Malaysia vehicle sales data for May 2019 by brand

It looks like the flurry of Raya deals did manage to spur car buyers to flock to dealers, and sales data from the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) for the month of May 2019 showed that plenty of them ended up driving off in shiny new cars – just in time for their balik kampung trips.

In fact, a total of 60,780 vehicles were sold last month, 10,816 more than the 49,964 units that found homes in April – that’s a whopping 21.6% jump over the month before. As you’d expect from such a fruitful period, almost every car company recorded an uptick in sales, and plenty of them saw their sales skyrocket.

Heading the table yet again is Perodua, although its increment was relatively tiny in comparison. The national carmaker sold just 804 more vehicles at 22,945 units, a paltry 3.6% increase. By contrast, Proton has a much more productive May, with sales having spiked a good 51.3% from 7,011 to 10,611 units – allowing it to just about hang on to its newly recaptured second position in the standings.

Even better news for Honda, whose massive 70.2% jump allowed it to run Proton close at 10,509 units sold. Notably, despite having slipped back to third in April, the Japanese brand still holds a lead of nearly 3,000 units in the year-to-date sales stakes, at 38,874 units versus 35,903 units. Toyota also had a strong showing with a 25.2% increase to 6,842 units, while fifth-placed Nissan sold 30.8% more cars at 2,103 units.

It’s not all good news, however, as Mazda’s sales dropped 18.6% to 1,060 units, joining other losers such as Kia and Subaru. In the premium segment, Mercedes-Benz once again edged out BMW, the former securing 981 units of sales (+0.7%) versus the latter’s 835 units (+9.9%).

Elsewhere, it’s good news for Peugeot (+57.5%), Lexus (+39.3%), Hyundai (+32.4%) and Volkswagen (+24.7%), but bad news for Volvo (-23.8%).

Click on the table below to view a larger version.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Nasi Goreng Char Siew on Jun 21, 2019 at 6:36 pm

Proton can only sell well when it is managed by a China CEO.

Locals cannot manage companies properly. Proton is just a distributor now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 77
    • JPOLOVER on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:21 pm

sad, but truth….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Hassanul Badlisham on Jun 23, 2019 at 9:11 am

Proton aksi and boast got 25,000 orders of Proton X70 but i see sales only 35,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Nasi lemak on Jun 24, 2019 at 12:08 pm

Proton X70 is not a game changing car. No, X70 sales will not going to increase. By the end of this year, the CKD X70 will be game over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Mee goreng mamak on Jun 24, 2019 at 3:10 pm

Correct bro! Everyone knows Proton game over quality. Once broken, we will have a hard time and headache in Proton SC. Instead of fixing our car, SC person will always complain and blame us for not maintaining our car well. I suggest Proton to send Rombongan Sambil Belajar to Perodua SC to learn their game changing attitude towards customers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
          • Char koey teow on Jun 24, 2019 at 3:32 pm

What I like from Perodua is that their SC people is very friendly. You bring your broken car there, the SC people will serve you well and bring the car fixed immediately. Service cost also not so expensive. Proton cars are good but their game over SC is a let down and that is why Proton sales cannot improve. Improve SC = Improve sales.

• Balik kampung this yr. Many proudly drive jepun reconds then new proton. sad, but truth…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • Proton 35,000 - Perodua 105,000 on Jun 24, 2019 at 10:10 am

Perodua is 10 years younger than Proton yet it can do better

• Asam laksa on Jun 24, 2019 at 12:09 pm

This game changing statement is correct! A clear proof that Perodua is a game changing carmaker while Proton is a game over carmaker. I also suggest Perodua to change it’s name to “Pertama” because they deserve it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • Karam singh on Jun 24, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Perodua on route to 220k for 2019
            Proton on route to 80k
            Honda is on track to 100k
            Toyota, so sad.. looks like 50k this. Thank to all dealers now doing sales and service. Sales drop, JD power also drop. Don’t know what else will drop. Haih

• Kelvin on Jun 24, 2019 at 9:37 am

This is the sad truth. Li Chunrong saw all the leakages in 3 months on the job.

• Sambal udang on Jun 24, 2019 at 12:11 pm

Like I’ve said before, if Geely China didn’t buy Proton maybe around 2 years Proton will be game over. Lucky Geely save Proton, if not Proton will be game over and Perodua will be the game changing “Pertama” carmaker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Ex VGM staff on Jun 24, 2019 at 3:23 pm

Actually, 35k units YTD is not much difference with last year or previous years. Maybe additional 5k units or so.

