2019 Proton Exora RC vs Perodua Alza: we compare the service costs of both over five years/100,000 km

During the launch of the 2019 Proton Exora RC, the national carmaker highlighted the service costs of its new MPV over five-year period, which is lower compared to cars dubbed “Model X” and “Model Y”.

Looking at one of the slides shown by Proton, Model X is the closest to the Exora RC when it comes to this matter, with slightly over RM200 separating both cars. A little bit of information digging on our part revealed Model X to be the Perodua Alza 1.5 with an automatic transmission.

In terms of specifications, the seven-seat Exora is offered with only a 1.6 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine (140 PS and 205 Nm) that sends drive to the front wheels via a CVT. Meanwhile, the five-seat Alza is powered by a 3SZ-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-pot with 104 PS and 136 Nm. Like the Exora, it is also a front-wheel drive vehicle, but uses a four-speed torque converter automatic instead.

The figures in these tables were obtained from official sources (as of May 31, 2019), namely the MyProton app and Perodua’s official website, with the latter now listing out the Pro Care preventative service maintenance options more clearly, likely after the confusion that came about when we compared the Bezza’s servicing costs against the Persona back in February. While Pro Care service items are optional, Perodua states it “is recommended to maintain your Perodua at optimum condition.”

Comparing the itemised list of parts/fluids that are used for both cars, we can see that the price(s) of engine oil used for the Alza (5W-30) is less compared to what the Exora uses (10W-30). It’s also interesting to note that after the three-month/5,000 km service interval, the Alza switches from API (American Petroleum Institute) SL-rated engine oil to an SM-rated one. The Exora, with its turbocharger, runs engine oil following the more recent SN rating instead.

The Alza also requires more frequent spark plug changes, which happens every 20,000 km. While the Exora only requires a change at the 70,000-km mark, it uses iridium spark plugs that cost about the same as the Alza’s five changes over a five-year period.

We can also see Perodua changes the cabin filter in the Alza more frequently (every 30,000 km), while this isn’t listed in the Exora’s service schedule. However, the Proton MPV has to change other items that the Alza doesn’t, including turbocharger-related components, the timing belt and fuel filter.

The Exora also requires power steering fluid top ups every 40,000 km, while this is a Pro Care option for Alza owners at the 100,000-km mark. Additionally, the cost of the Exora’s transmission oil and filter for the CVT is higher when compared to what’s required for the Alza’s four-speed box.

Indeed, when you look at the total service cost for the Exora over five years, it’s noticeably lower compared to the Alza. The reason the slide and our tables show a smaller sum is because the amount factors in a limited time promotion that Proton is offering to customers who purchase an Exora RC before December 31, 2019.

With the promotion, customers who purchase an Exora before the stipulated date will be entitled to five years (or 11 times) of free labour service. Therefore, without the promotion in play, the service cost gap between the two models is actually in favour of the Alza.

Keep in mind that there are some factors that aren’t considered here, some of which boils down to individual ownership. This includes things like fuel consumption, as well as consumables such as brake pads, shock absorbers, batteries and tyres that vary between the two vehicles.

2019 Proton Exora RC 1.6L CVT (left), Perodua Alza 1.5L AT (right); click to enlarge

If you’re curious, Model Y is the Toyota Avanza, which Proton says has a higher service cost over five years compared to the Exora (with the above-mentioned promotion factored in) and Alza, but we’re focusing on national car brands in this comparison.

With the details presented to you, share your thoughts on the matter in the comments below. These figures are based on what is listed on manufacturers’ websites at the time of writing, and that actual prices may vary.

We’ve done other service cost comparison in the past as well – Proton X70 vs Honda CR-V, Perodua Aruz vs Honda BR-V, and more recently, the 2019 Proton Persona vs Perodua Bezza – which you can also check out.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Samun Loo on May 31, 2019 at 1:22 pm

LOL people are buying more ten years old alphard veilfire for the same fifty plus thousand and happy with its low maintenance expenditure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 51
    • Nasi kerabu on May 31, 2019 at 1:33 pm

Perodua is a game changing company. They make the service cost cheaper so that many people will buy the Alza. Exora service cost in the other hand is very expensive and since the car is already aging, people will most likely go for the Alza which is more modern

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 58
      • Roti troll = Raja jamban on May 31, 2019 at 4:16 pm

Exora service cost is very expensive while Alza is cheaper?

Total cost:
        Exora : RM2422,93
        Alza : RM2630,70
        Data based on the picture above.

