The Volkswagen Beetle – grab one while you still can

It has been described in many ways, from cute to curious, right on through to iconic. If you hadn’t guessed already, we’re talking about the Volkswagen Beetle, a model that has been influential in shaping automotive history, while having some of the most colourful fans in the world.

Among the famous names that have owned at least one “Love Bug” include comedian Jerry Seinfeld, supermodel Heidi Klum, Jay Leno, Chris Pratt and even Mr Wolverine, Hugh Jackman. While celebrities may attract the headlines, tales like Kathleen Brooks’s 73-year old “Annie” help to further cement just how passionate Beetle fans can be.

Sadly, the tale of the Bug is coming to an end, with production of the famous nameplate set to be discontinued. Therefore, if you’ve been longing to be a part of the vast Beetle owners club, don’t waste this last chance to claim one as your own.

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) is making that dream even more attainable with savings of up to RM2,000 on the Beetle Sport, provided you place a booking before the end of March 2019. With limited units up for grabs, securing one of the very last few new Beetles is a rather exclusive experience.

The Beetle Sport is powered a 1.2 litre four-cylinder TSI engine with 105 PS and 175 Nm of torque, which is paired with a seven-speed DSG gearbox. The exterior features 17-inch ‘Rotor’ alloy wheels, bi-xenon headlamps and a choice of four finishes – Blue Silk, Pure White, Habanero Orange and Tornado Red.

Like the exterior, the interior combines functionality and fun, with body-coloured dashboard trim and accents, two-zone climate control, sports seats, Vienna leather upholstery and a 6.5-inch Composition Media touchscreen infotainment unit.

A combination of timeless design, a capable powertrain and a comprehensive list of equipment makes the Beetle Sport a perfect daily companion. So, if you’ve ever been bitten by the “Love Bug,” you’d better hurry and get one while you still can. For more information on the Beetle Sport, head on over to Volkswagen Malaysia’s official website.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 19, 2019 at 2:20 pm

So cheap in Europe. It is known as the People’s Car. Everybody also can afford one.

Come here become nearly same price as BMW

This is because 60 years of corruption has made our car prices the highest in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 37
    • Darren on Mar 19, 2019 at 3:37 pm

Everybody shud buy a People’s Car, Proton Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • AutoFrenz (The Original) on Mar 19, 2019 at 3:39 pm

Even now under the new government is also expensive…even more expensive compared to the previous government…so what are you talking about…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Why is that a problem? We have the highest proportion of BMW and Mercedes cars in Southeast Asia. If this is caused by 60 years of corruption then please; give us more corruption. Isn’t that why we voted back the father of Corruption?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • People buy jetta instead bcs of a bigger faster engine & more space while being cheaper too

• JOACHIM on Mar 19, 2019 at 7:38 pm

No point being cheap when the people are jobless. Ford Germany had just fired 5,000 workers and more are coming in UK.

• Singaporean on Mar 19, 2019 at 9:37 pm

Like you have no idea what’s goin on in Singapore

• Lets See on Mar 19, 2019 at 9:55 pm

The Classic Beetle was the people’s car. The New Beetle was the workshop foreman’s car.

While the classic had a reputation for reliability & being cheap, the new one had a reputation for unreliability & being an expensive hipster car.

• Call me by your name on Mar 19, 2019 at 10:16 pm

Used to be people’s car, nowadays it’s more of a novelty like a mini

• Henry on Mar 19, 2019 at 2:21 pm

If only it has a manual gearbox.

• Roti john Sdn Bhd !! on Mar 19, 2019 at 2:30 pm

This is the real Game Changer in car history. Our Proton sadly is a Game Over in car history. Habisla Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
    • Henry on Mar 19, 2019 at 3:00 pm

You sound like a broken record. Don’t you get tired?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • His P2 masters pays him to do that but unfortunately it backfired badly since the more he bollocks about P1, the more sales it got. Lolz!

• Troll short of new ideas. Can only do the same thing over and over.

• The Beetle essentially a Porsche engineering marvel. Gotten the Ltd Edt version, Volkswagen Beetle Dune. Absolute fun and beautiful car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Jeremy Wong on Mar 19, 2019 at 4:44 pm

are you drunk? the original maybe, yes. but this one is FF (front engine, front wheel drive) plus 1.2 turbo is puny and underpowered, not the slightest relatable to porsche at all. the world hates this new beetle and the dismal sales sums it.

• redpilled on Mar 20, 2019 at 11:42 am

if youre talking about the air cooled, rear engine one then yes. but not this generation.

• johnnas on Mar 20, 2019 at 12:00 pm

Are you one of those who says X70s are all powered by Volvo engines?

• Lolwhut? on Mar 20, 2019 at 12:06 pm

Naw. He’s the dude that said all Perodua cars are powered by Toyota engine. Lol!

• Kelvin on Mar 19, 2019 at 2:57 pm

How about no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 19, 2019 at 3:32 pm

Wait a minute, VW AG said the Beetle may live on as an EV in the future so not all hope is lost.

• Stupid head. You think it’s free meh.

• Same L0rr on Mar 19, 2019 at 4:26 pm

Hope DSG ok..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 19, 2019 at 4:26 pm

DSG issues in 3…2…

• calcutta on Mar 19, 2019 at 5:00 pm

the ultimate lemon car brand,worse than the bmw and merc

• If it’s the old vw, sold brand new with all the latest tech and sold below RM50k, it would have been a best seller.

This new one USA flop!

• albag on Mar 19, 2019 at 9:10 pm

buy one & keep Visiting Workshop?

• James Kong on Mar 19, 2019 at 9:43 pm

Avoid European, financial disaster …believe me