Audi A3 Sedan, second-gen A5 Sportback now officially available in Malaysia – RM240k and RM340k

The Audi A3 Sedan and Audi A5 Sportback, which we showed you last month, has been officially announced. The official prices largely match those obtained from the showroom – RM239,750 for the A3 Sedan (was reported at RM239,900) and RM339,900 for the A5 Sportback, on-the-road without insurance.

Audi’s smallest sedan was previously sold here, but this A3 1.4 TFSI is the latest facelifted version. Note the wider and sharper singleframe grille, flanked by reshaped LED headlamps with a jagged bottom edge, in the style of the B9 A4. At the back, the LED taillights (with dynamic turn signals) have redesigned graphics, and there’s a re-profiled bumper. Our market gets 18-inch five-double-spoke alloys with 225/40 tyres.

Inside, subtle changes include a 12.3-inch Audi virtual cockpit instrument panel and a seven-inch retractable screen for the MMI Navigation plus infotainment system (was 5.8-inch). An eight-speaker sound system and MMI touch are present. The rest of the kit list reads dual-zone air con with rear vents, a leather-wrapped three-spoke steering, leather upholstery, powered front seats with four-way lumbar, Micrometallic silver trim, Audi drive select, Comfort key, and keyless entry/start.

The A3 is powered by a 1.4 litre turbo-four with 150 hp and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 3,500 rpm, mated to a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission. Zero to 100 km/h is done in 8.2 seconds and top speed is 224 km/h.

Moving on, the second-generation A5 Sportback is available here in 2.0 TFSI quattro form. Power comes from a 2.0 litre turbo-four that produces 252 hp and 370 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 4,500 rpm, paired to a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission and quattro AWD. That’s good for 0-100 km/h in six seconds flat and a 250 km/h top speed.

The four-door coupe comes with full-LED headlights with two-pronged daytime running lights, along with 19-inch multi-spoke alloys. Inside, the A5 gets the same full-width air vent design as the B9 A4, plus the full suite of Audi’s latest tech. These include the 12.3-inch Audi virtual cockpit and MMI navigation plus infotainment system – the latter adds an 8.3-inch freestanding screen and the MMI touch rotary controller ahead of the gearlever.

The interior is dressed in leather and leatherette upholstery with Silver Aluminium Ellipse trim and black headlining. Other standard features include keyless entry with push start, triple-zone auto air con, powered sports seats with driver’s side memory, adaptive dampers, a 10-speaker, 180-watt sound system, reverse camera and powered tailgate.

RM340k is a great price when you consider that the BMW 430i Coupe and Mercedes-Benz C300 Coupe – both are two-door rivals to the A5 Coupe not sold here – are priced beyond RM400k, although they come in M Sport and AMG Line trim, respectively. Both new Audis are packaged with a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

You can find full specifications of the A3 Sedan and A5 Sportback on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Audi A3 Sedan

GALLERY: Audi A5 Sportback

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• seriously RM240k for a “VW Jetta”…?
    up another 8k can get you a BMW 330e…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • jambu on Apr 26, 2019 at 2:08 pm

SHAME on you Audi… no drivers assistance systems?!?! What kinda Vorsprung durch Technik is this???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • EDITOR on Apr 26, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Audi Singapore thinks the price might be acceptable for Singaporeans but they haven’t done their market study when benchmarking against the other big German brands.

• Jeremiah Teoh on Apr 26, 2019 at 2:16 pm

A3 in Europe is known as a very very cheap car. Most Mini Cabs in UK use A3 or A4. That is how cheap the car is.

Truly Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world if a small A3 is already RM240k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • EDITOR on Apr 26, 2019 at 3:38 pm

Didn’t you say Thailand always had a higher car price than Malaysia? Is Thailand not part of this world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • EDITOR on Apr 26, 2019 at 4:15 pm

Hello, where did Jeremiah say that? Show evidence bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
        • EDITOR on Apr 26, 2019 at 5:18 pm

Your email is with me. I know who is who. Including those who copy my name.

• Edwin L on Apr 26, 2019 at 5:23 pm

When you continue to copy paste the same bullshits, we edi know who you are. The same troll is back. Sigh. When can we finally get rid this pest.

• Peter Masarovic on Apr 26, 2019 at 9:31 pm

A3 in Europe isn’t known as cheap car. Same price range as Mercedes A or BMW 1. My A3 Sportback 1.6 tdi stronic costs in 2016 24500 €.

• Ollie on Apr 26, 2019 at 2:19 pm

All Audis look the same, but somehow the A3 has perfect lines. The S3/RS3 is a sleeper performance machine. Not in the value dept, though.

• Madeline on Apr 29, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Most Audis design look like white elephant!!

look ugly some how or rather

• Can’t stress enough the importance of safety. Someone has started ripping Malaysia consumers max with mean offering and Audi, BMW and Mercedes Benz are continuing this type of exploitation till now. Charging big prices but brands with 1/3 of the price could offer better specs especially in the safety department!

• nobody buy audi here in bolehland

• omegle on Apr 26, 2019 at 2:35 pm

I might be missing out on something, but if the A3 is priced at 240k, why would anyone choose it over the A4 which is a larger car with a 2.0 engine.

• applegreen on Apr 26, 2019 at 2:36 pm

Audi A3 sedan or Merc A200 sedan better buy?

• jinggo on Apr 26, 2019 at 3:18 pm

very bad pricing.. huge!

• Socai (not ori) on Apr 26, 2019 at 4:06 pm

Buying cars in Malaysia is a good investment, recently, every new model either price increased , or only high-end engines for sale…look at Camry, Subaru, BMW, Merc, and nw Audi…

• Ravind Muniandy on Apr 26, 2019 at 4:34 pm

So, is Audi Malaysia planning to sell any cars this year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • rolly on Apr 26, 2019 at 5:04 pm

Trust me! Nobody will buy this a3 except they bring in s3 and rs3

• NoLogicc on Apr 26, 2019 at 5:27 pm

G30 BMW 530e also 340k.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 26, 2019 at 10:50 pm

Now at 344k with M Sport kit and driver assists. But then it ain’t a good looker compared to the A5.

• Henry on Apr 26, 2019 at 5:29 pm

This kind of prices only proves how much the RM have shrunk.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 26, 2019 at 9:40 pm

audi planning to do cheap sale in december

• wow the A3 status upliften to C-class/3 series range :D

• Kumar on Apr 28, 2019 at 1:06 pm

I don’t see anyone buying the A3 over the merc or bmw..priced to high..

• adham on Apr 28, 2019 at 9:53 pm

is it only me, Audi A3 dashboard design looks like Proton Saga FL dashboard… Looks so cheapo…