So you either have an eyesight problem or comprehension problem and I suggest you to leave your keyboard and study more to improve your comprehension.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
        • Jessy on May 31, 2019 at 4:56 pm

Alza RM2630.70 – RM2422.93 exora = RM207.77 different only.
          U pay for more fuel on exora cost u alot more than alza.
          Alza full tank 42L ron95 RM2.08 x 42L = RM87.36
          Exora full tank 55L ron95 RM2.08 x 55L = RM114.4
          Yes normally people fill in full tank once a week. Let say alza n exora each fill in full tank once a week, means 4 times a month, means “48” times a year .

Alza RM87.36. x 48 = RM4193.28
          Exora RM114.4 x 48 = RM5491.2
          Difference of RM1297.92.
          So which car more save ur budget?
          U prefer the RM207.7 diff in service cost or u like the RM1297.92 diff in paying for fuel?
          Correct me if im wrong yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 54
          • Celup King on May 31, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Exora is safer than Alza. You can’t quantify life based on dollars and cents. No amount of fuel saved can bring back a life lost from an unsafe Alza.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 15
          • Celupar King on May 31, 2019 at 6:23 pm

U want safer car get alphard la. Vellfire ka. VW ka. Volvo ka. Bmw ka. Misidis ka. Since dollar no problem for u and amount of fuel no problem for u. Why take exora Or alza which so so less safe than those alphard, bmw, misidis, vw, volvo n bla bla bla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 43
          • Aikon on May 31, 2019 at 6:54 pm

Simple lah, you want big car or small car. If you can only afford small car then buy small car lor. No need to argue your case so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • The Exora is a whole segment bigger than the Alza. The Exora is the same class as the Innova. Everyone know Innova is a fuel-guzzling beast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
          • Ollie on May 31, 2019 at 9:00 pm

Jessy.. Oh wow… If this is how you calculate fuel economy. Actually I’m speechless. I thought math was taught in kindergarten. Maybe you’re not yet in kindergarten. I don’t know if to teach you or maybe you’re too young to understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 20
          • Potato13 on Jun 01, 2019 at 11:07 am

Wow, the most stupid fuel consumption calculation ever. With this kind if calculation, car companies no need to tell us km/l anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
          • ExpiredPotato on Jun 01, 2019 at 11:39 am

Another keyboard warrior who only talk without using brain. If u smart potato why not u work in car company? Do u think car companies tell u km/l accurately? Thats only average and not 100% accurate. People doing calculation for themselve at least know their budget. You are more stupid potato face. Ur brain made of potato is it? Lols.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
          • BringItOn on Jun 01, 2019 at 11:44 am

Well well. Looks like few disappointed exora owner reply here and tend to put a blame on others because they make a wrong choice buying car. Nextime get a alphard and dont complaint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • English Teacher on Jun 01, 2019 at 11:48 am

First time I see how dedicated P2 sales folks go to defend their pathetic fuel guzzling engines, you would even go so far as to redefine how the world calculates fuel consumption! I would give you a like for effort but then I would have to minus 10 for the sheer stupidity. To save time I will just fail you for that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
          • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 02, 2019 at 1:10 pm

One can only conclude that Perodua owners are stupid. I hope you don’t go saying this to your friends at Raya open houses la ok? Malu worrrr

• ToRegretOwner on Jun 03, 2019 at 11:32 am

English teacher failed math thats wanna teach english. But still day dreaming wanna teach math with his stupidity cant accept he failed math. Are regret to owned exora after seeing 1k plus different? Well dont blame others, blame your own stupidity for cannot make right decision buying car. Muahaha.

• Tan HS on Jun 04, 2019 at 3:05 pm

Correction: P2 do offer Iridium spark plug during service which can use up to 100k km. I changed to Iridium since 1st spark plug change. Proton Iridium only last 70k km. So, which is more expensive? The calculation hv to revise base on Iridium spark plug.

• Tan HS on Jun 04, 2019 at 3:59 pm

Also, CVT oil change as per manual is not reliable. Many exora owner take their own initiative to change the oil every 20-30k km as if wait until 60k km, the so call “durian” light (cvt warning) already happen many times, causing lost power, trouble to owner. So, they chg cvt oil more frequent to avoid problem.

• Exora rc2019 on May 23, 2021 at 9:18 pm

Betul … Membongak aje ni

• john makan Sambal udang on May 31, 2019 at 4:27 pm

Not exactly Nasi, the Exora service cost is cheaper than the Alza. Based on my experience with Proton SC, I have a lot of headache with them because their service quality is not quite good. So more expensive means more quality, cheaper means worse quality. That’s why eventhough Alza service cost is more expensive, better buy the Alza because Perodua service is satisfying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 39
      • Do you have a problem counting or recognising numbers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Low maintenance expenditure? Where did you get that fake news? The V6 engine itself takes 6 liters of engine oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Campro? Punch cvt? Eeeuuuww!

