SPIED: 2019 Nissan Leaf on transporters in Malaysia

It looks like the new Nissan Leaf is on course for its mid-year debut in Malaysia, as announced during the KLIMS18 preview last year – three transporter loads of the second-generation all-electric vehicle were sighted earlier today on the Shapadu Highway leaving Klang by reader Edward Koh, meaning that the market introduction should be around the corner.

Buyers will be able to pick from a variety of colours, not just the white that has been the usual message colour for the car. Aside from white, the Leaf will be available in grey, red, black and blue here.

The new Leaf, which measures in at 4,480 mm long, 1,790 mm wide and 1,540 mm tall, features significant gains in performance and range over the first-gen model, the car’s EM57 electric motor now producing 38% more power and 26% more torque than the final version of the first-gen Leaf, at 110 kW (148 hp) and 320 Nm respectively.

The local specification Leaf should be the standard variant with a 40 kWh lithium-ion battery, and it isn’t expected that the e+ 62 kWh battery version will go on sale here due to pricing constraints. No estimated pricing has been indicated as yet, but without local assembly, the Leaf won’t qualify for incentives under the current Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) scheme, so don’t expect it to be cheap.

Operating range is around 400 km (378 km on a NEDC test cycle), which is well up from the 195 km – and later, 250 km – of the original. Charging-wise, the Leaf comes with two types of connectors located at its nose, these being Type 2 (AC charging) and CHAdeMO (DC quick charging) slots. The max AC charge rate is 6.6 kW, while it is 50 kW with DC quick charge.

With AC charging through a wallbox, it will take roughly around five to seven hours for a full charge, since the maximum draw is limited to 6.6 kW from the OBC (the automaker initially listed eight hours to full from a six kW source). With a 230V/16A 3.7 kW single-phase public charge point or a 230V/13A 3.0 kW single-phase supply from a conventional domestic power socket, it’ll take roughly around 10-12 hours.

More on the Nissan Leaf when the car makes its official debut. Read our review of the new Leaf, which we drove earlier this year in Hong Kong.

GALLERY: 2019 Nissan Leaf

GALLERY: Nissan Leaf, KLIMS18 preview

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Calvin on Jun 18, 2019 at 5:37 pm

The car won’t be cheap.
    Battery won’t be cheap.
    Charging won’t be cheap.

What else is new?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • EDITO Rj on Jun 19, 2019 at 12:25 pm

I’m waiting this game changing news for almost 5 years. “SPIED: 2019 Proton Iriz EV on transporters in Malaysia”. I support Malaysia by buying barang buatan Malaysia but how to buy Iriz EV if Proton is still scared to release the Iriz EV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Sick & Tired on Jun 19, 2019 at 3:30 pm

I doubt you will buy it when it come out because you have been moaning about the replacement battery prices.

• EDITOR on Jun 19, 2019 at 3:36 pm

Someone keeps demanding for local EV car but later complains on the high price of replacement battery. He should make his own EV car that runs on cheap AA batteries.

• Fordist on Jun 18, 2019 at 5:56 pm

The rear light strakes reminded me of Ford Focus 3rd gen. Have Nissan designers totally ran out of ideas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Nissan did it first with the 370z 10 years ago. You should ask Ford that question

• MyNewToy on Jun 18, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Wait until Proton introduces the Geely EV with Volvo technology. I am sure the Malaysian will be crazy about those EV cars.

• Correct. PRoton will not release the Iriz EV, like what some people here say

• Zaman Khan on Jun 18, 2019 at 6:04 pm

I hope it won’t be like 6 years ago with the first generation of LEAF. MAI and the Government told us Government was moving towards EV and they encouraged the rakyat to buy EV cars like the Leaf. At that time only EV was Leaf.

Unfortunately Leaf was RM250,000.

Who in Malaysia can afford like that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Blame old men at Tan Chong for being delusional. They thought everyone could afford for a Rm250k EV small car with short range.

• Zaman Khan on Jun 18, 2019 at 6:06 pm

I hope they price the Leaf reasonable. Be like the UK Government. Every Leaf sold, the Government subsidises like half the price.

That is clever governance.

You cannot expect Malaysians to pay RM250k for a Leaf (based on the old Leaf price)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • FudgeMeSideways on Jun 18, 2019 at 6:16 pm

IF going to be RM 150k and above then no discussion la. It will be a toy for the rich and not the environmental solution to mobility this car intends to be. Let’s not do things in half measure if you’re serious about investing in e-mobility, gov.

• once you buy Nissan Leaf, need to replace battery that cost RM22K. I guess not sure. This battery replacement could cost overpriced like buying Sony Big Android TV

• Shazli on Jun 18, 2019 at 6:18 pm

(Like) cheaper to refuel RON95
    (Dislike) cheaper to refuel TNB

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 18, 2019 at 7:03 pm

I bet they can’t match Hyundai Ioniq’s price and since it’s TC we are talking about I would try to steer away from them as their after sales service is crap. Even their customer service are rubbish when you want to lodge a complaint.

• Autronica on Jun 18, 2019 at 7:08 pm

unreliable Nissan brand

• Bieight on Jun 18, 2019 at 7:22 pm

You need to have really big balls to buy this car in Malaysia

• frankC on Jun 18, 2019 at 11:19 pm

with 350~400km range ..not bad options it seems.
    moreover warranty up to 8years/160,000km .. not bad idea.
    wonder what’s the price like for layman like us

• Leave the Leafs Alone on Jun 18, 2019 at 11:33 pm

It’s still passive cooling.

• Nissan Note e-Power will be more popular if it’s introduce here. I don’t understanding why it’s not.

• Mokmok on Jun 19, 2019 at 9:43 am

Everytime I saw an electric car pops up in this auto blog, I wonder,

A) Would it be cheaper to run compare to petrol engines in long run? Yes, it would be cheaper in other countries (with their electric tariffs and government incentives) like France or UK.

B) Is it true electric cars are the future for us? I mean the car runs on electric motors that have nothing to pollute but here in Malaysia we still use fossil fuel to produce electricity (despite we have solar and hydroelectric as well).

• A) Depend on your electricity usage. Tier pricing in Malaysia is higher based on usage. If you factor in battery replacement (it will cost a bomb!), it will be much higher.

B) Current global trending seems like that, even Toyota is rushing for electrifying their cars. Personally, I’m more towards fuel cell just like Toyota previously.

• Akira on Jun 19, 2019 at 9:56 am

This definitely cost more than a Teana in Malaysia.

• Are you sleeping, are you sleeping, Yeo Bee Yin, Yeo Bee Yin? EVs are coming, EVs are coming, no incentives, no incentives?!

• Adlan on Jun 26, 2019 at 8:53 pm

The price and charging station availability will be my deciding factor.

Also the spec that will be brought in to Malaysia… I hope not low spec like the old Leaf was… With no online connectivity…

• Adlan on Jun 26, 2019 at 9:04 pm

The Price will be my deciding point for this EV

Next will be the spec, hopefully not low spec (and no on the air connectivity) like the old Leaf that was brought in…

After that is the nationwide expension of charging stations which is vital and much needed esp in central and east peninsular too (current infrastructure focus to much in the west only)