G20 BMW 3 Series set to be launched in Malaysia soon

It looks like the G20 BMW 3 Series will be the next model to be launched by BMW Malaysia, following the debut of the G15 8 Series Coupe recently. The seventh generation of the 3 Series, which forms part of BMW’s core range of models, was first revealed at the Paris Motor Show in 2018.

The post on BMW Malaysia’s Facebook page doesn’t explicitly indicate the G20, but merely takes us through the first six generations of the 3 Series, beginning with the E21 right up to the F30.

With the line “the legacy continues” in the caption, it’s pretty clear what’s coming next. This look back into history has been done before, as prior to the launch of the 8 Series, the company also posted several “throwback” posts focusing on the significance of the number eight to BMW.

As you’d expect, there’s not a lot in the way of details at the moment. The latest 3 Series can be had with a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder in two states of tune, with an eight-speed automatic transmission as standard. On the 320i, the mill makes 184 PS from 5,000-6,500 rpm and 300 Nm of torque from 1,350-4,000 rpm, with a zero to 100 km/h time of 7.2 seconds.

Meanwhile, the 330i offers 258 PS from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm from 1,550-4,400 rpm. As a result, the century sprint is quicker at 5.8 seconds. One or both of these petrol variants are likely what we’ll be getting, but we’ll have to wait for the launch so see what’s what.

Other available G20 variants include the M340i xDrive, 330d, 320d and 318d, although we don’t expect these to be made available at launch. There’s also a petrol plug-in hybrid model in the guise of the 330e, but this may come a bit later. The current F30 LCI line-up in Malaysia consists of the 318i Luxury and 330e M Sport.

GALLERY: G20 BMW 330i M Sport at the 2019 Singapore Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Copy Paste on Mar 19, 2019 at 10:57 am

Copy paste: “The big issue here, hybrid and EV sellers must inform the buyer of all these costs at point of purchase.

Our salesman all talk sweet. Especially BMW and Mercedes salesman. But they never tell you that their batteries all cost RM130k and above. That is just battery. The service labour and also the electrical parts is another big bomb. Each time…..nothing less than 10k.

Don’t believe? Ask all the Toyota Prius owners in Malaysia. They will tell you how costly their electrical parts costs.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 29
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 19, 2019 at 12:48 pm

Aiks go read recent paultan article about battery price. It’s around the 50k region for the battery replacement. Better not simply copy and paste wrong facts. It’s still expensive but not at a price where you are able to purchase a new Proton X70.

• Vader on Mar 19, 2019 at 3:41 pm

BMW gips 5thn free service plan + best gerenti

• digidigi on Mar 19, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Helo f30 320i facelift on paper can do 0-100 at 7.1sec while this take 7.2, the one should go study is u la

• Susukotak on Mar 19, 2019 at 8:47 pm

In sporty drive and handling dept, the G20 3Series will become a FWD Toyota Camry fighter.

• New 530i Owner on Mar 19, 2019 at 5:42 pm

Correct bro. When i bought my 3Series for RM220k back in 2013, traded in last year 2018 for RM80k. Depreciated RM140K which virtually could get a brand new X70 Premium. So BMW cars worth to get if you can take bad RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • E300 120k battery

• Crony on Mar 19, 2019 at 7:42 pm

50k for the price of the replacement battery, I’d rather throwaway the car and use that 50k for a Persona instead. We may be rich, but we’re not stupid.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 19, 2019 at 1:44 pm

I think this time there won’t be 330e anymore. This is because 330e, 530e, 740Le and X5 40e sales have gone ZERO after the Mercedes E300 Bluetec Hybrid battery scandal went viral

People scared to buy already. After kena RM126k battery….habis lah

RV also masuk longkang maximum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
      • EDITOR on Mar 19, 2019 at 3:29 pm

Then why are you pushing for locally made EV cars if replacement batteries will be unaffordable to the masses? You make no sense, or rather much nonsense.

• EDITOR on Mar 19, 2019 at 3:50 pm

Based on your comment, I bet you didn’t bother to do any research or even own a hybrid vehicle.

Yes, luxury hybrid vehicles will cost you a bomb to maintain but the same definitely cannot be applicable on hybrid for the B or C segment such as Honda City Hybrid or even the Prius.

Not all hybrid cars requires battery changes after the 8 year warranty period as only a small percentage of them requires battery change. This is because even after 8 years of ownership or 120,000km driving distance, the battery only loses 20 to 25% of its capacity. The most also 30% capacity and it can still be use as per normal. The only difference is, the engine and regenerative breaking system will need to charge up the battery more frequently. The same logic as our lithium ion battery in our smartphone.

One of the good example will be the Honda in Japan which sold more than 8,000 insight with only 25 cars changed their battery pack after 8 years. So you tell me how many percent is that?

Even if the battery needs to be change after the 8 year warranty, manufacturer such as Honda guaranteed that it won’t cost more than RM5,000. And as our fossil fuel starts depleting, petrol prices increases, more and more manufacturer are focusing on hybrid technology or full electric vehicles. This mean the RM5,000 guaranteed projected cost will eventually goes down. The same can be spoken for the electric motor that runs the car.

