Official Proton X70 accessories for exterior and cabin

The Proton X70 was launched in December 2018 in three trim levels, but without any accessories. Offering optional equipment is of course beneficial to both Proton and its customers, and the X70 now has a list of genuine accessories. Better late than never, so let’s take a look at what’s being offered.

Let’s start with the SUV’s exterior, which can now be dressed up with side steps (RM1,499) and door visors (RM288). These two items are also practical, and are bound to be popular picks. With paint protection in mind, one can also add on a rear bumper scuff plate (RM199) and door handle protective film (four pieces, RM100).

Of course, there’s also the choice of Llumar solar or security window film/tinting. For the latter, owners can choose to include the sunroof, or not. It’s RM1,688 for the solar film and RM2,388 for the security film; add RM200 if you want to include the sunroof.

Moving inside, the expected digital video recorder a.k.a. dashcam (RM1,299) is available, as are things like magnetic sun shades (RM228) and coil mats (RM185). The coil mat set comes in three pieces (one big piece for the rear) while the custom cut sun shades (four pieces, no clips) does not affect the opening and closing of windows. Proton’s existing child seat can also be factored in for RM799.

In the boot, Proton is offering a plastic boot tray (RM188) that protects the cargo area carpet and is easy to clean. For organising loads, there’s a four-hook cargo net (RM55) to hold items in place, as well as a foldable trunk organiser with two compartments and side pockets (RM75).

These optional items can be bought a’la carte; alternatively, they are grouped into Utility and Urban packages. The Utility package comes with side steps, door visor, boot tray, cargo net, trunk organiser and the magnetic sun shades for RM2,060. The a’la carte price for package is RM2,333, so you save RM273.

The Urban package meanwhile consists of the coil mats, dash cam, rear bumper scuff plate, door protective film and Llumar security film. It costs RM3,750, or RM3,900 with sunroof tinting. Compared to the a’la carte price of RM4,171 and RM4,371, the package savings are RM421 and RM471, respectively.

Of course, some of the items here can be “bought outside”, but as always, the benefits of official genuine accessories offered by the carmaker include a perfect fit and cut, the option of including the price of the options in your total purchase price (all lumped into the HP loan), and receiving your new car with all the desired items pre-installed, saving you time and effort.

The Proton X70 genuine accessories come with a six-month warranty and does not affect the car’s factory warranty.

GALLERY: Proton X70 Premium 2WD

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• JustOpinion on Apr 22, 2019 at 11:50 am

Dashcam for rm1299? Fuhhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Must be high res model. Anyway this the best time to restart the R3 line. Kipidap P1 Baru!

• I think Aruz is a better buy right now. This X70 is made in China and we all know about China quality. So better think twice before buying this car because there are many choices out there that have been proven.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 89
        • Engineer on Apr 22, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Yes, yes. We all know about China quality. My Huawei phone is more durable and outlast many of my Samsungs, Sonys, and Iphones. Bring to construction sites, comes out in one piece. So yeah, think twice because China products are astounding quality and value for your money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
          • seriously? on Apr 22, 2019 at 5:41 pm

my samsung A5 since i bought in 2015 until today still going strong. even the note 5 is still going strong. i don’t think huawei isn’t the only reliable brand phone out there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
          • Engineer on Apr 22, 2019 at 9:18 pm

Ever heard of Note7? And lately Galaxy Fold seemed to be having problems even b4 going on sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • Celup King on Apr 22, 2019 at 5:32 pm

Aruz is only made in Indonesia before Perodua rebadged it. So what quality should I expect? I ought to think China quality is 100X better than Indonesian quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
        • Even iphone is assembled in China. Still good maaa

• Aruz never test drive in Malaysia, so not proven.

• Farid on May 13, 2019 at 10:47 am

Lol. Iphone is china. Many products made in china. Volvo made in china. Its about qc.

• Okaylar at least it is integrated into the windscreen. Better than paying overpriced for a Gear Up TPMS system that can be bought from Lazada.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Cooldown on Apr 22, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Can get a good dashcam at rm300.

