2019 Toyota Yaris spotted in M’sia again before launch

UMW Toyota Motor announced back in February that the Toyota Yaris will be introduced in Malaysia this year, and the model has now been sighted being loaded onto a car transporter by paultan.org reader Gan Wei Wei.

This isn’t the first time the “Vios hatchback” has been spotted, because in November last year, our photographer Sherman Sim also spotted a Yaris on a flatbed. In fact the cars seen in both sets of photos look very similar, with the same red coloured panels around the lower bumper, contrasting the Citrus Mica Metallic paint. We’ve speculated that this could be a TRD Sportivo trim level specific to our market, which also includes the 16-inch two-tone rims you see on both cars.

As for engines, the Yaris is available with a 3NR-FE 1.2 litre engine (86 PS/108 Nm) in Thailand, while the Indonesian market gets a 2NR-FE 1.5 litre unit (107 PS/140 Nm) that is also found in the Vios. Given the similarities between the Yaris and Vios, we’d like to believe that the latter mill will be one destined for our market. Similarly, a CVT is the more likely transmission option, although a five-speed manual is also offered in other markets.

The Yaris will be locally assembled at the newly-built Assembly Services Sdn Bhd (ASSB) plant in Bukit Raja, Klang, where the Vios facelift is also made. With Vios prices ranging between RM77k-RM87k, how much do you think the Yaris will go for?

GALLERY: Indonesia-spec Toyota Yaris

GALLERY: Thai-spec Toyota Yaris

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ksatria on Mar 15, 2019 at 6:32 pm

With Vios, Jazz and City prices ranging between RM77k-RM87k. But Persona and Iriz FL beaten them to it for local young working graduates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Roti john Sdn Bhd !! on Mar 16, 2019 at 10:22 am

I dont know why UMW doesn’t bring the pre-facelift Yaris but finally the New Game Changing Yaris have arrived. Time to say good bye to Game Over Iriz!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
      • Darren on Mar 16, 2019 at 4:37 pm

Really? Do share how many Yaris did Toyota sold the last time it was here? Yeah, pitifully minuscule. Game Over Toyota once more!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 32
        • Toyota sot jor on Mar 17, 2019 at 10:03 am

Aiyo… why this ugly FL? They should bring the 3rd-gen pre-FL version here…

• Maarof on Mar 17, 2019 at 8:24 pm

Yaris never sell well but Perodua Myvi sell super well.

UMW is cool Yaris never sell well. 60% of UMW income come from Perodua sales

• Exactly same car. Saved RM40K jz get Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Rahman on Mar 17, 2019 at 5:55 am

At the end of the day Perodua sales is always 4X that of Proton every year the past 20 years.

So don’t bother with Yaris or soon to be abolished Iriz. Just buy Perodua Myvi. Quality assured!

• Adui, of course la. Young graduates not yet earn enough ma.. when it’s time, they will ditch that cheap Protong for this new Yaris aledi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Darren on Mar 16, 2019 at 4:38 pm

According to our Kunta, most young grads edi buying Vios or Jazz or City. So was he lying to us?

• Bahenol on Mar 18, 2019 at 10:43 am

most young grads edi more buying choices Yaris or Sienta or Rush. Or Arus or Alza or Myvi.

• Maarof on Mar 17, 2019 at 8:26 pm

Most graduates prefer Toyota or Perodua which uses Toyota engine

https://paultan.org/2017/03/21/more-than-70-of-local-university-grads-choose-to-buy-foreign-vehicles-rather-than-the-national-car-proton/

• Haidi on Mar 15, 2019 at 6:49 pm

Don’t understand Toyota’s strategy of launching this “Vios hatchback”. Our hatchback market is not at the price range of 70k to 90k. There must be some other things, like packed with safety features? Sportier performance? I don’t know…

• It’s an open market friend. If there is a gap, you would take it right? If you don’t take the gap, ur not a racing driver.

