Geometry not affected by Proton region exclusivity, no Malaysia plans due to lack of incentives, infrastructure

On Thursday, Geely unveiled its new global electric vehicle brand, Geometry, alongside its first model, the Geometry A, in Singapore. Naturally, we had a few questions regarding the marque and its relation to another Geely brand, Proton, and answering them was the company’s vice president of public relations, Victor Yang.

Now, you may remember a story we ran back in 2017, in which Geely expressly said that it will not enter the Southeast Asian market, and that it would leave that territory to Proton. As such, the announcement of Singapore being one of Geometry’s first export markets left our heads scratching, but Yang said that it was all part of the plan, since the latter is a separate brand.

“When we talked about the Geely brand not going into Malaysian and Southeast Asian countries, actually that did not include pure electric cars, that was what we agreed on,” he said. “And actually, you can regard Geometry as a new brand – although it is managed under Geely, it is a new brand focusing on pure electric cars. So as we said, Geely-branded vehicles still will not be come to ASEAN markets, only Geometry.”

This leaves the door open for Geometry’s entry to the region – but what about Malaysia? While Yang did not categorically deny a possible arrival on our shores, he did say there were no plans as yet, although that might change if there is sufficient government incentives and a strong charging infrastructure.

“It is up to Proton and its sales company [Proton Edar] to make an evaluation on the market potential, but we haven’t made a decision to sell Geometry to Malaysia for the moment. I think this can be an appealing car for the Malaysian market. I know that in the past, Malaysia did not have state support for new energy vehicles.”

It should be noted that while Malaysia does have an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) scheme that offers incentives to lower the cost of the car, the subsidies are not spelt out like they are in some other markets, being doled out on a customised case-by-case basis.

Yang added, “In the starting period, any development of a pure electric car needs to get subsidies in one way or another from a country to make it popular. Pure electric cars need support [in terms of] facilities as well, so you need to set up charging stations, you need to make all these facilities ready for the development of pure electric cars. But I know that the interest level is growing back in Malaysia.”

However, Yang said that hybrid, mild hybrid and plug-in hybrid vehicles should be sold here to encourage a cleaner, more efficient lifestyle. He added that Proton will continue to provide assistance in converting Geely vehicles to right-hand drive, including Geometry.

GALLERY: Geometry A in Singapore

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Vary Sino on Apr 15, 2019 at 2:43 pm

This is why we need to be aware of these Geely people. There is always a loop-hole in their contract and they will use it. Geely-owned doesn’t mean it’s a Geely brand? Who are you kidding?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
    • Pyraxle on Apr 15, 2019 at 3:38 pm

Deswai Geometry shud rebadged Iriz EV..

• Read carefully. Geely-branded cars meaning conventional ICE-powered. Geometry is pure EV, which Proton doesn’t have currently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • typical malaysian on Apr 15, 2019 at 3:11 pm

give face to p2 la geely…if not later kena cincai produce ev car also…without testing whatsoever…oops..mmg xpernah testing pun..ha ha ha ha

• P2 hybrid habuk pun tarak, want to produce EV? Aruz is the most advanced model Toyota will let P2 rebadge.

• MyNewToy on Apr 15, 2019 at 3:59 pm

Don’t talk too much. Just rebadge as PROTON EV. But sale cheap, cheap la..

• Make sure that the handling is Proton level! Cheap cars, but not cheap handling.

• newme on Apr 15, 2019 at 4:07 pm

Geely just realised its better to do it themselves than relying in incompetent clowns.

• Anonymous_C on Apr 15, 2019 at 4:26 pm

whatever happen to previous Proton Saga / Evora EVs prototype? nothing to contribute to road car??!?

• lilytan on Apr 15, 2019 at 4:44 pm

Of course no significant incentive for EV. We are oil producing country. Do u expect saudi to be pro EV? Our golden goose @ Petonasty is too precious to even have pro EV policy. Same like the Euro 4 fuel issue. Even the environment comes second.

• Izhar on Apr 16, 2019 at 9:11 pm

Plus, we also produce normal engine car. What will happen to proton perodua and all their vendors. But now we have this tech, it is kinda sin towards environment if we still use Combustion engine. I hope one day I could use convertible on our beautiful highways.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 15, 2019 at 5:03 pm

Gomen only interested in flying car-pets, not EV.

With flying car-pets, Ali Baba & his 40 cronies can songlap macam². Don’t worry, Mini-Stars will come out with incentives, rebates to help these 40 cronies to grow fat and prosperous. Syukur Msia Aman.

• StingerKia on Apr 16, 2019 at 9:43 am

No EV no problem, we have flying car coming, remember…?

• FudgeMeSideways on Apr 16, 2019 at 9:44 am

Leave SE Asia to Proton? Proton has NEVER been able to capture SE Asia, so in Geely’s infinite wisdom, why would they say such a thing?