• newme on May 31, 2019 at 1:29 pm

Ini tak termasuk lagi kos sewa kereta bila kereta masuk workshop and the foreman is clueless about what happen to the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • typical malaysian on May 31, 2019 at 1:39 pm

wow, cool story. Is there more BS you want to spill out? Come on, let’s voice it out. =)

• Rahman on May 31, 2019 at 2:15 pm

Proton cars are good. The problem is not the car. It is the SC technician’s attitude.

You go to SC workshop and send car for repair, the technician will tell you “Biasalah bang, ini proton. what do you expect?”

Then you will argue for hours with him

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
      • typical malaysian on May 31, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Wow, another cool story. Are you the same inbred from previous posts? “game over”, “my friend/I bought parts problem story”, “bad SC service”, “headunit conspiracies”.. what else BS will you spew out? Come on, entertain us, please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • Newme on Jun 01, 2019 at 6:34 pm

If these stories are not true, proton wont be sold 2 times in 5 years and sales dropped to quarter of p2 sales..

• Mario and Bros on May 31, 2019 at 1:35 pm

Safer to buy Exora than Alza due to service quality for Proton is better than Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Luigi on May 31, 2019 at 4:47 pm

Wilson, higher price mean better quality and lower price mean poor quality. So the conclusion is Perodua service quality is better than Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
      • Mario and Bros on May 31, 2019 at 5:06 pm

Aiyahhh… I think you should refer back from what some feedbacks had said about Perodua Service Quality. It seems that when you replied me back and including replying other people feedbacks, you are always like to spread fake news in every articles. Anyway, before you reply me and other feedbacks, pls go any car websites and read any car facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
        • Wilson makan Goreng pisang on May 31, 2019 at 5:44 pm

What Luigi said is already the fact. You pay more you get better service, you pay less you get poor service. So I suggest Proton to increase their service cost so that their SC people will also improve and serve people better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 35
          • Celup King on May 31, 2019 at 6:01 pm

I pay more for Toyota service, yet I get lousy Perodua quality. So there’s no such thing that arbitrarily you pay more, you get more. At least not when dealing with Toyota & Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • Rahman on May 31, 2019 at 6:34 pm

You go to SC workshop and send car for repair, the technician will tell you “Biasalah bang, ini proton. what do you expect?”

Already people experience this for 30 years, how to change people’s mind? Cannot lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
          • Mario and Bros on May 31, 2019 at 9:45 pm

@Rahman

Replying to you: The quote is “Perhaps you want to actually read the feedbacks” about Proton Service Quality. I already told you that please read about the paultan article about the Improvement of Customer Service Index of Proton (the website in: https://paultan.org/2018/07/11/proton-outlines-quality-after-sales-improvement-initiatives-aims-to-top-csi-rankings-within-three-years/) before you reply me back with your related comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • Still talking about grandma stories from 30 years ago? I pity the fool. He never got a modern P1 car b4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
          • Mario and Bros on Jun 01, 2019 at 12:37 pm

@john

Replying to you: That’s why he always protecting Hyundai, Perodua, Japanese Cars in which he write good comments. But when comes to other carmakers articles like Volvo, Peugeot, Mercedes, BMW, Ford and Proton, he always talk badmouth. Also, Kunta is also hoping that Volvo, Peugeot, Mercedes, BMW, Ford and Proton to lose their sales because he always wanted Volvo, Peugeot, Mercedes, BMW, Ford and Proton to be higher price without announcing from Automakers Distributor Malaysia which is extremely very unfair.

All these comments from what Kunta has said is actually hurting other people feelings in which all of us have no peace at all because of him and I don’t know when he is going to stop spreading fake news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Wilson Khoo makan Karipap on Jun 01, 2019 at 9:01 pm

@Mario and Bros

Replying to you: Nissan cars are very stunning and modern. That’s why Nissan is trully a game changing company. Unfortunately, a certain guy in here always bash Nissan with no reason and his comments actually hurting other people feelings in which all of us have no peace at all because of him and I don’t know when he is going to stop spreading fake news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Safety First on May 31, 2019 at 5:02 pm

Service quality, car quality, and safety trumps Alza.

• Dylan Ch'ng on May 31, 2019 at 2:31 pm

Thank you.