• Safety First on Mar 16, 2019 at 4:34 pm

I see. So Toyota is marketing this Yaris to those who totaled their Vios on Penang bridges.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Bring in the manual version and sell it below RM50k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 15, 2019 at 6:53 pm

Malaysians are not interested in Toyota Yaris despite it being super high quality. This is because we have the 2018 Perodua Myvi. It uses a highly acclaimed Toyota engine also.

The 2018 Perodua Myvi is a Toyota in disguise and Malaysians are happy we can finally afford a Toyota.

This is why since its launch in Novermber 2018, Perodua has sold 110,000 Myvis, joining the existing 1.1 million Myvis on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 117
    • kerata on Mar 16, 2019 at 4:08 am

New myvi is not as roomier as this yaris

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Maarof on Mar 17, 2019 at 8:30 pm

Fresh grads still prefer Toyota engined Perodua Myvi.

https://paultan.org/2017/03/21/more-than-70-of-local-university-grads-choose-to-buy-foreign-vehicles-rather-than-the-national-car-proton/

• Nice try.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
    • Shazwan on Mar 16, 2019 at 11:07 am

I rather believe 1.2 million Myvi owners than frustrated keyboard warriors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
      • Khalid on Mar 16, 2019 at 11:23 am

agree. those who cannot afford this yaris hatchback, beli myvi je. don’t believe cybertrooper fake news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
        • Rahman on Mar 17, 2019 at 5:56 am

BN and Proton Cybertroopers always say PRoton is Gamechanger but end of the day, sales tak sampai 100k also. Perodua 220k

• Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on Mar 16, 2019 at 7:21 pm

According to some, if Toyota didn’t get 21,000 bookings for New Yaris then it is a failure. This I agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
        • Maarof on Mar 17, 2019 at 8:31 pm

21,000 bookings for Proton X70, all profits go back to China because car is still CBU and Made completely in China by Geely

• Ghazali on Mar 16, 2019 at 2:31 pm

I have a Myvi and the car has never given any problem the past 10 years.

Myvi is the epitome of quality. My wife uses a Preve and the car is always in Proton SC for repairs.

Enough said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Damon Lee on Mar 16, 2019 at 8:55 pm

‘Enough said’. I agree, enough with the lies! My Myvi spent more times in the workshop than I use. Please don’t lie here.

• Cikgu Ravi on Mar 17, 2019 at 8:38 am

Same bro. My preve always got problem. My wife’s myvi got no problem

• Lying again, troll dupe. No woman would come within 10 meters of you, let alone marry you.

• Oh my England on Mar 18, 2019 at 12:14 pm

Actually, they will be.

• bieight on Mar 15, 2019 at 6:55 pm

umw should introduce a 1.2 manual low spec price below 60k

• kanazai2001 on Mar 15, 2019 at 6:57 pm

no MT mean will not considered…

• cakes on Mar 15, 2019 at 7:03 pm

(Like) Yaris and New Vios
    (Dislike) Dated Jazz and Dated City and Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 19
    • Cakes Salah! on Mar 16, 2019 at 9:51 am

(Like) Iriz and Persona
      (Dislike) Fugly Yaris and Fugly Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 46
  • Peaceful Article Please on Mar 15, 2019 at 7:11 pm

Before you comment pls read this article including , before they bash. Look at Proton, Mazda, Toyota, BMW Article, Volvo, Land Rover and other carmakers, looks good and nice. But those like Nissan SA and P2 SA who always came to every Paul tan .org articles, always talk badmouths about Proton, Mazda, Toyota, BMW Article, Volvo, Land Rover, South Korean Cars and other carmakers. Anyway pls don’t ever bother in what Nissan SA and P2 SA said, just look at the good Feedbacks and don’t ever let Nissan SA and P2 SA force you not to buy Proton, Mazda, Toyota, BMW, Volvo, Land Rover, South Korean Cars and other carmakers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Maarof on Mar 17, 2019 at 8:33 pm

Wilson Khoo, there are no Nissan salesman here. It is your fantasy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Daddykasi on Mar 15, 2019 at 7:26 pm

Confirm can kill jazz & iriz easily..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Im pretty sure the “TRD Sportivo” is just a regular bodykit woth red paint, just like the Vios.

