May 2019 week one fuel price – slight hike for RON 97

Yes, it’s Friday, so it’s the usual weekly fuel price update. The price of RON 97 petrol climbs yet again, but after the big hike last week, the increase is marginal this week.

As of tomorrow, April 27, RON 97 will be priced at RM2.81 per litre (up by one sen from its RM2.80 last week). No change in the price of RON 95 petrol, which continues to be pegged at RM2.08 per litre, the maximum price consumers pay no matter how high market prices push pump prices beyond that.

Likewise, the pegged Euro 2M diesel continues to be priced at RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel – which is always 10 sen more – continues to retail at RM2.28 per litre. The government says that based on Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations, RON 95 petrol would be priced at RM2.51 per litre, while diesel would be priced at RM2.48 per litre without the price cap in place.

These prices will remain in effect until May 3, when the next set of fuel pricing adjustments will be announced. This is the 17th edition of the weekly fuel pricing format, which is announced every Friday, and takes effect from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kassim bin Atan on Apr 26, 2019 at 6:18 pm

There is a rumour that the fixed RM2.08 Ron 95 will come to a stop. I welcome this. This is because all over the world, all countries follow global pricing of oil.

Their rakyat and consumers have got used to it. In Malaysia we are used to subsidy and Government help. Rakyat has become reliant on a “false” market pricing mechanism.

It is good we do away with subsidies. It does not help us in the long run. And it burdens the Government with heavy subsidy bills. Look at Singapore, their rakyat is fine with petrol that have no subsidy.

Time we become like other countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 73
    • Fuel price keep increasing, which is a good thing because the gov have already done their best to maintain the price. If not because of PH, maybe fuel price is 2x higher than today and everyone will be game over. Syabas PH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 74
    • S.Ibrahim on Apr 27, 2019 at 1:48 am

The rakyat voted for a Government that promised them subsidies for this and that and everything else, not the Government that wanted them to face the outside world standing on their own two feet.
      So this Government shouldn’t be renegading on their promises with piles and piles of lame excuses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 68
    • Vhy Sisition on Apr 28, 2019 at 7:13 am

You paid for every tax thats exist and get nothing in return? Are you crazy bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Fernandiee on Apr 28, 2019 at 2:18 pm

Cakap pandai..

• Voice of reason on Apr 28, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Look at the alternative affordable transportation available in Singapore. Do we have it here in Malaysia? Please make rational comparisons instead of the price alone.

• Beg to Diff on Apr 29, 2019 at 12:59 pm

While I agree on the subsidy to be abolished, I strongly believe the public transport issue is the first to tackle (in transportation context).

Comparing our country to Singapore is rather irrelevant, unless we have a reliable transport system, we can live relying on the public transport, especially going to work, then I think we can compare to Singapore.

Despite all the fusses with the previous Gov’t issues. I strongly believe their move on empowering public transport is one of their good efforts. I take MRT to work everyday, but the feeder bus does not serve my area, I still need to spend big sum of money to get to the MRT station.

But, spending that money is cheaper than I’m driving all the way to the office. RM100 per month is a good thing the current government offers. Now, they need to empower the bus systems, congestion charges in KL is almost a must to improve the bus systems punctuality.

• CukaiCukai on Apr 29, 2019 at 4:04 pm

If because “This is because all over the world” is THE justification on doing things, why abolish GST when most countries in the world are using GST?
      Malaysia is the ONLY country going backward from GST to SST.
      If the country’s financial is in bad shape, why lower the country’s income by abolishing GST? To lessen rakyat’s burden on high price because of GST? Yeah, like SST really lessen the burden.. pffftt..

• Amran on Apr 26, 2019 at 6:21 pm

Harga turun pentaksub membodek kerajaan. Harga dah naik, kenapa tak marah kerajaan? Dulu harga turun, skrng dah naik. Dulu harga kereta dan motor turun, skrng harga dah naik mendadak. Cilaka betul la PH ni!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 91
  • Kancil Hybrid on Apr 26, 2019 at 7:30 pm

Memang patut pon… Kereta oghang kaya RON97 subsidized kete miskin Ron92 kami..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • Ron97 and ron95 no longer subsidized after targeted subsidy introduced.. This what raykat want. Thank you PH government.. You are doing the great job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Khairul Izam on Apr 27, 2019 at 8:23 am

Mane u dapat minyak RON92 ye?

• Linda on Apr 28, 2019 at 4:43 pm

Blind oso can see poor rakyat jelita Cik City demands for cheaper RON92 unleaded euro5 petrol.

• Masih lagi murah berbanding Brunai…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 5
  • Not Toyota Fan on Apr 26, 2019 at 8:59 pm

(sarcasm mode ON) Syukur Msia Aman. Hidup PH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • tulen on Apr 27, 2019 at 9:18 am

(Double sarcasm mode ON) Syukur RON97 naik 1 sen saja. Beratur panjang beli roti Auntie Anne’s dan minum Bubble tea memang biasa laa. Syukur Msia Aman. Rakyat Hidup senang gembira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Apr 26, 2019 at 9:08 pm

As above

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 326 Thumb down 216
    • Malao across tebrau strait on Apr 26, 2019 at 11:48 pm

I’m your southern neighbor always pump 99 cents per liter. Don’t envy me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Ghani on Apr 27, 2019 at 9:30 pm

I don’t envy you. I can keep my beloved classic cars while you have to scrap yours after 10 years and replace it with another with skyhigh COE. So no envy at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • Sritharan on Apr 28, 2019 at 12:11 am

Good one bro Ghani. We Malaysians are truly blessed as citizens here in this beautiful and bountiful country of ours. With the wide spread corruption and culprits rooted out, may the Nation and we all Rakyat stand united and prosper again !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Singaporean Honda Ah Beng on Apr 27, 2019 at 10:37 pm

Also, we must speed speed on NS right lane. Hope malaysians give way to us!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • Malaysian Honda Abang on Apr 28, 2019 at 4:59 pm

U think Malaysian Abang 2 dun do that on their 150cc little bikes kah?

• Abesla on Apr 27, 2019 at 9:37 pm

If this is not the Endgame for PH, then it is the Endgame for Malaysia. Abesla Malaysia if we do not get rid of them!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 94
    • Maszlee on Apr 29, 2019 at 1:49 pm

Org atas mudah lupa kah atau tak tau baca?

https://paultan.org/2018/09/12/rm1-50-petrol-not-in-ph-manifesto-targeted-fuel-subsidy-for-kapcai-cars-below-1-3l-next-year/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • National Flying Drone Project is also not part of Manifesto yet we got shoved this useless project and having to foot out RM20million for it. Don’t talk about the Manifesto, it isn’t worth the paper it was printed on (except for the crony printer that laughed all the way while printing this joke book).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Senseless w such update. The prices isn’t constructive anymore. Pls tell the nation that the price will be ten zilions by the time of July B40 and such.