• Mohd Fairuz on Apr 22, 2019 at 11:54 am

This car is too new for me. Scared later got problems. I will wait for one year first and see if Proton got improve or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 21
    • X70 Buyer on Apr 22, 2019 at 12:20 pm

No problem. Just one headcount lesser in front of me, among us 25k on the waiting list. If they can drive it all the way to Hangzhou and back without a single unit breakdown, I see no problem except for misguided misconceptions.

Ironically many of these misguided sheeps have no qualms to fill their house with China made fittings, fixtures, electricals, plumbing and building materials.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
  • Anonymous_C on Apr 22, 2019 at 11:58 am

Are these really useful accessories ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • X70 Buyer on Apr 22, 2019 at 12:15 pm

Yes. I have got the step plates, scuff plates, door visor, boot tray, & sun visors just ordered as extras since I got my car loan approved prior to this release. Still waiting for my car arrival so enough time to collect money and pay cash for them.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 22, 2019 at 1:20 pm

Depends on what you do with the car. The rear boot tray is good to have.

Wouldn’t mind the window visors. The coil mats don’t seem too expensive.

But other things I could give it a miss..or get it much cheaper outside.

• tokmoh. on Apr 22, 2019 at 11:59 am

I thought I saw some SC also offer auto tailgate. This would be a most wanted feature too.

Got details about the dash cam they used? Is it front only or both front and back?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Apr 22, 2019 at 12:10 pm

The auto tailgate is not part of the official accessories range.

Dash cam, front only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Darren on Apr 22, 2019 at 4:36 pm

Want to ask did you install the auto tailgate for your X70? It functions via remote or kick sensor?

• From what I’ve seen (there’s a YouTube video detailing about the aftermarket auto tailgate), it’s both kick and remote operations.

• Eugene choi on Aug 22, 2020 at 8:18 pm

I have this dashcam but it doesn’t seem to be compatible with my CKD model as the SC informed me it was meant for CBU model only. could you help me to confirm if this is true?

• Ruslan Bahari on Apr 22, 2019 at 3:07 pm

I would avoid the WINDOW VISORS, for this or any other car; if installing it adds noise to the cabin, which is typical of such after market add-ons, it can be annoying.

• azrai on Apr 22, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Proton own Gear Up. Can bundled with loan also?

• Darren on Apr 22, 2019 at 4:30 pm

“..the option of including the price of the options in your total purchase price (all lumped into the HP loan)”
      Clearly you should try to read the article.

• All official optional accessories can be bundled with the loan. TRD, Modulo, Nismo you name it.

• salgoodguy on Apr 22, 2019 at 3:46 pm

wow.. i felt premiumness for the asking price..

• Leeato on Apr 22, 2019 at 4:01 pm

Iam Johannesburg South Africa iam having a challenge in getting any outlets of proton around can someone pls help. Specifically looking for rings and bearings aswell as the oil pump,Proton saga 2010 model

• Darren on Apr 22, 2019 at 4:33 pm

You’re Johannesburg South Africa. Okayyyy… what a unique name for a person but anyway where are you from? Nigeria? Are you perchance related to the local royalty?

• I think you better contact Proton through its official website instead of asking around in automotive forums. Proton stopped SA operations in 2015 but it said will honour existing owners’ warranties and provide after sales services.

• Optimus on Apr 22, 2019 at 5:00 pm

Please ask in Proton official FB & Twitter.

• Wilson on Apr 22, 2019 at 4:54 pm

Why no power boot? That shit isbtoo heavy to close.

• You are so weak that you dont have the energy to close the boot ? Hahahahaha.

• singh awtar on Apr 23, 2019 at 7:18 am

settle the sofware upgrade problem lah rather than promoting accessories!

• PlainBS on Apr 23, 2019 at 2:37 pm

I guarantee you, that you can buy the same shit directly from China at half of the cost.

• Muhammad Nasir on Nov 07, 2021 at 12:11 am

I like to import Door side steps for my proton x 70 to Pakistan. What are the charges??

• NG KAK HENG on Dec 14, 2022 at 10:39 am

Hi, anyone know the proton x70 a.k.a. dashcam (RM1,299) is using what apps to control it? i’m just bought a secondhand X70 come with this dashcam, but i couldn’t find the apps to control this dashcam. Thank you.