can afford X70 price range got more than 3 kids?

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Mar 02, 2019 at 4:37 pm

Maybe most have only 2 kids. But the 3rd row seats are useful on some occasions when we need them. Some people still have their parents, in-laws, relatives & friends etc. whom they may need to give a lift sometimes. If old pensioners also sometimes they want to manja2 jalan2 with their small grandchildren.

If they don’t need all that at all, a sedan or a sports coupe serves the purpose for them to get from point A to point B.

• Raymond on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:59 pm

Most Asians always sayang and look after their parents. So, when I bring my kids and wife out, I like to bring my mom and dad out too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Most of these “parents, in-laws, relatives & friends” would prefer the easier entry of an MPV compared to an SUV. 7 seater SUVs doesn’t really make any sense. It’s just a “feature” to tick the boxes, but doesn’t have much practical use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • zaharah on Mar 02, 2019 at 10:09 am

Best episode yet!

• frankC on Mar 03, 2019 at 1:21 pm

especially with additional characters on 2nd and 3rd row seats.. they are mute but action says louder..ha ha
      I thought brv is a better balanced car. what is short is in the additional safety features which aruz brought along. features that only c and d segment vehicles currently have.
      thanks P2 for driving promotion of safety features in lower segments A and B
      cheers

• Except for the Sienta, all r 3rd world exclusive junk cars. But then Sienta is not even an SUV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Aruz FC very bad, those fanboi bought Aruz very poor in understanding what is torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Susukotak on Mar 02, 2019 at 10:34 am

one may say.. car for not rich driver. with bad FC and service cost can make you poor

• Dongfeng Yueda Kia on Mar 02, 2019 at 3:03 pm

How come the Aruz have title eev meh… Haha

• Plenty of cars got EEV titles. All Proton cars are EEV certified as well. EEV has no meaning anymore.

• Susukotak on Mar 03, 2019 at 12:59 pm

they claim aruz fc 15.6km/l where actual fc only 12km/l. buyer can start suing p2 for false claim of their fc. let start Aruzgate.

• tokmoh. on Mar 02, 2019 at 10:59 am

>3,500+- rpm @110kph
    >Quietest

TFW Toyota, Honda kena upcar. Got CVT, gain advantage of low cruising engine rev of a little over 2,000rpm, yet lack soundproofing until dinosaur 4AT can beat both, even when engine screaming more with higher rev.

No contest, Aruz wins. Cheapest, 2019 standard of safety kits, quietest. A little thirsty, but balanced out by its way cheaper price and other strengths.

BR-V with typical Honda upcar NVH, i quote from launch post :

“However, the Malaysian-spec BR-V differs from those sold in Indonesia, Thailand, Philipines and India, as we do get our own unique damper settings, as well as additional NVH fitments in the bulkhead, dashboard, doors, bonnet, floor, roof lining and steering for a more comfortable driving experience.”

http://paultan.org/2017/01/05/honda-br-v-1-5l-launched-in-malaysia/

Lel, they use newspaper ka for soundproofing?

Sienta with UMW mabuk ketum pricing, how many can justify paying almost rm30k premium over Aruz, price alone kills it. Even base spec X70 costs less, if you don’t desperately need 3rd row seat, X70 tapau kaw2 Sienta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Copy Paste on Mar 02, 2019 at 11:14 am

Copy paste: “Except for the Sienta, all r 3rd world exclusive junk cars. But then Sienta is not even an SUV!”

• Tun F on Mar 02, 2019 at 11:36 am

Dude…. Like all japs worshippers says….. “it’s Toyota…..”

• guan yin ma on Mar 02, 2019 at 1:37 pm

You probably have no idea about sound. Both the BRV and Sienta are old media test drive units with stock tyre. Just look at the video. The older the tyre, the noisier the road noise as the tread wear down and rubber hardening… Its just a shame such professional car review website, dont even have knowledge regarding proper car noise factors…

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 02, 2019 at 2:57 pm

You’re right in saying the BR-V and Sienta are on older, slightly worn tyres, compared to brand new ones on the Aruz. But, we did our tests and recordings on a particularly rough stretch of road in Putrajaya to measure worse case scenarios, slightly negating the effects of different tyres. In the BR-V, it isn’t so much the tyre noise, it’s the wind noise and various resonance from under the car that make it almost unbearably loud at a cruise. And on full throttle, the engine is deafening.

