Toyota Camry price increased by 7k, now RM196,888

UMW Toyota Motor has released a new price list for its range of cars, and all figures are unchanged except for that of the Toyota Camry 2.5V. The D-segment sedan is now priced at RM196,888 on the road without insurance, which is RM6,988 more than the previous RM189,900. The Camry is a CBU import from Thailand.

Launched late last year at KLIMS 2018, the eighth-generation Camry sits on the current Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) platform. No longer a sedan that can be labelled as a “uncle’s car”, the “Beautiful Monster” is longer, wider and sits lower to the ground compared to the XV50.

We get a single powertrain option of the familiar 2AR-FE 2.5 litre four-cylinder engine with 184 PS/235 Nm, paired to a six-speed conventional automatic transmission sending drive to the front axle.

Kit wise, the Camry 2.5V gets 18-inch alloys, automatic bi-LED projector headlamps with LED turn signals, LED daytime running lights, LED fog lamps and LED tail lights – all LED, basically. There’s also hydrophilic wing mirrors, leather seats with eight-way powered front seats, eight-inch touchscreen head unit with navigation, nine-speaker JBL audio system, a seven-inch colour multi-info display, Optitron dials, and a 10-inch colour head-up display (HUD).

Toyota Safety Sense is standard, and it includes Pre-collision System, Lane Departure Alert with Steering Assist, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control and Automatic High Beam. There’s also seven airbags (dual front, side, curtain, driver’s knee), Blind Spot Monitor with Rear Cross Traffic Alert, hill start assist, front/rear parking sensors and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

Five colours – Platinum White Pearl Mica, Silver Metallic, Graphite Metallic, Burning Black CS and this signature Red Mica – are available.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mario and Bros on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:10 pm

Last time, Camry price is RM190K. But now, Camry Price is at 196K. Must elsewhere buy 318i Series or 330e or C Class

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 5
    • hmm.. on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:49 pm

(Like) Camry
      (Dislike) Santa Fe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 39
      • Camry price is RM90K in Langkawi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • Nasi lemak on Jun 13, 2019 at 6:27 pm

With the increase price by 7k it means Toyota Camry quality is getting better. Not like Proton decrease the price and also decrease the quality. So Proton need to learn from Toyota how to plan a game changing strategy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 57
          • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jun 14, 2019 at 11:58 am

“Money determines quality” this game changing quote is already a fact. Nasi is correct, Toyota increase the price by RM7k means that Toyota improve Camry quality a lot, making this game changing sedan even more worth to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
          • Only an idiot would believe that! Want to lie also come out with better excuse lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
        • The Accountant on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:13 pm

Presume no change in sales volume. Increase price = increase profit

• Labuanist on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:19 pm

Labuan duty free rm127k

• wonder why gomen still in bad shape if every car they swallow $40-80k on average and each of us change car every 5-7 years

• Autobahn on Jun 13, 2019 at 6:34 pm

The new santa fe has 200ps 440nm 8 speed 7 seaters….what not to like compare with this 230nm 6speed dinasour ?

• Mario and Bros on Jun 13, 2019 at 10:00 pm

Both Camry and Santa Fe s not very good product. This is because Camry is giving overpriced even Camry is CBU, giving old Dual VVT-i Engine. Aiyah…, as usual this is very common for UMW Toyota. Same goes to Hyundai Malaysia, giving outdated Engine for Santa Fe, giving overpriced even Santa Fe is CBU, lesser safety features for Santa Fe. Especially, Hyundai Elantra gives lousy Engine because Hyundai Elantra doesn’t even have Turbo at all, despite new Elantra is CKD. Must elsewhere buy Kia Sorento than Hyundai Santa Fe, while for those who are looking for D Segment Car, should wait for new Proton Perdana that get from Geely. Lastly, Everyone were already expected that both Hyundai Malaysia and Toyota Malaysia will close down very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
      • I choose Sonata or Optima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • citsalp on Jun 14, 2019 at 10:28 am

Optima is better choice. And more safer for you to drive Optima than Sonata. Also, Kia Service Malaysia have better quality than Hyundai Service Malaysia. Optima also have lots of features, powerful engine without NA which consist 2.5L, Kia Optima design looks more stylish than Sonata and beautiful exterior features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
          • Wilson I know its u! on Jun 14, 2019 at 11:21 am

Wilson, Hyundai and Kia are sister companies. Both sonata and optima share the same engine

• Why are our cars Expensive?? on Jun 13, 2019 at 6:20 pm

The problem why cars in Malaysia are expensive is because productivity is too low. People just like to relax in the factory. In UMW factory, all lepak and rilaks only.