By right in May proton should have hit 50k Mark or 10k per month. Seems Geely also scratching it’s head now. Q3 is around the corner, before we knew it it’s end of the year already.

• Steven Matthias on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:22 pm

We must thank China and Geely for all their help. I hope more Mainland people come into Malaysia and give us good direction to make us like Singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
      • cununcanin on Jun 22, 2019 at 10:57 pm

don’t dreaming,never and ever

• Proton 35,000 - Perodua 105,000 on Jun 24, 2019 at 10:14 am

When sales is 3X more, this means we know what the rakyat trust and love

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Aikon on Jun 24, 2019 at 12:03 pm

It just shows the affordability level of the rakyat. And that’s a fact. It’s all they can afford.

• john Makan Kuih lapis on Jun 24, 2019 at 12:22 pm

I spot many game over dupes by john in this article comment section. My hope is that he can behave and stop his game over behaviour so that we can read the comment section in peace without any fights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Razak on Jun 23, 2019 at 11:50 pm

Don’t know why we are selling Geely cars in Malaysia.

What have we learnt the past 35 years? 35 years also never learnt anything. Mitsubishi tried to teach also but we blur

Now we sell cars for China. Malu betui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Fahmy on Jun 24, 2019 at 4:48 pm

SERIOUSLY???

• JPOLOVER on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:22 pm

Sad but truth.

• Rajan on Jun 22, 2019 at 11:57 pm

Even with the hot selling Proton X70, Proton can only sell 35,000 cars in total? It is coming to July few more days

Pls give us the profit and loss accounts of Proton. Cause CBU X70 sales (fully Made in China) does not bring a sen to Proton Malaysia or LHDN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
        • Q1 already announced profit RM120 million, still blur²

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
          • Kelvin on Jun 24, 2019 at 9:33 am

you got confused. DRB is making profit. Not Proton.

DRB is making profit from Honda and other companies….Diversified Resources Berhad mah. So many companies

But Proton still losing money

• Proton 35,000 - Perodua 105,000 on Jun 24, 2019 at 10:12 am

Perodua is well loved by Malaysians because they don’t tell you…..”bang, ni Perodua, what do you expect”

• Teo Shen Foo on Jun 23, 2019 at 10:35 am

Proton only can sell 35,000 cars? This is shocking news.

Perodua already 105,000 cars sold

Proton staff 12,000 people
        Perodua staff 6,000 people

And Perodua got no help from China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • Because Perodua no involve R&D, so no need pay those investment cost. Even selling more units, UMW Q1 profit only RM 80 million which is less than DRB RM 120 million.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
          • Won ton mee on Jun 24, 2019 at 12:24 pm

Perodua have their own game changing R&D. Proton as we can see have no R&D as they keep making game over cars we don’t want, even today going back to rebadging job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • panjang. on Jun 24, 2019 at 9:35 am

One company is selling roti canai while the other is selling pizza. If u cant afford pizza, just eat your roti canai until u r full and cant speak anymore.

I am more shocked than the sad truth is still kept secret. How safe are some vehicle sold in Malaysia.

• Kelvin on Jun 24, 2019 at 9:35 am

Proton have very low sales now. You hardly can see any Proton on our roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Mario and Bros on Jun 24, 2019 at 10:58 am

Wait and see bro. Sooner, your protection of carmakers like Hyundai and Nissan in Malaysia will be rarely seeing on the road. While Toyota Malaysia will declining sales year by year. Of course, Toyota Malaysia and Hyundai Malaysia will close down. While Perodua will be placed at second position. Then you know.

• Thambirajah on Jun 24, 2019 at 3:15 pm

You are right. Give up all protectionism and favourtism. Special privileges also must stop.

Time we become like Singapore where everything is merit based

• Razak on Jun 23, 2019 at 11:58 pm

The truth is, Proton sales next month will be HALF. Kasihan Proton.

After CBU X70 finish, nobody will buy CKD cause everybody know CKD quality is kaput.

• Sotong on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:28 pm

So?

• Udang on Jun 22, 2019 at 6:50 pm

Malaysians are not good at car business. Might as well just let Geely sell cars here la

• Teo Shen Foo on Jun 23, 2019 at 10:36 am

Proton sold more Geely cars than their own Proton cars.