• belum lagi tambah resale value

• With this gud news. Alza sales will drop from double figures to single figure. Meanwhile Exora will remain the best selling MPV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • azrai on May 31, 2019 at 3:06 pm

Waiting for P2 MD answer tomorrow. “All serviced item for Alza is actually not compulsory.”

• Browning on May 31, 2019 at 4:57 pm

No he will up and say “servicing for Alza is actually not compulsory”.

• Abesla on May 31, 2019 at 3:19 pm

Abesla Alza! Like this no one will buy! Like that time Proton revealed Bezza servicing cost is pricier than Persona. Sales drop rapidly while Persona & Iriz bookings shot up. The truth has finally been revealed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Max291 on May 31, 2019 at 3:21 pm

Now that this is booming a thing, shall we do Iriz vs Myvi? Real close costs for standard Auto.

• Logical Deduction on May 31, 2019 at 5:26 pm

You can take this https://paultan.org/2019/03/11/2019-proton-persona-facelift-32-lower-maintenance-cost-compared-to-perodua-bezza-and-honda-city/ ,replace Persona with Iriz, and up the cost of Bezza servicing by 10%. You will find that Iriz is much more cheaper to service than Myvi.

• MitchelJohn on May 31, 2019 at 9:09 pm

I’ve made a comparison to that, up to 100,000 KM.

The Iriz wins by a small margin (like around RM100 less) than the MyVi. (RM2987 VS RM3095). However, overall coverage up to 150,000 KM, the MyVi wins because the Iriz requires more maintenance (timing belt, CVT oil and etc).

• You haven’t factored in gearbox replacement for the Myvi 4AT. Typically after 120,000 km, it fails and needs replacement. IINM this doesn’t come cheap.

• pengguna proton kecewa on May 31, 2019 at 6:57 pm

omg.sudden influx of paid keyboard warrior to defend p1 it seems.just an advice – please check the exora owner forum to identify the list of all potential issues before commit to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • I see more complaints from Alza owner forums. So what are you trying to say? No need to think just go for Exora?

• Salaadeen on Jun 01, 2019 at 5:33 am

Well tbh there are lots of other forum which focussed of plenty of different car make, car model and car class.
      Not to defend P1 as some cases are genuine. However most cases are highlighted by idiot owners whom did not take care of their vehicle. In HRV forum, got owners complaining of bad Honda SC and expensive parts which turned out the owner was driving a normal 4 door sedar previously and upgraded to HRV,
      CFE engine users complained about high fc but previously drives a Kancil, Alza user kept saying fc is good but jugding based on how far he can go using 1 tank but when asked whats the km/l figure he will asked back whats that?

Educated people tend to not be in these forum. These people owned multiple cars and have wider exposure but just laugh at ‘smart’ comment or remark of others in such forum.
      I luv to read forum of 2nd hand european car, these guys are the real deal. Most of them are normal income people but did not complained abt high parts price for their cheap2 Merc or BMW.

• DoubtX on May 31, 2019 at 6:58 pm

Service labour rm0? Hahahahahhahahahahahhaah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 31, 2019 at 9:16 pm

Perhaps you want to actually read the article? Proton is offering free labour for 5 years for all Exoras sold in 2019.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Ollie on Jun 04, 2019 at 8:15 pm

Thank you for noticing that and exposing Hafriz providing free advertising for Proton and misleading readers.

The labour costs for Alza add up to rm500. Remove that and Alza maintenance is less by a wide margin. Zero labor costs is a PROMOTION. it doesn’t reflect the actual maintenance cost. After 5 years, what are you gonna do – beg the SC on your hands and knees asking for free service??

Comparisons only can be made like for like – not including temporary promotions.

Thanks for exposing this misinformation. I hadn’t noticed it and i think both P1 and P2 are sorry excuses of companies and I’ve never and will never own a Malaysian car. Unless they improve to international standards.

• Pearjai on May 31, 2019 at 8:48 pm

Iridium plug can last 100k to 160k mileage….also alza using timing chain…can go more 500k…for that mileage how much money n time just to change timing belt….only just perodua sc so greedy to cost more…even oil filter can use 20k …oil lubricant any sl/sm/sn can withstand more 20k…just simple method…more service more profit….why go perodua service when all part mdm/jdm etc are easy to source.n way cheaper…toyota sette/bb n daihatsu luminas….and think after 100k 200k if have broke or pecah engine or head problem ….exora sure poket koyak ! N think for rv too !….previously i own 6 perodua n still own 3….just for perodua owner just beware that denso radiator fan that made in indonesia….