If factory workers work hard, productivity can increase thus bringing down prices of cars

For example. Proton got 10,000 workers but made only 55,000 cars in 2018.

Mitsubishi in Thailand got 5000 workers but produced 350,000 thousand cars in 2018 alone

See the difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 14, 2019 at 10:39 am

Yet car price in Thailand almost same as bolehland..

• Joooo on Jun 14, 2019 at 2:49 pm

U been in kilang ?talk only.know english doesnt mean know the fact

• Except the fact that Camry 2.5 cost RM225k in Thailand as compared to RM197k in Malaysia. So are you saying that productivity in Thailand is even lower, their people relax more in the factory, all their people whole day lepak and rilaks only?

See the stupidity of your argument?

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 14, 2019 at 5:00 pm

Hey Gary, Did you forget that RM had dropped some 10-15 percent against the baht? Car prices in Thai didn’t move much as far as I know. But you take the Thai price and convert to the much depreciated RM, it only makes it seem Thai car prices are more expensive.

Guess why Toyota needs to increase the price?

• Abdul Ghani Othman on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:11 pm

In Australia, the higher version, the Camry Hybrid is AUD27k (RM90k)

It is so affordable and cheap, that it has become the official teksi in Sydney and Melbourne.

In Malaysia, the cheaper petrol engined is priced at RM200k. OMG OMG OMG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 20
    • You can choose to pay 40% income tax in Australia or 20% in Malaysia.. it is one way or another, so no point comparing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 35
      • Christian Wong on Jun 13, 2019 at 6:22 pm

Lower bracket pay less than Malaysia bro. Plus Australia tax system has more deductions and reliefs than Malaysia.

So, on a one to one basis, it is SAME as Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Dong gor on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:57 pm

40% tax comes with better infrastructure and basic needs. 20% not even qualify for fuel subsidy… It’s one way on a rather bumpy one!

• no, i disagree. we are comparing car to car here & everyone knows malaysia’s price is inflated.( we cant possibly compare everything under the sun ☀️- social security, standard of living, health care etc) .tired of paying high prices for extra safety features , as if our malaysian lives are cheap .

• Unknown on Jun 14, 2019 at 7:44 am

But you will earn in AUD 2.9x MYR and everything else will be more affordable.

• UMW Takde Otak on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:27 pm

Toyota is a good brand. The problem in Malaysia is with UMW. The lazy land greedy local workers cannot be relied on

We can never trust locals to run GLC companies. Surely later the company and products got problem one

• kzm (Member) on Jun 14, 2019 at 10:46 am

Why compare with Australia? Why not with Thai or Indo?

• Haziq John Aziz on Jun 14, 2019 at 10:46 am

Welcome back! I missed you dearly

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:13 pm

still very expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Heartdoc on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:16 pm

Crazy…200k for a Camry… just because you’re the world’s most valuable brand doesn’t mean you do this la..fully imported?? From Thailand only la..not japan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 1
    • Toyots sold 5500 car in May 2019.

• meladam on Jun 14, 2019 at 10:40 am

oh imported from Thai again? that’s good news! i’ve get rid of toyota since 2014 camry that assembled in Malaysia. Super bad quality!

• suomynona on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:17 pm

Press F to pay respects for about-to-be Camry owners

• Nasi lemak on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:22 pm

A Game Over move. Toyota should learn from Proton’s initiative of better equipped cars at lower prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
    • NotAToyotaFanThough on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:12 pm

Wei bodoh, don’t compare Toyota to crap Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • You are the reason Toyota is so bad in Malaysia. A blind, brand worshipping dimwit like you is the most sought-after customer by UMW. Kudos!

• Those blind T&P worshiping species are a dying breed which is why they feel the need to come onto Paul Tan and hype their dying brand while cursing others.

• Better learn form Perodua. The best selling car in Asia..I mean Malaysia. Low price and low quality, but PERCEIVED to be Toyota quality.

• errr, this is an odd move. Don’t see much of Camry on the road and UMW is increasing the price? Would be even tougher to sell these things again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • UMW wants to up the status of the Camry by being as rare as a Ferrari.

• Can I fille a complain to kpdnkk. Harga sayur can get capped but why not on vehicles?

