2019 Proton Saga facelift rendered based on…FLX?

It’s no secret that Proton is preparing a facelift for the Saga as part of a wholesale rejuvenation of its entire lineup. The national carmaker was caught trialling the car on the road months before it confirmed that an update to the popular budget sedan was on its way.

True to form, Photoshop expert Theophilus Chin has provided us a glimpse of what the refreshed version will look like, but while the real thing will almost certainly be based on the latest 2016 Saga, he decided to base these renderings off the FLX model from 2011…because he believed that car looked better. To be fair, the man has already served up images of what he thinks the actual facelifted Saga will look like.

As such, you can clearly see the donor car’s handsome, if rather dated body serving as the basis on which the updates were applied. Even so, you can still see the kind of changes that we can expect to see on the real production car, including the redesigned “Infinite Weave” grille and the reprofiled front bumper – this one sports a neat chrome bar spanning the entire width of the car.

The headlight graphics have also been revised and feature projectors and classy daytime running lights, although judging by both the facelifted Iriz and Persona receiving reflector headlights, that’s looking less and less likely. At the rear, there are new, larger tail lights plus a new number plate garnish with the “Proton” script instead of the logo, while the bumper insert gets a fake air vent and a gloss black finish.

Theophilus has also worked on the inside, where this particular FLX receives the usual tweaks. These include a redesigned instrument cluster with a larger central multi-info display, a frameless rear-view mirror, an X70-style gearlever and a new touchscreen infotainment system with a version of Geely’s Global Key User Interface (GKUI). The steering wheel has also been swapped out for one from the Iriz/Persona.

Proton will likely provide yet more tweaks under the skin to further improve the car’s refinement, although the 94 hp/120 Nm 1.3 litre VVT engine and five-speed manual and CVT transmission options will probably remain unchanged. So what do you think – do you prefer the look of this “facelifted FLX”, and would you be interested in getting a bodykit like this to refresh your own FLX? Answers in the comments after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tongsanmari on Jun 17, 2019 at 4:13 pm

No point updating the saga. People all want the geely cars to come ASAP. the x70, despite being expensive, is the one saving proton right now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 8
    • Won ton mee on Jun 17, 2019 at 4:52 pm

I dont know why Proton needs to facelift this game over car. This is clearly a waste of money on something useless. I dont know whats going on in Proton office but my suggestion for them is to send rombongan sambil belajar to Perodua office to learn how to do a game changing business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 57
      • Since this parting finale shot of the indigenous campro powered Saga. Ohsem chance Proton go all out & created lejen car for us Msian; Proton Saga 1.3 Turbo 134hp and Saga 1.6T 167hp starting Rm42k …kik3

• Kassim on Jun 17, 2019 at 6:31 pm

Agreed! Proton now just distribute Geely cars. Our local workers at Proton could not faham how to make good engines. now, even China cars are better than Proton models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Error: Sorry wilson, you are voting too often on Jun 18, 2019 at 12:09 pm

Don’t know why Wilson Khoo loves to dislike your comments. Your comments make more sense than his ones

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • Mario and Bros on Jun 18, 2019 at 1:59 pm

Bro, before you reply me, don’t ever come here and simply said I am putting many downvoted for Won ton Mee comments. We already know it is you that you put many upvotes for your comments with your many dupes and many downvotes for other people’s good comments. One more thing, I know your Facebook Name as Peter Ambrose with profile picture of dog which I got it about RM130K battery replacement from somebody else in Facebook Page Paultan

• Error 404 Malas nak type on Jun 18, 2019 at 4:16 pm

I don’t have Facebook. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • Avenger on Jun 18, 2019 at 4:58 pm

Well that’s because FB have taken actions to remove & ban fake accounts and those that were disseminate fake news.

• Zaman Khan on Jun 17, 2019 at 5:27 pm

You got that right, this is why Saga and Persona and Exora sales have been super low. Prospective Proton buyers just bought the X70 instead of buying their usual Proton cars.

More money to China…hooray!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
    • u gais keep looking something u can afford that other couldnt. this is much awaited lenjan car at below 30k. pity your brain can only think one sided only.

