PLUS open to highway concession takeover from gov’t

Highway concessionaire PLUS says it is willing to review the concession agreements should the government want to take over PLUS-operated tolled highways. According to its MD Datuk Azman Ismail, PLUS is open to a toll concession takeover by the government, as Bernama reports.

“We are a concession company and we have signed agreements with the government. If the government wants to change (the agreements), we will look at it (proposal), in accordance with the agreement. We just have to wait what the government has to offer,” he said in response to a question posed over the matter.

The concessionaire is the expressway arm of UEM Group, which is a subsidiary of Khazanah. Both UEM and Khazanah collectively hold a 51% share in PLUS, with the remainder owned by the Employees Provident Fund (EPF). Previously, Khazanah said it would leave it to PLUS to handle discussions if there was a proposal by the government to take over its toll expressways, but would advise PLUS from time to time.

The question about a potential takeover for PLUS comes after last week’s decision by the government to take over four concessions of toll highways, namely the Lebuhraya Damansara-Puchong (LDP), Sistem Penyuraian Trafik KL Barat (Sprint), Shah Alam Expressway (Kesas) and the Smart Tunnel, to the tune of RM6.2 billion.

While not eliminating tolls completely on the four routes, finance minister Lim Guan Eng said commuters using these four highways will save as much as RM180 million annually in the switch to a congestion charge system. He added that the move is also set to save taxpayers RM5.3 billion in compensation to the concessionaires.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ex PLUS staff on Jun 26, 2019 at 10:59 am

After done bailing out LTH, LTAT & FELDA. Govt should buy out all the highways & placed them under Khazanah & KWSP. Then get listed on Bursa ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Chicken George on Jun 26, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Pity we have to bailout companies such as the above. This is because they have this entitlement attitude and believe everything should come free and easily. And everyhting also, kerajaan must help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • eerizs on Jun 26, 2019 at 4:18 pm

Those shenanigans that took place. Its normal

• Avenger on Jun 26, 2019 at 6:10 pm

Those shenanigans are returning in droves like a bad nightmare.

• panjang on Jun 26, 2019 at 6:39 pm

Lolz! Gud one bro. Hahahahaha!

• Chicken George on Jun 26, 2019 at 7:07 pm

These companies are the lazy type who want easy life.

• Pak Cik on Jun 27, 2019 at 12:00 pm

All pipu want easy life. But must do it right and legal way, dedak and tongkat wont do.

• Tun Pirate King on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Don’t understand what this is about since PLUS highway is belong to Government via Khazanah. So what is this takeover story? Paying extra for something we already owned! Eh?! Then pay to whom? Another one of Mahathir’s son?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • lilytan on Jun 26, 2019 at 11:07 am

They wanna take over but do they have the money to maintain? Just look at the batu 3 sungai rasau highway now. It is getting worse after they stop toll collection. If they cant maintain, its better to have minimal toll fees just for maintenance.

• Republic of Dha Yuck on Jun 26, 2019 at 1:16 pm

No monies then starts print more money, just follow what usa is always doing.

• Chicken George on Jun 26, 2019 at 1:31 pm

See, finally our beloved Government is going to honour their promises.

All the fanboys and dedak sapoters all expected overnight miracles.

Hello, be real lah. It takes time to do things. 60 years of mess cannot be cleaned up in one day.

Government is not like you, want everything fast fast and want the easy way of doing things.

Give our Government time to honour their promises.

Those unhappy, you are welcome to leave….

Thank you Gomen!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • John Doe on Jun 26, 2019 at 4:25 pm

And what exactly did they achieve from this, and to be achieved in 4 years?
        Slow down the kipas, if not you may just get used to the smell.

• redpilled on Jun 27, 2019 at 8:51 am

The rakyat is not ‘expecting’ overnight miracles out of nowhere for no reason. The current G offered to overnight miracles for votes. The rakyat has delivered their part, so wrong to demand and if need be, force, current G. we just want they offered in the first place. If cannot deliver, then next time don’t make stupid promises. This is not the 80’s- everything is digital today and digital don’t fade ya’ll. Still waiting for Sungai Nyior toll house to be demolished since 2008….

• Norlia on Jun 26, 2019 at 1:38 pm

Spot on sis! which donkey stop batu 3 toll. Pfftt

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:28 pm

Us donkeys that uses Federal Highway daily. You got a problem with us?

• ayamxx on Jun 27, 2019 at 7:56 am

https://paultan.org/2015/06/16/rm380k-collected-batu-tiga-sg-rasau-toll/

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:30 pm

I don’t find any problems with the former Batu Tiga area. May I know what issues that you see?

