Transport ministry to make child seats more affordable before mandatory use in 2020 – no SST, import duties

At today’s ‘Child Safety Technical Workshop’ by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) and Autoliv Hirotako Safety, transport minister Anthony Loke reiterated his ministry is aiming to make child seats more affordable before their use becomes mandatory in 2020.

According to Loke, talks are currently ongoing with the finance ministry and Royal Malaysian Customs Department to apply for child seats to be exempted from the sales and services tax (SST) and import duties. The minister is hoping that the latter currently applicable on child seats will be waived by the end of this year.

Malaysia has been a member of the United Nation’s World Forum for Harmonisation of Vehicle Regulations (WP29) since April 4, 2006. Among the gazetted regulations is United Nations Regulation 44 (UN R44) – ‘uniform provisions concerning the approval of restraining devices for child occupants of power-driven vehicles (child restraint systems)’.

Previously, the ruling on the mandatory use of child seats was supposed to be introduced in 2019, but was postponed indefinitely as it was the announcement made by the previous government. It was only in October last year that Loke confirmed that child seat usage would be made mandatory by 2020.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 05, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Making it affordable is one thing. More importantly is enforcement. See even back seat belts also was never enforced.

Loke needs to clean up JPJ and PDRM. Too many officers are taking duit kopi and letting offenders lose. So, the rakyat is not fearful as they know anyone can escape with the duit kopi magic.

Loke, pls clean up the forces and make sure enforcement is adhered to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Michael on Mar 05, 2019 at 6:22 pm

Loke has done so much for the rakyat in just 8 months. I am so grateful that we got the MY50 and MY100 travel for us needy.

Thank you Loke for being honest and efficient in your work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Sohai on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:04 pm

Look, when 30% car price reduction make car a daily transport more affordable ???

• Sembangg on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:24 pm

Bashers complain MY50 and MY100 too costly. RM1.50 more like it,

• Repost on Mar 05, 2019 at 5:17 pm

https://paultan.org/2015/07/13/child-car-seats-no-mandatory-use-by-2016-says-liow/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Anakku on Mar 05, 2019 at 5:36 pm

Less than 300 you get a decent car seat already. Don’t use branded price as excuse to endanger your child la

• lilytan on Mar 05, 2019 at 5:45 pm

This guy is the beacon of hope in the rather hopeless coalition. The G should not make an income out of safety.

• Ben Yap on Mar 05, 2019 at 6:31 pm

those cheapskate parents making their baby sit on their lap will now have to fork out more money.

• jamali on Mar 05, 2019 at 6:40 pm

Parents needs to be educated.
    Riding w/o helmet and with 2 as pillion
    Next is to enforce no motorbike on
    Federal Highway.
    What is the purpose of the motorcycle lane ?
    YB TQ.

• Gabriel on Mar 05, 2019 at 6:48 pm

This guy has been paying over the odds for the AES camera (now paying RM200000 vs RM170000 during the previous government). Back then it was deem as corruption, but now not anymore.
    I just wonder whether someone will profit from this child seat business when it goes mandatory. Please god save us…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Tz1234 on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:29 pm

Old time aes goes to private companies. Now the summons go to the G.

• Gabriel on Mar 06, 2019 at 7:08 am

No it was not. The money went to LTAT, to help with the well being of our soldiers.

• alcatrez on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:53 pm

1 car sold and the government gets tax/duty income.

Why can’t they just give to the people for free?

You can always track by MYKID.

• Add A Comment on Mar 06, 2019 at 7:24 am

Typical tongkat mentality. Apa pun mau tolong, mau free lunch, mau this mau that. Continue that and you will be very successful in no time…

• usiapa on Mar 06, 2019 at 12:53 pm

‘Buy a Carseat free a car’ even better. Ask gomen buy u seluar dalam also lah.

• Loke Loke MY Yew on Mar 06, 2019 at 7:22 am

That is the good start, how about the brake systems and tyre? You know many can’t afford or skimp due to high tax that jack up the price right?

• azrai on Mar 06, 2019 at 9:00 am

5 seater car to be sardined with 8 people is also wrong. So how?

• Ah meng on Mar 06, 2019 at 11:13 am

Siapa suruh senarai SST main hantam saja..

• Wilson on Mar 06, 2019 at 1:34 pm

No duties, no SST, price will remain the same. It only brings more profit to the seller, higher profit margin. Unless MOT open an online store in Lazada, LOL.