FIRST LOOK: 2019 Nissan X-Trail – Nissan Connect with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto explored

We’ve taken a pretty deep dive into the 2019 Nissan X-Trail facelift so far, with a spec-by-spec comparison, walk-around of the top three variants, a drag race as well as a look into the Nissan Intelligent Mobility suite of safety systems. Here, we explore the capabilities of the Nissan Connect system which features Apple CarPlay and Android Auto to support iOS and Android mobile devices.

Here, watch as our man Jonathan Lee takes us through the functions of the infotainment unit across both mobile operating systems. Of note is CarPlay’s ability to summon Siri for making phone calls or to compose messages on a variety of apps, which is a boon for safety on the road.

The drawback of using Apple CarPlay is that it currently disallows the simultaneous use of navigation and music playback, as selecting one after another will bring the infotainment unit back to its home screen. This however should be rectified with the advent of the iOS 13 mobile operating system, which is set to enter play later this year.

There’s a little more complication with Android Auto, as the operating system’s intended in-car usage isn’t supported in Malaysia just yet; this will required Android users to sideload the app from external sources. Here, there are shortcut commands on-screen for music, navigation and phone functions, and as with its Apple counterpart, Android Auto is set to be updated soon for better usability.

With Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support across all variants of the latest Nissan X-Trail, this makes for improved accessibility to mobile services in the Japanese SUV. Do you already own the 2019 X-Trail and have been putting the systems to good use? Let us know in the comments section below with your experiences so far.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• suomynona on Jun 19, 2019 at 12:22 pm

More reasons to get 7 Seater Nissan X-Trail SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
    • Chee cheong fun on Jun 19, 2019 at 3:10 pm

Exactly! This game changer is very worth to buy especially it’s 7 seater option that the X70 doesn’t have. I don’t know why but I think Proton R&D isn’t serious enough and that’s why Proton only gave 5 seater to the X70, making it a deal breaker for buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Dr Strange on Jun 19, 2019 at 6:02 pm

The mentally deranged have survived years and still not cured from mental illness

• Autronica on Jun 19, 2019 at 12:25 pm

Unreliable Nissan Brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • kia dah lama ada..

• Zaman Khan on Jun 19, 2019 at 1:38 pm

Nissan make good cars. Now with Apple Connect…wow, no wonder why Nissan is selling so well.

After discounts and bargaining, Nissan X-Trail is same price as China made Proton X70. Besides having pure high quality Japanese parts, it is a 7 seater.

No point getting a SUV that is only a 5 seater

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • Ben Yap on Jun 19, 2019 at 1:44 pm

underpowered 2.0 Xtrail. even CRV turbo also faster.

• It’s finally here in a Nissan vehicle without having to fit it via 3rd party installers. Good job Nissan/ETCM.

• Celup King on Jun 19, 2019 at 3:58 pm

You pay so much for the car, you shouldn’t be expecting to replace the headunit at all. Nissan have been sleeping all these while.

• Zaman Khan on Jun 19, 2019 at 5:46 pm

At least ETCM make money and can pay billions in company tax to the government which uses the money to build hospitals and schools

Car companies that do not make any money cannot contribute anything to our society, instead borrow billions and never pay back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Better late than never i guess?? … Ford’s sync 3 has been around since 2016, took them almost 4 years to roll this out on a nissan

• Ahmad on Jun 19, 2019 at 3:53 pm

I am buying a car based on three main aspect.
    engine, chasis and transmission.

If you buy car because or carplay, tailgate, sunroof, or multiple compartment. Sorry to say you are buying car because of its features, not because of its specification. Features can go to Ah Beng or other accessories shop. Specification need to go to manufacturer, to upgrade go to tuners.

So, are you a 200bhp / 400NM guys? or are you an Ah Beng. This is not about to say who has the money, its about to say who actually drive and enjoy the ride.

• Iskandar on Jun 19, 2019 at 4:32 pm

Map Navigation and Music Playback cannot be done together on CarPlay? What old phone are you using? I’ve been using Waze & Google Maps together with Apple Music or Radio on my Honda Civic without any issues since 2016!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 19, 2019 at 5:11 pm

It’s not that they both can’t work simultaneously. It’s that the infotainment screen can only show one at a time. iOS 13 will introduce a new split screen mode. May I suggest that you watch the video above?

• Iskandar on Jun 19, 2019 at 8:45 pm

The drawback of using Apple CarPlay is that it currently disallows the simultaneous use of navigation and music playback, as selecting one after another will bring the infotainment unit back to its home screen

Perhaps your article needs updating bro. It does not “bring back to its home screen”.

• I think this sentence needs tweaking. Although it’s clearer in the video, in the article it implies you cannot navigate and playback music at the same time. It should rather read that you cannot display both the navigation and music apps simultaneously.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jun 19, 2019 at 6:59 pm

Mitsubishi Outlander already have this feature across all variants. It’s from Kenwood & works pretty well with the sideloaded Android Auto.

• Tom Bell on Aug 17, 2020 at 7:15 am

can not download my apple iphone11 contacts to the 2019 nissan xtrail st model as for the reason why no dealer can explain that to me.

• H Masri on May 22, 2021 at 3:15 pm

Hi. Can the 2019 Xtrail headunit that has CarPlay repalce the 2018 Xtrail headunit?