• Local sayur only capped price. Sayur import still depends on currency exchange lah. This Camry is sayur from Thai.

• Perak exco on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:25 pm

Kasik tolong top up for perak gomen coz they got 90k discount before.

• Yusof M on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:27 pm

ridiculous….might as well buy downgraded kia

• Jaguh on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:32 pm

Suka suka increase the price

• Lolwhut? on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:33 pm

Lol! Expect Toyota sales to drop even further. A Rm200k Camry is insane when an A-class sedan is only Rm30k more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • tatu880 on Jun 14, 2019 at 10:13 am

Camry and A-Class are totally different segment bro.

• Lolwhut? on Jun 14, 2019 at 11:16 am

Except Malaysians don’t look at segments when they buy cars. They only see pricing. Just look at how stupids are comparing Perodua Aruz with Proton X70 then complains why X70 is much more pricier.

• Chee Chong Fan on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:33 pm

wah UMW, your supply and demand graph terbalik ah? still dare to increase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • 2019 UMW targeted 75000 units of car. Let see the new vehicles sales in December 2019.

• digidigi on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Car price getting more premium, new malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Kipas Klub on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:42 pm

Good Car sure increase price one no doubt!! Uncle auntie sure dont mind, we have alot of money!! +7K only mah even +17K we oso buy..Toyota leh!! engine good, resale good, everything good..fan club members since 1970..dun play play!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • Camry too many demands, that why increased the price, only RM7k, is consider cheap, it should be RM250k for Camry, but UMW very kind, able absorb around RM53k cost for our market, sure Camry sale like hot cake, but why I only saw 2 units on the road? Maybe good sale inside estate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • You are lucky to have seen 2 Camrys on the road. The only new Camry I have seen so far are the ones inside a Toyota showroom. In comparison, the previous generation Camry were all over the place after a few months introduced.

• Mario and Bros on Jun 14, 2019 at 10:43 am

For me, so far, I only saw some new gen CBU Camry that currently sell in Malaysia on the road but unlike for previous generation of new Camry Facelift that previously sell 2.5 Hybrid and 2.0 VVT-iW Engine, which saw more than thousands units on the road

• LOK TC on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:46 am

I saw 2 so far.

• Celup King on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Bye bye Toyota!

• so funny lah toyota malaysia on Jun 13, 2019 at 5:55 pm

Is toyota Malaysia crazy?
    They want to see more ferrari then camry on the road is it?

• Lol complain for what, don’t like don’t buy la. X70 so much cheaper with better spec, just buy that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • UMW sXXXX on Jun 13, 2019 at 6:04 pm

Problem is compounded as Toyota don’t even provide the latest 2.0l engines unlike in Thailand. This Camry maintains the previous 2.5l engine and the 6 speed AT gearbox. Malaysians are getting shortchanged on all fronts. If Toyota sales are overtaken by Mazda, blame UMW solely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Mazda cars are now very good but still Mazda sales can never overtake Toyota, Honda and Nissan sales.

• The AR engine family is an Inline-4 piston engine series by Toyota, first introduced in 2008. That’s not too long ago?

• UMW Q1 profit RM80 million

• Aeroheads on Jun 13, 2019 at 6:54 pm

I rather buy a sorento 2.2D suv

• toyotafan on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:06 pm

So it is reasonable to say…

Use the money to buy a camry in Aust for RM90k.

The other RM100k, you use it to part buy a small house in the suburbs of any Aust. City

Over the course of 20 years (assuming you change a camry every 3 years)….

you have a house in Aust. and a camry eventually…

whereas in Msia, you end up with just a camry..

• Abdul khalif on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:10 pm

Just get a Kia or Hyundai zzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Haidi on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:24 pm

I thought this article is going to tell us the reason behind the price increase, but only a promotion of the car and its specs…

• This trend of car price inflation is worrying. If Toyota already follow this, then new MAZDA 3 which rumors to be CBU and aiming more premium C segment will most probably around 130 (low spec 1.5)-150k (2.0 AWD)…

• Sonyman on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:31 pm

Hai ya I said already. Increase to 250k straight la. 7k like that so little.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:33 pm

This is the first Camry even after launch for so long still seldom seen on the road. The price is one reason, ppl obviously waiting for the hybrid version. If UMW continue to do so all their service center will be affected and u will soon see Toyota service center closing.