Also, we’ve said the same of various Honda models, brand new units included.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo on Mar 02, 2019 at 4:55 pm

Sienta got high RV. Reliable, classy and people view u as a successful person wei!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • 2 Cents on Mar 02, 2019 at 6:24 pm

You were almost right about everything you’ve said..except for the Aruz “quietest cabin” which I beg to differ.

It is the Sienta which offers one of the quietest cabin in its class. Acoustic windshield, decent soundproofing, silky buttery smooth CVT, etc.

You should check out the video again regarding the NVH levels of these cars.

• tokmoh. on Mar 02, 2019 at 7:06 pm

Aruz came close at full throttle noise.

Aruz won Sienta by 1db for 110kph cruise noise.

Quite close, for almost rm30k less, Aruz would be the default choice for many.

• Raymond on Mar 02, 2019 at 9:01 pm

For its price, Aruz is now the best value and safest car for its money now for a family car.

• Brian on Mar 03, 2019 at 11:30 am

The best value safest car for a family now would be Picanto GT. Aruz value has no value.

• Mstr Bu Aa Ron on Mar 02, 2019 at 11:22 am

Hard to compare as all are not in the same class. Find something that can be compared apple to apple, regardless of price point and do an objective point based scoring system that eliminates subjectivity. Driven is nice to watch, good people, good acting but doesn’t call a spade a spade.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 02, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Yes, these three are technically from different segments, but for buyers looking to buy a seven-seat car in this price range, these are their three best options. Doesn’t get more apple to apple than that in terms of consumer advice, does it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • MPV ≠ SUV
        Thou arguably none of these are truly actual SUVs.

• Yes Hafriz I totally agree with this fella’s point regarding the objective-based scoring system eg. Performance: X(variable) out of 10, Comfort: X out of 10, Practicality: X out of 10, etc.

Exactly just like what Doug DeMuro did in his car reviews.

Maybe you can consider for the upcoming Driven series?

• Lose the horrible music…

• Sales telling the truth, 2777 vs 1025. Aruz selling price too expensive. Bear in mind, national car always RM30k less than Japanese brand in same category.

• Jimmy Lau on Apr 06, 2019 at 3:16 pm

Same opinion too, i m driving my myvi already 5 year ago that now always have the noisy sound that i consider to change Aruz but the price is expensive with i have try with the 95 Pro Drive now that improve my car performance now with the noisy sound away.

• Potato on Mar 02, 2019 at 1:43 pm

I don’t agree with brv’s 3rd row has better leg room than Sienta. I also tested brv and still feel that Sienta has better driving experience. Aruz, too tall no doubt it has the best safety features among these 3.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 02, 2019 at 2:39 pm

Honda will have to stop selling the BRV because there won’t be any sales left for them. It has the lowest safety and spec kit and the Aruz is so competitively priced. The 7 seater bargain bin crown goes to Perodua. Up one segment shall be the popular Serena. The Xtrail as a 7 seater is a good option but due to its age and lousy safety kit I’m putting it behind until the facelift arrives…if it ever arrives since this is TC we are talking about.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Mar 02, 2019 at 2:53 pm

Don’t leave the Mitsubishi Outlander out. It us a very capable 7 seater 4WD SUV. No issue with lack of rear air-conditioning blower, the aircon is so powerful, sometimes children at the 3rd row requested to increase the temperature a bit. 3rd row is more usable than the X-Trail. Apple Carplay & Android Auto supported. Trust me. The only thing that’s lacking is active safety features like pre-collision braking.

• Celup King on Mar 02, 2019 at 4:16 pm

People will still prefer BRV over Aruz if they want Japanese quality and can afford for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • Dylan Chng on Mar 02, 2019 at 4:06 pm

1:26 I’ll like a further explanation please. Can you please elaborate on its flaws. Thank you.

• The horrible loud music towards the end drowned out everything said!

Lose the music guys or lower the volume!

• brian on Mar 02, 2019 at 4:55 pm

Good job to Driven team. I think Aruz has better third row seating position than BRV.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Mar 03, 2019 at 6:18 pm

With my limited experience with both an Aruz and a BRV, I found the 2nd row tumble function to work a lot better in the BRV. Furthermore, as pointed out in the video, getting into the last row is easier in the BRV due to larger doors and a lower floor.

Good to have a better third row seating but better if access is easy.