This is a disgrace. This means our Malaysian made cars tak laku already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Bernard on Jun 24, 2019 at 9:50 am

This is because Geely Boyue is better than any car jaguh kampung has every produced

• Indeed. GLC canot properly. What else a country

• Rajan on Jun 22, 2019 at 11:58 pm

Last year Proton selling Proton cars still losing RM4 mil per day. But at least Proton cars bring money to Proton and LHDN through company tax

But this year, Proton selling Geely cars. Money goes back to Geely fully

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • spock1976 (Member) on Jun 23, 2019 at 2:47 pm

Proton is not just selling geely rebadged cars. Even if that is the case, geely only owns 49.9%. Drb still take back 50.1% profit.

• No wonder Perodua selling so much car also cannot make profit, those money 70% go back Toyota and Daihatsu. Proton only 49.9% money go back to Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • AirKosong on Jun 24, 2019 at 8:43 am

Proton 49.9% go back china. 30% go in pocket. 20% only for protong. Same saja. If china no help, sudah bankrap beb. Bye bye beb. So dont proud syiok sendiri yer.

• Proton 35,000 - Perodua 105,000 on Jun 24, 2019 at 10:13 am

UMW and Perodua make us proud. They don’t bring shame to corporate malaysia

• Bernard on Jun 24, 2019 at 9:49 am

I only see Proton X70 on the road. What happened to other Proton models?

• Nasi goreng on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:23 pm

You right Kunta, if Geely China didn’t buy Proton maybe 2 years ago Proton game over already. So this is why we have to thank China for saving the game over Proton. Syabas Geely (Not proton)!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Volvo Tokmok on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:43 pm

Volvo and Lexus still cannot reach the premium category car. Even VW has much better sales.

• tokmoh, my BMW is the best! on Jun 22, 2019 at 6:57 pm

tokmoh says VW is the best. i want to agree but my BMW is better la

• Max291 on Jun 21, 2019 at 9:43 pm

Just distributor? Which of your hole that conclusion come from? U obviously knows nothing. Iriz & persona leads the sale, and it didn’t even exist anywhere else on Earth, yet alone China. This demand was pulled by Raya season.

• Let him continue to bollock bro. The more he bollocks the more sales P1 gets and the lower p2 gets. So im happy for him to continue to bollock.

• Zaman Khan on Jun 21, 2019 at 10:53 pm

70% of the buyers that bought last month will end up as Sambung Bayar

Open the classifieds lah, see got so many sambung bayar. Even Ferrari also got sambung bayar.

Although sambung bayar is an offence but it seems to be doing well with those that got no money

• Boooooring already

• Jeevan Lingam on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:51 pm

Half a year passed by and Proton can only do 35,000 cars?

Perodua has done 105,000. That is 3X more!

Last Year Proton did 60,000. This year….looks like SAME SAME

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • The problem with data this year is pretty false. This is because all banks have confirmed that before From CNY, so many want to buy new cars to show off to family members in the kampung that they have made it big in the City. Want to impress kampung amois & ah lians.

And banks have confirmed that right after CNY – we have the highest tarik balik rates and defaulters.

So actual sales is false.

• same person on Jun 22, 2019 at 9:33 pm

these comments also posted by one SAME person with multiple identity. Stop already, its so pathetic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Only 5 months sales dude. June sales haven’t release. If June sales also 10k meant half year achieve 45k sales, year end at least 80 to 90k.
        If dunno how to read and analyse the data, dun comment. Make everybody laugh only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Rahman on Jun 23, 2019 at 6:46 pm

June is when the most tarik balik will happen. June can never be 10k because Hari Raya is over. Do dream on please.

• Just give example “if 10k”, if u cannot understand the word dun comment, u r another 1 make everybody laugh.

• Troll Hunter on Jun 23, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Farmer A sells more rambutans than Farmer B selling Musang King durians. Does it mean Farmer A product is better than Farmer B just because of sheer volume? Ask the customers and there is no doubt they will reply Farmer B product is miles better than Farmer A. So why is Farmer A gloating like his was better?

• Rahman on Jun 23, 2019 at 6:45 pm

Peak seasons of Raya and CNY over. This means, from now on this year end, sales will be MAXIMUM 5k per month.

End of the year, just slightly more than last year DESPITE X70 help. At most 70k

• Proton 35,000 - Perodua 105,000 on Jun 24, 2019 at 10:15 am

We need more Geely China cars to save Proton. I hope the X50 come in soon.

Proton masuk muzeum ya?

