Mazda CX-30, “upgraded” CX-5 coming to Malaysia

During a press conference following the launch of the all-new Mazda 3, Bermaz executive chairman Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh revealed that the CX-30 would be coming to Malaysia, and added that the CX-5 will also be given an “upgrade.”

The CX-30 first made its global debut earlier this year at the Geneva Motor Show, and is the second model in Mazda’s next-generation product line-up after the Mazda 3. The crossover occupies the space between the CX-3 and CX-5, and is built on the company’s SkyActiv-Vehicle Architecture.

Engine options include the SkyActiv range of petrol and diesel engines, including the Spark Controlled Compression Ignition (SPCCI) technology, referred to as SkyActiv-X. Given the available engines for the latest Mazda 3 in our part of the world, it’s likely that only the regular SkyActiv-G engines will be made available to us.

Of course, nothing is certain for now, as Yeoh did not provide further details like pricing, or if the model will be fully imported (CBU) or locally assembled (CKD). This is very much a case of “wait and see,” but those who have been looking forward to the arrival of the CX-30 can rest happy for now.

As for the CX-5, the SUV has been on sale in CKD form since 2017, and was given a slight update later on in October 2018 with the addition of an electric powered tailgate on selected variants.

It’s still up in the air what the impending “upgrade” for the CX-5 will include, but we can make some deductions. Minor improvements like Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support for the MZD Connect infotainment system, a nighttime pedestrian detection function for the Smart City Braking Support (SCBS) system, GVC Plus and a 360-degree camera option are likely, as we’ve seen on the Japan-spec CX-5.

A more significant upgrade is the option of a turbocharged version of the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine, which if true, should make many fans here happy. For the Japanese market, the mill serves up 230 PS at 4,250 rpm and 420 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm, with a six-speed automatic transmission and a choice of front- or all-wheel drive.

For now, we’re purely presenting possible theories, and we’ll only know more when Bermaz is ready to provide more information. Are you looking forward to the CX-30, or is the prospect of a turbocharged CX-5 more enticing? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:56 pm

Upgraded Maxda CX5 2.0T – 132K
    Mazda CX30 – 130K
    Mazda CX3 – 128K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • rusty33 on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:19 pm

Imo, Bermaz will use this “upgrade” to increase the price ceiling so that they can price the cx30 in between?

Upgraded cx5 to be appx 150k minimum
      Cx30 appx 140k-150k?
      Cx3 – same

Which i hope… will not happen

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 17, 2019 at 7:25 pm

You are right. In fact they should just phase out the CX3 here. The 2.5 litre turbo won’t be coming here since we always get old engines from every manufacturer here in Malaysia.

• aaron on Jul 17, 2019 at 8:22 pm

According to oversea market, cx-30 price is slightly higher about AUD 2k than mazda 3 therefore, if the entry price for mazda 3 is 138k, then CX-30 confirm will be at least 145k and 160k+

• Jason on Jul 17, 2019 at 8:35 pm

Huge doubt Proton X70 drivers would downgrade to the “upgraded” CX-5. Whatever the price

• skodamalaysia on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:42 pm

Bermaz executive chairman Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh should resign for it’s crazy Mazda 3 price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
      • Mazda should just pull back the franchise from Bermaz. They are not interested in pushing for Mazda car sales anymore.

• Didnt u read previous post in Paultan? Mazda is positioning themselves as a luxury brand, setting them ahead of T, H & N

• Veyron Owner on Jul 18, 2019 at 4:34 pm

Luxury or not depends on the customer, not by the brand. If the customer don’t think they are worth over the German Big 3, then sorry but their strategy failed.

• Mazda1530 on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:55 pm

You all guys are coming from neither Hyundai Salesman and Toyota Salesman because you post all negative feedbacks in every Mazda paultan article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • mew li on Jul 17, 2019 at 7:02 pm

I dont think there will be 2.0T. Look-up the news dude. Is there any 2.0T available in the other countries? Only 2.5T (around RM8xx road tax for performance similar to 3.5 cc engine NA, which is good)

• WakeUpCall on Jul 18, 2019 at 9:20 am

@alldisc – in your horny dream.
      @skodamalaysia – your mama calling you drink more milk, as you not able to differentiate CKD and CBU price.