• lilytan on Jun 26, 2019 at 6:14 pm

The area is very dirty, debris all over. Armco barrier, highway lights no longer fixed, missing road signs and markings. Its terrible.

• PJ fella on Jun 26, 2019 at 10:09 pm

I traveled there daily, the damaged barriers were just recently, and I don’t see any missing road signs. Dirty, debris, yes possibly due to the recent accident that damaged the said barrier, but that is a very busy stretch so I can understand that cleaning is hard to do.

• Mario and Bros on Jun 26, 2019 at 11:16 am

After government announces to take over four concessions of toll highways from Gamuda Berhad Highway such as LDP, Sprint, Kesas and Smart Tunnel Highway. PLUS Highway also maybe wants to take over by the government as well but it is up to the government. But the important is that it should take over four concessions of toll highways from Gamuda Berhad Highway first instead of doing five concessions of toll highways offer from the government. This is to prevent from corruption for spending much money

• John Doe on Jun 26, 2019 at 4:26 pm

And what exactly did they achieve from this, and to be achieved in 4 years?
      Slow down the kipas, if not you may just get used to the smell.

• Henry on Jun 26, 2019 at 11:21 am

Time to cash-out.

• John Leong on Jun 26, 2019 at 11:23 am

As much as I was surprised why did the concessionaire contract was extended for another 30 years after the original one expired in 2018 – just before the election. What was najib’s intention?

• John Doe on Jun 26, 2019 at 4:27 pm

What talking you?

• Tun Pirate King on Jun 26, 2019 at 5:18 pm

The extension was to ensure the PLUS toll rates remained same for the next 30 years. He didn’t janji to abolish tolls but he did his darnest best to reduce the burden as much possible. This unlike PH that is still tolling users despite their earlier promise to abolish them.

• J.klopp on Jun 26, 2019 at 11:45 am

Of course plus is open for gomen to takeover if the price is right. Liverpool also is willing to let go mo salah if Real Madrid wanna pay £200m

• Ahmad on Jun 26, 2019 at 12:53 pm

I hope gomen dont takeover PLUS Highway. I understand the pressure and burden of economy of rakyat. But from what i see, maintenance is much more important. Honestly speaking I am afraid of cracking tunnel roof in Ipoh or Sg Perak bridge.

What I suggest PLUS should retain as its own, as part of privatization concept. What PLUS should do if the toll fare maintained, is to used the “excess” revenue and build more R&R. The R&R can be sub to other party. Imagine if gomen control, how you think the taste of mee goreng and nasi goreng? Full cut cost and sell at RM5 but tasteless.

More stop does not mean more jam, but more convenience. See what happen to RTC Simpang Pulai. Not so full because of Tapah and Sg Perak. People want to stop by Tapah and RTC. All R&R should have same facility not just toilet and P. Gomen should play role as running a campaign of drive safe AND TOLERANCE (which we lacking it now).

• Wah suddenly PLUS open for takeover from the Gov?
    Worried of WCE I guess.
    Might as well take over WCE first and make it toll free…let PLUS to bleed and when the valuation comes down only then execute the takeover.

• transformer on Jun 26, 2019 at 4:35 pm

Instead of PLUS owned by few large entities. PH Gov should setup a fund likes shares for rakyat to purchase and own this PLUS. Open tender to a private company for daily operation and maintenance. Every year rakyat will be happy to receives dividen from it.

• Hafiz Hisham on Jun 26, 2019 at 6:14 pm

So the poor who can’t invest will be left out and the rich who buys the majority shares (ala ASW2020) gets untung atas angin? Why give it to the rich?

• Ghani on Jun 26, 2019 at 6:56 pm

Well said bro. The poor Felda smallholders got left out and bullied by rich influential pipu last time. The gahmen now redeeming back what the smallholders should deserved. With all the court cases, the rich got what they deserved too.

• Yes bro. The small holders now got strong armed to sell their plots to large corporations. This gomen only prioritise the rich and the powerful. So sad they got screwed by those they elected to UBAH.

• Le­buhraya Kuala Lumpur – Shah Alam (Kesas) akan tamat konsesi dalam tempoh lapan tahun lagi iaitu pada 2023, kata Menteri Kerja Raya, Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof.

Katanya, penamatan konsesi itu adalah antara yang terawal di negara ini berbanding konsesi-konsesi lebuh raya lain.

“Tempoh konsesi lebuh raya-lebuh raya di negara ini beroperasi adalah antara 30 hingga 60 tahun,” katanya kepada Utusan Malaysia di sini hari ini.

after gov take over gov can simply give price lol