Young buyers still prefer sedans, Nissan survey finds

Nissan, on the back of a survey which found that younger buyers still gravitate strongly towards sedans, has announced that it will be doubling down on sedans, with plans to grow its global line-up of all-new models.

The global survey found that, of all drivers who don’t own a sedan, an astonishing 75% of respondents would consider buying one now or in the future. For millennials, the number rises to eight in 10.1!

With that, the Japanese automaker will be introducing a series of new sedan models globally that cater to these potential customers. Sixty years after launching the Skyline, Nissan will continue to reinvent sedans with bold new models (such as the Versa/Almera you see here) , complete with the latest advanced safety technologies and efficient powertrains.

Nissan’s corporate vice president of global product strategy and planning, Ivan Espinosa said: “Our newest sedans speak directly to the needs of buyers, particularly young people who may be looking to buy their first car. As some of our competitors walk away from sedans, we’re seizing the opportunity.”

Last year, Nissan unveiled the all-new Altima, featuring lower, wider and more athletic proportions. The sixth generation model is the first sedan to offer Nissan’s ProPilot driver assistance system, known in the US as ProPilot Assist. It’s also available with VC-Turbo, the world’s first production-ready variable compression ratio engine.

More recently, the all-new Sylphy sedan debuted at Auto Shanghai 2019 with a new and more fuel-efficient powertrain, a wider stance, improved aerodynamics, seamless connectivity features and a full suite of active safety technologies.

Nissan Altima (top), Nissan Sylphy (bottom)

Moving forward, Nissan will introduce ProPilot 2.0, which is the brand’s next-generation driver assistance system in the new Skyline. The new model will go on sale in Japan in September this year.

“Nissan cars are offering customers more advanced features than ever. In the months and years to come, Nissan sedan drivers will enjoy more autonomous technologies, more advanced and electrified powertrains, and more connectivity,” said Espinosa.

For a more detailed look at the survey results (the study involved car owners and non-owners around the world, between the ages of 18 and 65), check out the pointers below.

• A top choice: 75% of drivers who don’t own a sedan would consider buying one now or in the future.
  • Choice of younger generations: Eight in 10 millennials who don’t own a sedan (80%) would consider buying one now or in the future. The same is true for Generation Z: nearly seven in 10 (68%) would consider a sedan as their next car.
  • Driven by passionate explorers: Sedan drivers care about more than the daily commute – 71% said they’re passionate about travel and adventure, and 62% said their passions lie in exploring nature and the outdoors.
  • Adored by owners: Approximately 42% of sedan drivers believe their car has its own personality. More than a quarter (31%) admitted talking to their car or even naming it (31%).
  • Looking to sell your car? Sell it with Carro.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Jason Lim on Jun 21, 2019 at 6:08 pm

General Malaysian can’t stand the ugly Nissan car brought in by tan chong into Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • Hideous Almera on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:15 pm

Yeah we all prefer sedans,but we are not dumb enough to buy that fugly Almera! Were you hiring blind designers for your cars,Nissan? C’mon la just bring new Almera now!

• Steven Matthias on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:36 pm

Young buyers not only prefer sedan, they prefer foreign makes also!!!

https://paultan.org/2017/03/21/more-than-70-of-local-university-grads-choose-to-buy-foreign-vehicles-rather-than-the-national-car-proton/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • Keep up with the times kid!

https://paultan.org/2019/06/21/malaysia-vehicle-sales-data-for-may-2019-by-brand/

• sedan + foreign makes = Nissan Almera.

• JOACHIM on Jun 22, 2019 at 11:57 am

In any case, they certainly aren’t going for Nissan cars.

• EDITOR on Jun 21, 2019 at 6:15 pm

Disclaimer: Nissan’s definition of young is anyone who is above 40

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Celup King on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:29 pm

Nissan and old men berpisah tiada

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:37 pm

LOL. Macam our political parties here. Umur dah 50 but still under Youth Wing. Dulu Kini dawn Selamanya.

• Ghani on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:43 pm

What to do. They even picked a great grandpa as their supreme leader. That shows they lack any sort of leadership qualities in their rank and file.

