FIRST LOOK: 2019 Subaru XV GT Edition – RM130,788

Just last month, TC Subaru introduced the new XV GT Edition, one which came with a number of aesthetic and equipment upgrades for not a lot of extra money. At RM130,788, the GT Edition costs nearly RM5,000 more than the 2.0i Premium, and included in the price is a five-year or 100,000 km warranty package.

Essentially, the XV GT Edition gets a full exterior bodykit with silver accents, sportier rear spoiler, blacked-out rear diffuser, as well as the new 17-inch wheels with fan blade design and GT wheel caps. Additional items include full two-tone leather seats with contrast stitching, and both front seats now come with compartmentalised rear seat pockets.

In terms of safety, the list pretty much mirrors the XV Premium, although the GT Edition gets the new side-view monitoring cameras. Otherwise, it gets seven airbags with driver’s knee airbag, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) and rear Isofix child seat anchors.

No changes have been done under the skin, as such the FB20 2.0 litre direct-injected four-cylinder boxer engine continues propulsion duties. The mill offers 156 PS at 6,000 rpm and 196 Nm at 4,000 rpm, with drive going to the road via a Lineartronic CVT (seven virtual ratios) and Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive system (with X-Mode). That’s quite value for money, no?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Whats up Matt.. having an ulcer in your mouth??

• Rajan on Jun 22, 2019 at 11:53 pm

Buy this car, if you go kenduri, you don’t have to park far away from the kenduri house.

Buy Proton X70, you got to park far away and walk sebab malu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
      • Brian on Jun 23, 2019 at 12:52 pm

Well that means X70 owners are more considerable to the kenduri host and not being an insensible, inconsiderate, & lazy jerk to park so close to the kenduri house and make it difficult for the rest of the guest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Kunta Kentut on Jun 23, 2019 at 12:56 pm

Do you mean aruz?

• panjang. on Jun 24, 2019 at 2:29 pm

Never went to a kenduri lah tu.
        Kapchai is closest to the tent/house.
        Then its full off P2 and P1 cars.
        Then the Japs.
        Furthers are the premium vehicle.

Your car is not even there as most probably u r not invited.

• Carnut on Jun 24, 2019 at 8:42 am

Omg what happened to you???? You looked like you haven’t slept for days and the way you presented was terrible with a constant slur like you have a mouthful guard on looking like a human platypus..!!!! Pls take leave and go home and rest ok? I know Paul tan got no better presenters but still you are the best but still need to rest yeah..:)

• Steven Matthias on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:27 pm

This is a wonderful price. And after you bargain and get discounts, the price will be about RM120k….OMG OMG OMG….like this it is cheaper than our Proton X70

How come foreign car can cost so much cheaper than local Malaysian car made by National Car company for Malaysians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • X70 Buyer on Jun 22, 2019 at 6:19 pm

You rather pay so much for 2018 made car? I feel sorry for you and your dire finances. If you can’t afford it please don’t even try.

• Err. X70 starts from Rm99,800. Way cheaper than Rm120,000 or so you say lah. If you can get me that XV GT 2019 year of make for Rm120,000 right now, I give you Rm1,000 extra as commission. Dare?

• Yeah, how come? Maybe because the X70 is a bigger C-segment SUV than the XV? Maybe because the X70 is much better-equipped than the XV? BTW, Subaru give big discounts because no one is buying its cars. There are still plenty of 2018 Forester available.

• Kelvin on Jun 24, 2019 at 9:34 am

Jepunis car is cheaper than Malaysian car? But I thought Proton was set up in 1984 to give cheaper cars to Malaysians?

• Pay Rm130,000 for Iriz dashboard. Most sane persons would go for X70 instead. No wonder Subaru sales totaled a paltry 1,142 cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr (Member) on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:30 pm

Can’t deny the XV handles like a gem on twisty roads.

• Littlefire on Jun 21, 2019 at 9:25 pm

Subaru are made for people that preferred safety, handling & AWD. Their market is not for the mass but people who appreciate their mechanical technology premium. If you want just value, China/local cars are always there for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Zaman Khan on Jun 21, 2019 at 10:50 pm

Better use the same money and buy a Mazda CX5. Far bigger car.

Now all car companies main hentam only with their pricing as they believe if local SUV already RM123k, why not make their prices higher!

• Ah Chong on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:16 pm

Pay S$100,000 = Rm300,000 for Subaru XV in Singapore. The best family crossover, comfort practical and superb ride and handling. Free All-Wheel Drive system. That’s great value for money, no?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:00 pm

come dec 2019, this car will be on discount for 90k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Subaru used to have really great cars for their technology and thus value. Now it’s just money money money. Just look at the XV GT and possibly newcoming Forester, gonna cost loads while other brands are fighting hard with low price/great cars. GG Subaru you’ve had your time.

• pusseh on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:04 pm

i hate it when Motor Image does a ‘bengfied’ version of a good car..X70 might seem a contender but its a China car with zero track record on safety and reliabilty just yet..subarus dont sell that many globally anyways compared to the big boys but its a niche,not for everyone..