Please use some commonsense and do you research before you start commenting. You are making a food out of yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • Also gomen no longer taxfree for hybrid

• Mario and Bros on Mar 19, 2019 at 6:47 pm

Well base on your comments, I really high suspected you must be coming from Perodua and Nissan Salesman. Everyone knows where you come from. So don’t think we don’t know. Cause as I see every articles everytime, you are actually condemning BMW and even Proton, Toyota, Ford and Volvo and you only protecting Perodua and Nissan which you don’t care other carmakers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 19, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Why waste money buying this car? Better buy the existing Hybrid models. The prices are free falling.

I was offered 2017 BMW X5 40e with 15,000 KM done only for RM250k. Warranty until 2022. Not bad!

• Sonyman on Mar 19, 2019 at 9:02 pm

Still need 250k ah. 50k more like it. .. 250k not free falling. Just half way only.

• Lets See on Mar 19, 2019 at 10:09 pm

That battery has probably gone bad. Without the hybrid assist, the motor engine will be underpowered to lug all that weight. Pickup will be slow resulting in very bad FC. You would be foolish to think you’ve got a good deal.

• digidigi on Mar 19, 2019 at 11:07 am

if price right, this will be the c class killer, otherwise kill itself. Btw why 320i performance worse than f30?

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 19, 2019 at 12:39 pm

It isn’t worse than the F30. Go look at the spec sheet comparison properly before posting and BMW Malaysia have always been pricing it’s core model properly to compete with the C class. What they do not do well with regards to that is the the poor spec that comes with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • zamer on Mar 19, 2019 at 6:54 pm

Regardless of car specs. With strong MY economy growth, young office execs are lapping up BMW and C class cars like no tomorrow.

• John bin Lazy on Mar 19, 2019 at 1:51 pm

Some say why buy BMW when the Proton X70 is already a Mercedes Benz?

Proton fanboys say Geely X70 uses AMG technology from Mercedes because Geely owns 10% shares in Daimler Mercedes Germany AG

• karam singh on Mar 19, 2019 at 1:53 pm

yeah. still a boring looking car with that hideous looking interior colour. I love the old dark red colour.
      Nope, its not C-class killer.
      Merc C-class looks better & CLA muchhhh better looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • although frog jumping is bad. however sinking c class defectors oredy jumping to BMW 328i.

• The new one is is faster by 0.1sec

• I am surprised with this posting on the “surprised” launching of this G20 model. I believed the local press already had attended the test drive up to Bukit Tinggi with this model last month……

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 19, 2019 at 2:22 pm

This car is the bread and butter of BMW Malaysia. So must have suspen a bit.

First to buy is GLC Sime Darby staff. They like to lagak when balik kampung during Raya time. Something to show kampung folks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • bieight on Mar 19, 2019 at 11:56 am

sadly there will be no straight 6 Engine available

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 19, 2019 at 12:40 pm

Go for the 340i gray import or wait for BMW Malaysia to bring it in limited units during launch period.

• Tokokkkk on Mar 19, 2019 at 1:43 pm

If have, r u affordable or not? Tokokkkkk

• Sam “Hailat” Loo on Mar 19, 2019 at 2:11 pm

Special order M340i from local dealers lar…!

• Not a big fan of the new kidney grill… Better get the latest F30 at firesale price before it disappears

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 19, 2019 at 12:45 pm

I beg to differ here. U will take your words back once you see the vast difference in interior quality. The F30 has too much hard plastics on the transmission tunnel area the stock G20 passive suspension is so much more better than the F30.

• I understand interior has improved a lot, digital dash, more soft touch interior.. I have watch all video review on g20 possible .. still not a big fan of the kidney grill…

• intermilan on Mar 19, 2019 at 7:38 pm

True that. BMW Malaysia was the pioneer of cheap affordable premium car here with that introduction of F30 316i not too long ago.

Wearing that venerable BMW emblem, albeit horrendous plasticky interior, missing rear view camera and keyless entry rolled in at RM209,800 without free service that era.

• Lolipop on Mar 19, 2019 at 2:00 pm

Why the steering shape so similar to existing Mercedes c200 EQ..

• lihwoei on Mar 19, 2019 at 2:12 pm

em….it looks like BMW having a Horizontal development…

• Vincentwoo on Mar 19, 2019 at 4:35 pm

Just bring this 330i 1 variant for malaysia …i think the sales will increase because a lot of people are waiting

• Malu Apa Boss on Mar 19, 2019 at 4:47 pm

I just go to the dealership place my bookings. Cant wait to get my car.

• Very sporty front and more premium interior, nice update from F30.

• Saddle brown is my favorite interior color .

• alldisc on Mar 19, 2019 at 5:28 pm

The F30 has been around long enough that it was available as either 316i, 318i (1.5 3 cyl turbo), 320i, 328i and 330e and some. No more 320d unlike the previous E90. Rear seats are spacious for 2. Useless for 3 if journey is anything more than 15 minutes.

• spock1976 (Member) on Mar 20, 2019 at 12:10 am

My f30 320d Msport with DPK upgrade is still my trusted workhorse clocking well over 110k mileage. So fun to drive with the paddle shifters. My only grouse is the lack of HUD on the f30. Will wait and see on this new one.

• Menteri Manual Malaysia on Mar 20, 2019 at 10:09 am

Gip me the manual transmission