• Maybe due to Saga still not achieve its “return of investment” point. So need to refresh until it balik modal la before scrapped.

• Hisham on Jun 17, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Geely should put the 1.8T of the x70 into this Saga and sell below RM30k. Otherwise people will still buy the Perodua Bezza, which is far more superior in all aspects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 61
    • Hishamudin on Jun 17, 2019 at 4:57 pm

Lucky Geely is smart and wont follow what u mentioned.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
      • Cooldown on Jun 17, 2019 at 5:48 pm

Proton should not ignore Suzuki lastime. If proton rebadge 2017 suzuki swift with 1.0 turbo and 1.4 turbo engine, their sales will meletup! And even vitara is a very good cute suv. Suzuki vitara size is just nice for town drive n easy parking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • S.Ibrahim on Jun 17, 2019 at 6:02 pm

Like seriously? Even before Suzuki got tie up with P1, Suzuki sales hardly let a whimper much less ‘meletup’. And Suzuki Vitara cost RM200,000 in Thailand & Indonesia. The incoming X50 is the better car in all aspects.

• This argument highlights the ignorance of Malaysian car buyers. “Underpowered”, ” need 2.0 engine” in a car weighing less than 1 ton. Power to Weight. There is absolutely NO NEED for the diminutive Saga to have a 1.8 engine, let alone turbo. That’s how you get flying Myvis. We have one of the most atrocious driving attitudes in the world, now you people want to put that inside pocket-rockets. Proton, Perodua and the rest are selling everyday cars, not racers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • Mario and Bros on Jun 17, 2019 at 5:06 pm

Bro, I told you already as mentioned on earlier post. People will not buy Perodua because the wheels had been stolen by thieves. That’s why people are more smarter to buy New FL Proton Saga than Bezza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
      • Mario Kart Racing on Jun 17, 2019 at 6:33 pm

Wilson, if people are stealing Myvi rims, then it means Myvi is a good car. Stealing rims = high demand = Myvis everywhere = selling like hot cakes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
        • Please use brain. If the car was good they will steal the whole car. The reason why they steal rim is because rims are the only thing worthwhile in the whole car! The rest of the car is junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • 1.1/1.0 Turbo-charged Campro would have been great for city car.

• suomynona on Jun 17, 2019 at 5:11 pm

1.8T in a Saga

Hahahahhahahahahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Aura89 on Jun 17, 2019 at 5:45 pm

Please state what is it that Bezza is superior than Saga? Just saying it without anything supporting is just empty talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Copy Paste on Jun 17, 2019 at 6:10 pm

Copy paste: “More money to Japan…. hooray!”

• Front FLX, rear Saga3. Make it so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • anonymous on Jun 17, 2019 at 5:10 pm

Gross. Bezza definitely is better than Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
  • Azam Ali on Jun 17, 2019 at 5:19 pm

that infotainment display located so low is a no-no. not practical and dangerous for drivers. dash needs total rework, this FLX just dont cut it.

• Saga FLX was designed in those days where headunits were still integrated CD player/radios. So it’s understandable the console was placed much lower since the A/C blowers are the ones most used in our Msian weather. Then again, another benefit for the lowered HU is the screen would be well protected & legible from glare of sunlight and during nighttime it wouldn’t be so reflective (and distracting) to the driver.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 17, 2019 at 8:07 pm

agree. this problem exists in the latest Saga should a screen would probably have to placed Mazda 3 or Toyota CH-R style.

• Apa jadi dengan wira, mana model baru geli

• Raja Kamarul on Jun 17, 2019 at 8:55 pm

One thing I agree is that this Saga generation is the better looking one. The current one is so meh.

• Zainal Khaled on Jun 17, 2019 at 8:59 pm

That’s it? A facelift?? the flx wasnt good looking to begin with! Pack up your things and balik kampung Proton! Such a sorry excuse for a national car. Most of the designs are so sad to even call it Malaysia’s very own. Not to mention incorporating other brands like honda accord and geely x7. Ran out of brains for designs? And just to make the competition less, the gov imposed ridiculous tax to imported cars which is a lot better than proton. Try puting japanese or korean carss similar price to proton. I can guarantee Proton will be nothing but a service centre chain outlets the next day. Wake up Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • You think your Perodua can survive too without government tax break? You really think your Perodua is cut price Toyota? Keep being delusional!