• alldisc on Mar 15, 2019 at 8:07 pm

Already saw 1 unit around bkt jelutong space u8, dark grey with Selangor plate. Maybe UMW test unit. Quite surprised, thought it has been launched

• Wahaha on Mar 15, 2019 at 8:18 pm

Myvi is 2nr-fe or 2nr-ve? I always get confused.

• Nisi Dominus Frustra on Mar 16, 2019 at 10:55 am

Allow me to clear that for you.

Myvi uses 2NR-VE – It uses an iron engine block. Which is obviously cheaper when u think about it being simply cast from iron. Only good thing is that it could tolerate high heat. But then again, heat from environment in Malaysia is top enemy vs fuel consumption. That’s why driving at night is always better for fuel consumption.

It is Very different from Toyota 2NR-FE – It uses a more refined aluminum engine block which is reinforced, light and manages heat better, and coupled with more advanced Toyota CVT transmission (which is well-praised by media), will ultimately deliver better fuel consumption. It’s a better technology simply said. That’s why cars like Vios will give surely better mileage even when compared vs Myvi.

Sorry for long one. I am not biased to Toyota or whatever. I just have long experience with these engines, that’s all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
      • Damon Lee on Mar 16, 2019 at 8:57 pm

In another words, someone was lying to us when he said Myvi engine is a Toyota engine. I think he is a very sneaky and conman Perodua salesman.

• Wahaha on Mar 17, 2019 at 2:45 pm

Thanks for the explanation. If they are different, why perodua/paultan mentioned that the vios engine can be found on myvi?

• I have never seen Paultan ever mentioned that. As for Perodua, we can see plenty of their salespeople here making such claims but none has proven it. Even Wiki never mention that.

• Maarof on Mar 17, 2019 at 8:35 pm

Myvi got quality. Engine made by Toyota. Can tolerate high heat and tahan lama!

Not like Iriz or Exora. Cepat bakar.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 15, 2019 at 8:53 pm

citrus mica…unique but nobody will buy that colour sadly

• paparadzi on Mar 18, 2019 at 12:31 pm

Of course. Malaysians only buy white, black, grey and silver.

• the rear end looks ok

but the front just….failed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Ariana John Grande on Mar 15, 2019 at 11:09 pm

I actually have a family member in Indonesia that owns this generation of the Yaris(Prefacelift). This car is quite popular there.

Unfortunately over here, nobody seems to buy the older Yaris when it first existed here. Probably why UMW Toyota never brought the prefacelift current gen Yaris to start with. But it’s nice they brought it here now.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 16, 2019 at 9:54 am

I can’t really see how this would take off here.

While I prefer a hatchback to a sedan for extra utility, I realise I am in the minority. There is a reason the City outsells the Jazz and with the Yaris being so close in specs to the myvi, I would find it difficult to justify the 20-30k difference in pricetag if equipped similarly.

They might shift some of them, but probably won’t be many.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Menteri 3pedal on Mar 16, 2019 at 11:20 am

Dear UMW Toyota President,

Please consider a manual transmission option for this new Yaris hatchback in Malaysian market

There are many three pedal drivers in Malaysia that are not going through every day traffic in Klang valley

Hope to hear good news

Sincerely
    Menteri 3pedal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • I just booked 1 yaris

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • UMWT Greedy on Mar 16, 2019 at 11:23 pm

RM90K baby!

• Shamsul Anuar on Mar 17, 2019 at 6:30 pm

But Vios hatchback as YARIS in Europe already stopped and will rebadge MAZDA 2 as Yaris

• Hatchback fan on Mar 17, 2019 at 9:08 pm

What is the difference of this Yaris vs 2019 corrolla hatchback? Which is a better but?

• Don’t trust Malaysia Distributor, Yaris Ativ come Malaysia just change the name to Vios and sale Vios price. Puiii…all Malaysian is too kind or too fool

• When launching

• smlok on Mar 19, 2019 at 9:34 am

Bring in the suzuki swift sport

• Priced the Yaris between Jazz and Myvi … see how the respond!