Audi A3 Sedan facelift in M’sia – 1.4 TFSI from RM240k

The Audi A3 Sedan facelift has now arrived in Malaysia, with a sole 1.4 TFSI variant being offered for RM239,900 on-the-road without insurance (includes a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty). The A3 range was given a number of updates back in April 2016, which saw tweaks to its design and list of available equipment.

In the case of the former, the latest A3 is identified by its broader and sharper singleframe grille, which is flanked by reshaped LED headlamps that are reminiscent of those on the B9 A4 with a jagged bottom edge.

At the rear, the LED taillights (with dynamic turn signal) carry redesigned graphics within them, and there’s a new bumper with more prominent lower inserts. Our cars come fitted with 18-inch five-double-spoke alloy wheels as standard, with 225/40 profile tyres to match.

Moving inside, the changes are a little subtler, with a 12.3-inch Audi virtual cockpit instrument display being one of the highlights. Additionally, the retractable screen for the MMI Navigation plus infotainment system is now a seven-inch display with thinner bezels instead of the previous 5.8-inch unit. An eight-speaker sound system and MMI touch are the supporting equipment for the MMI system.

Other items you’ll find inside include a dual-zone air-conditioning system with rear vents, a leather-wrapped three-spoke steering wheel, leather upholstery, power-adjustable front seats with four-way lumbar support, Micrometallic silver trim, a lighting package, Audi drive select, Comfort key, as well as keyless entry and start.

Safety-wise, you’ll get six airbags, Electronic Stability Control and Isofix child seat anchors and top tethers for the outer rear seats. For convenience, there’s also parking aid plus with a rearview camera.

Under the bonnet, there’s a 1.4 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 150 hp from 5,000-6,000 rpm and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500-3,500 rpm.

A seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission handles power deliver to the front wheels, allowing for a zero to 100 km/h time of 8.2 seconds and a top speed of 224 km/h. The claimed combined fuel consumption here is 4.9 l/100 km, while CO2 emissions is rated at 114 g/km.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 26, 2019 at 11:14 am

from 180k to 240k hahah habislah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 0
    • RM240k worth to get. Way more better build and fine finishing than C Class and BMW G20.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 26, 2019 at 1:12 pm

Malaysia is the only country where car prices are going higher and higher.

Already we have the highest car prices in the world due to 60 years of corruption, now it goes even higher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • Audi car price lower in DRB euromobil times.

• SK, Lim on Mar 26, 2019 at 5:42 pm

Complain so much about DRB Euromobil, in the end they still sold the pre-faclifted at a reasonable price.

• Spin Too Much on Mar 26, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Cars were going down in price for the past 20 years, but in the last 10 months suddenly car prices are shooting up. This is thanks to corruption of 20 years ago coming back in a torrent.

20 years of corruption levels being reduced & controlled suddenly being unleashed in the last 10 months, of course car prices and everything else going up like crazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • That’s what happens when franchise change to Sinkie. Now you have to pay equivalent in Sing dollars for an Audi. No matter how terrible Euromobil was, at least they priced it competitively.

• Jaffar on Mar 27, 2019 at 12:27 am

RM240K equivalent in Sing dollars $80k for an Audi A3 sedan. Malaysia previous 60year govt so saddings.

• Wow a 60k price jump but still no basic drivers assistance features???? Omg congratulations!!!!!

• digidigi on Mar 26, 2019 at 11:56 am

you rather get facelift c class, if c class interior is getting dated, this a3 interior is super duper cheap and ugly

• Nagis on Mar 26, 2019 at 9:04 pm

Interior Look like proton saga, except the infotainment system

• bieight on Mar 26, 2019 at 12:01 pm

they bring in the wrong car should have bring in the sportback and too expensive

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 26, 2019 at 12:45 pm

With all those added kit the most I’d pay for one will be 200k.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 26, 2019 at 8:06 pm

Or get the Passat. High trim 2.0T.

I thought I had misread A3 instead of A4

• Globetrotter on Mar 26, 2019 at 12:48 pm

As i recalled back in 2016, my mom bought the 1.4 A3 at 180k. How come the FL become 240k?! Ridiculous. C200 & 320i are a better choice at that price range.

• contender on Mar 26, 2019 at 12:56 pm

WTF kind of pricing? RM240k ? GG

• Mini fan on Mar 26, 2019 at 12:57 pm

8.2 seconds is damn slow

• applegreen on Mar 26, 2019 at 1:12 pm

If the price comes with bang olufsen sound system i think this A3 can sell quite well

• Proton oh Proton on Mar 26, 2019 at 1:32 pm

Good luck Audi.