• Zai Khaled on Jun 17, 2019 at 9:01 pm

That’s it? A facelift?? the flx wasnt good looking to begin with! Pack up your things and balik kampung Proton! Such a sorry excuse for a national car. Most of the designs are so sad to even call it Malaysia’s very own. Not to mention incorporating other brands like honda accord and geely x7. Ran out of brains for designs? And just to make the competition less, the gov imposed ridiculous tax to imported cars which is a lot better than proton. Try puting japanese or korean cars similar price to proton. I can guarantee Proton will be nothing but a service centre chain outlets the next day. Wake up Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Mfauzi on Jun 17, 2019 at 9:54 pm

Ertiga facelift xdak ke?

• Goodness, still wanna facelift? The design oredi outdated, ugly and old fashion.

• arif adam on Jun 17, 2019 at 11:23 pm

Should boycott Proton until they bring in
    a new range of cars and engines especially.
    By supporting and buying these never ending
    facelifts , P1 will be in a time warp and never change. We deserve better, getting a CKD X70 taking ages, Geely taking P1 for a ride.

• ahmad fuad on Jun 17, 2019 at 11:40 pm

personally I’d prefer the FLX refreshment. the bodylines are more proportionated and sexier with bigger wheels. it has the classic looks that will last longer than the predessor. after all thats just my two cents thoughts.

• Derus on Jun 18, 2019 at 12:47 am

Hidup Saga!

• Theophilus Chin no proper job? Always day dreaming.

• Driver n biker on Jun 18, 2019 at 7:17 am

Asyik facelift facelift bukan nak improve benda lain seperti dari segi penjimatan petrol dan kauliti yg baik utk penguna… Kalau mcm ini la setiap tahun proton akan jatuh tanpa kemajuan… Takde guna letak engine supercar kalau penjimatan petrol masih tak boleh lawan perodua.. Peminat kereta nak kereta yg saving petrol sebab kereta guna utk keja tiaphari.. Kalau perodua boleh buat keta jimat petrol serta laju.. Kenapa proton jauh ketinggalan dibelakang… Come on proton get up for more good stuff…. Not like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Pikirkanlah on Jun 18, 2019 at 1:05 pm

Pernah miliki kereta Perodua tak? Kalau tak, boleh juga tanya mana2 pemilik Perodua betul ke jimat minyak. Rata2 hampir semua akan ckp jimat minyak hanya atas kertas saja, penggunaan petrol realitinya adalah jauh lebih kuat. Kalau laju tapi handling tak bagus pun akhirnya terlahirlah meme seperti ‘Myvi terbang’ dan ‘Myvi turtle’.

• Ini bunyi macam orang yg xpernah bawak keta Proton.

• Much more better than current A segment sedan in the market.

• Rokuth on Jun 18, 2019 at 11:29 am

I think Theophilus Chin missed the mark on this one. It looks like the rendering is based on the old gen Saga, not the current car. The taillights are the dead giveaway.

• Owen Chen on Jun 18, 2019 at 12:33 pm

It still looks dated. More like a car from the last century…..

• Syukur.. No more punch cvt change to Hyundai Powertech gearbox. This is how proton now do a good business.. One more left! The lousy CamPro!

• azrai on Jun 18, 2019 at 3:38 pm

After reading the article and then all through the comments I must say that Malaysian typically just read the headline. Maybe because they are reading from a slightly bigger than their palm smartphone screen, so only headline are bold enough to be read. It is just a photo manipulation based on the previous Saga model. Not the upcoming Geely touch Face Lift hype real one.

• Affandi on Jun 18, 2019 at 10:32 pm

Correct I agreed with you. Most Malaysians just read the headline and then they start boycotting and being bias. And most of it thinks the upcoming Saga is just a facelift. Did they not read anything about the new Iriz and Persona. Lol, the emptiest cans made the loudest sound.