• skodamalaysia on Jun 21, 2019 at 6:30 pm

Why TCM don’t bring in Nissan Juke, pulsar & qashqai to Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Zaman Khan on Jun 21, 2019 at 10:57 pm

ETCM want to bring down many models especially the Qashqai but MITI does not allow.

Otherwise, their GLC like Proton 9DRB), Honda (DRB) and Toyota (UMW) sales all will kaput.

The Qashqai is top European SUV and knowing ETCM, they will undercut all other SUVs and price it cheaper.

Nobody will buy X70, Honda CRV etc etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Celup King on Jun 22, 2019 at 6:56 pm

Blaming others for your incompetence. This is why Nissan is where they are now. Nissan will never change and they will continue to lose sales.

• Nope
        Its ETCM decisions
        Importer still bring those model in

• Because Nissan Juke, pulsar & qashqai are no sedans and therefore only for old folks (according to Nissan).

• Haidi on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:40 pm

Sedan +1 vote

• panjang on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:40 pm

This is a joke right?
    Making major business move from a half baked survey.

Does the survey ask ‘Will u consider to buy a Nissan sedan?’. I love to see the stat to this answer.

Survey is just what we can think of at the moment. For example, majority of Malaysian think China producy is inferior but actual stats showed otherwise. From daily electronic, cars, down to hooker.

• Aloycius on Jun 21, 2019 at 9:16 pm

Nissan are for old man car. Now only they realize dropping market. Nuts engineers

• Jimmy on Jun 21, 2019 at 9:50 pm

Is it easier to sit into a car, or climb up-into a vehicle?

• panjang. on Jun 24, 2019 at 3:58 pm

None of the above. Its easier to just sit at home doing nothing.
      Once u manage to get into the vehicle, u need to drive it which involves stuck in jam, encounter with idiot driver, fuel stop, toll, etc. The painful hardship we have to endure climbing up into our vehicle is nothing compared to these torture.

• Yeaaaaa cause we need all that space ..

• Andrekua on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:18 pm

Don’t forget who pays for the car… of course it will be a sedan and mostly a Japanese one.

Even when I bought with my own salary, I still get grilled by them, why a korean made, why a hatchback, etc.

• transformer on Jun 22, 2019 at 12:42 am

wrong survey Nissan, thats 1970’s survey….. nowadays its CUV world, see all makes offering CUV models even Nissan has Jukes, Qashkai and their latest Kick….. even premium makes offered CUV see Porsche Macan….

you try a CUV based on this new Almera platform with same engine, trim and priced around the same, see if sedan or CUV moves most units….. your global marketing VP is sleeping, its time to wake up Nissan!

• timlee on Jun 22, 2019 at 2:32 am

Unfortunately many Malaysians including myself need to wait forever for these global models to reach Malaysia.
    Tan Chong Malaysia’s team are still in cryrogenic sleep. Shh. Zzzzzzz.

• Mystvearn on Jun 22, 2019 at 7:32 am

I can understand the results if it is for the first time buyer. Buy myvi/civic is more appealing than crv/cx5/x70. Then again, Nissan wants to focus on entry level cars? Good luck then. Mature car markets all heading suv.

• almera, sylphy, teana..all ugliest in each segment. especially almera, how can someone design uglier car than toyoda dugong?? its puzzle me till today

• Region Wong on Jun 22, 2019 at 9:43 am

I’m well over 50 but i like sedan.

• Not crazy nissan on Jun 22, 2019 at 6:50 pm

In Malaysia Almera already outdated lack of safety features not like versa more advanced

• Celup King on Jun 23, 2019 at 12:55 pm

According to Nissan’s definition, you’re in the young category.

• Not nissan crazy on Jun 23, 2019 at 2:03 pm

We only get underrated Almera

• Daniel on Jun 23, 2019 at 8:19 pm

We can judge by whether Proton Iriz or Persona sold the most

• Ahyew on Jul 01, 2021 at 5:18 am

Although my family has bought honda city e variant i still admire almera wheather 1.5 or 1.0 turbo, but i cannot buy anymore car now as MCO 3.0 has dredged down our household income. But i still love to watch almera on screen. do not care whether is a good car or not.