• Chicken George on Jun 22, 2019 at 12:30 am

Proton got big sales but most of it Geely cars. Proton cars very few only.

Moral of story? More money repatriated back to China and 30 years of Proton automotive technology goes down the drain

• Peordua got big sales but most of it Daihatsu cars. Perodua cars very few only.

70% money all go back to Jepun.

• Mario and Bros on Jun 23, 2019 at 4:38 pm

Hahaha. What you think. In the future, if less people buys Perodua, Perodua Stake will return back to Japan. Even if Toyota Malaysia also giving out results of having poor sales, Toyota Malaysia will also go back to Japan. These both carmakers Perodua will gradually close down while Toyota Malaysia will close down. Especially, for Hyundai Malaysia will also have to close down, no point of bringing new models when specs is so basic and giving uncle engines to the consumers. Also, Service Quality is also very bad and having lots of issues for Hyundai, Perodua, Toyota including Nissan. People will buy cars with having proper specs, more safety features, powerful and reliable engine than Toyota, Perodua and Hyundai and Nissan

• Open Letter to Proton on Jun 22, 2019 at 7:54 am

MAA should give breakdown of each car sold. Proton salesman told me only Saga, Persona and X70 can sell. Others virtually nil

Iriz, Exora, Suprima, Ertiga etc etc have super super super small sales.

So, why keep those lines open? Time for Proton to reduce their workforce and keep lean to learn to make profits.

If you sell 1 Suprima per year, why do you keep hundreds of Suprima line workers working with full pay?

Ada logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Celup King on Jun 23, 2019 at 1:08 pm

Because of this https://paultan.org/2019/06/12/proton-x70-ckd-trials-kick-off-production-in-2nd-half/

They are preparing to unleash the X70 flood.

• Economy Malaysia go UP. Car sales UP UP

• Steven Matthias on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:24 pm

The problem with data last month is pretty false. This is because all banks have confirmed that before Raya, so many want to buy new cars to show off to family members in the kampung that they have made it big in the Bandar.

And banks have confirmed that right after Raya – we have the highest tarik balik rates and defaulters.

So actual sales is false.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Mario and Bros on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:41 pm

Yup that’s right bro. Well done BMW, Mercedes, Renault, French Cars, Ford and Proton.

Support Proton, Geely, BMW, Mercedes, Volvo, Renault, Peugeot, Volkswagen, Ford, Kia, MINI, Borgward, Haval > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • Bernard on Jun 24, 2019 at 9:54 am

Proton is just a libility to the rakyat of Malaysia

• Beengai on Jun 24, 2019 at 3:44 pm

Man…just change your nick from Bernard to Bingai. It suits your comment better.

• Tahniah P1!
    P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, Volvo Trucks, Lotus, L& C, Polestar, Smart > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • Steven Matthias on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:34 pm

Everybody knows it is easy to get 100% loans when you buy Proton.

It is for buyers who have no upfront money but still want to balik kampung and show off to family that they have new car

In other countries, you must fork out minimum 20% to pay for your car. Here, we help these group of people with 100% loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 42
      • Mario and Bros on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:53 pm

It seems like you always come here to say bad things about Proton. Just look at Toyota, Hyundai and even Nissan, how bad the sales is. Hyundai and Nissan got lots of issues and service quality is very bad. Even Toyota Malaysia also cannot sell well for CBU Camry because of higher price and giving outdated engine to the consumers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
        • Kia Stinger 2.0 on Jun 22, 2019 at 6:53 pm

Hyundai and Kia are sister companies. They both use the same engine and even chassis.

It doesn’t make sense if you praise Kia for their quality, and then bash Hyundai for the same thing.

Just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • Why do you think readers here are as stupid as you? No where in Malaysia do you can buy car at 100% loan, not even for Proton as you claimed!

• redpilled on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:28 pm

everybody knows youre a douchebag

• Frozen on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:43 pm

Cool story bro. Freeeziinggg!!!

• Tun F on Jun 21, 2019 at 9:06 pm

Dude.. It’s the same with Perodua……. Full loan

• Setieven Malas Nak Check. on Jun 21, 2019 at 9:28 pm

100% loan is illegal but there is a way around it and its NOT JUST FOR PROTON cars. U just said that coz the ad is everywhere promoting it together with Proton cars.

• Loppy on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:10 pm

Nvm, let them. When they wanna sell off their car in 3-5 yrs time, with still high settlement figure, they need to top up money in order to match the value of the car at that time. If no money to top up? Kena tarik saja lor, blacklist lor. Then nextime buy car mske sure have downpayment 10-20% lor.

