Proton Insurance Programme provides extra benefits

Proton is introducing a new insurance product that provides additional benefits to its consumers. Called the Proton Insurance Programme (PIP), the service is applicable for new car buyers as well as existing owners that insure their cars through the national carmaker’s panel of insurers.

Owners who renew their insurance with PIP are eligible for a free key replacement up to RM1,000 in the case of theft, plus a RM1,000 flood relief allowance, coverage for all drivers (unless the driver is under 21 or holds a provisional or learner’s driving licence) and personal coverage of up to RM15,000 for private car owners.

Also provided is a waiver of betterment costs for up to 10 years (provided the car is repaired at authorised Proton body and paint centres) and an agreed value coverage that guarantees a full reimbursement of the sum amount insured for the first 12 years, in the event of a total loss or theft. These benefits were already included with the facelifted Iriz and Persona, which were launched in April.

The six panel insurers are Allianz General Insurance Company, Liberty Insurance, AmGeneral Insurance, Zurich General Insurance, Etiqa General Takaful and Zurich General Takaful. The PIP scheme is available at all authorised Proton outlets nationwide.

“Proton is constantly looking for ways to deliver more value and with the Proton Insurance Programme, we are able to ensure that old, current and new customers alike are eligible to receive the same benefits just by renewing their insurance policy with us. The programme is backed by six of the strongest names in the insurance industry, so our customers can have peace of mind that Proton’s partners in this venture are able to deliver on their promises,” said CEO Li Chunrong.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• No insurance company want insure Perodua car due to higher risk of total lost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Celup King on Jun 19, 2019 at 3:07 pm

You mean the same with Honda cars too? Honda has their own inhouse insurance program too you know. They must have higher risk of total lost.

• Proton called Proton Insurance Programme – PIP. In Renault they called R..

• Popia basah on Jun 19, 2019 at 5:27 pm

Actually Perodua doesn’t let insurance company to insure Perodua game changing cars is because Perodua wants to proof that their quality is reliable. Because Perodua cars best quality are game changer, they don’t need insurance because parts will not breakdown fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
        • Vader on Jun 19, 2019 at 6:40 pm

What are you babbling about? Perodua doesn’t have their own insurance schemes. All car insurance are handled by 3rd party. Are you sick or what?

• While Proton is coming out with good usable products for car owners, certain Perodua salesman under the persona of Raja Jamban is coming out with imaginary ones. Next he will claim Perodua cars too good, no need insurance at all because cannot get stolen and cannot damage in accident.

• Khairul Izam on Jun 20, 2019 at 12:21 am

Ini konpem penipu scammer….

• Hafiz Hisham on Jun 19, 2019 at 10:55 am

Proton caring for the country, the future young Malaysians, and the customers as well. Tak payah pikir tak payah risau, beli je Proton. Dulu kini selamanya. Kudos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Mario and Bros on Jun 19, 2019 at 11:20 am

Now, today Proton is making customer service quality better than Toyota, Nissan, Hyundai and Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Sambal udang on Jun 19, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Eventhough Proton gives Insurance Programme, I’m still not interested because of my experience with Proton SC. Everytime my Proton have a problem, their SC will always complain to us because we are the one who doesn’t maintain the car well. This kind of game over attitude makes people scared of Proton and go for Perodua instead as Perodua SC is very friendly and will serve you until your car is fixed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
    • Mario and Bros on Jun 19, 2019 at 3:10 pm

Yeah, you only get your fact from your imagination

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Jeremy on Jun 19, 2019 at 3:15 pm

Do share which Perodua SC are you referring to. I had been going to 5 different SCs and all my experiences are below par, even below my worst experience with Proton. Lastly I just gave up on the hopeless Perodua servicing and do my services at outside workshops. To hell with the warranty (I still have 2 years), the car value is just not worth the experience with Perodua really, really terrible servicing.

And don’t get me started with the car (a Myvi). That is another bitter disappointment that I have shared here. My overall impression on my ownership of a Perodua car? More hearsay and pure salesman talk than what I really have experienced.

• What do you expect when a Perodua employee (the above Sambal udang aka Raja Jamban) spend more time online spewing BS and lies than doing his real job?

• Why are you scared of being called out for not maintaining your Proton well? You can show them your service booklet and all the receipts you have as proof to validate your warranty claims. That is unless you are just blowing hot air and never been a Proton owner or a car owner ever.

• Stand up comedian on Jun 19, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Hahahahaha…
      Very funny joke. U should be a stand up comedian. Heck, u should even patent this joke so u can make money out of it.

• No point agreed value if balance outstanding at the ban is higher. You still need to top up the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Zaman Khan on Jun 19, 2019 at 1:46 pm

Proton can talk big all they want but when time to claim time….ah, they make all sorts of excuses.

I rather just get normal external insurance instead of Proton insurance.

Just like their warranty, they always give us the burden to proof that it is not our fault and it is manufacturer defect. Their warranty – always trying to tell customer this and that not covered by warranty. Can’t blame Proton. A company with no money, how they want to be easy with warranty claims?

The insurance will be the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • You talking as if claiming from other insurance companies is a breeze! You sounds like a kid who just talk nonsense.

• Best of all, no Jepunis insurance agents. Bunch of penipu scammers.

• The question remains to be “How much is the premium?”

All these extra benefits can be purchased from other Insurers as well at an additional cost with no restriction to be repaired at Proton workshop only.

Will the price of this insurance program be cheaper than outside Insurer after the 10% walk in discount for motor insurance?

Would be better if this PIP to include extended warranty for proton cars up to 12 years old.

Will this be available to returning customers who have maintained the car with outside workshops due to cost reasons of course.

• Alibaba Chiam on Jun 19, 2019 at 7:51 pm

Good news