PLUS funding 11 additional AWAS cameras along NSE

At yesterday’s vehicle handover ceremony where the Road Transport Department (JPJ) received 10 units of the Honda CR-V 2.0L from PLUS Malaysia for use as enforcement vehicles, the highway concessionaire announced that it is currently funding the installation of 11 additional AWAS cameras at accident-prone areas along the North-South Expressway (NSE), and this is set to take place in the next few months.

“The presence of authorities on the highways was able to reduce traffic offences such as the misuse of emergency lanes, reckless driving and speeding,” said PLUS MD Datuk Azman Ismail. Last month, the government said it planned to increase the number of Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) cameras at accident-prone locations.

Collaborations between PLUS and JPJ as well as with other enforcement agencies and road safety initiatives by PLUS have seen a ‘significant reduction’ in accidents along the NSE, PLUS said. In 2016, 14,532 accident cases were reported, but this dropped to 13,269 cases last year. PLUS’ records and research show that 80% of all accidents which take place on highways result from human factors such as speeding.

The initial cost of RM3 million for the installation of the AWAS cameras as well as the associated subsequent expenditure will be absorbed by PLUS, while enforcement will continue to be the duty of JPJ. The locations of the new AWAS cameras will be decided upon after collaborative research involving PLUS and the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety (MIROS), which is expected to be finalised this year.

For now, 19 AWAS cameras have been installed along the PLUS highway, and certain areas will receive attention first, such as the stretch near the Menora Tunnel in Ipoh which has been accident-prone, said deputy transport minister Datuk Kamarudin Jaffar.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Syabas PLUS and JPJ ! Kipidapp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Flying Sampan 400kmph on May 17, 2019 at 7:02 pm

LULz Speeding Gonzales will slow to merely 80km/h before after 800 meters away from AWAS camera then Speeding Gonzales will full throttle 200km/h leaving smokes behind….

• RicoT on May 18, 2019 at 12:52 pm

Without AWAS camera, 70% Speeding Gonzales of driving 160km/h around the corner, 20% of them will involve in accident.

With AWAS camera, before the corner, 70% reduced to 10% Speeding Gonzales still take that corner at 160km/h, but the rest will slow down either scare of saman, or traffic going at 80km/h. The purpose of AWAS camera is to make driver slow down and reduce accident, after that at the straight Speeding Gonzales go 200km/h also no one cares, because the risk of crashing is low.

• Uncle Jo on May 17, 2019 at 11:48 am

Why only additional 11 cameras? I drive up to 120 kmh in slow/middle lane also cars/buses tailgate me very close.

Should be additional 50 cameras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • Dredd on May 17, 2019 at 12:09 pm

No point funding for 11 cameras or 11,111 cameras when summons accrued gets cancelled every so often.

• pengayuhbasikal on May 17, 2019 at 12:10 pm

accident prone area…jangan install kamera…improve that area … ni semua kerja nak mudah …. memanglah speed contribute to accident … tapi accident tak semestinya sebab speed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • panjang on May 17, 2019 at 12:38 pm

I always support enforcement but hiding behind questionable statistic is lame.

Do PLUS have evidence the reduction of accident is result of the camera installation?
    I can say that lesser people uses the highway to travel esp for holidays due to the slow economy.

Then mentioning 80% is due to human factor such as speeding. How many percent does the ‘such as’ by speeding alone?

• drMpower on May 17, 2019 at 12:44 pm

I can prove scientifically speed never kill. Suddenly being stationary, that is it. And actually to avoid jam, everyone needs to speed up. The concept is identical to water coming out of the hose. If u squeeze the hose then the water comes out very fast.

Its time for us to ditch PLUS, really. Let us start the ball rolling for a new high speed highway aka German Autobahn. The business model is exactly as the PLUS version but with a pre-register user mechanism. Meaning if an owner of a car to use this new Malaysian Autobahn that comes with unlimited speeding, then they need to sign a pre registration. Its not open to everyone. Because we dont want a crazy stupid people doing 60 kph on the free way. Also we dont want stupid lorry or whatever that highly risk to malfunctions. I am still thinking whether to ban the LamboMyvis. Nothing to do with the car but more to the stupid drivers who thinks the car can fly.

The fee is on the high side but worry not you will be guaranteed smooth sailing ride of about 2 hours from the north to Klang Valley and likewise to the south.

PLUS will be condemned to the abyss with this. All of this because of that stupid idea of footing the bills for the cameras. Well played

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Uncle Bob on May 17, 2019 at 5:10 pm

The highway is there for everyone’s use. It’s not there to serve only certain specific groups of people. eg: boy racers like you.

Those stupid lorries is what supplies goods to the people and possibly you and your families also. It helps the economy.

Just because you can handle 200km/h doesn’t mean everyone else can (or want to). There are older drivers or disabled drivers or just normal people enjoying a cruise. Your suggestion means banning everyone off the highways except boy racers like you.

Furthermore, as a huge motorsports fan and a go-kart enthusiast, I am not confident at all that our highways can handle high speeds, especially when it comes to road surfacing (grip). Our highway surfaces are different to that of Autobahn surfaces or dedicated race track surfaces like sepang. The levels of grip is different. And to resurface the whole highway is insane.

• Driving on the fast lane, even now Myvis are flashing highbeam at Civic TypeR and Suprima turbo… whats more MY Autobahn ,

• Ooi YK on May 17, 2019 at 1:01 pm

Instead funding more camera at NKVE, BETTER still spend more afford and budget in CLEARING UP the OBJECTs on the road of NKVE – which will provide a safe drive for PLUS user and less accidents.
    PLUS/Traffic police can table out the statistics of accident on hitting object on the road in PLUS NKVE highway. Seem common hitting object at NKVE (objects drop accidentally or purposely and at certain hot spot area; we don’t know – but whatever NEED clean/clear up in fast interim) which you not seeing it much at kampung conventional road. It is a basic that can be done and safe life. Please look into it….

• John Doe on May 17, 2019 at 2:06 pm

Why is the AES cost increase so substantially now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Aik?! Last time said AES is a waste of public funds and the purchase price is not transparent la, crony la, bla..bla..bla..
    Now the new Government is actually INCREASING the purchase and installation of AES? In other words they are in agreement with the previous Govt that AES managed to reduce the number of accidents? What gives? I smell a rat….
    Whistle-blowers wanted….

• Darren on May 17, 2019 at 11:28 pm

After they looked at what the free world is doing to Assange and Snowden, no one wants to be whistle-blower anymore unless they get free passage to NKorea or Russia or China.

• smell a rat….calling2 Ates & Beta Tegap…

• No toll then on May 17, 2019 at 4:51 pm

I propose PLUS to do away with toll collection for North South Highway if more AES cameras are installed. The revenue generated from summons should be enough to maintain the highway. Agreed?
    If PLUS says it is not enough, then outsource the cameras to my private company and I will maintain it for them..

• install aes but do not give any warning or location. make it like normal speed trap..hate to see myvi doing 140 then suddenly braking to farking 70/80kmh

• vVivi Zurianti on May 19, 2019 at 10:04 am

Tangkap, tangkap all the speeder.
    Saman and saman all the speeder.

If they can own BMW, MERC, etc…..I am sure the saman is only peanut to them.

• John Kok on May 20, 2019 at 7:02 pm

Stupiak PLUS funding AES. Go fund on Highway improvement and visibility.