• Audi think we are LuLu….

• Ben Yap on Mar 26, 2019 at 1:50 pm

performance is not far from the civic turbo. but when u get the civic, u save over RM100K and yet can cucuk Audi A3.

• jambu on Mar 26, 2019 at 2:01 pm

Shame… shame… tak malu ka? At this price, still no driver assistance system (DAS)?!?! Even a Myvi at RM55k pun ada DAS la… (repeated comment from A5 write up)

• Safety First on Mar 26, 2019 at 5:22 pm

Having only frontal collision warning and low speed braking is not considered as ADAS. For that you need to have BLIS, LDW, LKAS, and Adaptive Cruise. New Myvi has none of those.

• Farhan on Mar 26, 2019 at 2:04 pm

Audi should just exit Malaysia. The Specs in a VW Gold which is a 100k less is even hugher than this A3. Essentially it is the same car. At 240k Audi is cometing with the 3 series, C class and also others. Seriosuly even looking at the car shows 0 imagination from the designers. Audi Malaysia really should just pack up and go, as people with any amount of brain matter will know how ridiculous is your pricing.

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Mar 27, 2019 at 6:22 am

Audi already exit malaysia. no more official Audi from Germany

• Add A Comment on Mar 27, 2019 at 7:36 am

You know that Audi Malaysia is ACTUALLY gone and left Malaysia right? What left here are the dying local dealers.

• Ouch Dee on Mar 26, 2019 at 2:26 pm

Look at the price tag, then look at the interior, and then look at the price tag again. It’s ridiculous!

• CK Goh on Mar 26, 2019 at 3:13 pm

The new Mazda 3 is going to eat this A3 alive.

2.0 Supercharged AWD for presumably less than 160k, versus this overpriced 1.4 Turbocharged FWD.

It’s time for them to revamp the whole line-up, putting in the S / RS line, and actually make their base model price to be reasonable as least to a Volvo level.

They are literally no match for Mercedes / BMW anymore.

It’s time to face the reality Audi Malaysia !

Bring the S/RS model here to have a decent fight with the Mercedes’s AMG ! Or else just fade away in the market !

• tiadaid (Member) on Mar 27, 2019 at 9:14 am

Nobody in their right mind would compare a Mazda 3 with the Audi A3.

Might as well say that the Honda Civic will smoke the A3.

• Can i trade in my perodua kancil 660cc?

• Audi Malaysia needs to wake up!!!! Older A3 1.4 was 180+… 1.8quattro was low 210+. Now, 1.4 at 240k? The sky is so very high that the kite can really soar!!

• beemer on Mar 26, 2019 at 5:03 pm

sorry audi…i wait for G20 this week…

• beemer on Mar 26, 2019 at 5:06 pm

i really can’t accept the oval aircond register…

• Gti owner on Mar 26, 2019 at 7:00 pm

I guess audi sg think they are selling the car at sg, between with tis price I will go for golf gti

• Mickey on Mar 26, 2019 at 8:47 pm

Golf 1.4 same engine loads of better features, fantastic car and 80k cheaper. Easy decision. Hard to see this Audi being sold.

• Let’s compare

1. Merc A200
    Price: 230k
    Engine: 1.3
    Power/torque: 163/250NM
    0-100: 8.0 sec
    Swanky design in and out. But, smaller boot

2. Audi A3
    Price: 240k
    Engine: 1.4
    Power/torque: 150/250NM
    0-100: 8.2
    Exclusivity (cos everyone else buys Merc or BMW) and build quality. But, no AEB

Not a huge difference between the two. But one thing’s clear, car prices on the way up

• Jeremy on Mar 27, 2019 at 4:15 pm

The bland interior will make you forget about the build quality. At the same time, the full features of the A200 will too make you forget about the build quality.

• Nagis on Mar 26, 2019 at 9:10 pm

Is it a proton saga interior for 240k?

• Henry on Mar 26, 2019 at 10:59 pm

Maybe it will sell one unit a month.

• Farid Apandi on Mar 27, 2019 at 12:03 pm

Unbelievably overpriced!

• Audi Apa Ni ? on Mar 27, 2019 at 11:21 pm

A4 1.4 is 219k. This A3 with same engine is 240k….. wtf just happened Audi ?