• DriveNewWays on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:44 pm

it’s not easy to get a loan for PROTON lol…there booking to loan conversion rate is very low…
        U bring the same docs (u used when ur loan for PROTON got rejected) to perodua/toyota/honda your loan will get approved…

it’s a well known issue and part of reason why PROTON struggle to get sales…

• Troll Hunter on Jun 22, 2019 at 1:40 am

In which planet did you dreamt up of such wall of lies?

• You forgot that your Perodua also can full loan? If cannot full loan, I can assure you Perodua sales will be 50% less than now.

• Mohd. Adnan on Jun 22, 2019 at 9:00 am

lel. Where did you get 100% loan for Proton. Please show me how. Dont talk cock-bull stories.

• Rajan on Jun 23, 2019 at 12:02 am

Jaguh kampung like to buy new cars to show off to opah in kampung that they have made lots of money

• Hassanul Badlisham on Jun 23, 2019 at 9:13 am

always like to give zero deposit so that can show off to Opah in kampung got new car.

Go 2nd hand dealer also, loan documents mark up 110%

• spock1976 (Member) on Jun 23, 2019 at 2:51 pm

No bank in Malaysia would ever do that. From my last chk, max is 90% loan and the interest rate is higher if u buy proton so it is not easy for proton buyers.

• Sama Kunta Loo on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:51 pm

Everybody knows it is easy to get 100% loans when you buy Poodua.

It is for tai lan ngong buyers who have no upfront money but still want to balik kampung and show off to family that they have new ‘jamban’ car.

In other countries, you must fork out minimum 20% to pay for your car, some even 50% like Singapore. Here, we need to help these group of people with 100% loan to increase sales of Poodua as much as possible.

• Mario and Bros on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:21 pm

HAHAHAHA!!!! What can you say to Nissan Fans, Toyota Fans and Hyundai Fans. Look at Hyundai Sales, it is even lower than Ford Sales because Hyundai Sales gives horrible service and lots of issues than Ford. Even owners also no one touch Nissan as well due to horrible service quality. Anyway, just also look at Toyota Sales, it is still lower than Proton. Toyota Malaysia sells CBU Camry with higher price and giving outdated engine.

LETS SUPPORT PROTON, EUROPEAN CARS, AMERICAN CARS AND CHINA CARS AND KIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • NajibDustbinRazak on Jun 23, 2019 at 1:45 am

Bodoh diam la… crap Proton is surviving because of Geely only!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
      • Kunta Fake News on Jun 23, 2019 at 8:07 am

Ah Shaddap la Toyota/Hyundai Salesman. No one ever buys Toyota and Hyundai. Reasons: low specs, old engine, boring technology and lots of issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • Facts on Jul 11, 2019 at 11:16 pm

Eh u shut up first la lousy Proton salesman! No one ever buys Toyota?How come you are so stupid? Wherever we turn we see Toyotas on the road and lorong. Low specs? Did you see the new Vios and Camry? Lots of issues? You are clearly talking nonsense here. Toyota is the most reliable car brand and Toyota cars can tahan lasak for so many years compared to your stupid Proton cars. Toyota means reliability king and you are saying lots of issues? What a pandai creature you are..Toyota service is one of the best one out there. Your stupid Proton is doing ok now is because of Geely. Geely made Proton to survive again via their involvement. If not, Proton would be thrashed out by all car brands.

• Spin Too Much on Jun 23, 2019 at 12:59 pm

OF the 10,000 cars sold last month, X70 only accounts for <3,000. The rest are from their own designed cars. If you want to talk about surviving, see how long will Perodua survive if they didn't have Daihatsu and Toyota denoting their cars to Perodua for rebadging.

• Razak on Jun 23, 2019 at 11:54 pm

But Proton kerek say got 20,000 orders…..

• JOACHIM on Jun 24, 2019 at 11:57 am

Yes they have actually 30,000 orders on hand and they are fulfilling it as we speak. So what’s the problem?

• Darren on Jun 23, 2019 at 1:05 pm

Yeah and so what. Volvo Cars were sold to Geely too yet the Swedes are still proud of their recent achievements under Geely. Maluapab055ku?

• Celup King on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:31 pm

Toyota? ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!

DRB is the ultimate winner with 2 victories in Proton and Honda.

