Toyo Proxes TR1 launched: replaces T1R, from RM199

At the Sepang International Circuit this morning, the Toyo Proxes TR1 was officially launched for the Malaysian market. The new Ultra High Performance tyre replaces the Proxes T1R, featuring an asymmetric tyre pattern that Toyo Tires says improves wet weather performance and cornering stability.

The TR1 merges the designs of the Proxes T1R and the Proxes Sport, with the former’s long slanted groves and lateral slits contributing to better water drainage. The wide grooves, high-stiffness rib and tapered slits, on the other hand, are lifted from the Proxes Sport, increasing cornering grip and stability as well as further improving water drainage.

A new feature of the Proxes TR1 is the “wear process finder” indicator, using five stars to denote tyre wear – users are highly recommended to replace their tyres at zero stars. The materials are another highlight, with Super Active Polymers and a high silica content claimed to provide a good balance of wet weather grip and low rolling resistance.

In terms of construction, the Proxes TR1 gets a spiral-wind cap ply to provide handling stability both in the wet and in the dry, as do the high-tensile steel belts that also improve directional stability. Finally, high-hardness bead fillers add durability and a more linear steering response.

Toyo Tires says that the Proxes TR1 improves wet weather handling and braking performance by 16% over the Proxes T1R, while its rolling resistance meets UNECE R117 Stage 2 standards. The tyre is available in Malaysia in 24 sizes ranging from 15 to 19 inches in diameter, with recommended retail prices listed at between RM199 to RM800 per tyre.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tayar burok on Apr 22, 2019 at 2:44 pm

Somehow Toyo Tires made from softer materials, less durable to local weather and road conditions. Wear faster from experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Toyo tires are only made for drifting and gymkhana. Not durable for normal road usage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • panjang on Apr 23, 2019 at 10:58 am

I would luv to see someone use Toyo NanoEnergy to drift..let me know when u see one.

• Brian on Apr 23, 2019 at 2:10 pm

Tayar botak easy to drift. Softer tayar like Toyo makes it even easier.

• anonymous on Apr 22, 2019 at 3:24 pm

i don’t mind that as long as it offers comfort drive. either way, i change tire sets every 1-2 years.

• Are you a Kumho user?

Soft spot is for grip purpose. You can’t get grip and long usage in any kind of car. For example Adrenaline Potenza. Bad at long usage and wet, but awesome at dry with superb grip. As same Falken (cheaper alternative).

Silica is the best compound to reduce heat at tyre, thus improve useful life.

However if you want a good tyre (based on your spec), how about trying to pick UHP tyre, especially Pilot Sport 3. You’ll never want any other tyre than PS3 @ PS4 if you tried it. Slightly expensive but worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • panjang on Apr 22, 2019 at 4:53 pm

Problem is…majority of Malaysian still not educated about tires. Majority buy based on;
        1-Price
        2-Brand
        Most does not buy based on their needs.
        An entry level Michelin wont comes close to a mid range tire from other brand.

Interesting to see how this TR1 compared to PS4. The old T1R is comparable if not better in dry with PS3 but loses in wet. So does the wear.

• In Malaysian weather, can’t just focus on dry and ignore the lousier wet performance, bro. Michelins might be more expensive than equivalents but their overall performances (dry, wet, durability, handling, noise) are averagely better than most brands even when they aren’t outstanding in any categories. Basically if you want good overall tyres for normal usage, go for Michelin. They are worth the price difference.

• panjang on Apr 23, 2019 at 10:47 am

Yes and No…
            Michelin entry level model is never worth the price difference.

Their UHP series on the other hand is another story. They used to be best value for money but even the Koreans are on par level of overall performance with lower price.

If they are only better on average and not outstanding, i would gladly go for the outstanding other brand which most of the time cheaper.

• panjang on Apr 22, 2019 at 3:21 pm

Assuming the 15 inchers is RM199…its pretty cheap considering its a UHP tire.

• New Myvi can fit in with 15 inchers?

• Ben Yap on Apr 22, 2019 at 4:53 pm

never mention about road noise. it could be a noisy tyre.

• All UHP tires are always noisy. No need to mention, it is well known by users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • willi on Apr 22, 2019 at 6:18 pm

Toyo tayar bengkak 2 biji selepas satu tahun pakai. Harga tayar ada dlm RM800 lebih sebiji selepas GST. Tak berbaloi sbb 2 tayar lama jenama lain masih ok boleh guna sampai botak.

• Kak Tipah on Apr 22, 2019 at 8:09 pm

I disagreed if someone said Toyo tyre is not durable. You are implying all model is not good. It depend on what model you are talking about. I used Toyo Open Country HT for SUV. It last nearly 80,000km. No problem. Wear resistance is good, only a bit noisy. Which is expected.

• LB TOH on Apr 22, 2019 at 8:50 pm

What is the traction rating and threadwear Paultan.org? Is it traction A or traction AA?

• BeeAreVee on Apr 23, 2019 at 9:25 am

The gun metal rim looks nice

• vVivi Zurianti on Apr 23, 2019 at 10:33 am

Toyo tend to be noisier when worn-down after 300k drive. Is it just me?

• panjang on Apr 23, 2019 at 10:54 am

After 300k on the same tire i bet even your rims will be worn out and all the left are the spokes of your rims.

Tire noise is one very tricky thing to determine. Most test are only conducted on short term basis.

• u use same tyre for 300k km? wow..just wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Chung chuan Lam on Aug 02, 2021 at 8:44 am

I installed my 4 tires with 2 Toyo Nano in front and 2 kumho at back. After 1 year it’s clearly shown the kumho is wearing fast with 50% gone. My past experience always shown front tires consumed more treads than the back, so this minor experiment shown that Toyo last much longer.