• Azam Syah Monzaid on Mar 02, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Very good review with a variety of criteria. However, if the winner is being decided by price, looks and safety alone, what is the point of conducting this review? it’s winner from the start.

That bouncing suspension to ferry 7 people in long distance might become a nightmare to whole family.

Probably Paultan can summarized winner in each category like spacious, ride and handling, fuel consumption and so on…

• mangkuk on Mar 03, 2019 at 2:41 pm

Yeah agree bro. If price is the main point, whats the point of testing ride and comfort, fc, power, etc?
      Should have several section of points, and average it out for the winner. Coz i cant brain how a 103k sienta beats 87k br-v when the key point is the cabin noise

• eugene liew on Mar 02, 2019 at 5:54 pm

I drive a BRV. last week i went to test drive the new Aruz and I just can’t accept the car is really under power. A new CVT and Turbo charge 1.5cc engine will sure make the Aruz feel much enjoyable to drive. I trust this year Honda BRV sure will facelift the BRV and I trust they will update with new “Honda Sensing” and dashcam and 6 airbegs. Till then we shall campare again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • JK Rowling on Mar 02, 2019 at 6:40 pm

For a roti gardenia car, you keep waiting lah. It’s not even premium enough to have Honda sensing. Why don’t you sugggest all City, Jazz also be equipped with that?

• Anthony Lam on Mar 02, 2019 at 9:15 pm

Strange. I drive a 4 year old Nissan X-Trail and when I drove the Aruz, I found it very responsive and full of power!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • May i know what is the method of fuel calculation here? Based on cars tripmeter or anything else? Coz i own a sienta, and we got a consumption of 14+km/L, a trip of 1100km from east coast to west coast via cameron highland, return via karak, measured by car tripmeter. The best was 18km/L.

Bought the sienta during the GST free period, price tag was 91k. Before committing to sienta, we tested BRV twice, and i found the glaring road noise from BRV was unacceptable, plus wife didn’t approve it. Ertiga is also good, but less spacious and lack of ESC was a deterrent. Exora and livina was too…. old

It’s a love n hate mpv. I personally like some and hate some features, maybe because i used to drive a c segment sedan before. Our children like the mpv, never had any complaint of nausea or discomfort. The wide opening and flat floor with easy access are the plus points, Godsend especially when fitting the carseats. The rest, i agree with what Harv said. Congratulations on the excellent video!

• Dylan Chng on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:22 pm

While many people are complanning about the music, I’ll like to disagree.

• The music was deafening…horrible as well…it’s worse than the big heads , small body ….

• Geeton on Mar 02, 2019 at 8:53 pm

For an average Malaysian, I think i will wait a little while more for the geely mpv to arrive with the proton badge. I am 100% sure it will have the best tech and it’s a proper mpv. If proton prices it right then it will be a no Brainer.

• mangkuk on Mar 02, 2019 at 9:13 pm

Nice review, but i think 30 minutes is a bit too long. 15 should be a bit tollerable.

• Outalingam Crap on Mar 03, 2019 at 9:56 am

Enough is enough – time has come where our ministry of transport HAS GOTTA IMPLEMENT THE MANDATORY SIX AIRBAG COUNT (curtain airbag must protect ALL THREE ROWS’ side windows) coupled with ABS, EBD and ESP for the least – for ALL passenger vehicles of all segments including the lowest end B-segment regardless of BR-V, Sienta, Grand Livina, Avanza, Alza, Ertiga, you name it you got it blablabla….because the more passengers being ferried everywhere in Malaysia, the MORE passive and active safety features have GOTTA BE PLANTED ONTO THOSE AUTOMOBILES mentioned just now – PERIOD

• taiko on Mar 03, 2019 at 4:15 pm

can it fly?:-)

• Winsom on Apr 06, 2019 at 9:37 pm

Sure impossible with the good petrol 95 Pro Drive that you also only can get a more fast and smooth SUV that impossible for fly. Petronas also offer a lot of point collect with purchase make in the mesra shop.

