Hyundai Santa Fe TM launched in Malaysia – 2.4 MPi and 2.2 CRDi, Executive and Premium, from RM170k

Six months after the new Hyundai Santa Fe was previewed at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS) in November, Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has finally announced the start of sales in the country. The fourth-generation TM model is available in 2.4 MPi 2WD petrol and 2.2 CRDi AWD diesel forms, both of which come in Executive and Premium variants.

Let’s start with the most important piece of information, pricing. As revealed earlier, the petrol models are priced at RM169,888 for the Executive variant and RM189,888 for the Premium, while the diesels retail at RM191,888 and RM211,888 respectively. All prices, valid until end-June, are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty and three-year/50,000 km free servicing.

The variants are identical across both powertrain options, which include a 2.4 litre Theta II MPi naturally-aspirated petrol engine that delivers 172 PS at 6,000 rpm and 225 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Power is sent to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission.

The 2.2 litre R CRDi turbodiesel, meanwhile, puts out 193 PS at 3,800 rpm and a stout 440 Nm from 1,750 to 2,750 rpm. It is mated to a new eight-speed automatic and Hyundai’s HTRAC variable all-wheel drive system capable of sending up to 35% of torque to the rear wheels (50% in Sport mode).

The new Santa Fe certainly cuts a distinctive figure, with a more assertive design compared to its handsome-but-milquetoast predecessor. At the front, there are dual-tier headlights that can now be found on other Hyundai SUVs like the Kona and Venue, with a slim row of LED daytime running lights up top and larger main units underneath. There’s also the brand’s latest Cascading Grille.

Along the side, you’ll find squared-off wheel arches accentuated by black cladding and prominent lines around it, while a simple character line stretches from the headlights to the wraparound two-piece tail lights. The indicators and reverse lights have been cast off into the bumper, where you’ll also find swathes of black plastic and a large silver protective guard.

Break out the measuring tape and you’ll realise that the new Santa Fe is a big car. Measuring 4,770 mm long, 1,890 mm wide and 1,680 mm tall, it’s 80 mm longer and 10 mm wider than before, and its 2,765 mm wheelbase is 65 mm longer.

Inside, there’s a sweeping three-tier dashboard – the freestanding infotainment display sits up top, followed by the slim air vents in the middle and the rest of the switchgear down below. Hyundai says the cabin uses high-quality materials and colours, and prioritises customer convenience.

Practicality, a major consideration for buyers in this segment, has also been improved. The increased length and wheelbase provides what Hyundai claims is best-in-class legroom for the second row, while third-row headroom has also been increased.

Entry and egress for those in the last row has also been made easier thanks to a one-touch tilt-and-slide second row, while a pair of buttons in the boot can be used to fold those seats down to increase luggage space from 547 litres (with the third row folded) to 1,625 litres.

Under the skin, the new Santa Fe has been tuned to deliver greater vehicle stability, comfort and refinement, thanks to a revised suspension setup that is stiffer and angled more vertically for a longer travel length. Road noise is also reduced through the use of more sound deadening materials.

In terms of equipment, the Executive models come with projector halogen headlights, 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, cruise control, dual-zone climate control with ioniser, a 10-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, black leather upholstery, a freestanding seven-inch infotainment touchscreen with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity and a reverse camera.

For an extra RM20,000, the Premium variants add adaptive LED headlights, LED tail lights, LED fog lights, 19-inch alloys, leather dashboard trim, an eight-way powered passenger seat with Toyota Camry-style shoulder buttons, a seven-inch Supervision instrument display, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror and a powered tailgate. They also receive an optional burgundy interior colour scheme with suede headlining, costing an extra RM2,000 (the other colours you see here are not representative of the actual cars).

Safety-wise, the Santa Fe comes with six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill descent control and ISOFIX second-row child seat anchors, but only the Premium variants get blind spot monitoring with rear cross traffic alert and a novel Rear Occupant Alert (ROA) that warns you if a child is left in a seat behind. There’s still no autonomous emergency braking here.

GALLERY: 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4 MPi Executive

GALLERY: 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4 MPi Premium
GALLERY: 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi Executive
GALLERY: 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi Premium

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• No 8 inch screen

No active safety (AEB, ACCC etc)

No digital dashboard

No premium sound system

Not sure about engine, but I think the 2.0 Turbo (available in US) will be more popular here.

I like Hyundai. My relatives in Australia drive Hyundai’s since they’re well-specced and competitively priced. But poor spec and pricing in Malaysia is disappointing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • I wonder if they have fixed the electronic parking brake(epb) problem of the previous DM model. That common issue can brick your car and if not in warranty, cost a few thousand ringgit at the workshop to fix.