• Sammy Loo on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:33 pm

dont worry, it is a Toyota

The higher you pay, the higher the resale value will be. Grab it quick!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • sohhai on Jun 13, 2019 at 7:43 pm

Heeheehee…..this new Camry must be selling like hot cake that UMW see it fit to increase the price

• Dong gor on Jun 13, 2019 at 8:02 pm

It’s a free market. Those who find it worth 200k go for it. Those that find it ridiculous, including myself, just leave it behind. Let Toyota siok sendiri. IGNORE it is more powerful.. In this case harmful to Toyota! Let’s shhhhh

• Myter on Jun 13, 2019 at 8:36 pm

lol what happen to manifesto?

• albag on Jun 13, 2019 at 8:57 pm

i dont think this gonna be an issue for soon-to-be Camry owners.. buyers who buy this car emphasize on its brand regardless its price.. only poorfags think its expensive, then shut up & stick to your Axia & Bezza

• UMWTM increased the price because it is likely that they’re barely making any profits selling it.

• Bennett C. on Jun 14, 2019 at 6:44 am

No explanation on why price increase? 189K is already pretty expensive, now increase further to literally right under 200K. I know it’s CBU and is specced quite good, but how delusional of UMW to think this car is worth 200K.

• calcutta on Jun 14, 2019 at 7:26 am

everybody giving our government insane import tax a free pass

• Fordist on Jun 14, 2019 at 11:18 am

Raised up insanely high so that we are forced to buy P3 cars later on. Just as planned.

• Susukotak on Jun 14, 2019 at 7:52 am

it all on paper to impress best brand owner. show your interest SA will be able to give you discount rm7k

• Sukakereta on Jun 14, 2019 at 8:08 am

7k only… why not 70k? even at 150k you’re struggling to catch-up Accord, now RIP!

• No dynamic force engine with price hike… What is the justification?
    Take a notice, Camry is without the sunglass compartment located near the rear mirror flooring. Not as humanised compared to other cars..

So UMW repositioning Camry to be premium CBU Thai VS. JDM Mazda 6 CBU? Consumers are not dumb N dumber yosh! Both are overboard on pricing these days. Let’s transact via monopoly cash now.

• Atz1999 on Jun 14, 2019 at 9:22 am

This is outdated design in overseas. Toyota Avalon in middle east

• Price increase due to less people buy.

Toyota sold 5500 car in May 2019.

• Even bread and butter Hilux sales is getting lower every month. New Vios and Yaris not as impactful as anticipated. Don’t even need to talk about the Avanza. UMW is in a deep hole, that they themselves dug.

• contender on Jun 14, 2019 at 11:01 am

Camry 2.5 price now on par with Mazda6 2.5 …. which would you choose ? Thailand CBU vs Japan CBU or CKD already ??

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 14, 2019 at 5:09 pm

Neither. When HM finally gets off thier ass and release the Accord 1.5T and 2.0T, both the mazda and Toyota GG Liao.

• Msia wont get the 2.0T for sure. It was meant to replace the 3.5L V6 NA in American market. We do not have 3.5L Accord here for current gen. Most likely we will only get the 190PS 1.5T engine option which is in the CRV.

• ToyotaBye on Jun 14, 2019 at 11:18 am

Kia Optima GT will be a better choice
    toyota ah…. dun think tat ipoh government plans to buy from you mean your car is good la…

• Ben yap on Jun 14, 2019 at 1:39 pm

Toyota analyst say increase price because we can use vios and hilux sales to cover the revenue shortfall.

• toyola on Jun 14, 2019 at 2:46 pm

and yet it comes with squeky plastics interior

• Newme on Jun 15, 2019 at 10:39 am

This price increase is expected after bapak proton came into power. We have already seen increases for few new models now. Brace for more increase for other brands too.

• Umw joker on Jun 17, 2019 at 1:09 am

To those who dont need space & wont mind driving a hatch but still want to show off, pls get a BMW 1-series. Rm188k only. Its a better looking car with a BMW logo on the hood. Definitely drives way better than this overpriced piece of junk.

• UMW has a screwed-up management! Increase price by 7k but still old engine, no paddle shift, no panoramic view. On the other hand, Vios has paddle shift and panoramic view since more than a year ago. Is Vios the flagship model for UMW Toyota? Toyota Thailand and Singapore Borneo Motors are managing the Toyota brand significantly better than UMW. Toyota Japan should seriously consider changing the franchise holder in Malaysia to stop the damage to its reputation.