Subaru XV GT Edition now in Malaysia – RM130,788

TC Subaru today launched the new Subaru XV GT Edition, which is a unique version of the crossover based on the existing 2.0i-P variant. Priced at RM130,788 on-the-road without insurance (includes a five-year/100,000 km warranty), the model comes with several aesthetic enhancements to ensure it stands out from a regular XV on the road.

This includes a full exterior package that consists of a front and rear bumper lip extensions, side skirts and a sportier roof spoiler. Some of these add-ons feature silver accents on them, providing a bit of contrast to the rest of the bodywork.

You’ll also get a set of 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels in fan blade design, which are coupled with 225/55 tyres and dedicated centre caps. Eagle-eyed readers will also notice the rear diffuser area of the GT Edition is now finished in black rather than following the body colour.

Inside, the GT Edition comes with special two-tone leather seats (with grey and orange contrast stitching) and floor mats. Another feature that you only get with the GT Edition is a side view monitor system, with cameras located on the lower half of the side mirrors to give you a better view of what’s beside the vehicle.

No changes under the bonnet, as the GT Edition retains the familiar FB20 2.0 litre direct-injected NA four-cylinder boxer petrol engine. The mill offers 156 PS at 6,000 rpm and 196 Nm at 4,000 rpm, with drive going to the road via a Lineartronic CVT (seven virtual ratios) and Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive system (with X-Mode).

Standard equipment on the GT Edition largely mimics the 2.0i-P, including automatic LED headlamps (with Steering Responsive Headlights feature), dual-zone climate control, a dash-mounted 6.3-inch multi-function display, eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system, 4.2-inch TFT LCD instrument cluster display, power-adjustable driver’s seat, paddle shifters and a rear-view camera.

As for safety equipment, you’ll still get seven airbags (front, front side, front/rear curtain and knee). ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) and rear Isofix child seat anchors.

The GT Edition is the result of a collaboration with Giken Co Limited and Masahiko Kobayashi, the latter being the former chief designer (head of global advanced design studio) at Subaru Corporation.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Celup King on May 08, 2019 at 7:21 pm

“GT Edition”….. “No changes under the bonnet”
    o_0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Very overpriced considering you can get Mazda CX5, Nissan X-Trail, Mitsubishi Outlander 7 seater and VW Tiguan for more or less the same price.

Subaru never learns their lesson on pricing in Malaysia.

Last time people bought a lot of Forester cause it was RM116k. This made Subaru syiok sendiri and arrogant

Don’t be fooled. Malaysians ar eprice sensitive. You try to sell your Forester for RM170k…..ZERO buyers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • Wilson Kokokoko on May 08, 2019 at 10:40 pm

Nissan X-Trail? Ah. Forget about it. Kaput gearbox.

• Wilson Khoo Permaban on May 09, 2019 at 11:29 am

Nissan is a good car. The only person here that bash Nissan kaw kaw is Mario and Dupes… i mean Bros. (AKA wilson khoo!)

Ha ha ha ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • This XV is ENDGAME on RM130k. The GAME CHANGER X70 and HRV will easily win this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Why the side cameras looks like an afterthought? It looks as though they used duck tape to stick the cameras

• Ongtk on May 08, 2019 at 8:42 pm

Still no Eyesight. Big let down

• Megane on May 08, 2019 at 10:08 pm

Interior stuck in the 1990s. What a let down

• al rocker on May 08, 2019 at 11:19 pm

XV + GT = brand new XV gt edition ,what a new car

• autodriver (Member) on May 09, 2019 at 8:46 am

Good luck selling it at RM130k. At this price people will go for X70 full spec which give more gadgets and more space and yet cheaper.

• Rakyat Msia on May 09, 2019 at 8:54 am

Good Luck TCM

• Shamsul Idham Ahad on May 09, 2019 at 8:57 am

Bought XV for my wife last year. Car performance is good. Main complaints are the radio/entertainment model is lousy and also the aircond vents are too small and not available for rear.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 09, 2019 at 9:10 am

dead on arrival. year end 80k cheap fire sale.

• Ongtk on May 09, 2019 at 10:06 am

You only get to see more newly registered XVs on the road when MI runs their promotion. I am hesitant to return to the brand based on my past experience. The XV price dropped RM12K within 6 months after I bought.

• Robinhood on Jun 24, 2019 at 9:52 am

Get a BMW or any conti’s and the price dropped RM50k or more after 6 months.lol

• vVivi Zurianti on May 09, 2019 at 10:39 am

Can the designer be more imaginative?? heck, even the rim design tak boleh pakai. And selling at Rm130K?…..sign…..

• passion on May 09, 2019 at 11:37 am

BYE BYE SUBARU!

• Since there is still no Subaru Eyesight feature in this car, what is the point of buying it?

• A very uninspiring offering.

Difficult to see this creating any sales traction.

• kingkong on May 10, 2019 at 3:33 pm

bloody good looking skirting done for this new GT. where can i get one? planning to fit onto my 2018 xv

• Autobahn on May 12, 2019 at 5:47 am

156hp 196nm u can call it super gtr it still a snail. spend the xtra 10k get the sportage gt diesel with 185hp 400nm 8 speed. U get great mileage and power to boot

• Kenny Wong on Dec 08, 2019 at 11:50 pm

Please put in a 1.6 turbo engine, you (subaru) have it right?