• panjang on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:31 pm

Toyota in Malaysia must be changing direction and regards Honda as not their competitor. They want to compete with Nissan and Mazda. In 5 years time they will be competing with BMW and Merc. Now i understand their strategy.

• Amran on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:47 pm

After 2 month.. Sambung bayar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Max291 on Jun 21, 2019 at 9:54 pm

Working as Renault marketing team must be sux… 6 showrooms, only 28 cars sold in May.. nationally. I wonder how long people can stay working there. I wonder how the investors are supposed to make any money…
    U know what’s worst? Chevrolet. Nobody buys them in the past 2 month. This Trump brand can bungkus & trumpled already.

• Steven on Jun 21, 2019 at 10:59 pm

There is one brand, Haval which I can’t find from the list. Anyone know why?

• BAD NEWS FOR JONATHAN LEE !!

NEVER APPRECIATE YOUR CAR ARTICLES IN PAULTAN EXCEPT HAFIZ ( MORE FAIRER REVIEWS) . YOU ARE ONLY TILTED TOWARDS VEHICLES THAT YOU LIKE ONLY.
    EVEN A LOUSY NEW CAR CAN BE WRITTEN GOOD AND VICE VERSA.

• German on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:11 pm

Why don’t i ever see Audi on this list?

• Toyota targeted 75000 cars sold this year, every month at least 7000 units only can achieve that goal. Look like Toyota fail again in this year.
    Somebody said in last year Toyota will regain no. 2 in this year and Proton will drop to no. 5. Where the guy? Missing?

• panjang. on Jun 23, 2019 at 8:44 pm

He already sent his resume to Proton to ride on the sale of the coming X50.So far Proton havent called him for an interview.

• P1 dun welcomes negative sales tactics that talk bollocks about other brands while ampu their own with lies. P1 cars sells on its own merit, which is why P1 strives to continuously improve their cars.

• Hahahaha…

• Myvi sales sudah jatuh sebab tak berbaloi

• chevy so dead in bolehland

• Oppss…. toyota was getting far and far from top3

• Toyota fans no longer support

• Mario and Bros on Jun 23, 2019 at 4:50 pm

HAHAHA! Not only that, soon or later, besides most people are joining ex-Toyota Fans, most lower income people are also joining Anti-Perodua Fans. Even, most people are also no longer supporting Hyundai and Nissan. Everyone is moving forward to other car brands which has more powerful engine, proper specs, better safety features like China-European Cars which is Proton, China Cars, European Cars, Ford and Kia. Despite Kia is giving NA engine for some Kia models, Kia Malaysia is also giving better specs and proper engines to most Kia models.

• When Proton X50 comes to 75k-90k segment, Honda, Perodua, Toyota, Nissan…..hancur!! Everybody waiting, outdated Japanese design, expensive labor cost Conti brands, old features after thoughts car move aside, Malaysia as dumping wastebin cars by foreign brand, Proton will shoot up to #1 position…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Mario and Bros on Jun 22, 2019 at 7:11 pm

Nowadays, most people are buying Proton, Continental Car and Ford over Japanese Cars and Hyundai because both Japanese Cars and Hyundai looks very ugly. Even though, Kia is made from Korea, their Kia designers looks very stylish because Kia design was done by German Designer and Kia has lots of techs which sells in Malaysia. In other words, Of course, These lousy carmakers like Toyota, Nissan, Hyundai in Malaysia giving outdated engine, boring technology, lousy specs and Service Quality is very lousy, especially for Perodua as well.

In the future, Proton will be placed on 1st in Malaysia as well as BMW Sales and Mercedes Sales will make sales slightly higher maybe between increasing by 15K sales and increasing by 30K sales every year from 12K sales, Peugeot Sales and Renault Sales will also bringing back their sales to make it better and Kia will also increase their sales in the future. Compare to Toyota, Nissan, Hyundai and Perodua in Malaysia, in the future, Hyundai Malaysia and Toyota Malaysia will close shop while Perodua Malaysia will be placed at second position but I don’t know about Nissan Malaysia, it depends

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Newme on Jun 23, 2019 at 7:43 am

Also include help from the gov to jack up prices of other brands to force ppl to buy proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Automan on Jun 22, 2019 at 2:00 pm

suzuki? Audi?

• June Perodua sales drop, only 18000 units.

• Shidah on Jun 24, 2019 at 8:39 am

Geely second place amazing! May Geely compete full on with Perodua Toyota in the coming years. Malaysians rejoice!