• Zechariah Pinto on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:00 pm

This new CX5 come in, prices will JUMP higher. Everybody in the car industry conformed car prices going higher because Government cannot sustain the exemptions and tax subsidies given MAINLY to SPANCO and Proton.

https://paultan.org/2019/07/15/govt-lost-out-on-rm4-89-bil-in-excise-duty-on-locally-assembled-vehicles-from-2015-to-2017-ags-report/

“The bulk of the excise duty exemption was for EEVs and fleet management service provider SPANCO’s vehicles, and these totaled RM3.862 billion, or 94.3%, of all approved exemptions during the three-year timeframe.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 53
    • either u stupid or cant count…the biggest chunk is due to EEV…which only benefit europe marque.MERC,BMW,Volvo

• Spanco yes but not Proton. Proton get 4.3 million exemption which is less than 0.01% of the total exemption. CKD hybrid from luxury vehicle get more exemption.

• Real World on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:14 pm

(Like) Mazda CX-5 and Mazda CX-30
    (Dislike) Hyundai Kona and Hyundai Santa Fe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
  • Monana on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:49 pm

Gerard, you didn’t even mention about MRCC in the CX-5.

• Yah lor. Thailand got MRCC and their CX-5 are assembled in Malaysia. Bermaz sengaja cut for Malaysian. Sampai ada owner yg retrofit sendiri MRCC. Ramai owner yg psg True Android ikut AUX. Smell the market, Bermaz. Do not cut here and there.

• Chavez on Jul 18, 2019 at 4:38 pm

You think they care to know? You can see here their sales team are blaming everyone even irrelevant ones, for their sales failure but themselves. They never reflect why they failed and continue to fail.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 17, 2019 at 7:34 pm

Pricing will be interesting. The CKD CX5 is already priced on par as the CBU 3 which is fine but throw in the CX-30 to the mix, then I’m not so sure.

• qaogao on Jul 17, 2019 at 9:52 pm

If CX-30 occupies the space between CX3 and CX5, then why not call it CX4? Of course, only if they’re the superstitious kind, then they can always rename it to CX3A. But why CX-30?

• Mike Ombaba on Jul 18, 2019 at 6:45 am

CX3 = ayam
    CX30 = ayam cucuk
    CX5 = ayam cucuk 2x
    Still ayam.
    Looks the same with some minor changes. Boring…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Henry Lim on Jul 18, 2019 at 7:33 am

I don’t think Mazda dare to increase price after facelift, because X70 is a big rival!

• Yau Hoo Chem on Jul 18, 2019 at 8:22 am

Hopefully will bring in Sky Activ X engine for CX30

• haha…

(like) cx30 ckd 135k
    (dislike) cx30 cbu 160k

• xoxox on Jul 18, 2019 at 9:43 am

M3 1.5L already near 140K…don’t think CX5 is 150k only…should be much more than that…somewhere near 170K

• Basha on Jul 18, 2019 at 9:56 am

I owned the earlier CX5 model. After reading about Skyactive X, I thought Inwill upgrade again in the same segment when Skyactive X engine is available. But recent news indicated that X is not coming here.

I am also surprise at Maza3 price as it is putting itself at par with conti makes. Does it have conti appeal or quality? I am sure mazda will be losing a lot of its recently found customers (after earlier cx5/3, mazda 3/5 which are cleverly priced). CEO Ben need to quickly look at their marketing strategy.

• Mazda has clarified the cost of X engine is the Same as the G. Additionally, the cost of maintenance of both G and X engine is the same. Mazda is beginning to full spec their models but still removing from the basics such as ventilation/heating seats functions , bose speakers .. and until claiming CBU but the floor mats are forever from China. Since Mazda new era is heading towards premium. Bermaz already implementing premium prices and where is the premium specs 101% for consumers???? Another FL improved 6 is coming w price hike to 211k.. added apple car fart n GVC+. An increase of 7k… No room to purchase if Mazda continues to daydream following Toyota decline in the near future in sales. Probably will be continue to own a 3rd 6 afterall…

• HuaweiRIP on Jul 18, 2019 at 10:11 am

Now this is the perfect mid size SUV. Hope it’s priced just nice. Looks a million times better then anything out of China as well.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 18, 2019 at 10:42 am

Consider lucky if buyers get standard items in their mazda as per other countries would have.

I dont hope nor expect so much for “upgrade” from Mazda Mesia.

The only upgrade I foreseen is the bigger price tag.

• Rulered on Jul 18, 2019 at 4:10 pm

Thanks ASX for daring to introduce this segment into the market. Btw while others are banging in their new models for this segment, you’re still stuck with your dated ASX since 2010. Why?

• Kenny Chow on Jul 21, 2019 at 1:22 pm

I am excited with the upgraded cx5 especially the turbo specs. I am with turbo engine for the last 6 yrs…I am looking forward a turbo suv with an average pricing. KUDOS Mazda.

• Jason on Aug 10, 2019 at 11:48 pm

Will CX5 upgrade to Skyactive X engine?