• Gulai ayam kampung on May 29, 2019 at 2:43 pm

Don’t worry because the game changing Hyundai Santa fe have a world-class quality and is using award winning engine eventhough it is poor-speced. The X70 may be well-speced but we will expect engine problems after 1 year of use

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Keyboard warrior, pity u not even dare to go to the showroom…anyway, I am going to test drive this weekend

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Ah Beng, if 2.0T is available, do u afford to buy or not? Giving so many negative comments, I wonder what car are u driving? Aruz, Avanza, Alza, or BRV?…lol

• Patrick on May 30, 2019 at 2:09 pm

Yes, true although marketed as top spec/premium model here …The high specs are poorer specked compared to similar models in Australia. As mentioned no 8 inch screen, premium sound sys, AEB, ACCC.. Heads up display ..etc… This should be included too as part of premuim package.. Even the Nissan Xtrail..premium spec version has all this packeged in..all fr approx RM160+ K…

• excimo on May 28, 2019 at 9:22 pm

Buy Kia Sorento better. More cheaper and safer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • In UK where i stay, the Hyundai Santa Fe same priced as Mazda CX9 sold for Rm300k in Msia.

• nope…still higher service cost than japanese brand

• buku cerita on May 28, 2019 at 9:36 pm

Santa Fe cost more than 170K??? I will buy Kia Sorento becoz cheaper and many features

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 28, 2019 at 10:03 pm

the interior totally lose to x70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
    • Karipap on May 29, 2019 at 8:35 am

The game changing SUV from Korea have been launched! Now we all are so excited to sell our rebadged China car and we can go to the nearest Hyundai showroom to book this superb SUV with stunning design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • Something is really wrong with Malaysia or the ringgit if a cheapo Korean car is RM212k

Past 20 years our ringgit has been weakening so much

• panjang on May 29, 2019 at 9:32 am

Both car totally lose big in RV

• Curwen Tan Pei Hong on May 30, 2019 at 10:00 am

Why did you always compare that ugly proton x70 (GEELY BOYUE ) with this car.The proton x70 interior is ugly with no floating type screen in 2019.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 31, 2019 at 4:16 pm

floating screen is a gimmick conceived by carmakers to save money

• suomynona on May 28, 2019 at 10:17 pm

I’m not a family man (not really even a man yet), but I’m strangely attracted to this Santa Fe :O Hyundai has been quirky lately, so much so you don’t need the French for quirkiness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on May 28, 2019 at 10:19 pm

Proton owners laugh in X70.

• EDITOR on May 28, 2019 at 10:38 pm

Headlights so small and squinty. How to anything there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
  • Good luck having a good sales count. Diesel, but harsh, unlike a Mazda. Without driver-assist features unlike the Honda (CR-V), the Nissan (X-TRAIL) and the Proton (X70).

• suomynona on May 29, 2019 at 8:22 am

Looks like Sime Darby is trying to reel in profit for themselves, stay away from buying their cars long enough and they’ll feel the pinch, they’ll give in and offer some Active safety too

• Somoi on May 29, 2019 at 7:13 am

Price like premium but equipment is mediocre – no adaptive radar cruise control & other safety feature befitting the price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Right Handed on May 29, 2019 at 8:12 am

At least the turn signal control is on the correct side.

• Mr Hakim on May 29, 2019 at 8:36 am

Overpriced meh, the premium also not worth 170k. Should go by 130k below only.

• Jason Kiwak on Feb 02, 2020 at 5:04 pm

Are you an idiot? Come on, with this size, the price are considered good enough. Have you seen the price in UK? Give a proper comment la. If you don’t have money, go back and stick to your honda city

• ahmadjohnson97 on May 29, 2019 at 8:56 am

Still no I30 n HSDM? How about Elantra GT N-line?

• anonymous on May 29, 2019 at 9:48 am

This is mid size SUV, why people here compare this to CRV, CX-5, X70?

• Ollie on May 29, 2019 at 10:10 am

Pitiful color scheme yet most people here are buying grey or turd colored cars

• lilytan on May 29, 2019 at 11:49 am

Seriously? Still Theta II engine and no AEB? This beauty, like many in korea is only skin-deep.

• suomynona on May 29, 2019 at 2:07 pm

‘2.2 litre Theta II MPi’, there’s a typo in the page above, isn’t the petrol a 2.4? :x

• pak maun on May 29, 2019 at 2:40 pm

why panoramic roof missing here.. spoiled

• Mystvearn on May 29, 2019 at 3:33 pm

Sorento hs diesel is cheaper.

• Marcus on May 31, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Malaysia import taxes of vehicles is ridiculous high, even with new government still can’t reduce it. Anyway for the price of these new models, Mazda CX-5 or coming CX-8 is much wiser choices due to design & fuel economy.