• U own 6 P2s. Wow i pity u change so often. I only have 1 and only trusty P1 for 10 and still running strong. Timing belt? I only need to change once, so what. And comparing cost of servicing P2 outside vs P1 in SC. Bodo kah? And with ur own logic to change parts at ur own interval, no wonder u change cars so often. Not just engine koyak but the whole car koyak!

• Timing chain also need checking to see whether the chain got looser due to stress. Yes, a steel chain can fail too so better check every 100k kms. If follow Pearjai’s maintenance routine of 20k kms oil change in weather like ours, no wonder he is changing cars so often. He must be one of those anti establishment people that don’t believe in vaccines as well.

• Mario and Bros on Jun 01, 2019 at 4:47 pm

Even Perodua Myvi Wheel Tyres also stolen by the thieves. As I got it from the news. So for those who own Perodua Myvi, Myvi owners will be more regret and more riskier

• Seelan Paul on Jun 01, 2019 at 12:31 am

It’s baseless to say Exora is cheaper when the differences is about rm 207.00. Thats 10% on an average. If you want to say Exora is cheaper maintenance cost then it should be 30 to 40% down compared to Alza. You are comparing a giant elephant with baby elephant. The fuel consumption ratio is also different. Some spare parts of Exora could have been hidden for the marketing strategies. When you send the car then they will give you a shocking bill. Many do not know that in aftersales the 5 years warranty coverage cost has been factored in the price of the car.

• The Exora is a bigger vehicle with a more advanced turbo engine, so it being cheaper to maintain than the supposedly mechanically-simple Alza is a big thing indeed. I can see that you are biased against the Exora from your comment alone. So, please come out with better facts to argue for your Alza instead of using your own biased judgement.

• Ollie on Jun 04, 2019 at 8:17 pm

Precisely.

• Persona user on Jun 01, 2019 at 2:48 am

Lol….actually for 10,000km usage…proton will suggest to use full synthetic engine oil which cost rm200…rm121.08 engine oil only for 5000km…so how come….aiyoo

• I use semi synthetic for 10,000 km servicing interval and they change without a problem. My Gen2 is still going strong until now. Sometimes with clear road I let my CPS kicked in yo! No problemo.

• Bumi malaysia on Jun 01, 2019 at 8:03 am

Semua dalam ni orang US ker?
    Saya rasa kebanyakan yg komen pernah sekolah menengah kebangsaan….
    Boleh jer terjemah bahasa malaysia…
    Jadi orang malaysia gunakan bahasa malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 01, 2019 at 11:23 am

Ada dalam BM bang: https://paultan.org/2019/05/31/proton-exora-rc-2019-vs-perodua-alza-kami-banding-kos-servis-kedua-duanya-untuk-5-tahun-100000-km/

• Anang Zain on Jun 01, 2019 at 9:06 am

Saya pilih exora untuk ruang yang lebih besar, handling yg lebih baik dan kuasa yang lebih.

• Those want to more safety can buy exora. Can compare pictures after accident. Just search in Google exora accident and alza accident.

• Alza without ESC alredi tells u it is unsafe compared to Exora.

• how about comfort? things u cant measure with money

• CAY4162 on Jun 02, 2019 at 6:32 am

Long time ago I once own proton Wira 1.5gli sedan. And that is the last time I buy proton. I make this statement from my very unforgetable bad experiences with this product as well as proton SC itself. They make me like “bola”- No more proton for me. No more!. TQ.

• I a me on Jun 02, 2019 at 7:47 am

If perodua comes out with atleast 3 year free service for its car.then the Exora is doomed.

• Perodua cars got 2nd value. Looks at Kancil difficult to found the old model below 5k compare to iswara. Quality of proton & perodua almost same but service after sales for Perodua is the best.

• Ben Yap on Jun 03, 2019 at 10:05 am

for total of 100K which is about 5 years, you only save RM200. that’s RM40 per year or 10 cents per day. it is not significant enough to use it as a marketing tool. you go to a fast food restaurant with your family, you also spend more than RM40.

• Tan HS on Jun 04, 2019 at 2:51 pm

Correction: P2 do offer Iridium spark plug during service which can use up to 100k km. I am changing to Iridium since 1st spark plug change. Proton Iridium only last 70k km. So, which is more expensive?

• Papazola on Mar 13, 2020 at 10:12 am

Ok guy, just want ask one question. Who say alza good give like and who say exora batter give a comment.chill…peace guys.

• Exora rc2019 on May 23, 2021 at 9:17 pm

Betul ke ni. Dekat apps lain dekat SC lain. Contoh och 80k baru kena tukar dekat Apps tapi dekat SC 40k da kena tukar. Yang mana satu betul ni? Plz bagi fakta.