• john doe on Mar 03, 2019 at 6:33 pm

what is the sad part?
    “…design and developed with Indonesia..”
    “…design developed with Thailand for ASEAN market..”

and throughput these years..it always political moves that keep our so call national car project, a non-economy sense continue…and now flying car some more..

throughput our lives, we need to hear the Proton bs, and oil price bs, and we have NONE productivity economical sense to do

Thailand grew their agriculture to world wide
    Vietnam building with low cost manufacturing and overtaking china, and their agriculture as well..
    Indonesia manufacturing and agriculture is pick up as well..they not only oil palm!!

in 5 years, we will be bottom of ASEAN ownself

• jane doe on Mar 27, 2019 at 5:37 pm

Having dreams of comfortable and lavish life is not wrong, but greed & laziness has lead us here.. The Thai’s & Indon’s are creative in any was possible than us, soon they wil be a better developed and sustainable country than us if we continue living in denial.

• Korean Fan on Mar 04, 2019 at 2:27 am

Why not compare with Ertiga?

• sunny on Apr 07, 2019 at 5:18 pm

This three model is the famous model of SUV and Petronas staff is friendly serve me yesterday go for pump the 95 Pro Petrol with like this petrol have the clean function for car engine.

• typical malaysian on Mar 04, 2019 at 10:39 am

got money/rich:
    1.Sienta
    2.BRV
    3.Arseruz

no money/poor:
    1.Arseruz
    2.BRV
    3.Sienta

follow shitty salesman:
    1.Arseruz
    2.Sienta
    3.BRV

follow fanboy:
    1.Arseruz
    2.BRV
    3.Sienta

Conclusion:
    It is very subjective. example, high-rised body no point to offroad if underpowered with no AWD/4WD. LOL

• panjang on Mar 04, 2019 at 11:15 am

+-3500rpm at 110kmh?
    Wow….Amazing!

I bet driving the Aruz will be very similar like driving a Perodua Kenari….a lot of hunting by the gearbox when in town or when met with the slightest incline.

• Leonardo on Mar 04, 2019 at 3:25 pm

The Aruz is NOT a 7 seater. It is 5+2. The 3rd row seats is just for small children. The seat back is too low and the recline angle is insufficient and uncomfortable for long distances.
    The cargo/luggage space is very small for a family trip or Balek Kampung.

• BeeAreVee on Mar 05, 2019 at 2:23 pm

BRV should have cruise control.

• I really admire the Perodua Aruz (especially Electric Blue) exterior look. But I would’ve bought it if it have at least have a Passive Cruise Control and Auto Wipers. Additionally, a Single-zone Automatic Climate Control System would be nice to have with Rear Foglamps, Airbag disable function, and Solid Disc for both Rear Brakes.

• fu guan on Apr 06, 2019 at 12:25 pm

Did perodua work together with petronas to let people test the new petrol on the road… i think i miss that chance, what a waste

• Jimmy Lau on Apr 06, 2019 at 2:53 pm

My Alza also already 5 year ago seen like going to get a new SUV with already old already but now i m using the 95 Pro Drive which give me better effect.

• for me one of the things thats important is fuel tank capacity that matches with the engine horse power..

• damira on Apr 08, 2019 at 5:44 pm

I think same here.. been using saga and their tank needs refuelling half way to Perlis and everytime I go up north in worried that my might die half way. But used primax 95 pro drive, the mileage increased. Still need refuelling around ipoh, but not worried searching for gas station anymore.

• sunny on Apr 06, 2019 at 9:34 pm

Yea, new car is good but i prefer that use the good petrol for protect our car even old or new. That 95 Pro Drive have the double protection on our car engine and it was powerful.

• Winsom on Apr 06, 2019 at 9:39 pm

Like their design very much and waiting their new small SUV model which hope to use it together with the 95 Pro Drive that good for car can help to extend car performance. Petronas offer the mesra program for us to earn more point.

• Rasih on Apr 06, 2019 at 11:26 pm

Yesterday i only saw that Aruz at Petronas station there that time i m refill my car petrol with 95 Pro Drive that time. The 95 Pro Drive is really good quality petrol and the price is still same that also earn point with the mesra card loyalty program.

• Lamniy on Apr 07, 2019 at 11:44 pm

The Petrol and car spec is important for both as the Petrol will use the Petronas 95 Pro Drive with the addition function but price still same plus their good facilities like hand soap for customer is very good service.

• Rasih on Apr 07, 2019 at 11:47 pm

Look like have people support on 95 Pro Drive that produce by Petronas special formula.It was important for a good formula to produce good quality petrol. As i m using the Setel make payment that giving more reward really easy for use.

• Johnphoon on Apr 24, 2019 at 2:46 pm

Loved this video as I’m buying Aruz soon n I’m using Sienta now n the 3 hosts are great