• paanjang16 on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:02 pm

130k but no Eyesight, some GT badges here and there and basically the same car as last time. If it was released 3-4 years ago it might be worth it, but now with the X70 for roughly the same price and have more goodies, equipment etc it is overpriced. Even as a Subaru fan boy it is a hard sell. Worst is the terribly bad quality of the black wing mirror piece when the camera pans from the bottom, something a China car can do better. Wake up motor image! Geely/Proton is already in town!

• honest question here..is subaru reliable? really interested to get used XV

• eeeriz on Jun 23, 2019 at 8:55 am

Honest answer here, most workshop (3 actually) recommended Subaru cars for their reliability. The engine is almost bullet proof, though the CVT maybe something else. But all in all, the reliability is there. My friend own WRX for 10 years before ditching it cos won’t fit in his house anymore. No major problem whatsoever.

• Matdan71 on Jun 23, 2019 at 10:26 am

Yes, my wife driving 2014 xv sti..
      No issue …next car getting soon will be the xv gt

• Brian on Jun 23, 2019 at 12:53 pm

It reliably needs to replace a/c compressor. Is that reliable enough for you?

• panjang. on Jun 24, 2019 at 2:35 pm

Yes. Go ahead if u apprecciate driving dynamic. There are better option out there but if u had already like the XV then go for it.

You dont want to be driving ‘someone elses’ car few years down the road.

• Jaguh on Jun 22, 2019 at 1:16 pm

Overpriced and the body kits are ugly

• AlternatePersona on Jun 22, 2019 at 4:12 pm

‘That’s quite value for money, no?’

No.

• Newme on Jun 23, 2019 at 7:39 am

Another casualty in the effort to make way for Malaysian, made in China cars. It is funny to see clowns in Proton getting so proud when when we all know its the gov that jacking up car prices of foreign brands artificially.

• Matdan71 on Jun 23, 2019 at 10:28 am

XV > x70 and all similar segment suv
    Mechanically premium…boxer and AWD

• Logical Deduction on Jun 23, 2019 at 4:41 pm

The flaw in your logic is X70 and XV aren’t in the same segment SUV.

• Subaru pls hire new interior designer too. If not, don’t dream to sell your car like hot cake x70 & CX-5. Better keep it for yourself. If you still menten Iriz dashboard better buy Iriz. I still can accept X-trail dashboard even though it look old school.

• kunte kelentong on Jun 23, 2019 at 4:07 pm

funny how some relate china cars and safety, the x70 aka boyue aka atlas has not had any safety test except msian ncap which is embarrasing..subaru has almost all of its models as the safest cars in the world according to IIHS safety test which are the toughest in the world..while lacking active safety features for idiots whom cant keep in their own lane or too stupid messaging while driving, the passive safety systems are best in its class..china car..not for me at the moment despite all the gimmicks, reliabilty and real world safety still yet to be proven..subaru move to bengfied this GT is kinda sad honestly..its a very good car as is..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Logical Deduction on Jun 23, 2019 at 4:47 pm

AFAIK XV is not sold in USA so it never went through IIHS testing.

Now just because a car from that brand was sold in USA and tested passed IIHS, doesn’t mean the entire range of their cars are automatically passed IIHS. Case in point, Toyota Yaris (Asian version) wasn’t up to IIHS standards which is why they need to rebadge Mazda2 as Yaris (USA version), despite selling many Toyota cars there (and many of which are USA only models).

• kunte kelentong on Jun 25, 2019 at 9:31 am

do you live under a rock?..XV crosstrek not selling in the USA? Check IIHS top pick website…you are commenting without doing any research..

• Malas cakap dengan manusia bodoh on Jun 28, 2019 at 8:39 pm

Komen anda bodoh . Saya owner xv since 2013 . Kalau anfa tak pernah n tak mampu beli xv … jangan komen … odoh xv tak jual kan USA .. xv kat US is call crosstrek

• Pls come out from your cave and live in 2019

• Chavez on Jun 23, 2019 at 6:27 pm

Boyue have been the best selling SUV in the China market since its launched a few years ago, totaling over 600,000 cars sold. Even if they had done a measly 10k km mileage each, they will have covered up to 6 million km of travel distance and yet Geely aftersales satisfaction are par with Japanese makes. So for Boyue(aka X70) at least, I’m confident that it is a sound and reliable car.

• newme on Jun 25, 2019 at 8:16 am

Wrong. Haval H6 has been consistently the best selling SUV in China for years. Nak tipu pun agak2 la.

• Ben yap on Jun 23, 2019 at 7:48 pm

Crv turbo better value. Got Honda sensing and just top up a bit of monthly repayment.

• Tun F on Jun 24, 2019 at 3:35 pm

Hahaha. Reliable? Go ask crv owner in their club.. Not all happy dude… It something objective… Some may get a defect production.. You know what I’m saying

• Bodoh tak boleh dibeli on Jun 28, 2019 at 8:41 pm

Bodoh. Cheap . Crv is 160k above . Xv is 130k … do u know how to do math ?